Autopsy vs *

Love ya SLF but don't like this mentality. We lost and denouncing the prospects of the opponent just reeks of poor sportsmanship.

Right now they're more in touch with finals than us. Them' s the facts.

I said a serious finals run mate.

If they go to a prelim this year, I'll be astounded.

I said a serious finals run mate.

If they go to a prelim this year, I'll be astounded.
They'll be down their best KPB. I'll be surprised if they even make it.

Compare his stats with Hrovat (a defensive forward) and it gets even more bizarre.

There's a lot of very lazy thinking going on, and by people who are usually much better posters.
Must agree, Ahern was a liability today in a mid field that wasn't performing well. As much as I thought LDU has been looking tired lately, if higgins is back next week I would have persevered with LDU and dropped Ahern after the performance the week before. I agree Curtis needs further development and I reckon Hosie probably would have been a better fit, but hindsight is always handy. Hrovat is'nt a star but he's a bloody workhorse, and was very handy out there on occasions. Lots of players came in and out of the game which made for an inconsistent level of pressure.
BB had his best game for a while, it was fantastic to see that angry aggressive face, rather than the soft, serene look of late.
Marley was a champ
Taz legend
Thommo average
Luke ... well !
JMac. up and down.
Jed. tough
Zurhaar. had some good spurts
Turner. did good
Polec. Ok
Pittard. Played his heart but out sized
JZ. Quiet
Larkey. Creates a good chop out for BB
Cuñners. Held well
Considering so many weren't firing it wasn't a terrible result.

They do have Devon Smith, Joe Daniher and Heppel to come back in. I can't see them making a prelim this year but they are a step ahead of us at the moment.

True, but all three of them have degenerative long term injuries. I strongly doubt we will ever see any of them at their best again, from the sounds of things, just seeing Daniher and Heppell out there again will be a fair effort.

Its like us pinning our hopes on 2015 Benny Jacobs coming back to act as the defensive lynchpin of the midfield.

I said earlier in the thread their load up on Shiel, Stringer, Smith, Saad etc made perfect sense to build on the Daniher, Hooker, Heppell, Hurley et al core.

But footy requires lots of luck - Richmond won a flag with their Big Four going injury free for two years.

Must agree, Ahern was a liability today in a mid field that wasn't performing well. As much as I thought LDU has been looking tired lately, if higgins is back next week I would have persevered with LDU and dropped Ahern after the performance the week before. I agree Curtis needs further development and I reckon Hosie probably would have been a better fit, but hindsight is always handy. Hrovat is'nt a star but he's a bloody workhorse, and was very handy out there on occasions. Lots of players came in and out of the game which made for an inconsistent level of pressure.
BB had his best game for a while, it was fantastic to see that angry aggressive face, rather than the soft, serene look of late.
Marley was a champ
Taz legend
Thommo average
Luke ... well !
JMac. up and down.
Jed. tough
Zurhaar. had some good spurts
Turner. did good
Polec. Ok
Pittard. Played his heart but out sized
JZ. Quiet
Larkey. Creates a good chop out for BB
Cuñners. Held well
Considering so many weren't firing it wasn't a terrible result.

Turner had 6 possessions and Polec 7. They both had poor games. Turner is coming off 9 possessions last week.

Smith is very good, but Heppel is just a quarterback.

Daniher? Who knows? Right now he's shown little more than Nick Larkey. My gut feeling is that they will turn him in to a ruckman.

Turner had 6 possessions and Polec 7. They both had poor games. Turner is coming off 9 possessions last week.

Polec had 19 and shut down Zaharakis (15).

Kayne got shown up by a quick opposition midfield that was well on top, which will happen to all opposing small forwards.

Smith is very good, but Heppel is just a quarterback.

Daniher? Who knows? Right now he's shown little more than Nick Larkey. My gut feeling is that they will turn him in to a ruckman.

As far as quarterbacks go he is a very good one.

They do have Devon Smith, Joe Daniher and Heppel to come back in. I can't see them making a prelim this year but they are a step ahead of us at the moment.

Not sure why we're even caring. We don't play them again this year. What's the fixation with them?

All it takes is a couple of players to not perform and the system falls down. Others can step up and cover, but only so much.

Cunners was held. Jy, Ahern, Froggy - even Anderson was off, and others didn’t step up in the first 3 quarters.

Curtis tried hard but is too inexperienced.

Missed wood massively to create some variation with our get out kicks and defensive pressure (funny to be saying that about wood, but he’s come a long way this year).

With Ahern down, Curtis developing, Hrovat tried and played his role (but we missed that mid sized target such as wood, garner across Half forward).

Backs exposed without midfleid pressure.

Demonstrates our lack of depth while young talent is developing.

All it takes is a couple of players to not perform and the system falls down. Others can step up and cover, but only so much.

Cunners was held. Jy, Ahern, Froggy - even Anderson was off, and others didn’t step up in the first 3 quarters.

Curtis tried hard but is too inexperienced.

Missed wood massively to create some variation with our get out kicks and defensive pressure (funny to be saying that about wood, but he’s come a long way this year).

With Ahern down, Curtis developing, Hrovat tried and played his role (but we missed that mid sized target such as wood, garner across Half forward).

Backs exposed without midfleid pressure.

Demonstrates our lack of depth while young talent is developing.

A balanced post!

Losing equilibrium...................I have to sit down for a moment.

Turner kept Saad out of the picture, Polec did s lot of stuff off the ball. Stats don't tell all the story

Saad had 22 and if he had his kicking boots on could have had a goal or two as well. Turner didn't really impact him at all.

Polec was mismatched several times and Essendon did a good job isolating him in the goal square which is not his game. He might have done some good stuff off the ball but his direct opponent kicked goals and 7 possessions says it was his worst game for North. I am not sure we can play JMac and Polec in the same team.

Saad had 22 and if he had his kicking boots on could have had a goal or two as well. Turner didn't really impact him at all.

Polec was mismatched several times and Essendon did a good job isolating him in the goal square which is not his game. He might have done some good stuff off the ball but his direct opponent kicked goals and 7 possessions says it was his worst game for North. I am not sure we can play JMac and Polec in the same team.

KT kept him VERY quiet in the first half, but he was never going to be able to hold him for the entire match, nor should he be expected to do so. He's a forward pocket, not a defensive HFF.

Still, 14 kicks for 9 turnovers suggest Saad's impact was well down due to pressure, and he's been flying lately.

McKenna was much more damaging, and I think Dumont had him on a wing.

The scum runners:

Fantasia: destroyed
Zaharakis: quelled
Saad: quelled
McKenna:damaging
Tipper: Got off the hook

Did you mean Pittard?

yes. correct.

Yeah our defensive match ups seemed to be a bit of a mess all game. There was a stage in the first quarter where Marley was matched up with Stringer and it took the backline a few minutes to work out the matchups.

Love ya SLF but don't like this mentality. We lost and denouncing the prospects of the opponent just reeks of poor sportsmanship.

Right now they're more in touch with finals than us. Them' s the facts.
We've got more important things to deal with, i.e. list management, individual players, etc. Let * deal with their own* crap.