WESTERN JETS
these got read out tonight at trainin
BRANT DICKSON
BRAD CLIFTON
BRAD SUTCLIFFE
BACHAR HOULI
NATHAN LYONS
congratulations fellas
verry shocked at the fact the tyquin and de souza didn't get a look in and also jake edwards.. its not like they have been in the worst form especially for tyquin and desouza as they have been in the best atleast three of the four games...any comments on them or the five named for western?

CaTeR said:
WESTERN JETS
these got read out tonight at trainin
BRANT DICKSON
BRAD CLIFTON
BRAD SUTCLIFFE
BACHAR HOULI
NATHAN LYONS
congratulations fellas
Have only seen the two Jets games but those blokes are all worthy of an invite.

Liked Brant Dickson's game on Saturday - Defender, has been in the Jets best players every one of the four games. That's good enough for an invite, consistenty doing his job.

Brad Clifton, another defender, well his effort on Beau Dowler was good enough for an invite, and he played another tight game last week against Sandy. Has been in the Jets best every game as well.

Brad Sutcliffe averaging 23 possies in the first four games, been in the best the last two games.

Bachar Houli, what can you say about him really. Has another year to go but is a TAC Cup veteran already having played a heap of games last year. Averaging 27 touches and a couple of goals in the first four games, been in the best every game.

Nathan Lyons averaging 16 possessions a game in the first four weeks which is good considering he missed a chunk of the game vs Oakleigh two weeks ago and has been played off a flank. In the best once this year (round 2), but work rate was good on Saturday.

The others -

Tyquin - Has 5 goals from four games this year and averaging 7 marks a game. In the best twice so far. That's not too bad, I don't mind this bloke - I am more optimistic that some (that person knows who he is!). I'd like to see him a few kgs lighter though it would make a bit of a difference. But Tyquin doesn't strike me as the sort of player who Vic Metro go with anyway(when you look at the past, can play with an open forward line, focal point up forward eg Matt Little, Cam Croad, Luke Herrington).

De Sousa is averaging 20 touches a game in the first four weeks. Yeah, maybe a bit stiff to miss out. Only named in the best once and it was 6th best in Round 1. Stats only have him down for 7 marks total for the year which is surprise after those two hangers in Round 3. Back flanker, but I'm not sure who hes been playing on.

Jake Edwards, not named in the best this year so far, only averages 9 touches per game. Not enough.

Anyway that's a few thoughts. Well done to those blokes who got named from there.

Eastern

Robert WOOD
Lukas MARKOVIC
David MARCIUS
Heath HOCKING
Adam WILSON
Zac KELLY
Troy ARMSTRONG
Bradley KELLEHER
Matthew SPANGHER

Wood, Marcius and Armstrong did not get asked. Leigh Adams got a gig, as he deserves.
Very surprised that Troy Armstrong did not make it, aswell as David Marcius. Any other opinions??

Sam Robertson= Terrible

Tyquin may have been unlucky but I wouldnt be too ********ed off. He would play CHF but who is gonna take that position off Dowler?? No one, far too good

Possible Vic Metro Team from my list

Lockwood Dickson M.Thomas
Jones Ainger Crowe
White Bowes Anderson
Murphy Markovic Bentley
Kelleher Dowler Houli

Neaves Hocking Jackson

Warnock Phillips Laidlaw Sutcliffe

Emg R.Thomas Wilson Murray

Possible Vic Country Team from my list

Looby Tyler McLeod
Stanley Hansen Josh Eddy
Ellis Crook Pendlebury
Drum McGuane Selwood
Weeks Neagle Robert Eddy

West Muston Delphine

Johnson Wormald Duscher O’Brien

Emg Carlisle Grigg Fraser

You can tell I was abit board today. I did these before hearing about the Jets players added to the squad.

footy_freak17 said:
Eastern

Robert WOOD
Lukas MARKOVIC
David MARCIUS
Heath HOCKING
Adam WILSON
Zac KELLY
Troy ARMSTRONG
Bradley KELLEHER
Matthew SPANGHER

Wood, Marcius and Armstrong did not get asked. Leigh Adams got a gig, as he deserves.
Very surprised that Troy Armstrong did not make it, aswell as David Marcius. Any other opinions??

Sam Robertson= Terrible

Love the way Zac Kelly goes about his footy just like a bull at a gate full charge at the man and the ball, surprised about Troy Armstrong considering he got a State Screening invite in 2004 for doing not much during the season thought he had showed some good signs this year,

Domininc Di Mascio did he get a call up??

Agree on Sam Robertson just has not improved from the Under 16 level if and will battle to get drafted.Lacks intensity big time.

Sezzac1 said:

Jones Ainger Crowe
White Bowes Anderson
Murphy Markovic Bentley
Kelleher Dowler Houli

Neaves Hocking Jackson

Looby Tyler McLeod
Stanley Hansen Josh Eddy
Ellis Crook Pendlebury
Drum McGuane Selwood
Weeks Neagle Robert Eddy

West Muston Delphine

You can tell I was abit board today. I did these before hearing about the Jets players added to the squad.

Good job mate! few minor changes
For Metro J.Kennedy in for Crowe and Clifton in for Lockwood.

For country I would have Carlile in for McLeod ,Fraser in for O'Brien, Steve O'Bryan in for Delphine and Bartram in for Duscher.

footy_freak17 said:
Eastern

Robert WOOD
Lukas MARKOVIC
David MARCIUS
Heath HOCKING
Adam WILSON
Zac KELLY
Troy ARMSTRONG
Bradley KELLEHER
Matthew SPANGHER

Sam Robertson= Terrible

Not surprised with Armstrong. Good solid defender but mostly in the air, not as good at ground level compared to other players at his club and other clubs to make metro.
As for Marcius to make metro you need to have the all round package to be in the midfield at that level. Again a good hard at it player but has defficiencies with his target spotting when under the pump. To easy just to kick long all the time.
Wood - From what I've seen, not close to metro squad class.

Sezzac1 said:

Jones Ainger Crowe
White Bowes Anderson
Murphy Markovic Bentley
Kelleher Dowler Houli

Neaves Hocking Jackson

Looby Tyler McLeod
Stanley Hansen Josh Eddy
Ellis Crook Pendlebury
Drum McGuane Selwood
Weeks Neagle Robert Eddy

West Muston Delphine

Nathan Jones from Dandenong?

Is that "Did you forget him"? or "How could you have him in"? :D

I have him at HB for metro. Been fabulous there for the Rays racking up a stack of well used possessions.

If it was the later. "I like him" ;)

In 4 games - 65ks 44 hb 49 hbr 12 mks 10 tks
Ave 27 poss a game.

Oops, no you'd have to have him in. He's going to be tough to stop given his size.

To be honest that Metro side doesn't look particularly strong in comparison to Country. But Country always seem to be too slow to get it together during the Carnival.

WA would have to be favourites.

Hi GH. I thought the same thing about Metro. Different people may like to change certain players in and out, due to personal preferences, but even so I can't see Metro getting much, if any stronger.

I think Vic Country could still get stronger depending on how many Bendigo players get a game. Clifton for Nth Ballarat has been terrific. Bartram, Boak (Both AIS), Sherrigham, Couch and Higgins from the Falcons would make worthy inclusions coming off a bench. The first 4 a very quick over the ground and have great foot skills.

Sezzac1 said:

Is that "Did you forget him"? or "How could you have him in"? :D

I have him at HB for metro. Been fabulous there for the Rays racking up a stack of well used possessions.

If it was the later. "I like him" ;)

In 4 games - 65ks 44 hb 49 hbr 12 mks 10 tks
Ave 27 poss a game.

Jones would have to be the best performed player in the TAC Cup this year, and would have to be leading the Morrish.

Should be superb at the Nationals as well. Bigger body, good pace, uses it well, takes people on. Has impact player written all over him.

Probably keeps the similar Josh Kennedy out of the final squad though.

Sezzac1, Obviously you follow the TAC cup very closely. Was interested to see that you rate Grant Weeks so highly, at this stage do you see him as definate draftee of 2006? Also interested that you didn't rate Chris Casey of Bendigo a chance of making the Country squad, Whys that? From what I hear he has started the season off very well, with another 31 possies on the weekend?

If Weeks continues the way he is going then he will obviously be looked at closely in 2006.

Re Casey. Can't really answer that ?. I don't have much in the way of notes on him. Maybe his size has caused me not to take much notice. A guy like Josh Bowe is similar. He gets plenty of possessions as well and has a real dip.

Both get the football but I guess I haven't seen anything that really stands out. At their size I think they need to do something super special each game.

Since 2004 Ed Clarke from NSW has become my small-man bench mark. Ed (179cm) did absolutely nothing wrong in 2004 playing for NSW. He dominated games, won several games off his own boot against TAC teams and did the same in the U18 Champs Div 2. Made AA. Had very good skills, decent speed, decent stamina and a tenacious attitude. He got passed up in the draft (Rookied by Swans). From now on I ask myself....'What have they got that Ed didn't?'

As discussed elsewhere on BF the little guys are up against it as afar as Recruiters are concerned. They need blistering speed and/or freakish skills or the abiltiy to have all of the above plus run a 15+ beep.

Lynchdog said:
Northern Knights
Ryan Jackson
Ryan Anderson
Nick Carnell
Bronik Davies
Is that who you think will make it or who have made it?

Great shame for Neaves as he was traveling okay. Still one door slams and another opens.

Angus Graham has been very good the past two games in the ruck for Calder. Big chance to really step up and show he may be worth a Vic Metro spot. Neaves got injured midway through the 2nd quarter last week so Angus had to go it alone. He did a solid job against Weymouth and Johnson who are both shorter but competative in the ruck. Calder dominated the 2nd half and alot of it was down to Graham feeding Bowes and co.

Anyone know if Graham has previous experience playing a decent standard of basketball ? His tap work is very much in the basketball vain.