Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread

Gut wrenching. As bad as the 09 prelim (but not as bad as 97).

For all the brain fades, Walker and Betts dominance, and shit kicking for goal, we still had a chance to win it with 3 minds to go.

Kudos to Jong and Redpath, fringe players off the rookie list who really stood up in a final. And props to the entire midfield, smashed the bigger, more expedience crows all game.

They were hard, they were tough, they were breathtaking, they gave it everything.

That goal on 3/4 time was a killer
I was thinking that too. If we went in at 3/4 time only 5 points down instead of 11 we would have been over 2 goals up when Stringer nailed his second (assuming it played out the same way early in the 4th qtr) and I doubt we'd have lost it from there.

But that's the woulda/coulda/shoulda that happens in any close game. So many of those.

I reckon the real killer that was within our control was allowing Adelaide 5 straight goals in the first quarter. We just couldn't contain them when they got a run-on. We really should have won it from there but from 18 points up we went to the break 9 points down.

Credit to the boys for fighting it out all the way. Could easily have dropped their bundle right there.

I'll give credit to Jong. He played better than i thought he would. Thought he be a bit under done. Sure he makes some silly mistakes that always seem to cost us a goal or two, but if he can start to feel comfortable at this level with ball in hand he could be awesome. May take another full season for him to get there though.

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk

Such is life as a dogs supporter....

Adelaide kick 9 straight from set shots
We constantly hear that first to 100 wins 99% of the time. We've been first to 100 two weeks in a row and lost both. F$&@.
Bont has not missed a set shot all year and botches two easy ones.
I got a sense of inevitability even when we were 1 point up.
Crows again. F$&@
That last passage with the miss directed handball to Crameri.
Jake doing a hammy 3 mins in. Fully fit, I am positive he would have been the difference.

In Bev I know though that we're onwards and upwards. I've been on this board a long time. I recall the posts saying the 99 generation were the best ever youngsters we have had. This group are on another level. Our time is close. This has a geelong 2004 feeling.

Hard luck, Dogs:( Take heart in the knowledge that your team is going from this

bulldog-tumblr-4.jpg

to this

article-2508797-18DDCD6F00000578-984_634x353.jpg

VERY bloody quickly. The Cats have fallen away a bit. The Hawks look more haggard on their perch these days. The future could be yours...

Absolutely gutted, shot ourselves in the foot. The missed set shots killed us. Shame such a fun season had to end like that but we have a good 5+ years of improvement still to come so I'm excited for the future.

I thought Hamling was sensational tonight. Big saving intercept marks.

Jong was impressive but still made his usual mistakes. His style suits finals though.

It was good to see who stepped up and Wood, Hunter and Bontempelli were very good although the missed set shots from the Bont had shades of Fyfe in the GF so I hope he shakes it off quickly. Minson had a big game. Roberts dropped mark was disappointing, he should've done better. Biggs was good. Crameri was dangerous but should've finished a bit better. Dickson outstanding.

This side can only get better, so many players still lacking experience and playing in this game would've done them a world of good. Shattered at the result but next season should be fun. Adelaide have been building up to this moment with their core for a lot longer than us and we smashed them everywhere but on the scoreboard which in the scheme of things is all that matters.

Once we went absolutely ballistic and kicked 3 in 5 minutes to open the match, we realy should have sort of "rode" or "iced" that lead so to speak by playing "tempo" footy.

Instead we kept playing helter skelter which saw Adelaide kick 6 of the next 7 to finish off the quarter.

Only time we need experience on the G is on grand final day. Any other game is not comparable to the big one. No interstate team has ever given up a home final so they could get some much needed finals experience at the G. You gotta get to the big dance the easiest way possible. Dont know why we should be any different to other teams.

I think PG chooses his battles and knew he wasn't going to win this one.
But like Bev he's playing the long game... I suspect he's not going to let us get pushed around as much by the bullies at AFL when we have 50,000 membership and some big new sponsors.

Can't forget Bontempelli either. In an acre of space 50 out, could easily pass, but selfishly blazes away like the ****ing idiot he is and kicks it out on the full. Well done for costing us the match, idiot.

Mate you're a dead set ****wit.

Not sure how people can be satisfied with that performance - sure it's been a terrific season but we should have won that game tonight. Imagine what that win would have done for this group going forward along with the experience of next Friday against the Hawks at the G. Ah well just not to be

Just some comments on a few players/selections...

Minno - once he was selected knew he would give his all. Thought he competed brilliantly against a guy who has been spoken of as All Australian. There was some really nice tap work that led to some influential clearances
Jong - sure he made 1 or 2 bad skill errors but looked like he was back to some of that early season form. Capped off by that mark/goal
Honeychurch - really disappointing & wearing the red vest proved it. Shame the rat did his ankle 2 weeks ago as I feel he would have given us more in that small forward role

As others have said we really missed JJ in that type of game. Would Talia have been a better option that Roberts - I think so but it's probably highlighted by some of the errors that Fletch made.

Bring on season 2016!

Hard luck, Dogs:( Take heart in the knowledge that your team is going from this

bulldog-tumblr-4.jpg

to this

article-2508797-18DDCD6F00000578-984_634x353.jpg

VERY bloody quickly. The Cats have fallen away a bit. The Hawks look more haggard on their perch these days. The future could be yours...
We obviously would never of beaten the Hawks next week. But it just would of been fantastic for the group to of been able to pull out a win on the big stage tonight. Just for the belief of the playing group. This one hurts

I'll give credit to Jong. He played better than i thought he would. Thought he be a bit under done. Sure he makes some silly mistakes that always seem to cost us a goal or two, but if he can start to feel comfortable at this level with ball in hand he could be awesome. May take another full season for him to get there though.

And that mark (in a final) and more importantly goal was sensational.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Was barracking for you probably for the first time ever tonight due to the opposition. Would have been nice for you guys to win, but bigger picture suggests its not a bad thing. Something has clicked at doggy land and your more than a silly chance for that elusive flag in the not to distant future.

Say what you want but the minute he picked Jong I believed we were in trouble.

But Jong was a contributor. He spread and ran well and got a lot of the ball from that. Didnt do much more with it than handball it to the first blue jumper he could see but we ran in such numbers at times that it worked. Id say he had quite a few scoring involvements as well as the 1.1 he kicked himself.

Total respect to you guys, you never gave up and played a ripper of a game. Hold your heads high and the best of luck in 2016.

Just wanted to come on and say that you guys play a exciting style of footy. Yes I am happy that the Crows won but in my heart I think that it was more that you guys lost. We were very lucky to win.

I think that the Doggies will be scary good next year.

Only have ourselves to blame for losing that one. Kicked terrible for goal whereas they kicked really well. If either Grant or Bonti kick those set shots we win easily.

Also still had a chance to win it streaming down the middle of the ground with an open goal begging with a few mins to go and players in space and we coughed it up with some poor disposal. Not sure what happened there as I nearly threw something at the TV I was so upset.

The good thing about it if there is something is that this loss would have hurt like hell and they would know they threw it away so I'm sure they will be gutted. This will provide great motivation to go better next year.

It's been one hell of a season and honestly I've loved every minute of it, so despite the loss of am so proud of the boys, they certainly tried their best but just a few nerves while kicking for goal got the better of them. I thought we were the better team in general play but they certainly made more of their opportunities, especially set shots.

While it hurts like hell now, and I'm sure I won't be such a good person to be around the next couple of days, hopefully that feeling passes quickly so we can look forward to next year.

I suppose any realistic look at our list would suggest our time is still a year or two away. I just can't wait for them to get there.

Thanks boys for a huge year.

Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread