VFL/AFL Reserves & Under-19 Records?

stemline

Nov 26, 2001
Awesome suggestion! Should have thought of that (like the wiki one huh).

Yes they are there.

As my kids would say, you guys rock.

RogersResults

May 7, 2009
Wagga Wagga
Well, I've got all the VFL scores from various means except for 2004.

I'm particularly after Box Hill's scores - I've tried heaps of sites through the www.archive.org but not got much at all for that year. Any suggestions?

I think you at the stage where you'll have to go to the library.
Your local library will be able to tell you where the nearest copies of 2004 copies of the Age or the Herald-Sun are.

stemline

Nov 26, 2001
Interesting scorelines from the Under 19s in Round 15, 1986.

Hawthorn 3.10 (28) defeated St.Kilda 4.2 (26).

In the same round North Melbourne booted 29.21 (195) to Richmond 6.3 (39), with Mick Martyn slotting through 11 goals.

How about this reserves match R19 1982?

Hawthorn 30.17 (197) defeated Collingwood 29.8 (182).

Some of the reserves scores from the early-mid 80's are amazing. Seems like there were lots of surplus forwards wondering around in the 2nds, but no decent defenders.

stemline

Nov 26, 2001
I think you at the stage where you'll have to go to the library.
Your local library will be able to tell you where the nearest copies of 2004 copies of the Age or the Herald-Sun are.

Definitely will have to head to the state library at some point, but all of 2004 is available via the online footy records. Cheers

Mentallo

Apr 23, 2005
Your minds eye.
Pittsburgh Penguins
The highest scores each traditional club kicked in the Under 19s competition.

Carlton . . 42.30 (282) vs St. Kilda, 1982
Collingwood 47.33 (315) vs Carlton, 1991
Essendon . .44.11 (275) vs Sydney, 1985
Fitzroy . . 38.16 (244) vs St. Kilda, 1982
Footscray . 31.15 (201) vs Collingwood, 1986
Geelong . . 34.36 (240) vs St. Kilda, 1981
Hawthorn . .34.19 (223) vs Geelong, 1974
Melbourne . 35.20 (230) vs Richmond, 1986
North Melb .35.22 (232) vs Collingwood, 1985
Richmond . .32.36 (228) vs Footscray, 1982
St.Kilda . .32.18 (210) vs Fitzroy, 1987
South/Sydney 33.24 (222) vs St. Kilda, 1982

Apologies for bumping a post in this thread that is near 2 years old, but I reckon I went to this under 19's game at Vic Park and the big Sav Saverio Rocca kicked a lazy 16 or 18 goals. I think Carlton may have kicked only 1 or 2 goals for the game.

worbod

Oct 26, 2008
Bendigo
Liverpool
Carlton kicked 1.7 (13) to suffer the biggest Under 19 loss in history. In fact, the biggest loss at any level in the VFL/AFL. There were some big defeats handed out that day in the Under 19s. North defeated St. Kilda by 137, Geelong defeated Footscray by 98, Hawthorn defeated Fitzroy by 80 and Essendon defeated Sydney by 61. The only close one was Melbourne defeating Richmond by 15.

Sav Rocca only kicked 6 goals in Collingwood's massive win. The highest Pies goal tally went to S. Bennett who kicked 11, with Collingwood having 16 separate goalkickers that day.

Dec 18, 2002
demonwiki.org
AFC Wimbledon, Atlanta Braves
ah their is 1979 R17 Fitzroy 36.22=238 vs Melbourne 6.12=78

You're thinking of the 238-48 seniors match that day.

U19 was Fitzroy 17.15.117 defeated Melbourne 14.19.97
Goals - Boyle 3, Bickford 2, Richards 2, Vanderheyden 2, Adams 1, Cochrane 1, Logie 1, Todd 1, Walters 1

But we flogged them in the reserves!

Melbourne 27.19.181 d. Fitzroy 7.14.56
Goals - Moir 7, Gull 4, O'Donnell 4, Woodman 3, Bardoel 2, Flower 2, Maynard 2, Dellamarta 1, Wallace 1, Whitfort 1
Best - Burn, Wallace, Elshaug

worbod

Oct 26, 2008
Bendigo
Liverpool
This may be difficult to determine, but the above would probably be the biggest turn around from one VFL/AFL game to the next. Fitzroy Reserves lose by 125, then the seniors win by 190, a turn around of 315, even though we are looking at two different levels.

Dec 18, 2002
demonwiki.org
I've always been interested to find out what the worst combined senior/reserves/U19 performance by one club on the same day was.

For instance did anybody ever lose all three grades by more than a hundred on the same day?

Dec 18, 2002
demonwiki.org
The highest scores each traditional club kicked in the Under 19s competition.
Essendon . .44.11 (275) vs Sydney, 1985

511240487-05b9f561bf634814317f5f340001da95.4f2f6c60-full.jpg

I dare say this would be Essendon's second best performance (R13 1973).

Good of South to still name six best players after a 243pt loss.

worbod

Oct 26, 2008
Bendigo
Liverpool
I've always been interested to find out what the worst combined senior/reserves/U19 performance by one club on the same day was.

For instance did anybody ever lose all three grades by more than a hundred on the same day?

The best example of this (the highest aggregate of the losing margins) would be from Round 4, 1979.

SENIORS Collingwood 31.21 (207) vs St. Kilda 3.11 (29)
RESERVES Collingwood 33.24 (222) vs St. Kilda 9.17 (71)
UNDER 19 Collingwood 25.23 (173) vs St. Kilda 10.7 (67)

A record losing margin (or winning margin) aggregate of 435.
Collingwood's combined total of 602 is also a record aggregate across all three grades for the one round, though not far behind is Essendon, when they kicked 595 versus Sydney in Round 22, 1985. Essendon actually kicked 90 goals (and 55 behinds) to amass this total whereas Collingwood booted 89 goals (68 behinds).

worbod

Oct 26, 2008
Bendigo
Liverpool
It wasn't a completely dark day for St. Kilda. They got their revenge in the Little League: 1.2 (8) to 1.0 (6).

stemline

Nov 26, 2001
Because it doesn't seem to be on the internet anywhere...
AFL VFL Reserve Grade Premiers
Code:
Reserves Premiers	R-U		
1919	Collingwood	University A	
1920	Collingwood	University	
1921	Essendon	Collingwood	
1922	Collingwood	Essendon	
1923	Geelong		Richmond
1924	Geelong		Essendon
1925	Collingwood	Fitzroy	
1926	Carlton		Geelong
1927	Carlton		Sydney
1928	Carlton		Geelong
1929	Richmond	Geelong	
1930	Geelong		Richmond
1931	Melbourne	Geelong	
1932	Melbourne	Essendon	
1933	Melbourne	St Kilda	
1934	Melbourne	Geelong	
1935	Melbourne	Geelong	
1936	WesternB	Melbourne	
1937	Geelong		Collingwood
1938	Geelong		WesternB
1939	Melbourne	Richmond	
1940	Collingwood	Carlton	
1941	Essendon	Fitzroy	
1942	St Kilda	Fitzroy	
1943	St Kilda	Fitzroy	
1944	Fitzroy		Collingwood
1945	WesternB	Fitzroy	
1946	Richmond	Fitzroy	
1947	North Melb	Richmond	
1948	Geelong		Richmond
1949	Melbourne	Essendon	
1950	Essendon	North Melb	
1951	Carlton		Essendon
1952	Essendon	Collingwood	
1953	Carlton		Essendon
1954	Richmond	Melbourne	
1955	Richmond	WesternB	
1956	Melbourne	Sydney	
1957	North Melb	Fitzroy	
1958	Hawthorn	Collingwood	
1959	Hawthorn	Fitzroy	
1960	Geelong		Hawthorn
1961	St Kilda	Geelong	
1962	WesternB	St Kilda	
1963	Geelong		St Kilda
1964	Geelong		Richmond
1965	Collingwood	Geelong	
1966	Richmond	Collingwood	
1967	North Melb	Richmond	
1968	Essendon	Richmond	
1969	Melbourne	Carlton	
1970	Melbourne	Richmond	
1971	Richmond	Essendon	
1972	Hawthorn	Melbourne	
1973	Richmond	Geelong	
1974	Fitzroy		WesternB
1975	Geelong		Richmond
1976	Collingwood	North Melb	
1977	Richmond	WesternB	
1978	North Melb	Hawthorn	
1979	North Melb	Collingwood	
1980	Geelong		Sydney
1981	Geelong		Essendon
1982	Geelong		St Kilda
1983	Essendon	Collingwood	
1984	Melbourne	Carlton	
1985	Hawthorn	Carlton	
1986	Carlton		WesternB
1987	Carlton		St Kilda
1988	WesternB	North Melb	
1989	Fitzroy		Geelong
1990	Carlton		Melbourne
1991	Brisbane	Melbourne	
1992	Essendon	Melbourne	
1993	Melbourne	North Melb	
1994	WesternB	North Melb	
1995	North Melb	Sydney	
1996	North Melb	Essendon	
1997	Richmond	Hawthorn	
1998	WesternB	Essendon	
1999	Essendon	St Kilda

stemline

Nov 26, 2001
And U19 Under19 Grade AFL VFL Premiers:
Code:
U19	Premiers	R-U	
1946	North Melb	Carlton	
1947	Melbourne	North Melb	
1948	Carlton		Essendon
1949	Carlton		Geelong
1950	Essendon	Carlton	
1951	Carlton		Essendon
1952	Essendon	Melbourne	
1953	Melbourne	Essendon	
1954	WesternB	Carlton	
1955	Fitzroy		Sydney
1956	Sydney		Fitzroy
1957	St Kilda	Sydney	
1958	Richmond	Essendon	
1959	Essendon	Collingwood	
1960	Collingwood	Geelong	
1961	Essendon	Sydney	
1962	Geelong		Richmond
1963	Carlton		Essendon
1964	Melbourne	Collingwood	
1965	Collingwood	Carlton	
1966	Essendon	Collingwood	
1967	Richmond	Fitzroy	
1968	Richmond	WesternB	
1969	Richmond	Hawthorn	
1970	Richmond	Geelong	
1971	Melbourne	Essendon	
1972	Hawthorn	North Melb	
1973	Richmond	Essendon	
1974	Collingwood	Essendon	
1975	Richmond	Melbourne	
1976	North Melb	Richmond	
1977	Richmond	Fitzroy	
1978	Carlton		Collingwood
1979	Carlton		Fitzroy
1980	Richmond	Fitzroy	
1981	Melbourne	Geelong	
1982	Fitzroy		Melbourne
1983	Melbourne	North Melb	
1984	North Melb	Richmond	
1985	Richmond	North Melb	
1986	Collingwood	North Melb	
1987	North Melb	Richmond	
1988	North Melb	Essendon	
1989	Richmond	North Melb	
1990	North Melb	Melbourne	
1991	North Melb	Collingwood

worbod

Oct 26, 2008
Bendigo
Liverpool
I have for many years been trying to obtain the seasonal win-loss records for each team in the Under 19s. The figures for the early years of the competition sometimes seem to vary between sources. Can anyone confirm or refute these figures I currently have?

Essendon 16-0, Carlton 13-3, South Melb 13-3, North Melb 9-6, Footscray 9-7, Richmond 9-7, Melbourne 7-7, Geelong 6-10, Hawthorn 5-11, Fitzroy 3-12, St. Kilda 1-14.

If these figures are correct, then some teams played 16 home and away games, and some 15. Or have I missed some drawn games?

worbod

Oct 26, 2008
Bendigo
Liverpool

Geelong 14-3, South Melb 14-3, Carlton 13-4, Melbourne 12-4, Richmond 11-6, Essendon 9-8, Fitzroy 7-9, Footscray 7-9, North Melb 4-12, St. Kilda 4-12, Hawthorn 4-12.

Same mathematical quirk as above, not all teams seem to have played the same number of home and away games.

worbod

Oct 26, 2008
Bendigo
Liverpool

Essendon 16-0-1 draw, Geelong 15-2, Carlton 14-3, Richmond 12-5, Footscray 9-8, Melbourne 9-8, South Melb 7-10, Fitzroy 7-10, Hawthorn 5-11-1, North Melb 4-13, St. Kilda 1-16.

All teams have played 17 home and away games if these figures are correct. Collingwood did not have a team in the competition until 1951.

worbod

Oct 26, 2008
Bendigo
Liverpool

Melbourne 13-2, North Melb 13-3, Richmond 13-3, Carlton 10-6, Essendon 10-6, Geelong 9-6, Fitzroy 7-8, Hawthorn 6-9, St. Kilda 2-14, South Melb 1-14.

No Collingwood or Footscray team this season.

Derby103

Apr 20, 2006
Macclesfield
I have for many years been trying to obtain the seasonal win-loss records for each team in the Under 19s. The figures for the early years of the competition sometimes seem to vary between sources. Can anyone confirm or refute these figures I currently have?

Essendon 16-0, Carlton 13-3, South Melb 13-3, North Melb 9-6, Footscray 9-7, Richmond 9-7, Melbourne 7-7, Geelong 6-10, Hawthorn 5-11, Fitzroy 3-12, St. Kilda 1-14.

If these figures are correct, then some teams played 16 home and away games, and some 15. Or have I missed some drawn games?

The online versions of the Football Record appear to give definitive final ladders for the third eighteen competition. These ladders were published in the round 18 edition each year, as the finals began a week earlier than the senior finals. The win-loss records that you quoted appear to be correct. Teams did have a varying number of byes. There were also other sides in the competition at times - North Essendon in 1947-48 for example, and Richmond Juniors in 1950.

RogersResults

May 7, 2009
Wagga Wagga
The online versions of the Football Record appear to give definitive final ladders for the third eighteen competition. These ladders were published in the round 18 edition each year, as the finals began a week earlier than the senior finals. The win-loss records that you quoted appear to be correct. Teams did have a varying number of byes. There were also other sides in the competition at times - North Essendon in 1947-48 for example, and Richmond Juniors in 1950.
Besides the byes because Collingwood deigned not to compete, preferring to continue with their own district junior competition, there may also have been matches dropped from the fixture. I've seen mention of U-19 fixtures not played because of the weather/condition of the ground (although firsts and seconds played that day) and the uneven number of matches probably results from those matches being not just postponed but abandoned. There may also have been reasons other than the weather for matches not taking place - insufficient players available on the day etc. The preceding are not uncommon in junior competitions.

If the uneven number of matches in 1950 was just from byes you would expect there would not be one team having played 14 matches, three teams with 15 matches and seven teams with 16. The 11 team VFL competition of 1942 saw some teams with 2 byes and others with one but that meant a split of 6 playing 15 matches and 5 playing 14 matches - not a split of 1, 3 and 7 playing a different number of matches.

You could ask the club historians of the four 1950 U-19 that played less matches than the others to see if they have any record of exactly why that was so. (Would be interesting to see if Brisbane had any Fitzroy U-19 records extant.)