vfl review

Dec 4, 2004
ive had a look but cant find any reviews on the weekends game. Has a review been posted or can someone do one here please. How did nathan go and is there anywhere you can get vfl stats.
thanks

This may help

Edit: Hmm looks like htey haven't updated round 3. Thanks for fixing the post (I'm guessing it was you phat) the URL linking is different on other forums.

[Phat]Yeah, was i.

Html code is switched off on Bigfooty.

If you click the 'insert hyperlink' box it pretty much does all the work for you.[/Phat]

Damn, and I call myself an IT Specialist :eek:

This review is from Cats Claw, posted by Blackjack.

Well as you can see it was a game Geelong had in the bag at half time. Try as they did to lose it near the end! They should have won by a fair margin in my opinion

First quarter was pretty even, Nablett took a ripper mark vs 3 Tassie opponents. To kick what I'm pretty sure was his only goal for the day and what was one of his only touches.

He had his left knee strapped and didn’t move more than 25 m from goal. Didn’t look to be moving all that well, but I would have liked to have seen a few more kicks to him on the 1 on 1 as I think he would certainly have had the better of Jovanovic in a 1 on 1.

The second quarter was a walkover. The midfield was well on top and McCarthy and Johnson benefited from great delivery.

Second half saw an even third quarter and then a series of brain explosions from both senior and junior players.

Next to the names Cheep, Bolton and Egan I have written ‘idiot’ on the team sheet. All three cost gaols through huge mistakes. Egan had a shocker. Vital mistakes in the defensive 50 when he needed a cool head were Scarlettesk in the way a good reliable player can become a bumbling fool.

I don’t think I have ever seen as many absolute stuff ups as I did from Jay Cheep, and Bolton wasn’t far behind him.

Picture this, Johnson wins a hard get in the middle, somehow get it out to the running Cheep, who grabs the ball and takes it to 50, then kicks a helicopter punt that goes out on the full no where near the goals…

Johnson really was the match winner, when the devils got a run on early in the last he went into the middle and was just as impressive as he turned the tide of the game from there in my opinion. A definite inclusion for the seniors next week.

I’ll go through the players:

Callan: Is not 100%. Was constantly stretching what appeared to be a groin and looked limited in his movement. Didn’t look like he should have played and didn’t have a good game

Haynes: Utter shyte. Kicked a goal but should have had 4. 25 metres out 45 degree angle kicks it to McCarthy (that’s right McCarthy) who’s 40 out directly in front with 2 on him. Matty took the mark but jeez- it was looking like the Graham-Mackie hospital ball from last year for a second.

3rd or 4th quarter he took a mark on the 40 (it’s a small ground) on a good angle- missed only to take a mark from the kick-in in exactly the same spot and spray it out on the full!

Slade- Very impressive first half playing off the half back line- took some good grabs and kicked a good goal. Went missing in the second half. Not quite AFL worthy yet.

Lonergan- I’ve heard some harsh words about him on this site lately but I thought he was serviceable playing fullback with Egan out of touch. Probably saved us the game when he beat his player 1 out on the last line in the last few minutes. Was also impressed with his ability to physically press himself on the smaller opposition where McCarthy, Nathan and Chambers didn’t seem to be using this advantage.

Thurley- Not sure how he went possession wise- probably had a few. I’d say the best midfeilder for us, probably needed to go forward a bit more for mine. Outsider for a game next week.

Egan- see above. Very ordinary.

S Johnson- 7 goals. BOG by a mile. His leadership, aggressive play and STRAIGHT KICKING were second to none. I think this ability to convert puts him in front of GAJ (IMO)

Nablett. See above. Not 100%, should be at CHF when he gets fit.

Blake: I can’t remember him doing anything- think he was playing CHB.

Spencer: Played back, probably had the biggest go with Savage, serviceable, Can’t remember any mistakes.

McCarthy: Really promising. Great hands- and what about the kicking! 6.1 is sensational by him. Lead well and looked like he really wanted to be there (unlike Nablett).

Chambers: so so. Won all the hitouts against an opposition effectively playing with a battering ram for a ruckman. Not AFL material though.

Primsall: First time I’d seen him, thought he was good, love seeing the #32 in and under. A couple of good passes into the forward 50. Probably had 20+ touches.

Rahilly: Played probably the best I have seen him. 2 goals in 2 minutes at an important time were important too. Some REALLY good runs off halfback. No costly errors today either.

Garth: Disappointing given he’s in line for a call up to the senior list. Played at CHF, mostly a LONG way out from goal. When Nablett gets fit I’d like to see them switch roles. Garthy doing the G-Train and Nablett doing a St Nick.

Buckland: Pretty solid in what I saw. Played fairly deep in defence for the second half. Can’t remember much of him.

Byne: Brilliant last quarter running goal helped win the game. Can’t remember a lot of him. Probably didn’t know who he was!

Cook: Pretty sure it was him that kicked the first goal of the day, looked serviceable.

Cheep/Bolton: See above- shyte. Absolute rubbish.

Can’t think of anything else atm. Ask away if anyway has anything they want to know.

Goals:
S Johnson: 7.2
McCarthy: 6.1
Rahilly: 2.0
Thurley: 1.1
Ablett: 1.0
Cook: 1.0
Slade: 1.0
Sherringham: 1.0
Haynes: 1.2

Sorry these might not be 100% accurate stats.

Haynes had his ankles operated on end of last year and missed a lot of preseason. Hopefully he'll get some much needed match fitness playing in the vfl and eventually make his way back into the senior team.

Go CATS!!

Haynes is the type of player (IMO) that needs to be fit to play. Unlike someone like SJ who could play at 70% and still dob 3. Haynes works hard for his goals.

NA is a bit of a worry. I really hope he settles down and it is injury and not lack of enthusiasm that is letting him down. If we had key position forwards or even good propects I wouldnt be so worried. But knowing that we have a player who has talent and the right build is is dissapointing to think that he may just not want to play. I would love to know the real story.

Tenacious Kane - you were slightly incorrect in some of your observations. I went to the game and can tell you the following:

Prismall had only 10-15 touches but they were quality.

Slade was off the ground most of the second half. Remember he has hardly played any footy and they're just working him back into it

Haynes took at least 10 marks.

S Johnson kicked the first goal before the ball was even bounced as Tassie went the knuckle on him

A bit hard on Garth. He hardly spent any time on the ground.

ecleftic said:
Haynes had his ankles operated on end of last year and missed a lot of preseason. Hopefully he'll get some much needed match fitness playing in the vfl and eventually make his way back into the senior team.

Thanks for that! HE showed abit early last year but fell away, as we sorta all know. Where would his best possition in the side be?

diamond8 said:
Tenacious Kane - you were slightly incorrect in some of your observations. I went to the game and can tell you the following:

Prismall had only 10-15 touches but they were quality.

Slade was off the ground most of the second half. Remember he has hardly played any footy and they're just working him back into it

Haynes took at least 10 marks.

S Johnson kicked the first goal before the ball was even bounced as Tassie went the knuckle on him

A bit hard on Garth. He hardly spent any time on the ground.

Gidday Diamond- It was actually me that did that report (straight after the game before I went out BTW, which explains all the typo's).

I got to the ground about 2 minutes late so missed the first goal, was told it was 'a curley haired bloke' by an onlooker- so thought it must have been Cook.

On reflection probably a bit Harsh on Haynes as you say- took a few grabs, but a forward HAS to kick at gaol when on a reasonable angle from 40 out. And those two misses were appauling.

I have actually met Garthy before as he is a friend of a friend, so I took a fair amount of interest in how he was going and where. He would have played at least 3/4 and did bugger all. As I said- should be playing closer to goal.

I couldn't see who was on the bench as I was on the other side a fair way up, I had wondered what happened to Slade. Thought he played an outstanding first half though.

Your not the bloke doing the Solo Geeeeeelong chants are you Diamond?

Blackjack - not me doing the chants but wasn't it deafening silence when a goal was kicked.
Were you pleased with fellow Tasmanian Thurley? Not a bad player

yeah I thought he had a good game- another good game this week too. A couple of injuries and he'll get a crack hopefully.

Caught the last half of the game on TV and was very impressed with Thurley. His disposal by foot and accuracy in front of goal were a real highlight of his game and looked a class above the other players.
Would have to be seriously pushing for selection in the seniors in the coming weeks.

vfl review