- Sep 10, 2010
- AFL Club
- Brisbane Lions

Will it get any interest if AFL reserves play separately?8 was enough in the WAFL before 1997 so why isnt it enough here?

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Will it get any interest if AFL reserves play separately?8 was enough in the WAFL before 1997 so why isnt it enough here?
I reckon a lot of people would get around it. If they can get around the new national second tier soccer comp they can get around it.Will it get any interest if AFL reserves play separately?
Cool. Peel can be their reserves.Freo and Peel have extended their alignment agreement until 2029s end.
The Northern clubs asked to join the VFL, not the other way around. Port and West Coast were the teams that attempted to join. All Victorian clubs are happy to play in a Victorian only VFL whilst it's the other clubs who want a reserves league.Victorian AFL clubs already don't travel as much as the rest, so let's give them another advantage too?
Eth doggy dawg my man what are your thoughts now on sandy and st kilda having the best alignment?Cool. Peel can be their reserves.
The Northern clubs asked to join the VFL, not the other way around. Port and West Coast were the teams that attempted to join. All Victorian clubs are happy to play in a Victorian only VFL whilst it's the other clubs who want a reserves league.
I don't see how that addresses my point. This is just another advantage to Victorian clubs.The Northern clubs asked to join the VFL, not the other way around. Port and West Coast were the teams that attempted to join. All Victorian clubs are happy to play in a Victorian only VFL whilst it's the other clubs who want a reserves league.
They're still the only alignment that hasn't essentially been a takeover, and Sandy are the only currently aligned club that would survive without their AFL "partner".Eth doggy dawg my man what are your thoughts now on sandy and st kilda having the best alignment?
Why should Victorian clubs be forced to enter an AFL reserves that they don't want, just because the interstate teams want it?I don't see how that addresses my point. This is just another advantage to Victorian clubs.
As was the VFAThey're still the only alignment that hasn't essentially been a takeover, and Sandy are the only currently aligned club that would survive without their AFL "partner".
Why should Victorian clubs be forced to enter an AFL reserves that they don't want, just because the interstate teams want it?
The VFL was fine the way it was before.
Sandringham could become a powerhouse as good as Weribee. Syphon from VAFA, Eastern, Southern and potentially MPNFL and that is 4 really strong leagues before you even look for specific type of players.Mark Wheeler is a star as a GM, he’ll get the best bayside kids into that club from the Dragons program with the network and connections he has…
Best thing for the Zebras!
The VFA was dying. Without the AFL teams it would die again IMOAs was the VFA
Two divisions as much as we would love it, won't work. Imagine the dismay at Essendon VFL, North Melbourne VFL playing Division 2, whilst southport, Weribee play division 1 against perennial powerhouses like Box Hill and Geelong
Nobody forced anybody to enter anything. Nobody even proposed it. You just want to be a victim.Why should Victorian clubs be forced to enter an AFL reserves that they don't want, just because the interstate teams want it?
The VFL was fine the way it was before.
ry telling people at Collingwood they need to play div 2 if the reserves fall into relegationBad luck. Improve.
Nope. I'm proposing the most sensible option for the non-Victorian teams who've indicated they'd prefer an AFL reserves, and the Victorian clubs who would prefer to play in Victoria. You proposed that there should be an AFL reserves.Nobody forced anybody to enter anything. Nobody even proposed it. You just want to be a victim.
They need pokies to become a powerhouse like WerribeeSandringham could become a powerhouse as good as Weribee. Syphon from VAFA, Eastern, Southern and potentially MPNFL and that is 4 really strong leagues before you even look for specific type of players.
As you mentioned, the Dragons factory into the Zebs could make them a powerhouse
It's a completely different situation now than it was 30 years ago. There was no AFL Victoria, the NAB League was in its infancy, and the VFA was actively seeking to align with the AFL Reserves as the AFL clubs were very loud about the high operating costs. Alignments were prioritised early on, while now there are none left.The VFA was dying. Without the AFL teams it would die again IMO
Not sure about Box Hill, but I think you'd have to bring in a new club instead of retaining Casey. They have virtually no local support and haven't from the moment they left Springvale. I don't think there's anything left for Melbourne to split from.It's a completely different situation now than it was 30 years ago. There was no AFL Victoria, the NAB League was in its infancy, and the VFA was actively seeking to align with the AFL Reserves as the AFL clubs were very loud about the high operating costs. Alignments were prioritised early on, while now there are none left.
I believe if the AFL puts the effort into creating the VFL as a proper state league competition with just the stand alone sides (plus a revived Box Hill Mustangs and Casey Scorpions) it could do pretty well, at worst as a mid age competition for players aged 19-23 who are too old for NAB League but not developed enough for an AFL list.
The trouble is in the South clubs like Dingley are paying massive amounts and only train twice a week , whereas the VFL is so much more intense for a 3rd of the match payments and Dingley is only an exampleIt's a completely different situation now than it was 30 years ago. There was no AFL Victoria, the NAB League was in its infancy, and the VFA was actively seeking to align with the AFL Reserves as the AFL clubs were very loud about the high operating costs. Alignments were prioritised early on, while now there are none left.
I believe if the AFL puts the effort into creating the VFL as a proper state league competition with just the stand alone sides (plus a revived Box Hill Mustangs and Casey Scorpions) it could do pretty well, at worst as a mid age competition for players aged 19-23 who are too old for NAB League but not developed enough for an AFL list.
I reckon a lot of people would get around it. If they can get around the new national second tier soccer comp they can get around it.
A lot would have got around the VFL had it went ahead in 2020.
I said it's a possible eventuality. You seem to be spoiling for an argument and you don't care what straw men you're building up in the process.Nope. I'm proposing the most sensible option for the non-Victorian teams who've indicated they'd prefer an AFL reserves, and the Victorian clubs who would prefer to play in Victoria. You proposed that there should be an AFL reserves.
No, I didn't. I whinged about your proposal for every non-Vic team to be in a reserves comp where they have to travel and every Vic one to be in a separate one where they don't. You bet I'm talking about you wanting to be a victim if you think that's fair while simultaneously having a sook about Vic clubs being "forced" into anything. You want that victimhood just as much as you want an argument.Talking about me wanting to be a victim? Mate you're whinging about how it's an unfair advantage for the VFL to be, y'know, a Victorian competition.
You seem to have little idea at all about what I want, actually.You want to have your cake and eat it too.
Werribee will continue to improve as the season goes on. Willi were considered a premiership contender and clearly don't have the depth to cover their injuriesWerribee dig deep in the last qtr to get their season back on track. Willy is up against it now.
I've seen Willy 4 times, overrun by Essendon, overrun by Werribee, belted by Coburg and they got out of jail against Frankston. Definitely no depth at Willy. Werribee were frustrating in the 2nd and 3rd qtrs, they struggled to get their hands on the footy and when they decided to play they burried the seagulls.Werribee will continue to improve as the season goes on. Willi were considered a premiership contender and clearly don't have the depth to cover their injuries