Vic Victoria’s recycling crisis

ho ho, who wants a business thats losing monet, next it'll be a tax dodge ...
Some comments from a Ballarat insider:
Australia is facing a crisis caused by the willingness of its citizens to do the right thing by the environment, and the lack of willingness by our governments to embrace its citizens' desires.
The country's recycling program has been brought to a standstill by a Chinese ban on our exports of plastics. Processor SKM is facing collapse, with 60 per cent of its almost 300,000 tonnes a year of recycling waste now likely to go to landfill.

We've known about the Chinese action since 2017, cant be blamed on Don Trump, its us, local government kept on as always until the $hit hit the fan, so blame the State Govt, when it drops the ball, blame the Feds .... its Lils problem.
I'm of the opinion that most Australians have a deep seated belief that we're too good to handle our own rubbish whether we openly admit it or not. I highly doubt many Victorians would be willing to go back to a model where they're forced to sort recycling nor is there any way to force people to make sure their recyclables are fit for processing (ie. washing s**t out) and without these two things the problem will never be sold for a reasonable cost.

:thumbsu: ... forced i.e the failed carrot & stick policy advocated by Local Government, give you a 240 litre bin for recyclables cleared fortnightly and downsize the garbage bin to a 120 litre was supposed to half the garbage produced, it didnt & the garbage goes somewhere, the recycling bin.

Go back a step & we had crates, they worked.

You only have to the takeaway coffee cups well loved across Melbourne - some are recyclable, some arent, where do they go, save the planet by throwing it in the recycling bin, or save the recycling industry by throwing them into the garbage.

There is more for Lil to kick arse over, one Council is saying no more glass in the magic yellow lid bin, guess its not recyclable any more.
LIL, pull these local government clowns into line PLS asap, just throwing our money around wont fix the problem.

Jungle drums suggest she's offered a $x MIL loan to private enterprise to FIX the mess, no takers, a loan & no takers, are you there Lil. !!! Anyone home?

Should have a recycling centre behind every Centrelink office.

the recycler ... had been accepting far too much rubbish deposited incorrectly into council recycling bins and then brought to SKM.

CHECK OUT THE CRAP PEOPLE CHUCK IN THEIR RECYCLING BIN:

“Clothes, blankets, doonas, couch parts, gas bottles, car batteries, bowling balls, cricket bats, baby seats, printers, televisions, pots and pans, nappies. And the amount of shoes we get is just staggering,” he said.

“We get lawnmowers, we get DVD players, we get computers. The amount of monitors we get that can’t be recycled is astounding.”

How BAD was the education program, was there even education?

Instead of whinging and point blame on the issue over recycling why not look for solutions!
Sweden one of the cleanest countries and also produces rather attractive females
Have come up with a solution for this!

you’d think the greens and lefties would be all over this

Instead of whinging and point blame on the issue over recycling why not look for solutions!
Sweden one of the cleanest countries and also produces rather attractive females

Some people want magic bullet solutions to problems & energy from waste (incineration) is only a part of the best available today YET the pro landfill greenies ate in total denial:
how Sweden does things. They have a very sophisticated recycling system that allows them to capture materials that can be used again (metals, glass, paper, plastics, etc) and send less than 1% of waste to landfills, and they have many cogeneration plants that incinerate the rest to generate heat and electricity to help run their cities.

Australia has both recycling problems & landfills closing year by year; all the solutions being discussed here wont make it go away. The dreamers say energy from waste will destroy recycling & its a phjilosophical position & its wrong. These plants are in the middle of big cities around the world.

Read this article & convince yourself there is any chance we are on the right track.

'It's very important that we have very clean streams of materials that are easy to recycle," Elissa McNamara, the project director at Infrastructure Victoria, said.

"The system where everything's all put in the one bin has been around for 20 years, and we haven't updated that.

Ms McNamara fair dinkum ... but what are you going to do about the problem, 6 bins wow !! 6 trucks running down the street, well done.

The majority of Australians want to recycle but only 10% are getting it right.
This #NationalRecyclingWeek, we’re helping improve recycling outcomes by encouraging source separation of materials before they go in the bin. #BreakItDown for better recycling. #sustainablefuture

Lets hope Cleanaway hold the Councils to account, reject loads, send rubbish to the tip. even if well meaning residents squeal (they will, 90% are stuffing up).

Its not all over yet, there are tears to come:

The Councils will learn they arent calling the shots, they need to deal with the reality of what goes into the comingled yellow lid bin.

Melbourne is taking (at long last) a leaf out the Swedes playbook, with a waste to energy plant finally getting the permits need in Laverton North.

Its an adjunct to recycling, not replacing recycling, its turning the waste that would go to landfill to energy - big win, 18 months behind WA but good news.

Society exists when it suits on user pays

Who generates this problem
Maccas
Hungry jacks
Coles
Woolworths
Coca cola

SURELY THEY SHOULD BUILD A RECYCLE PLANT

PAY LIKE OTHERS 10c a bottle
SLUG THEM 4 c each

What about the people who use these services & cant put things in the right bin .... no, no no, the consumer is not at fault !!! Darky thats you !!

& what happens when the price of the recycled material falls, who pays, must be those money grubbing recycling companies ripping off the ratepayers - er no, see a long established metal recycler profits tumble when the world price falls??

Lower metals prices meant the global firm’s sales revenue declined by more than 18 percent in the first half of fiscal 2020 compared to the first half of fiscal 2019, according to remarks accompanying the Sims Metal Management results.

Lol landfill rates double! Tax the middle class! Council rates are the most unethical of all scams to begin with

In some respects a levy on landfill is like a ponzi scheme to justify recycling.
Metals, card board, timber are examples of commercial recycling - its been that way for years, didnt need the levy.

By your comment on taxing the middle class I'd guess you are talking about the householder, in industry the tax is on jobs.