Nathan LYONS

Lukas MARKOVIC
Heath HOCKING
Adam WILSON
Zac KELLY
Bradley KELLEHER
Matthew SPANGHER
Leigh ADAMS

(Yet to be confirmed but seems about right)
Ryan Jackson
Ryan Anderson
Nick Carnell
Bronik Davies

Gareth Bowes
Matt White
Sam Robertson
Brent Gordon
Richard Douglas

Thats 21 names. Are the other 25-30 (8-10 players each) coming from just the 3 remaining Sandy, Dandy and Oak???

Id like to congratulate a GUN footballer with the best attitude to life and his footy and that is Bronik Davies...

LynchDog can back me up here...

Bronik is a natural born leader and Im not sure if he got a leadership gig with the Knights this year? But he thoroughly deserves to be named...

A product of us Alphington boys and he is just a treat to watch and doesnt drink or anything.....Well done Bron. :)

Sezzac1 said:
Brant DICKSON
Brad CLIFTON
Brad SUTCLIFFE
Bachar HOULI
Nathan LYONS

Brendon Tyquin and Jake De Sousa were abit stiff not to get an invite i thought they would be a fair chance after there preformances in the first 4 games, but congrads to the Jets boys who made it wish use all the best

For the sake of comparison:

2004 SQUAD:
Calder - 13 players
Dandenong - 6 players
Eastern - 4 players
Northern - 7 players
Oakleigh - 9 players
Sandringham - 7 players
Western - 6 players
Total = 52 players

In the first 2004 squad and on 2005 club lists:
Calder - Shane Neaves, Sam Robertson
Dandenong - nil
Eastern - nil
Northern - Nick Carnell, Ryan Jackson, Mark Lynch
Oakleigh - Beau Dowler
Sandringham - Simon Philips, Shane Valenti
Western - nil

footyman said:
For the sake of comparison:

2004 SQUAD:
Calder - 13 players
Dandenong - 6 players
Eastern - 4 players
Northern - 7 players
Oakleigh - 9 players
Sandringham - 7 players
Western - 6 players
Total = 52 players

In the first 2004 squad and on 2005 club lists:
Calder - Shane Neaves, Sam Robertson
Dandenong - nil
Eastern - nil
Northern - Nick Carnell, Ryan Jackson, Mark Lynch
Oakleigh - Beau Dowler
Sandringham - Simon Philips, Shane Valenti
Western - nil
Wasnt James Quinton playing for Metro?...Quinton plays Knights...or played sorry.

F/D said:
Wasnt James Quinton playing for Metro?...Quinton plays Knights...or played sorry.
At the Bullants now I think, down in the reserves backline. Interesting hair thing going on as well, doing his best at trying to stand out.

But yes he was in the initial VM squad last year.

footyman said:
At the Bullants now I think, down in the reserves backline. Interesting hair thing going on as well, doing his best at trying to stand out.

Yes, he is down at Northern Bullants...

footyman said:

You heard of a young man called Shannon Young?

Plays with Calder and only 15-16 and playing in the 18s comp....

Whats your thoughts on him...

milnedog44 said:
So has spanhger got into the squad (good mates)?
If so do you reckon it is likely he'll get a game?

Been playing up forward and the ruck this year and has been consistent after missing round 1 through injury. Beat Neaves from Calder clearly in the ruck and I think Neaves is the candidate for Vic metros number 1 ruck spot.

I think he is a better rebounding KP backmen where I believe he has played most of his junior footy. Thats where I think metro should try him out.
Answering your question - there aren't many great talls at metro this year and other than Dowler I don't think the KP's are as clear cut compared to past years. He is as good as any to get a run

Vic Metro Squad
Dandenong
Daniel Nicholls
Sam Carpenter
Ryan Cook
James Magner
Nathan Jones
Shane Wright
Greg Bentley
Sam Gill
Aaron Murray

Eastern
Lukas Markovic
Heath Hocking
Adam Wilson
Zac Kelly
Evan Panozza
Brad Kelleher
Matt Spangher
Leigh Adams

Calder
Brent Gordon
Matt White
Richard Douglas
Gareth Bowes
Sam Robertson

Oakleigh
Steven Freemantle
Marc Murphy
Myles Krakouer
Beau Dowler
Rees Thomas
Matthew Laidlaw
Andrew Ainger

Sandringham
Josh Kennedy
Shane Valenti
Jake Muir
Matt Thomas
Robert Warnock
Simon Phillips

Northern
Ryan Jackson
Nick Carnell
Ryan Anderson
Bronik Davies

Western
Brad Clifton
Brant Dickson
Nathan Lyons
Bachar Houli
Brad Sutcliffe

Vic Country

Bendigo
Joel Selwood
Grant Weeks
Ben Duscher
Josh Bowe

Marcus Crook
Travis Boak
Clint Bartram
Danny Stanley
Sam Wormold
Ben Johnson
Jacob McGuane
Jonathan Simpkin
Mark McLeod
Mitch Cuthill
Shaun Higgins
Nick Couch
Josh Eddy

Murray
Marcus Drum
Alipate Carlile
Beau Muston
Paul Kenelley
Tim Looby
Matthew Bekker

North Ballarat
Bill Driscoll
Jake Dignan
Shaun Grigg
Matt Tyler
Steve Clifton
Stephen Owen

Gippsland
Robert Eddy
Xavier Ellis
Benjamin Fraser
Steven O'Bryan
Scott Pendlebury
Dale Thomas
Lachlan Hansen
Chris Dunne
Ricky Delphine
Nathan Lieshout
Trent West
Jay Neagle

Weaver, GH or anyone.

How is Myle Krakouer going ATM..? Improved any since last year, possibility to be drafted (it seems we offended his father) etc etc..?

Thanks for the lists GH

So close ;)

First a huge congrats to Sam Carpenter :D Mighty effort and thoroughly deserved it on his performances in the first 4 rds. Your mum will be over the moon Sammy.

Few interesting picks.

Evan Panozza. The lad has been going okay but has been on and off the bench for Eastern.

Nahas is dead stiff. IMHO deserved a shot well before Krakouer and Freemantle.

Bowe instead of Curtis. Lot of possessions don't always guarantee a spot.

Mitch Cuthill a nuggety little back pocket for the Falcons has been rock solid and a real quiet achiever. Congrats to him.

Big Mathew Bekker from Murray (195cm and 101 kg) will make it very hard for Warnock (204cm and 77kg) to get around at the throwins if both get a game.

Stephen Owen after only 2 games. Kicked 6 in his first game and 1 in his 2nd.

Dale Thomas a neat little goal sneak is a nice choice.

Footymad said:
Been playing up forward and the ruck this year and has been consistent after missing round 1 through injury. Beat Neaves from Calder clearly in the ruck and I think Neaves is the candidate for Vic metros number 1 ruck spot.

I think he is a better rebounding KP backmen where I believe he has played most of his junior footy. Thats where I think metro should try him out.
Answering your question - there aren't many great talls at metro this year and other than Dowler I don't think the KP's are as clear cut compared to past years. He is as good as any to get a run
Thanks mate.

NorthBhoy said:
Weaver, GH or anyone.

How is Myle Krakouer going ATM..? Improved any since last year, possibility to be drafted (it seems we offended his father) etc etc..?

Had a very good start to the year. Probably Oakleigh's best. Not much size about him but has very tidy skills. Seems to lack stamina, his first halves are much better than his second.

Weaver said:
Had a very good start to the year. Probably Oakleigh's best. Not much size about him but has very tidy skills. Seems to lack stamina, his first halves are much better than his second.

How does he stack up to Andy, in your opinion...?

Sezzac1 said:
Nahas is dead stiff. IMHO deserved a shot well before Krakouer and Freemantle.

I would have had Krakouer, Nahas and then Freemantle.

Probably academic anyway. There are a LOT of little rovers in that team and Metro tends not to pick more than two.

Magner, Wilson, Douglas, Bowes, Lyons, Nicholls, Adams, Freemantle, Carpenter, M.Thomas, Phillips, Carnell, Anderson, Davies and Valenti are probably all fighting for 1-2 spots at most.

Jones, Hocking, Murphy, Jackson, White, Gordon and Laidlaw probably have the inside running on the midfield spots.

Houli the small forward. Bentley, Cook, Krakouer, Kelly on the flanks.

One of Rees Thomas, Jake Muir or Evan Panozza.

I'd go for -

B: Douglas, Clifton, Gill
HB: Jones, Ainger, Cook
C: Bentley, Hocking, Jackson
HF: White, Muir, Krakouer
F: Houli, Dowler, Markovic
R: Warnock, Laidlaw, Murphy
I: Spangher, Kelleher, Gordon, Kelly
E: M.Thomas, Sutcliffe, Anderson

And for Country, from that squad ... hhmmm ... tougher ...

B: Looby, Wormald, J.Eddy
HB: Higgins, Drum, Crook
C: Selwood, Ellis, Pendlebury
HF: Duscher, Fraser, Hansen
F: Simpkin, McGuane, R.Eddy
R: Johnson, Dunne, Dephine
I: West, Kennelly, Grigg, Carlisle
E: Owen, Clifton, Muston

Have to say that Country looks better this year. Particularly in the key positions.

Weaver said:
I'd go for -

B: Douglas, Clifton, Gill
HB: Jones, Ainger, Cook
C: Bentley, Hocking, Jackson
HF: White, Muir, Krakouer
F: Houli, Dowler, Markovic
R: Warnock, Laidlaw, Murphy
I: Spangher, Kelleher, Gordon, Kelly
E: M.Thomas, Sutcliffe, Anderson
Good effort Weaver however I would almost put my life on it that Ryan Anderson will get a game. I would put him ahead of Jackson on the wing if they had to put at least one Northern player in there. Anderson is a gun and will definately get drafted, genuinely nice kid, leader and can play a wider variety of positions. Just my opinion though...

Vic Metro

Gill Dickson Douglas
Jones Ainger Kennedy
White Bowes Anderson
Murphy Dowler Bentley
Kelleher Murray Houli

Warnock Hocking Jackson

Markovic Phillips Laidlaw M.Thomas

Emg R. Thomas Wilson Valenti

Vic Country

Looby Tyler McLeod
Stanley Hansen Josh Eddy