VFL or AFL on Sunday

Catch train to southern cross, walk 500 metres to ground.
How much easier could it possibly get?

Well could take 5 Minutes or More sometimes after the Game to get to Southern Cross Station

I went to Etihad on Saturday for the first time in a year and remembered how much I despise that ground.

It's so depressing to get there, to watch the football and to get out of there. The whole thing is awful.

I would never choose the VFL over AFL. The VFL side is in the VFL for a reason and that is to help our AFL team. I am stunned at how people can choose to watch the VFL over Collingwood.

It's nice watching they young players develop but Collingwood winning and playing is more important to me than a bunch of second tier players and some young players.

I rarely go to games at Etihad and even more rarely go to away games, so given it's not on 7 and I don't have foxtel I'll listen to the WB game on the radio somewhere. Vic Park might not be a bad option.

I must admit, I feel like when I'm at Etihad that I'm actually watching on television. No atmosphere. Possible exception that game against Adelaide when we came back from 6 goals down and Krakouer took a speccy. And the game in which we beat the Lions and Tarrant took the mark where he kicked it up to himself.

Unless completely packed Etihad is like an atmosphere vacuum. It's like watching a game in a sterile warehouse. The main reason I go to any game in person is the atmosphere and surroundings so I'm often pretty bored if it isn't a great game.
Same can be said for all grounds. Try going to the MCG every week if you support Melbourne.

That is more the Fans Problem then the Ground

Looks like there won't be many exciting young kids at the VFL

Abbott - Injured

Moore - Likely promoted

Freeman - Injured

Ramsay - Injured

Broomhead - Injured

Kennedy - Seniors

Sinclair - still injured?

De Goey/Maynard - Seniors

Mason Cox will be the one to keep an eye out for

Abbott - Injured

Moore - Likely promoted

Freeman - Injured

Ramsay - Injured

Broomhead - Injured

Kennedy - Seniors

You have just changed my mind.

Catch train to southern cross, walk 500 metres to ground.
How much easier could it possibly get?

Well it could be 450 metres to the ground I guess.

Never bought the hype about Etihad being a shit ground to watch footy at, it's not as easy to get to and from as the MCG obviously (less parking and Southern Cross can be a pain after the game) but I've never found it more than an inconvenience. As for actually watching the game, not as good as the MCG but maybe the atmosphere is shit because no-one is actually going there? Chicken or the egg?

Abbott - Injured

Moore - Likely promoted

Freeman - Injured

Ramsay - Injured

Broomhead - Injured

Kennedy - Seniors

Gault, Reid, Armstrong and Sinclair almost certain to return though so the VFL side won't be too bad. Scharenberg, Marsh, Manteit, Goodyear, Cox and Young and whoever gets dropped from the seniors will be there too. The VFL side will actually be better this week then it was vs Frankston for sure.

I still wouldn't consider going to it instead of the seniors though, ever.

Gault, Reid, Armstrong and Sinclair almost certain to return though so the VFL side won't be too bad. Scharenberg, Marsh, Manteit, Goodyear, Cox and Young and whoever gets dropped from the seniors will be there too. The VFL side will actually be better this week then it was vs Frankston for sure.

I still wouldn't consider going to it instead of the seniors though, ever.

Marsh and Cox are the 2 Big Ones you would want to Watch in the VFL

Well it could be 450 metres to the ground I guess.

Never bought the hype about Etihad being a shit ground to watch footy at, it's not as easy to get to and from as the MCG obviously (less parking and Southern Cross can be a pain after the game) but I've never found it more than an inconvenience. As for actually watching the game, not as good as the MCG but maybe the atmosphere is shit because no-one is actually going there? Chicken or the egg?

It's not hype. I don't like going to Etihad. The atmosphere sucks and to me it feels like a basketball stadium. A bit echoey.

The access isn't great unless you can use public transport.

Price of food doesn't bother me at all because I either eat at home or bring my own.

As for OP, neither for me this week, unfortunately it'll be another radio game for me

The people who say they can't stand Etihad..... Why?
How about you just go and support your team instead of bitching about the location?!

This. Yeah give me the G any day of the week but I'll get around the boys no matter where the game is. Especially the fact this is a massive game for us. Etihads not even that bad to get in and out of these days.

Was pretty shit on Saturday. Crowd was about 65-35 in our favour.

This. Yeah give me the G any day of the week but I'll get around the boys no matter where the game is. Especially the fact this is a massive game for us. Etihads not even that bad to get in and out of these days.

and I say it could be Worse this Sunday as we are playing another Vic Side

Was pleasantly surprised re cost at Etihad last weekend. Cost us $52 for a family of four, plus maybe $35 for a fair bit of food. That's cheaper than going to the movies on a Sunday arvo, followed by a Maccas run.

And to give them their due, they actually had food stalls and bars open on the top deck, unlike the MCG normally does.

Still vastly prefer the G, but was better than i expected.

VFL would start to look more attractive if any of our listed players were available. Moore will surely play seniors, Ben Reid is made of gummy bears and Sinclair fell into a sinkhole last week and despite his mobile phone initially pinging the tower, no-one has heard from him since. Abbott has strained a kneeshoulder and it's liek really bad. Goldsack is on location shooting the sequel to Edward Scissorhands.

This really made me laugh. Thank you.

I thought that.... It actually seemed like there were more Eagles fans in attendance which is disgraceful!!

Also I am a tall unit an take up a bit of space. The MCG gives you that bit extra space making it more comfortable to attend

Yer, that roof over Etihad is pretty low :P