Victorian club pokies revenue the last financial year

* is the stadium deal a significant contributor to the profits extracted from Taswegians?

Little is known about the stadium deal itself.

Fun thing about Hawthorn and Tasmania in the context of this thread: one of their sponsors for a while was Tote Tasmania - the state owned gambling company - worth about 250,000 a year.

Little is known about the stadium deal itself.

Fun thing about Hawthorn and Tasmania in the context of this thread: one of their sponsors for a while was Tote Tasmania - the state owned gambling company - worth about 250,000 a year.

From memory, Wrest point casino was one of the companies that pay/paid for North (the 'we don't do gambling club') to play in Hobart.

No argument from me.

As for poor management decisions resulting in a big cost, will the AFL just fund it, no consequences.

Then there are examples such as stadium deals at Subi & Geelong*, where the winners are the clubs concerned - will the government bodies that support both Subi & Geelong, need to find a different way to support footy in their area because the AFL penalise these clubs thru reduced funding.

* is the stadium deal a significant contributor to the profits extracted from Taswegians?

I have no problem with the idea of equalisation and bringing clubs up, even if they've had periods of poor management. Ideally the goal is to have all clubs self sustainable, likely in part due to non-football related revenue. It's no coincidence that the 'well managed clubs' are generally those with the money and resources to attract the best talent (which allows them to run themselves well, and make the best decisions), and the 'poorly managed clubs' do not. And even then there are bigger clubs who continually made poor decisions and are still bigger and better off than smaller clubs who have continually made good decisions.

As for things like stadium deals, i'd imagine it is still more beneficial for a club to be self sufficient than to rely on the AFL. What the AFL hands out will always be cents in the dollar of what the bigger clubs are able to generate. Perhaps some stadiums will reduce their stadium deals, but i doubt it very much, as it will almost certainly weaken the club

No clue on the Tassie deal though. I'd think it's fairly little compared to the actual sponsorship and the Tassie membership revenue.

Hawthorns match revenue is a little high for "fairly little".

In the context of purely the Tassie games though? I would have thought the sponsorship, bonuses for finals/flags, and Tassie memberships make up the bulk of our Tassie revenue. Although i say that with not much of an idea of what our stadium deal is like in Tassie, but given the relatively low crowds, it's hard to see us making too much from match day down there.

I would say with total confidence its a little high given comparable teams at the MCG and the number of games hawthorn play there. Bearing in mind that the sponsorships, binuses and memberships arent counted in match return revenues.

How much can you read into match day revenue as stated in annual reports? Seems almost impossible to sufficiently account for all the different factors to be able to single out the Tassie games

I'd be fairly sure all clubs will try & max the AFL dollars supported by their sponsors.

Hark back to an article on the AFL, pokies & social change
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/afls-new-diversity-boss-tanya-hosch-to-review-need-for-poker-machines/news-story/a21f659d1947cea7373314f4b684a18c

Asked if she would look into whether clubs could be extricated from their pokies businesses, Hosch said she had personally seen the “negative impact” the machines could have.

“I can tell you that personally I’m not a fan of poker machines, I don’t play them,” she said.

“I’ve seen personally the impact, the negative impact, that it can have on our communities.

“I’m not a fan, I think there are some very serious issues, but they are complex and we’ve got to make sure that all the understanding about how these things interact with each other are taken into account.”

Pressed on whether she would like to see clubs out of pokies, she said: “I wouldn’t be saying that now because I haven’t had the chance to even understand what the clubs are doing.”

“It would be a bit premature for me to be telling people what to do at this point.”

Hawks top of the ladder again. Well done!
Easy to see why the "Big Clubs" are big.
Well done North Melbourne.:thumbsu:

http://www.afl.com.au/news/2018-07-27/hawks-top-charts-for-pokie-earnings-again

"AFL chairman Richard Goyder told the National Press Club in November he "hates" the association clubs have with poker machines.
"Most of the profits from poker machines come from problem gamblers, and therein lies the real problem," Goyder said.
Prior to the latest figures, North Melbourne was the only Victorian club to not profit from poker machines.
Across the rest of the competition, Brisbane has 200 machines at one venue, while Port Adelaide carries 63 machines at two venues.
Adelaide, Fremantle, Gold Coast, West Coast, Sydney and Greater Western Sydney do not profit from poker machines."

AFL CONTROLLED POKER MACHINE TAKINGS

HAWTHORN - Up from $23.3m to $24.3 (two venues)
CARLTON – Up from $17.6m to $18.4 (four venues)
COLLINGWOOD – Up from $12.2m to $13.2 (two venues)
ESSENDON – Down from $11.9m to $11.6m (two venues)
MELBOURNE – Up from $10.3m to $10.4m (two venues)
GEELONG – Up from $5.2m to $6.3m (two venues)
WESTERN BULLDOGS – Up from $5.9m to $6.1m (two venues)
RICHMOND – Down from $5.4m to $5.3m (one venue)
ST KILDA – Down from $2.11m to $2.09m (one venue)

"AFL chairman Richard Goyder told the National Press Club in November he "hates" the association clubs have with poker machines.
"Most of the profits from poker machines come from problem gamblers, and therein lies the real problem," Goyder said.
Prior to the latest figures, North Melbourne was the only Victorian club to not profit from poker machines.
Across the rest of the competition, Brisbane has 200 machines at one venue, while Port Adelaide carries 63 machines at two venues.
Adelaide, Fremantle, Gold Coast, West Coast, Sydney and Greater Western Sydney do not profit from poker machines."

Yep footy clubs are the problem

Vic clubs combine for just under 98 million out of a 2.7 billion dollar pie. Sure that 3% of total losses in the state could go to someone else, which it will when they sell as it's not like the machines are being turned off if a club gets out of the game.

I also find it interesting how much noise is made about the Pokies when the AFL is massively in bed with gambling, Pokies suck but you have to go to where they are to lose money, the online betting and gambling advertising throughout matches, on the radio and plastered all over the AFL site is no better

Wonder if that makes Goyder sick as well

Well interesting to note that the Collingwood figure is almost $10million south of the “function centres and gaming” revenue item in collingwoods annual report which is erroneously used by some as a proxy for collingwoods gaming revenue

Can’t get out sooner enough for mine

upload_2018-7-27_16-4-20.png
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-07-...-in-victoria-the-highest-in-a-decade/10042964

Footy clubs really are a drop in the ocean when it comes to Pokies, and those numbers don't include Crown.

It amazes me how much footy clubs cop over pokies when Woolies is the largest Pokies owner in the country (estimated at 1.2 billion last year)

And as long as the Governments have their finger in the pie they aren't going anywhere. Vic Government made about 1 billion in tax from Pokies last year, why would they get rid of pokies?

So yeah everyone hopes the clubs get out of pokies because it's nice to think my club doesn't make money that way, and yes I'd like the Hawks to get out of Pokies for that reason but I reckon the AFL is pushing that line because they don't make money of Pokies like they do other gambling revenue streams, it's an easy target to say morally we are against this without hurting their own bottom line, and you know any club that can't pay its own way has even less reason to go against the AFL on any issue.

Yeah Pokies are the thing that makes the AFL sick....

CrownBet is ok though because it has a sponsorship deal with the AFL directly...

upload_2018-7-27_16-10-24.png
upload_2018-7-27_16-10-41.png