Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread

Take it easy mate - it was an elimination final, and if we are honest, neither side was gong to make it through next week, let alone the week after in Perth. Not that painful and not that huge a loss. It was valuable experience and something we needed. This crop will get us a flag, they have it in spades over previous groups.

97, and 98... That is the definition of painful.

I've drank my standard bottle of wine and several beers... GSM and a movie sorting me out quite well.

Hahaha. Still watching re-runs of "chuck" to relax :)

I bet I'm going to be disappointed when whatever the deal is with Carlisle comes out, because at this point anything short of dogfighting will be a letdown.

Yeah mate, I hear you. Maybe my view was coloured by the gloating Crows supporters around me who acted like the had just won the flag

Every club has their share of dickheads. Before the game I was at a bar at fed square. Dogs supporter started teasing Adelaide supporters loudly. He looked old enough to know better.

I reminded him of the result of boasting like that referencing what our supporters did at 3qtr time of the prelim in 97. His friends shut him up but it seemed he was insistent on being a complete ****ing w***er.

I'm proud of our team and certainly don't bregudge Adelaide the win. The Adelaide supporters around me were quite ok and were generally respectful. Although, that doesn't absolve the memory of a shirtless Adelaide supporter shouting at my father about how they were going to 'rape us' prior to the game in 97 when I was 11 years old, pushing him and trying to start a fight, while my young brother and I watched on.

Every team has them, let's look at the players and clubs and forget about w***er supporters.

Every club has their share of dickheads. Before the game I was at a bar at fed square. Dogs supporter started teasing Adelaide supporters loudly. He looked old enough to know better.

I reminded him of the result of boasting like that referencing what our supporters did at 3qtr time of the prelim in 97. His friends shut him up but it seemed he was insistent on being a complete ******* ******.

I'm proud of our team and certainly don't bregudge Adelaide the win. The Adelaide supporters around me were quite ok and were generally respectful. Although, that doesn't absolve the memory of a shirtless Adelaide supporter shouting at my father about how they were going to 'rape us' prior to the game in 97 when I was 11 years old, pushing him and trying to start a fight, while my young brother and I watched on.

Every team has them, let's look at the players and clubs and forget about ****** supporters.

Very true. Met a couple of ripping Crows supporters pre-match and chatted about the year, so you're right, there's flogs on both sides.

When the dust settles, I'll reflect on what and amazing year this has been. We are relevant again and more than that, we are exciting, attractive and we have a buzz about us. Been a hell of a ride and I'm ready to go around again in six months time.

Onto the silly season I guess.

Ripping game of football.
Cleaner team won on the night.

To all the Roberts haters, eat a dick
Whilst he made some errors, he was not alone

****, Matty Boyd handball straight to a crows player at least twice.
How about the chosen one, Bont, missing two set shots from the same part of the ground.
Grant, much maligned as he as always been, missing two very gettable shots.
Stringer firing away from pretty much anywhere.
The odd bounce or dodgy umpire call goes our way and we probably win anyway.

You pull the trigger, you take your chance, and the Dogs tonight clearly missed when it counted.
Crows just finished better. I'd rather that then die wondering.

Eddie Betts will derisively get headlines, Dickson will undeservedly be forgotten.
Such is life.
Reload, be better next year.

#bemore****ingbulldog

Hi All , Just wanna congratulate your boys on there efforts this year. Can't help but love a young side showing as much improvement and playing the way your mob does. Gives me hope for my own teams rebuild! Really look forward to seeing further improvement from the Bullies next year!

Yeah I agree

And Carlisle is there and apparently some supporters don't what him coz he was naughty at Essendon.

Really? The amount of do holder rubbish on here someone's is ridiculous

New club new culture and playing in a young team I'm more than sure Carlisle would be brilliant.

We have done so well so keep making bold moves no time to stop now

There is something going on with him. I don't know what it is, but it is more than "do-gooder rubbish". One need only listen to Matt Lloyd's commentary about Carlisle all year to read between the lines that he has been a real problem behind the scenes at the Bombers. Then there is Pann's rather unsubtle hints about him, which we know come straight from Dalrymple. And finally look how earlier this week interest from North evaporated entirely all of a sudden. Also Barrett has been hinting for a few weeks about there being reasons he doesn't want to go into that clubs may not want Carlisle.

I have no idea what his issues are, but they are clearly not a figment of BF posters' imaginations.

reckon stewie was badly injured as he was just turning and kicking off a step. No run.

I would love to give Crameri the benefit of the doubt. But there were times in the 2nd and 3rd that he was running the Crows off their feet, so I don't think his running was hampered. We just weren't getting the ball to him at the time.

Crameri had injections to play

What a fantastic year by all at the kennel. I am happy that other clubs applaud us and that we have learned a valuable lesson tonight to take your A game to all finals. I have also learned that it can take up to 3am to get home one suburb away. Looking forward to the conversation later this morning with SWMBO

My anger and frustration at letting that game slip is slowly subsiding now and I now just want to say a big Thankyou to Bevo and the players for the year they have given me. I love this club and every player on the list.
I just want it to be round one 2016 now so we can all live the journey again.
Woof!

I don't want this to be a negative post and in relation to our season overall, I think we can all agree it was a great ride and we can be proud of that.

But I don't see how anyone can see a silver lining in tonight's game in isolation.

Goal kicking cost us, our stats everywhere else were superior.

I have to say, I think that IS a silver lining. It's a big silver lining. It's not that there was some fundamental problem with our team or our gameplan. We were good enough to win. Just not on the day, because of our kicking. That is something we can work on. And of course we won't sit on our hands - we will try to improve in other aspects too. And then we should be better again. As far as I'm concerned, kicking yourself out of a game is the best way to lose from a long-term perspective (even though it is $%#$ing frustrating).

OK, I've been way too dirty to post until now.

But now I'll try to count the positives (cause what the f else can you do?)

- Biggs and Hamling both finally cemented themselves as solid cogs in the backline. Good - we need as many of those cogs as we can get with Murphy, Moz and Boyd on their way out.

- That was a big game for Macrae. He's been going under the radar a bit this year. But he has gradually been moving from super-competent seagull to all-purpose star. His decision-making is now every bit as impressive as the Bont's. And both of them are closing in on Murph rapidly. Macrae's tackling has also moved from non-existent (in 2013) to inconsistent (2014) to a genuine weapon. Next step is to eliminate playing for free kicks from his game (he has already taking some strides in that direction). Tonight was a test for him, and he passed it comfortably.

- We get Draft pick 11 or 12 instead of 13 or 14 (ignoring FA compo).

- We get an easier draw next year than we would have had we won.

- Our defensive set-up held up surprisingly well considering we simply don't have one actual gun one-one defender other than Morris (who Father Time is noticeably catching up with). I'm absolutely sure the club will be targetting them over the next few years. It will not be this way forever. And our defensive set-up will be ready for them.

- I could not be more impressed with the character of this side. They simply do not give up. They come and come and come again. They keep taking risks, they keep clinging on by the fingernails. They respond and adapt during matches. (If North started getting run over at the end of the 1st qtr like we did it would have been "game over" right then). Some of the tackling embodied this - where I thought Crows players had gotten through, but they simply hadn't. I don't think players with this mindset are going away next year.

Well, I've been up a few hours and I must say I'm feeling much better. When I think back on the season, I'm so grateful that the boys completely exceeded our expectations pre-season. The previous three seasons were hellish for me. I didn't look forward to the weekend because I basically knew what was coming. This year was different. At a time I really needed a distraction from my life here, the Doggies gave me something to look forward to every weekend.

As many of you know I am still here as I took on the responsibility of being caregiver for my late father and my mother. Mum is still with us, but the doctor said that she is slowly wearing down and will rejoin my father some time in the next few months most likely. I now have to provide 24/7 care and have little time to myself. The footy this season was my great distraction from my life here. For the first time since Rocket left, I looked forward to every weekend and was absolutely thrilled with the performance of the team. It took my mind off the difficulties here at home. I have never felt so confident that a Premiership is around the corner more than I am now. I just hope I'll be around to see it.

So thank you to Bev, Bob and the entire team for giving this one distant supporter a most wonderful summer.

I guess I'm lucky because my Cubs have also played beyond expectations. It's been a doubly fun summer because of the two teams I love the most. Hopefully I'll also still be around when the Cubbies attain the ultimate.

I continue to live in hope. :D

Just home from a bender. Think i'm similar to many others. Absolutely heart broken and gutted and yet proud, its a very strange feeling, very numb. Its along time between seasons but would love to thank the club and the players for an amazing year.

Used to think Collingwood supporters were the worst, but tonite's game showed me that the Crows are far, far worse.

Yes, Pies supporters are feral and scary, but Crows supporters are arrogant, snobbish, elitist and rude as hell.

A Doggies supporter in front of me & I were giving it to Grant for his errors & general awfulness. The whole game the Crows supporters were calling us feral & the worse supporters ever. Keep going on about having to leave early so they didn't get killed.

And one of the arrogant twats decided to get up and walk past us with 60 seconds to go & the ball in play. She took her time so we told her to move on so we could keep.watching the tense game. She wouldn"t move past my wife (end of row), so my wife lightly moved her on so she could sit down. She went feral. All up in my wife's face, really aggresive & threatening. Had to tell her to calm down & leave my wife alone. In the end we left, to avoid it getting nasty.

Some people get really rude after a few wines.

One more positive:

Taking a step back and looking at this period with a bit of perspective - this next 5 years is about setting up this club so it can survive in the long-term. Because to be frank, where we have been until now, has not been good enough to guarantee our existence into the future. We need more members and more presence. If we keep playing musical chairs with North and the Saints for the smallest club there will be a day when the music stops and we might get screwed. To survive in the long term we need to implant ourselves into the middle tier of Victorian clubs with the Dees and Geelong (yes I know the Dees aren't looking so good now and Geelong are looking great. But they are at different ends of the cycle. In reality they are both middle tier clubs in the long-term.)

This will take some excellent management from us, some luck and hopefully a lot of short and medium term success.

We really couldn't have lost in a better way this year - playing a game which everyone loved to watch, giving an excellent account of ourselves. It is finals performances like that that will win us fans. We obviously just need to start also winning those games. But from a PR point of view we did pretty well. And it caps off an excellent year all round for our medium-term positioning. Let's just build on it in 2016.

That was a long train ride home. The march to the g was awesome and peter gordans speech inspiring. Well done to the club for the initiative to organise that.

Now...
everyone gets a free vent pass this weekend to say what ever they like. No matter how stupid like some of the previous comments. Ill probably have a few too. We just didnt deserve that result, fook the footy gods.

Umpires were no issue tonight.

Adelaide supporters near me were all good. They play great footy as we do, both deserve to play next week.

I really hate when people say don't worry. Your young and will have plenty of opportunities. F that, we have to take every chance we get. I bet port supporters were thinking the same last year.

We need to bring in quality , not quantity. We don't need fringe players, we need kpf, kpd, ruck upgrades.

Crameri, stringer are goal kickers they have license to shoot.

Hamling is a gun, never makes a mistake just like morris.

Being so sad made me last longer during sexy time. Really not sure if that's good or bad.

Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread