Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread

Agree with TMoney22, although I didn't have relations last night/this morning.

I'm ****ing pissed off. It's not alright we lost this match.

Pretty sure any defiance & anger has let go.

Yes, we lost. Don't even care. We came 5x further than everyone expected. Tonight was a big lesson, a lot of things done right but what was done wrong was what impacted the test more than what was done right.

At the end of the day, we weren't winning the flag no matter what. Would have loved the fairytale, but this year has shown just what we can do. I don't want to set any target towards next year, but our demeanor will set the standard.

Proud as ****. #bemorebulldog

I still think that one of our needs is a big marking backman. We need to go for Carlisle... He may have a bad attitude but that's becuse of his environment atm.. I reckon that's our missing link...

A player like Carlisle, yes. Carlisle himself, no.

I know somebody who went to school with him and a work colleague of mine is friends with one of the Essendon players. Both say he's a flog.

Based on this and the rest of the available evidence it's a *sigh* no thanks for mine. Not when we have a very young, impressionable group and are really starting to develop a great culture at the club. Not worth it.

Hey doggies, sorry to intrude but just wanted to congratulate you on an amazing year. Gives me some hope here in Brisbane.

Thrilling game last night but I just can't help but think in one of those last passages of plays you had with about 2 minutes left, Crameri could've booted it of the ground, out of the pack where Grant (IIRC) was running towards the goal. Know probably not an easy thing to do but why not win the final in style.

http://www.afl.com.au/video/2015-09-12/is-this-where-the-dogs-lost-it (couldn't embed video so here's the clip)

Congrats to the Doggies on a brilliant year, playing the most attractive brand of football in the competition. Being APies supporter know exactly how gutted you would be post such a tight loss in a final. Can't stNd the Crows but their fwd line is potent and stood up on the night
The best game of football this year with unfortunately the worst result for anyone who respects your team and despises those arrogant Crows.
All the best in 2016

Don't wake up this morning and do the 'what if's?' folks. Life is not like that. Enjoy and reflect of a terrific year way beyond expectations.

We were fantastic. So were they. It is being spoken of as the AFL's game of the year. We came from behind in the last but lost, but didn't have the polish. I can live with it.

I hate losing, but the year Adelaide had gives them some small success. However we have the better future with a younger more talented list. We saw the holes in our list tonight and we can fix them through the draft and trading. These young guys have been fantastic, with half the list rookies.

It was an amazing game, an amazing year. We played brave, we just couldn't find the poise to get the job done. They were just little things, missed possession panic handballs and of course missed set shots. That was the difference. We had the better of the Crows for lots of the game, but they were more efficient with their use.

My voice is shot, I screamed my head off, my fellow supporters you were amazing on the night and you gave the boys everything, from the march to the last minute of the game. The boys gave it all, we gave our all, we can't really ask for anything more. Disappointed of course, but very proud of our club. But it cannot end here, this is just the start. Hold onto your hats.

Being so sad made me last longer during sexy time. Really not sure if that's good or bad.
So it could be good to watch the last 97 final prior to such activities? Maybe too extreme.
But if it worked we could market it.

Gutted to lose, but totally proud of how our boys rose to the occasion. Just a lack of composure at crucial times cost us, but this is just the start of an exciting & rewarding journey.

So much more to come from this team, hopefully T. Boyd will be a much bigger presence next year, throw in Libba & the continued improvement of the youngsters & a premiership is only a couple of years away. Freo, Hawthorn & Sydney are getting to the end of their dominance & our time is coming make no mistake.

People keep on saying what a great game it was but I didn't enjoy it

It was too close

and...

we can play better than that. Quite a lot better. It wasn't one of our better performances of the year. We were tired; only played in bursts; woeful goal kicking; made some poor decisions.

Well done to the crows but we are better than that.

Well done Eddie Betts, you'll get all the press coverage. But this man is just as good a player:

964224-tory-dickson.jpg

I didn't cry at the end but I did get a little emotional when this bloke kicked his fifth.
Stand up tall Tory.
To think of where he's come from, to this.....he personifies our journey.

Very proud of the boys but as Richo said on Ch7 we should of played at etihad our home ground. A win at our home ground would of calmed the nerves of some of the younger guys who hadn't played finals before or the older guys who r rusty with finals footy. We would of won at etihad and we would of played better against hawthorn at the MCG to having a final win under our belt. The AFL robbed us! All the other winning teams played at home. We didn't get to.

So disappointed. Another wasted finals opportunity.
Yes, we did much better than expected this year, yes we went down swinging, and yes we were unlucky yet again.
But we still lost and we can't be happy or satisfied with that.

On the bright side, Bev's press conference made me feel a little happier as he is clearly someone who has a good handle on the tactical side of the game as well as the man management requirements. It is such a stark contrast to his predecessor.

Unfortunately a few things that happened last night really annoyed me, and are still stinging this morning.
1. Umpiring. It wasn't as horribly biased toward our opposition as most of our recent finals, but nor did we get the benefit of the doubt that normally goes to the home team. Will we ever get the rub of the green?

2. Grant's misses from close range set shots. He played an ok game otherwise, but his misses were absolutely predictable because he has been missing them all year. Surely someone should have been able to work with him to the point where he had a chance of kicking them from 20 odd metres out in front of goals, rather than being an almost guaranteed miss.

3. The non-selection of Talia. I think he should have been our first choice key position defender in this game. Not only would he have provided a better presence down back, he would have provided more run out of it.

Most of our other mistakes can be dealt with. It was clear that nerves were an issue for some of our young players, and we fell into the trap of trying to rush it forward too much rather than trust our ability to get it there more slowly if required. We need a bit of luck next time, but we also need to stop making silly errors at finals time too.

Most importantly we need to ensure that there is a next time, and that it happens next year.

Very proud of the boys but as Richo said on Ch7 we should of played at etihad our home ground. A win at our home ground would of calmed the nerves of some of the younger guys who hadn't played finals before or the older guys who r rusty with finals footy. We would of won at etihad and we would of played better against hawthorn at the MCG to having a final win under our belt. The AFL robbed us! All the other winning teams played at home. We didn't get to.
Don't worry about the AFL robbed you stuff, remember both teams hardly play at the 'g' and from an outsider the AFL would be annoyed there is basically not much footy in Melbs this weekend, but you guys really want to play on the big stage I would of thought. Crows were great but you guys had em, poor goalkicking killed you ten times over, anyway, top year, come back harder next year as there are no guarantees in this league.

People keep on saying what a great game it was but I didn't enjoy it

It was too close

and...

we can play better than that. Quite a lot better. It wasn't one of our better performances of the year. We were tired; only played in bursts; woeful goal kicking; made some poor decisions.

Well done to the crows but we are better than that.

Well done Eddie Betts, you'll get all the press coverage. But this man is just as good a player:

964224-tory-dickson.jpg

I didn't cry at the end but I did get a little emotional when this bloke kicked his fifth.
Stand up tall Tory.
To think of where he's come from, to this.....he personifies our journey.
Even after a loss, this probably was the best bit of marketing the club has done in a long long time. It's make opposition players want to play for us, and opposition fans scared of what we can be.
Those Friday night fixtures will well and truly be coming our way!
Maybe even a good Friday match (hopefully)

So disappointed. Another wasted finals opportunity.
Yes, we did much better than expected this year, yes we went down swinging, and yes we were unlucky yet again.
But we still lost and we can't be happy or satisfied with that.

On the bright side, Bev's press conference made me feel a little happier as he is clearly someone who has a good handle on the tactical side of the game as well as the man management requirements. It is such a stark contrast to his predecessor.

Unfortunately a few things that happened last night really annoyed me, and are still stinging this morning.
1. Umpiring. It wasn't as horribly biased toward our opposition as most of our recent finals, but nor did we get the benefit of the doubt that normally goes to the home team. Will we ever get the rub of the green?

2. Grant's misses from close range set shots. He played an ok game otherwise, but his misses were absolutely predictable because he has been missing them all year. Surely someone should have been able to work with him to the point where he had a chance of kicking them from 20 odd metres out in front of goals, rather than being an almost guaranteed miss.

3. The non-selection of Talia. I think he should have been our first choice key position defender in this game. Not only would he have provided a better presence down back, he would have provided more run out of it.

Most of our other mistakes can be dealt with. It was clear that nerves were an issue for some of our young players, and we fell into the trap of trying to rush it forward too much rather than trust our ability to get it there more slowly if required. We need a bit of luck next time, but we also need to stop making silly errors at finals time too.

Most importantly we need to ensure that there is a next time, and that it happens next year.
I totally agree with your comments, it stings. But just have to remember that we were never even meant to be there. The tigers have lost 3 elimination Finals in a row with a much older list.
We will be back better than ever with hopefully a couple of new recruits.

Review vs Adelaide autopsy thread