Opinion VICBias - Genuine Discussion

Stephen Michael..the greatest player to have never played for the VFL/AFL period! (That should start another fight)
Excellent player (Damn him). Saw him at least 3 times a year when South played my beloved Royals. If Royals lost - I usually put the blame/hate on Michael. Was a jet.

Ok so you're thinking again, so I'm guessing you don't have evidence that the majority of vic fans have a collective superiority complex because they're victorians.

This is my thinking, a victorian club fan and a victorian:

It would be narcissistic and naive to have a conviction that vic players are better than any others purely because they're victorian. That is so highly improbable it's not funny. Some of the best players of all time come from every state and territory even from overseas.

I have met a couple w****** victorians who think that vics are better at footy, even though that cannot possibly be proven. They probably think this because over the time since the games inception there's been a whole lot more players from there than elsewhere.

Not better just more of them.

These people are such an exception to the rule you'd be hard pressed to actually find one who truly believes that players are better purely because of where they were born.

There seems to be a popular belief that vics have a superiority complex because of a few. You give me the impression that you're one of them.
I been reading this section of the thread with great interest and decided to add my 1962 WA born thoughts and take on the matter. My mum and aunty were members of East Perth, so from the age of 6 til about 16, I rarely missed an East Perth game. Those EP players were my heroes. I also remember watching The Winners on Sunday night with my dad. I used to think, Wow these blokes are really good.Monday morning school was talking footy with my equally footy mad mates. Firstly about the WAFL, then about The Winners. If both your WAFL and VFL side had lost, that was the day your Granny knitted jumper got a run. As kids we used to say wouldn't it be great to one day play for * insert WAFL team*, then quickly followed up with "yeah, but imagine playing in the VFL. I am positive that everyone believed Victorians were the best footballers. The amount of WA players going to the VFL added to that belief. I could be wrong, but cannot recall a VFL player going to the WAFL (or SANFL) to "prove them self". I also recall as kids we would say, since X WA player has gone to VFL/Victoria hasn't he become a real good player. It is my belief (no proof) that the vast majority of people believed VFL was the pinnacle in Aussie Rules, therefore it made sense that Victorians were better players. That was our belief even after my mates and I attended the 1977 WA vs Vic SOG. We went to mainly see the Vic players "live". We cheered for WA, we cheered long and loud. We thought is was great, but all thought "what a fluke". A 90+ point win a fluke, what do 15yo's know? Come 1978 (and the next few years beyond), still considered Victorians better footballers. Since the VFL/AFL expansion, stopped believing that but with a niggling but. Your comment has removed that but for me - Not better just more of them. The other points you made that I want to comment on , without the whole lot of my background is:1) Ok so you're thinking again, so I'm guessing you don't have evidence that the majority of vic fans have a collective superiority complex because they're victorians. These people are such an exception to the rule you'd be hard pressed to actually find one who truly believes that players are better purely because of where they were born. I am sure there is no actual evidence that the majority of vic fans have a collective superiority complex because they're victorians. But there are pockets of people on this thread who's comments could make you believe otherwise. Hence others then respond with the comment vic-bias, followed up by their own non vic-bias, so them too trying to have believe where your born dictates how great a player you are. IMO, In these incidents/comments bias is being confused with parochialism(I think that is a word, if not replace with parochial). No one is saying only Victorians are good footballers, otherwise EVERY team would be state of origin only teams. I feel a lot of people are taking a dig at their team/club as a dig at their state, more so (IMO again) non-vics. Hence an abundance of their insistence that their state born player is better than your over-rated player. I don't have a fixed, concrete formula as to why I rate a player highly, some just because the way they go about things. I hate when other's say "nah, he's over-rated. Two former players I rate highly, Hird and Pavlich. I can always rely on someone commenting with the no substance:"Nah. Over-rated" And that is what I have found a lot of on this vic-bias thread. Parochial comments, but we comments and not enough comments/solutions about "our" comp in it's current climate(pre and post Covid 19).

Imagine saying to interstate teams that if they build a 100k seat stadium they can maybe be in the convo to host a GF and then whinge about the advantages of interstate teams having a true home ground advantage over Vics who have to share with several other teams.

Well maybe if every Victorian side built their own stadium they could have that advantage too right?

I been reading this section of the thread with great interest and decided to add my 1962 WA born thoughts and take on the matter. My mum and aunty were members of East Perth, so from the age of 6 til about 16, I rarely missed an East Perth game. Those EP players were my heroes. I also remember watching The Winners on Sunday night with my dad. I used to think, Wow these blokes are really good.Monday morning school was talking footy with my equally footy mad mates. Firstly about the WAFL, then about The Winners. If both your WAFL and VFL side had lost, that was the day your Granny knitted jumper got a run. As kids we used to say wouldn't it be great to one day play for * insert WAFL team*, then quickly followed up with "yeah, but imagine playing in the VFL. I am positive that everyone believed Victorians were the best footballers. The amount of WA players going to the VFL added to that belief. I could be wrong, but cannot recall a VFL player going to the WAFL (or SANFL) to "prove them self". I also recall as kids we would say, since X WA player has gone to VFL/Victoria hasn't he become a real good player. It is my belief (no proof) that the vast majority of people believed VFL was the pinnacle in Aussie Rules, therefore it made sense that Victorians were better players. That was our belief even after my mates and I attended the 1977 WA vs Vic SOG. We went to mainly see the Vic players "live". We cheered for WA, we cheered long and loud. We thought is was great, but all thought "what a fluke". A 90+ point win a fluke, what do 15yo's know? Come 1978 (and the next few years beyond), still considered Victorians better footballers. Since the VFL/AFL expansion, stopped believing that but with a niggling but. Your comment has removed that but for me - Not better just more of them. The other points you made that I want to comment on , without the whole lot of my background is:1) Ok so you're thinking again, so I'm guessing you don't have evidence that the majority of vic fans have a collective superiority complex because they're victorians. These people are such an exception to the rule you'd be hard pressed to actually find one who truly believes that players are better purely because of where they were born. I am sure there is no actual evidence that the majority of vic fans have a collective superiority complex because they're victorians. But there are pockets of people on this thread who's comments could make you believe otherwise. Hence others then respond with the comment vic-bias, followed up by their own non vic-bias, so them too trying to have believe where your born dictates how great a player you are. IMO, In these incidents/comments bias is being confused with parochialism(I think that is a word, if not replace with parochial). No one is saying only Victorians are good footballers, otherwise EVERY team would be state of origin only teams. I feel a lot of people are taking a dig at their team/club as a dig at their state, more so (IMO again) non-vics. Hence an abundance of their insistence that their state born player is better than your over-rated player. I don't have a fixed, concrete formula as to why I rate a player highly, some just because the way they go about things. I hate when other's say "nah, he's over-rated. Two former players I rate highly, Hird and Pavlich. I can always rely on someone commenting with the no substance:"Nah. Over-rated" And that is what I have found a lot of on this vic-bias thread. Parochial comments, but we comments and not enough comments/solutions about "our" comp in it's current climate(pre and post Covid 19).

Well that pretty much sums it up. IF there was a way you could prove that a player(s) are better purely because of where they're born then that'd be revolutionary.

You could argue because vic has always produced more players that they're superior not because they're born there but because there's more exposed to more footy, which would be very hard to argue they're exposed to more. That'd be the epitome of drawing a very long bow and purely speculative.

The comments you talk about that cause a reaction of the term 'vic bias' are transparently click bait, nothing more than lures. Even then those posters would number in the minority.

Off-topic - I just bought a house next to the airport. Does anyone know who I complain to about the noise?
Nothing you can do, just suck it up even after they build a drag strip, rifle range and Refinery after you move in. Just keep on taking what ever gets dished up mate and say nothing, you might even have a Brothel/Casino built right along side you and you still have to say nothing and just cop it in the @$$.

If they do build a casino near you, then sell your land to the casino so that the casino can sell it to the government for ten times as much again to build a football stadium. Oh sorry, won't happen you don't live in Perth.

If you don’t believe in the integrity of the comp just don’t follow it.

Become a member of a local league and follow that
State level footy is great and a much more personal experience as a fan

The think whole VICBIAS argument is boring and short sighted personally but there are plenty of other options

Spoken like a true Richmond flog.

If they do build a casino near you, then sell your land to the casino so that the casino can sell it to the government for ten times as much again to build a football stadium. Oh sorry, won't happen you don't live in Perth.
You can't sell it because there is a caveat on it by some big Victorian Player who thinks they own the land down to the core of the planet, your hands are tied after buying into this said property you thought would not degenerate into a liability. You thought the investment would be a mutually good deal after helping this estate out due to it being so heavily in debt and at end of life. You paid overs for this site thinking you would be looked after and could make it into something truly great only to met with the inevitable corruption and self fulfilling prophecy of the VFL becoming the AFL only to go back to the VFL.

WA rolled Vic in Brisbane in 1961, winning on the G was an unfullfilled dream. My point is the idea the best footballers played in the VFL is also a dream, didnt happen.

I don't think anyone claims that 100% of the best players played in Vic.

The vast majority did however.

The very reason SOO was needed was due to this after all. A straight up competition between the best players in each league would have been very one sided affairs most of the time (in sport, there are always odd results here and there though).

Oh, and that 1961 game...WA came back to win by 9 points after Vic was reduced to 17 men for the last qtr.

I completely agree a 13 second video clip from your lounge room if Fox Footy before the game is all the evidence we need of #VICBIAS.
Its an example

collingwood arent the richest club in the comp.

West coast are.

the so called national media continually ignore interstate clubs. Its like we are tgere for the extra money and the only time they ever take any real notice is if theres a perceived advantage going our way.

see how quickly the vfl moved when wa eased restrictions before other states.

omg they have an advantage - if it were the other way round and we were bringing up the disadvantage we would be labelled whingers....

Its an example

collingwood arent the richest club in the comp.

West coast are.

the so called national media continually ignore interstate clubs. Its like we are tgere for the extra money and the only time they ever take any real notice is if theres a perceived advantage going our way.

see how quickly the vfl moved when wa eased restrictions before other states.

omg they have an advantage - if it were the other way round and we were bringing up the disadvantage we would be labelled whingers....

Is this rant really worth bumping a thread with no contributions for over a week?

Generally speaking when you see an example of something contained in the subject of the thread - yes.

Dont get upset just because you dont got nothin...

it is a promo with Riewoldt painting Collingwood as the rich have it alls, up against ‘his’ poor battling Saints that scrap and fight for everything.

to try and drum up interest for tomorrow’s Saints v Pies game

you need help

it is a promo with Riewoldt painting Collingwood as the rich have it alls, up against ‘his’ poor battling Saints that scrap and fight for everything.

to try and drum up interest for tomorrow’s Saints v Pies game

you need help
Well then one of the wealthiest would have done.

Dead set serious this isnt an isolated incident - its pretty constant - either ignored, demonised or just completely inaccurate info is put out on interstate clubs.

just lucky we have kayo now and can rewind and record it....