Vic Squads

Sezzac1 said:
Danny Stanley?

Love Danny Stanley. Competes well, is physical, plays tall, reads the ball well. Unfortunately is a shocking kick. Dead-set clone of Duncan Kellaway. If he could kick it to teammates he'd be a top-30 chance.

Sezzac1 said:
Wormald at FB for VC :confused: How did you arrive at that one and not Tyler, McLeod, Hansen or Carlisle ???

I wanted Wormald on the field, I rate him highly. I actually like him as a key forward because he is football smart. I think he has the body size and smarts to go to fullback.

Hansen I had forward. I see him as a genuine goalkicking forward, huge talent and I think he has to be one of the 3 marking targets.

Carlile? I confess I looked and saw that I had Drum and Looby and thought adding the third Murray guy would look weird :)

McLeod and Tyler I need to see a little more of.

Weaver said:
I wanted Wormald on the field, I rate him highly. I actually like him as a key forward because he is football smart. QUOTE]

why not play him out of a forward pocket then since he has played full forward all his life except for the past year or so. reads the ball really well coming into the forward line.

footy123 said:
Weaver said:
I wanted Wormald on the field, I rate him highly. I actually like him as a key forward because he is football smart. QUOTE]

why not play him out of a forward pocket then since he has played full forward all his life except for the past year or so. reads the ball really well coming into the forward line.

Because I already had McGuane, Fraser and Hansen as tall forwards. A fourth one would be overkill.

Vic Metro
B- Sutcliffe Clifton Spangher
HB- Laidlaw Ainger White
C- Bentley Hocking Anderson
HF- Jones Kelleher Jackson
F- Houli Dowler R.Thomas
R- Warnock Murphy Bowes
I-Kennedy Douglas M.Thomas Adams

Vic Country
B- Grigg Tyler Drum
HB- Stanley Hansen Duscher
C- Pendlebury O'Bryan Crook
HF-Wormald Fraser R.Eddy
F- McGuane Neagle Dignan
R- Johnson Ellis Selwood
I- West Bartram Muston J.Eddy

What are your thoughts on sammy carpenter, will he get a go, because i know him and he will make it tough for the selectors by playing a good game, what are your thoughts.

any players in that group that dont deserve to be there and why.

Weaver said:
I would have had Krakouer, Nahas and then Freemantle.

Probably academic anyway. There are a LOT of little rovers in that team and Metro tends not to pick more than two.

Magner, Wilson, Douglas, Bowes, Lyons, Nicholls, Adams, Freemantle, Carpenter, M.Thomas, Phillips, Carnell, Anderson, Davies and Valenti are probably all fighting for 1-2 spots at most.

Jones, Hocking, Murphy, Jackson, White, Gordon and Laidlaw probably have the inside running on the midfield spots.

Houli the small forward. Bentley, Cook, Krakouer, Kelly on the flanks.

One of Rees Thomas, Jake Muir or Evan Panozza.

I'd go for -

B: Douglas, Clifton, Gill
HB: Jones, Ainger, Cook
C: Bentley, Hocking, Jackson
HF: White, Muir, Krakouer
F: Houli, Dowler, Markovic
R: Warnock, Laidlaw, Murphy
I: Spangher, Kelleher, Gordon, Kelly
E: M.Thomas, Sutcliffe, Anderson

Good effort Weaver - Good to see you've got my favourites in there - Spangher, Laidlaw and Ainger.
Markovic is interesting. I've noticed a couple of people have put him in as a forward. I'm a bit of a fan and I reckon he could be a key forward, but he has never actually played more than 5 minutes (resting role) in a key forward position at TAC cup level. Its either been ruck or CHB OR FB. Would be interesting if Metro play him there and Eastern hasn't.

Also your thoughts on big Lynch from Northern. I wasn't a fan last year. I've only seen Northern in a practice match this year and he didn't do much to change my thinking.
Could someone tell me if he is injured or his form didn't warrant selection in the initiall squad?

Footymad said:
Good effort Weaver - Good to see you've got my favourites in there - Spangher, Laidlaw and Ainger.
Markovic is interesting. I've noticed a couple of people have put him in as a forward. I'm a bit of a fan and I reckon he could be a key forward, but he has never actually played more than 5 minutes (resting role) in a key forward position at TAC cup level. Its either been ruck or CHB OR FB. Would be interesting if Metro play him there and Eastern hasn't.

Also your thoughts on big Lynch from Northern. I wasn't a fan last year. I've only seen Northern in a practice match this year and he didn't do much to change my thinking.
Could someone tell me if he is injured or his form didn't warrant selection in the initiall squad?
Hes played 2 matches for the year so far...I think thats the problem...hope that answers your question.

Thier Have been wispers of a drug testing at the final cut of the vic squad could anyone tell me if this is true? and has this happend in the past?

I wasn't aware he had a brother. What's his name. Do you mean Lachlan Hansen from Gippsland Power? He is not related to Ash.

Heath Hocking had his arm in plaster saturday and will miss about 4. Do they replace the injuried players in the Vic Metro squad?

footyman said:
Don't know him.
How about Will Stratmann> Hes a youngin just brought into the pioneers squad because they are lacking so much class and this kid has class applenty. Bucket loads of it. His left boot is hitting targets left right and centre at trainging.

How about Morgan Love :eek:
The young midfielder just come down from ACT, just made the smooth transition from wogball, to the great sport. he's been kicking sausage rolls from just about anywhere, real smooth player. :rolleyes:

Sezzac1 said:
Vic Country possibles.

Bendigo 7

Benjamin DUSCHER
Shannon GEARY
Sam O'BRIEN
Joel SELWOOD
Grant WEEKS
Joel WEST
Simon WEEKLEY

Guys missing from here is Chris Casey an absolute gun played Echuca Seniors with him for the latter part of last year and was close to best on every game, not to mention him playing well in the pios earlier in the year.

Somehow he's been overlooked but as u'll see on the tac website his up their with the best of them possesion wise.

Real hardnut, can really play.

ECHUCABOY said:
Guys missing from here is Chris Casey an absolute gun played Echuca Seniors with him for the latter part of last year and was close to best on every game, not to mention him playing well in the pios earlier in the year.

Somehow he's been overlooked but as u'll see on the tac website his up their with the best of them possesion wise.

Real hardnut, can really play.

Yeah i agree, and have allready brought this one up. Gene is a star hey? and an awsome bloke too. Apparently there is only a handful of players his size make it into the Vic Scuads, so he was overlooked.