Brisbane Lions
Lions
5. Michael Voss
4. Simon Black
3. Nigel Lappin
2. Justin Leppitsch
1. Jonathan Brown/Jason Akermanis

Special mentions to the young players. MacDonad, Corrie and Hadley. One of them should get the rising star nomination this week, but who? Most likely Hadley due to consistently. However highly doubt one of our players will get it.

Scott, awesome return. What was that you were saying Ripper? He wasn't ready? My arse he wasn't. AWESOME. Unlucky not to get in the votes. Pike was good in the last, Aker was solid in his 200th, Power was good again. Bradshaw 7 goals. Everyone played well.

There will only be one change next week. Jared Brennan coming out for probably Scott or Hart. I'd leave the rest to come back till after the break.

Hmmm, knew Leigh would do it this game and he did. Just so he doesn't have a headache at selection table, he gave Brennan all of 2 - 5 minutes game time. We may aswell should have gone into the match with 21 players.

But everyone played well. It was an excellent win.

Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Scott, awesome return. What was that you were saying Ripper? He wasn't ready? My arse he wasn't. AWESOME.
He performed his role - and it was a limited role - quite well. I still reckon he's a week or two off resuming his usual spot in the XVIII. Maybe forward pocket'll be his place for the rest of the year?

If I was Shattock i'd ask for a trade at the end of the year. He won't play another game this year.

McRae will most likely retire coz he will struggle to get in.

Caracella will struggle to get in too.

However based on that, Corrie, MacDonald, Notting, Brennan etc will have to keep playing solid games to stay in the side.

That's up there with the Heritage game last year - what a buzz ! Everyone was going crazy in the 3rd - took the crowd right out of it. It's better than beating the Pies .. well, close. And NO INJURIES. This time it was the Bombers who suffered.

Black - unique in-and-under skills. His 2nd qtr out of the middle was a master class.

Lappin - so cool and creative.

Bradshaw - never seen a quarter quite like that. Went from zero to hero and got Fletcher dragged, all in 20 minutes !!

Great to see C. Scott back - he just adds muscle and crunch skills. Corrie is now a legend in Melbourne, Voss' field kicking was the best I've seen this year. Charman is a top player now.

That win has lifted the Docklands curse - it's great to see your team play at its best. We've done in on the G and there's two games there to come. It's off the Geelong - really looking forward to that 'suburban footy' experience.

Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Voss
Black
Bradshaw
Charman
Lappin

Mr Ripper, you're the only one, apart from me, from what I've read, who appears to have seen the enormous influence Charman had on our blokes dominating the guts.

The Essendon supporters around me were telling him to, "'urinate' off no. 19", by the end. His strength in being able to throw 200 cm men around like puppets was extraordinary.

Edit: Oops, just seen OldLion's post

5. VOSS - What can you say that has not already been said about our captain. remembering that he spent a quarter (in total) of the game on the bench. Maaaaaaaagnificent.

4. Lappin - In the second quarter when we were challenged, Nige took the game by the scruff and with accumulation of the football simply lead his teammates to a position of superiority. More Brownlow votes.

3. Bradshaw - Took Fletcher to the cleaners. Lets hope he can maintain this level consistently.

2. Black - The fab five were on song tonight. Black contributed significantly to the demolition job

1. Charman - Massive performance around the ground. No doubting now that Charman has risen to the "elite" level of current ruckman.

1. Macdonald - Vindicated the trust given to him by Leigh. Not only did he have a task to do on Hird but he also got the footy and used it beautifully. Reminded me so much of the type of job Kirk does for the Swans. Surely worthy of a Rising Star nomination performance.

Apologies to the rest of the team. Appart from Brennan who did not get much time, everyone else was sensational.
Great return by Chriss Scott.
Although this performance was a statement to the rest of the league, I do believe that the lid still, has to stay on. Let's not get ahead of ourselves the job is not done yet. September is when it counts the most.

Originally posted by irel
Surely worthy of a Rising Star nomination performance.

Don't count on it!

To tell you the truth, I can't see any of our players getting a rising star nomination this week. MacDonald will need another excellent performance before he gets one, same with Hadley. Hadley's ahead of MacDonald at this stage to get one due to consistency. But they won't give it to a Lion anytime soon.

Ashley Hansen is right up there, had a solid week last week and kicked 4 goals for the Eagle's last night.

If Cameron Cloke fires tomorrow, he'll get it.

They will find someone else other than a Lion, guaranteed. They did that last week and I can sense its the same this week.

I mean, it took McGrath till round 22 last year to get one.

Originally posted by skilts
Mr Ripper, you're the only one, apart from me, from what I've read, who appears to have seen the enormous influence Charman had on our blokes dominating the guts.

The Essendon supporters around me were telling him to, "'urinate' off no. 19", by the end. His strength in being able to throw 200 cm men around like puppets was extraordinary.

Edit: Oops, just seen OldLion's post

Been thinking the same thing.

Charman DOMINATED. Had something like 32 hitouts to Allan's 9. Yet some so-called "experts" had Allan better than Charman on the night???

He embarrassed their ruckmen - pure and simple.

Our midfield got the plaudits, but Charman would be getting a few thankyous behind the scenes methinks.

3 : Black
2 : Voss
1 : Lappin

Even though I've picked three mid-fielders, plaudits also to our mighty back line (all six of 'em), our fabulous forwards, the other on-ballers, Charmo, Lukey & Aker etc., and all our youngsters (not necessarily in that order).

Great game, everyone!!! I feel privileged to be even a small part of this great team.

Black
Bradshaw
Voss
Lappin
Leppa

Braddy would have to get some votes. 5 goals in a period stretching from us looking stretched to having the game under control. You can't do much more than that FF.

Shatta had an ordinary game against Freo, but he'll be around next year. There are potentially 5 spots up fro grabs next year, with Lynch, Hartie, Pikey, the Fly and Whitey all no guarantee of going around next year. I'd think Nottas better trade bait than Shatta.

Originally posted by SpecialBruce
If I was Shattock i'd ask for a trade at the end of the year. He won't play another game this year.

McRae will most likely retire coz he will struggle to get in.

Caracella will struggle to get in too.

However based on that, Corrie, MacDonald, Notting, Brennan etc will have to keep playing solid games to stay in the side.

i dont reckon mcrae will ever struggle to get in the starting 18 when hes fit.

Votes V Essendon