Opinion VICBias - Genuine Discussion

lame lame lame and very easily overcome.
Its just desperate casting around for any justification

vIcTorIa am the onLy placE thAt can posSibly do it

its like in the gf moving threads “oh noes victoria is only place big enough to handle that much peeple”

when the original gf term was up perth and adelaide will have a larger population than victorias was when we won our first gf.....

This is the lamest of all the arguments.

If a ticket to the mcg costs x - a ticket for a smaller stadium can be x + whatever it takes to make the difference up.
Well, here is a crazy idea. The AFL pay their execs as leaders of a major business — well why not act as a business and tender out the GF to the highest bidder and cash in on the strength of national exposure, instead of cozy old boys deals that are strangling the game. (Not strangling - why do clubs have to sack staff to fit in with the lowest denominator?)

It hasn't started yet.
The season is more likely to be disrupted on restart by playing most games in the state with the most new infections v the state with none.

The AFL isn't considering community safety as it's #1 priority for this restart...

Well, here is a crazy idea. The AFL pay their execs as leaders of a major business — well why not act as a business and tender out the GF to the highest bidder and cash in on the strength of national exposure, instead of cozy old boys deals that are strangling the game. (Not strangling - why do clubs have to sack staff to fit in with the lowest denominator?)
Nah just give away a billion dollars worth of product for a handfull of beads that only victorians benefit from.

Most footy fans living in other states will have absolutely no chance at ever attending a GF.
No chance, how so?
Just need to organise your membership/ticket and transport.
Every GWS member that wanted a GF ticket got one. Heaps of flights, buses, or a 1 day drive got them there.
Every Swans member that wanted a GF ticket got one their last 2 GFs, easy for them to get there.
Easy to get to Melbourne for Adelaide members in 2017, more difficult to get a ticket though, Tiger members even harder to get a ticket.
I doubt Brisbane/Gold Coast members would have any difficulty getting a ticket and transport.

It's really only WA residents that it's hard for. Expensive and limited flights, driving not really an option.
One of my ideas in prior years' Vicco threads was for the AFL to subsidise flights for WA fans to keep the price reasonable - WA fans should push the AFL for this instead of just whinging in footy forums. The 2057 GF deal would have been the ideal time to push for this.
In late 2017/18 I was telling Kranky Al how you could book return flights from Perth to Melbourne for GF weekend in April/May for something like $500 and fully refundable for a few hundred more. He called it asinine, but I'm sure those Eagles fans who did it didn't think so.

So, for those of you who dislike the current format/amount of Vic teams in the AFL, what would you change?

Being realistic, please. Don't suggest a team in Tassie/Canberra/Darwin etc, because they wouldn't be viable.
Also extra teams in SA & WA. Who would support them.

And keep in mind that when you say "scrap the Bulldogs" etc, you're talking about a club with thousands of supporters and a proud history who would be gutted. What would you say to someone who told you your club should fold?

I think having the GF at the highest ranked team's stadium is a good idea, and fair.

So what would you actually do to change the league?
What do you mean who would support an extra team in WA and SA? That is a very easy question to answer.

Football followers who don’t like the Eagles and Dockers or followers of the Dockers who are disillusioned with their continued inept performances and want hope restored to their lives again.

In SA the same principles apply.

No chance, how so?
Just need to organise your membership/ticket and transport.
Every GWS member that wanted a GF ticket got one. Heaps of flights, buses, or a 1 day drive got them there.
Every Swans member that wanted a GF ticket got one their last 2 GFs, easy for them to get there.
Easy to get to Melbourne for Adelaide members in 2017, more difficult to get a ticket though, Tiger members even harder to get a ticket.
I doubt Brisbane/Gold Coast members would have any difficulty getting a ticket and transport.

It's really only WA residents that it's hard for. Expensive and limited flights, driving not really an option.
One of my ideas in prior years' Vicco threads was for the AFL to subsidise flights for WA fans to keep the price reasonable - WA fans should push the AFL for this instead of just whinging in footy forums. The 2057 GF deal would have been the ideal time to push for this.
In late 2017/18 I was telling Kranky Al how you could book return flights from Perth to Melbourne for GF weekend in April/May for something like $500 and fully refundable for a few hundred more. He called it asinine, but I'm sure those Eagles fans who did it didn't think so.
It is asinine - every year having to part with 5-700 dollars in case your team makes a granny.

we were tipped to make the spoon by some in 2018....

as for every one getting a ticket.

lol.

Theres no crowds mate - we dont need 60000 seat stadiums - sanfl grounds will do
Clearly the afl think so too as they were looking at sa before the victorian players all cried.
Conveniently ignoring the fact that when they first started talking about hubs they wete talking 4+ months as opposed to the current 1-2 months but that wouldn't fit with anti-Vic hysteria. At this time families wouldn't be included in going however that has changed.

An anti-Victorian hysteria fuelled by a newspaper so they can continue to make money in these difficult times and a premier jumping on board seeing a tactic to get people onside with an election due in less than 12 months.

On SM-G975F using BigFooty.com mobile app

Conveniently ignoring the fact that when they first started talking about hubs they wete talking 4+ months as opposed to the current 1-2 months but that wouldn't fit with anti-Vic hysteria. At this time families wouldn't be included in going however that has changed.

An anti-Victorian hysteria fuelled by a newspaper so they can continue to make money in these difficult times and a premier jumping on board seeing a tactic to get people onside with an election due in less than 12 months.

And in a month or two when the season is canned in the second wave...

You will get your wish of less Victorian teams as there will not be much money. Same as if all teams had to move to WA and SA hubs.

If you haven't realised that money comes first with AFL then that's your problem. If you did you would realise a lot cheaper to move 4 teams for half the time than what was suggested originally for double the teams.

Imagine if the grand final was signed off and played at the highest ranked teams ground for the last 20 - 30 years whether there would be a zillion threads and trolls on demanding the final game be played back at at the G? I’d say no purely and solely cause it’s fair! Sure there would always be other things to whinge about!

And we have the league as we know it, it'd be semi pro at best. Maybe not even an expanded comp, just a reduced vfl and sanfl and wafl.

lame lame lame and very easily overcome.

Sigh. A shitty pre season game in Gero is big news in WA, I get that.

In the actual season see,the AFL has sold the broadcast rights.

And Seven didn't pay to televise ro advertise games out of Gero.

Advertisers at grounds like the MCG pay more than what Mick's Sheep s**t and Ammo Shop in Gero pays.

There's a whole football economy beyond crowds.

Yeah, let's just relocate the whole comp, 9 games a week, to South Australia coz once a pre season game got televised from Gero.

You will get your wish of less Victorian teams as there will not be much money. Same as if all teams had to move to WA and SA hubs.

If you haven't realised that money comes first with AFL then that's your problem. If you did you would realise a lot cheaper to move 4 teams for half the time than what was suggested originally for double the teams.

Its a billion dollar comp run by a bunch of parochial nitwits who are utterly beholden to the big vic clubs

You talk about money - if there really was thoughts of money in this they would have moved to sa - How much will it cost them if we get shut down again? Thats why initially they were talking about wa or sa.

you are talking penny wise and pound foolish - right now they would be able to negotiate the cheapest hotel deal everand they wouldnt be spending any money sending teams interstate every week.

Chances are the two would cancel each other out.

In an ideal world the non-Victorian clubs form their own league, a league of 8 teams to start with, with the richer clubs making sure GWS and Gold Coast survive, which they would be able to do comfortable, and the league holds out for the poorer VFL teams to start dying, and coaxing over a few of the richer Victorian teams.

Not going to happen, but it would be interesting to see what would happen if it did. The VFL with 10 teams would be reasonably screwed compared to the breakaway league.

How would the 10 clubs be screwed exactly?

Its a billion dollar comp run by a bunch of parochial nitwits who are utterly beholden to the big vic clubs

You talk about money - if there really was thoughts of money in this they would have moved to sa - How much will it cost them if we get shut down again? Thats why initially they were talking about wa or sa.

you are talking penny wise and pound foolish - right now they would be able to negotiate the cheapest hotel deal everand they wouldnt be spending any money sending teams interstate every week.

Chances are the two would cancel each other out.
The head parochial nitwit is actually a South Australian the commission chairman is a West Australian. Anyway l don't believe some are capable of thinking gor themselves and get sucked in by media outlets with their own agenda.

How would the 10 clubs be screwed exactly?
Assuming the breakaway league was financed with deep pockets - noones paying a billion dollars for the broadcast rights to the vfl.

so revenue is lower - players arent paid as much then the breakaway comp without the minnow clubs forcing lower salary caps and football departments start poaching.

Wouldnt take long for the big clubs to see the writing on the wall - the new league issues an invitation for the first 5 clubs out of collingwood, essendon, richmond, hawthorn, geelong, carlton to sign up to the new comp are in the rest are out unless they relocate.