MVP Votes for Rd 12 vs Richmond

From Perthnow:

RICHMOND 6.1 11.5 16.11 19.12 (126)
WEST COAST 2.3 3.5 7.6 11.11 (77)
Goals:
Richmond: J Riewoldt 10 B Nason 3 D Martin 2 A Collins M Farmer M White T Vickery. West Coast: B McKinley 3 M LeCras 3 J Kennedy 2 B Dalziell B Waters M Priddis.
Best:
Richmond: J Riewoldt B Deledio S Tuck D Martin J King T Cotchin. West Coast: M Priddis D Cox M LeCras B Waters M Rosa A Embley.
Umpires: Matt Stevic, Shane Stewart, Michael Jennings.
Crowd: 30,870 at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

I lol'd.
They don't even have Kennedy amongst their best in that....

How many goals did Jack Reiwoldt have when you left? 3 or 4?
Embley contributed to Reiwoldt's goals?

And I was at the post game function until the players left.

You?

Still in line for a premiership in 2012? :)

By the way, Cox was average at best.
If you say so sir

Was a rock at dropping back and controlling space. Won the ruck (was by miles the best ruck on the ground) and got a bit of the footy in link up.

But what do I know?

If you say so sir

Was a rock at dropping back and controlling space. Won the ruck (was by miles the best ruck on the ground) and got a bit of the footy in link up.

But what do I know?

Watch it again. He had very little impact on the game and his effort on the wing where he assumed the ball was going out and let his opponent run away and set up a goal was disgraceful...

The key was that he dominated hit outs and managed to influence the game barely at all ...

You know plenty but if you are trying for the "I was there" well good for you :rolleyes:

Watch it again. He had very little impact on the game and his effort on the wing where he assumed the ball was going out and let his opponent run away and set up a goal was disgraceful...

The key was that he dominated hit outs and managed to influence the game barely at all ...

You know plenty but if you are trying for the "I was there" well good for you :rolleyes:
I wasn't trying any 'I was there", but as you well know you can see a lot about how players choose to use the ball based on what is up the field, much of which you can see at the ground and not on tv. Him and Waters were brilliant at dropping into Reiwoldt's space, despite the 10 goals.

That one incident was bad, he thought the ball was out - it looked terrible.

Thought he showed more around the ground than any of our other players though, Waters came om strong was was very quiet early.

I wasn't trying any 'I was there", but as you well know you can see a lot about how players choose to use the ball based on what is up the field, much of which you can see at the ground and not on tv. Him and Waters were brilliant at dropping into Reiwoldt's space, despite the 10 goals.

That one incident was bad, he thought the ball was out - it looked terrible.

Thought he showed more around the ground than any of our other players though, Waters came om strong was was very quiet early.

Fair enough and I agree that you can see some aspects of the game better when at the ground.

I am just a little down on Cox at the moment because I reckon he is 75% the player he was (at best) but his major midfield time is and has hurt the confidence and development of NN.

He is our highest credentialled player by some margin but compare him with the impact of guys like Pav & Sandi and other senior players and I think he is just ok. Against the two guys he was up against today he should have been BOG and really hurt the other team, instead he drifted back to help out on Riewoldt, with minimal real impact and his first hand to the ball was of little real benefit....

His ability to be a link up extra mid seems much diminished... he plays much more like a traditional ruckman these days - and that was not what made him elite ...

Maybe I am marking him harshly but this is 2000, 2001 again and we need a Cousins and Matera and so on... we need some of those more experienced guys (and Cuz was only about 23) to really stand up and lead ... Cox seems happy to play well or at least reasonably well - there is a difference ...

Fair enough and I agree that you can see some aspects of the game better when at the ground.

I am just a little down on Cox at the moment because I reckon he is 75% the player he was (at best) but his major midfield time is and has hurt the confidence and development of NN.

He is our highest credentialled player by some margin but compare him with the impact of guys like Pav & Sandi and other senior players and I think he is just ok. Against the two guys he was up against today he should have been BOG and really hurt the other team, instead he drifted back to help out on Riewoldt, with minimal real impact and his first hand to the ball was of little real benefit....

His ability to be a link up extra mid seems much diminished... he plays much more like a traditional ruckman these days - and that was not what made him elite ...

Maybe I am marking him harshly but this is 2000, 2001 again and we need a Cousins and Matera and so on... we need some of those more experienced guys (and Cuz was only about 23) to really stand up and lead ... Cox seems happy to play well or at least reasonably well - there is a difference ...
I know what your getting at but he's also carrying an increased workload too. Playing in the forward line and not resting on the bench as he was doing previously. It also doesnt help that our midfield are, well rubbish and fumble even when the ball is delivered to them on a plate. (As Ebert did about 5 or 6 times today)

Embley was sooo bad richmond votes would go something like:
5. Reiwoldt
4. Martin
3. Embley
2. Whoever was playing on embley and kept letting him get the ball (seriously thought this guy was good, very clever tactics)
1. Edwards

Waaaaaaaay harsh on Dean Cox. If he palms it down to a competent midfielder he looks like he's doing the biz. If said clown turns it over, he looks like he's ineffective.

He's also getting more attention when the midfielders aren't up to much. And then he was dropping back because he knew that defence wasn't up to dealing with Reiwoldt. Whether or not he could get forward didn't matter: by that stage the boat was taking on so much water that he couldn't go forward if he had to.

The other matter is that he was one of the few players to show some heart. That was a weak-ass performance, and himself, Waters, Rosa, LeCras, Kennedy, Priddis were about the only ones to emerge with any credit whatsoever.

It's one thing to be rubbish. It's another to be gutless and shit. Cox was neither.

5. Cox
4. Kennedy
3. Waters
2. Rosa
1. Priddis

5. Cox (running back to help out the defence, dominant in the ruck, put it in and at least tried showing the way for the youngsters)
4. Kennedy (Just never stops trying, really not his day yet still had 17 possessions, pushed up the ground and tried to get into the game)
3. Waters (Heart, he just has more ticker than everyone else. If he was cleaner with the ball he would have got the 5 from me.
2. Rosa (Has really,really improved on the player he was 2 years ago. Now easily best 22, owns one of our wings and one of the few who didnt just give in)
1. Lecras (For that goal in the first, He shirked one noticeable contest but still kicked 3 in what was a shithouse performance for the team and just oozes class)

HM. Priddis (He's never going to be the most skillful or creative player in the afl or even in our team. But the fact is he always gives it his all and on that alone he was better than almost every eagle on the park)

DM. Embers (Mate its just not happening. Could at least see you were putting in the effort on the weekend. But FFS mate, with a 53% disposal efficiency and multiple critical errors you not only sucked the life out of our play but probably ranked in the top 5 for the opposition.)

DM. Woosha (You played with heart and courage but you cant even be honest in the media. The fans who pour in all the money at least deserve the respect of ****ing honesty.)

DM. Selection Committee (Always the same bullshit. It really is, even if woosha 100% wakes the **** up there is still the rest of you and the only ****ing way we are going to **** you all off is by removing the head coach and letting the replacement decide who stays and who go's. Always too tall, never enough run and never any ****ing creativity.)

Waaaaaaaay harsh on Dean Cox. If he palms it down to a competent midfielder he looks like he's doing the biz. If said clown turns it over, he looks like he's ineffective.

He's also getting more attention when the midfielders aren't up to much. And then he was dropping back because he knew that defence wasn't up to dealing with Reiwoldt. Whether or not he could get forward didn't matter: by that stage the boat was taking on so much water that he couldn't go forward if he had to.

The other matter is that he was one of the few players to show some heart. That was a weak-ass performance, and himself, Waters, Rosa, LeCras, Kennedy, Priddis were about the only ones to emerge with any credit whatsoever.

It's one thing to be rubbish. It's another to be gutless and shit. Cox was neither.

5. Cox
4. Kennedy
3. Waters
2. Rosa
1. Priddis

So Cox, as the only AA out there, against 2 kids in the ruck, was outstanding?

That was a game that would have rated a big "meh" from Cox in 2004-2008 ... he is our highest paid, highest credentialled player, playing against 2 kids and he basically played like a 1980's style ruckman dropping back as a loose man. He did that adequately but was hardly Gary Dempsey out there.

He has never been a top notch palming ruckman, rather its as an almost elite extra linking mid that he has added value. He did none of that on the weekend.

He wasnt terrible, it was an ok performance. The sort you expect from an elite player going through the motions somewhat.

It is interesting on these votes threads that if I give it to Pridda, he immediately gets votes and that has now extended to Cox. Perhaps the football-illiterates cant express themselves in any other way? :)

Gee E87. Bit of narcissism there mate. Maybe some of us and i know myself for sure just thought that cox was our best player out there. On a day like today an average game for an elite player would get the votes 9 times out of 10 wouldn't you think?

Not at all. We had 3 players who genuinely influenced the game and then we had a few who were ok and generally tried fairly hard. Cox was in the latter group.

He isn't close to the player he was before last years injuries. Narcissism? I guess that's an opinion but IMO there are a lot of keen football fans who have NFI. Many of them post on here.

If Cox was our best in that game then we are ****ed.

I was at the game and spent half of it with head in hands... so my votes may reflect they fact i tried to block out most of the most horrible stuff!

5 - Waters
4 - Priddis
3 - Kennedy
2 - LeCras
1 - Cox

HM Rosa and Schofield (even though he had a bag kicked on him was way better than Emac.. either he or Wilkes should have started on Jack who is a massive confidence player)
DHM - lots and lots of people - most of all the selection committee. Selwood and Swift came out of the team, surely midfielders would replace them??? But no, B Jones came in.

MVP Votes for Rd 12 vs Richmond