Victorian Blockbusters

That being said, 14 (not including Carlton) had the opportunity to do the same thing... who's the smart one in all this, matty? :rolleyes:

so what you are saying is that if for example st kilda picked cousins their match with..... carlton would be a sell out in round 1?

anyway.results speak for themself and you club has been a mute for quater of a century. Enjoy being a fable. like a unicorn or the toothfairy.
Big 4 crap

idiot. Do you realise that you sound like a 7 year old.

Live in your little dreamworld of being a Big 4 club. your team is the pathetic ugly stepsister of the other 3 in that group, and sold out 1 game due to the fact there are 2 ex west coast players playing. So in reality. west coast have a sellout on thursday. pity your mob gets to claim it.

This game on friday nite will be a big test for the Tassie Hawks ....

How many turn up for flag un-ferling .... 45k members .

Should be neally a sell out ... 10k Tassie member's.

We know we can't bring our pet's to the "g" so that knocks off a few thousand.

So 65 to 70 k might be a good crowd.

MCC predict 80,000
AFL predict 65,000

Split the difference

FAIL

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,25197,25178410-5012432,00.html

Hawks' rank-and-file supporters are joining up in droves and last year's record membership of 41,436 is set to climb further.

Spurred by Hawthorn's premiership last year, its massive following includes 6000 Tasmanian members, more than double last year's figure from that state.

How many times can you FAIL on this point?

FAIL

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=524964&page=25

Was going to do an update on where other club memberships stood in relation to Hawthorn's but could get no further than the Richmond website. Now I know that many people have written about Non-ticketed "members" - and Richmond claims 8244 of them. What hasn't been written about is the awful truth about those memberships. Look what I found on the Richmond membership page:

Price: $26.00

Even your kitten can be a Total Tiger! Sign up your pet as a 2009 pet member and show the world their Yellow & Black feathers, fur or scales!
The 2009 pet membership pack includes:
<LI class=”maintextblack”>Tigers pet blanket
Pet tag

Feathers?

Now I can't see anywhere on the HFC website where you can sign up your pets, why is that?

Richmond 100G at the G'esk?

70k is a good crowd. 50k is good membership, but having the falg to show off to all these people is what really matters. drawing 90k and finishing outside the 8 makes nobody envious of who you are.

Richmond have sold out the MCG 3 other times before tommorow night, against Collingwood and Essendon (x2) in 1977, 1982 and 2007

That's not really correct as there was no pre-selling of tickets at the time of the '77 and '82 matches, hence no such thing as a 'sellout' for a h&a game. I'm pretty certain they weren't even lockouts, let alone sellouts.

Round 1, Richmond vs Carlton, 2009 MCG = Sold Out.
Facts are there are only 4 Victorian teams who can continuously sell out an AFL game at the MCG during the home and away season and they are Carlton, Richmond, Collingwood and Essendon.
Facts are the BIG 4 always existed and will always exists while others trying to be will never be!

Hopefully this will put an end to all the tripe on bigfooty, but I still doubt it.:D

There should be a law against fishing with dynamite. It's just way too easy to land a Hawkfish when you start Big 4 threads.

cousins & judd > richmond & carlton in this instance & its the ONLY reason why this game is a sellout.

we're underdone & are expected to lose which is why we'll only get 70-75k ish

Awww, so you only rock up when your going to win? What inspirational loyalty your mob have.

Having said that, you can't really say only 70-75k that's still a massive crowd.

Let's forget this rubish, i'm definitely interested in this debate, but it's been taken too far..to the point of pointless little stabs at each others clubs, funny for a little while, but starting to get boring.

There'll be more people on thurs, there'll still be heaps of people on friday, friday will be a 10 times better style of footy.

And as for the big four, there's a big 1, Collingwood. Then there's 3 who depend on a special event or playing well to draw the numbers.

Facts are there are only 4 Victorian teams who can continuously sell out an AFL game at the MCG during the home and away season and they are Carlton, Richmond, Collingwood and Essendon.
Facts are the BIG 4 always existed and will always exists while others trying to be will never be!

Hopefully this will put an end to all the tripe on bigfooty, but I still doubt it.:D

So when you can't win games you try and tell us that your better because of home and away crowds?

I don;t care how many people turn up to watch us kill you by 75 points every time.

:) funny stuff.

P.s how sweet is it to watch your team win a grand final.
feel nice? are you old enough to know.?
Yeah he just sucked you in again

We all know that those 4 clubs have the most barrackers in this town.
Who is disputing that?

Other Top 4s of the modern era (last 20 years)

On Field Success
North

Memberships (= loyalty)
Pies
Hawks

Off Field $$$
Hawks
Colliingwood
:confused: Didnt Collingwood lose a hell of alot of money last year

There's only one Collingwood.

Stop kidding yourselves.

Sure, the next tier of teams can occasionally sell out games when up against one another, but Collingwood are the only team that can do it consistently against pretty much any Victorian team.

The other 3 in the so-called 'big 4' need each other. Collingwood don't.

Well said mate, we seem to get crowds of 80,000+ against Carlton, Essendon and now Geelong, 70,000+ against Richmond and Hawthorn. However when these teams play each other they rarely break 65,000.

God bless delusional supporters. If this game was on round 22 it wouldn't get half the crowd. ;) Perfect timing by the AFL, both are talking finals in the pre-season, as usual.

The Big '4' is a myth started by Carlton and Richmond fans to justify their extreme lack of recent success.
Ah someone has been paying attention

If most of you notice, most collingwood and essendon supporters see these big 4 talks as a dick pulling competition

There's only one Collingwood.

Stop kidding yourselves.

Sure, the next tier of teams can occasionally sell out games when up against one another, but Collingwood are the only team that can do it consistently against pretty much any Victorian team.

The other 3 in the so-called 'big 4' need each other. Collingwood don't.

Have to agree. When Collingwood are winning and making finals NO CLUB comes close to collingwoods drawing power and supporter base numbers! that is FACT!

Can't help but laugh at the losers who actually care about this s**t.

Clubs give a s**t, and sponsors and corporates give a s**t when they choose which club to advertise with.

Clubs deliberately talk themselves up to show their branding power for corporates. It's all marketing.

Hence why Eddie always boasts about Collingwood being the largest in Australia, or when Jack Elliot used to rave on about how there's no AFL without Carlton etc, or even Jeff Kennett and his goons last year saying they're bigger than Collingwood.

It's all a marketing ploy to win more sponsors and business. And on top of that, it guarantees a full thread on BigFooty every week.