Mead

Eagles
Felt like wasting some time and wallowing in some parochialism, so, if i were picking a team of the best 22 WA players on current form, this is who i'd go with, and why.

Forwards: Jeff Farmer Troy Wilson Phil Matera
Wilson still has a lot to prove, but on current form he is one of the very best FFs in the league, and certainly the best WA boy... Farmer and Phil Matera in the same forward line would give any opposition coach nightmares.

Half Forwards: Jason Ball Jonathan Hay Daniel Chick
With Gaspar playing FB, i thought it might be worth giving Hay a run on the HF line. Ball Can switch with Gardiner and Longmuir.

Centre Line: Simon Black Josh Carr S WoeWodin
Black and Woewodin are obvious choices, whilst Josh Carr is a quality centreman, and an excellent tagger.

Half Backs: Tarkyn Lockyer Glen Jakovich Darren Glass.
Jakovich is back to his best, and Lockyer gives some creativity and run from the HB line. Glass may seem a controversial choice, but on present form he has been excellent, and will only get better- every team needs some young guns.

Backs: Byron Pickett Darren Gaspar Peter Matera
Whilst also a lethal forward, Pickett is by far the best small WA defender floating around. Gaspar is arguably the best FB in the league, whilst veteran Peter Matera provides leg speed, flawless disposal, and superb tackling and tagging.

Followers: Ben Cousins, Peter Bell
Enough said :)

Ruck: Michael Gardiner.
Strong, quick, great mark and can play CHF as well.

Interchange: Jarrad Schofield, Dean Rioli, Daniel Kerr, Justin Longmuir.
Versatility on the bench, with all of these guys as multiple position players. Longmuir and Kerr are both quality young guns, Schofield is a top midfielder.

Well thats it, Hmm, i look forward to seeing peoples suggestions for the best SA, QLD, NSW and Victorian teams.

Originally posted by Baron Baldrick
Sorry mate,
Can't let you claim Croad, especially if you've got ex-pats playing in other states in the side.
He's a Vic ( or more precise a Kiwi).

Maybe you could have Cummings at CHF :D

God no :)

You are of course totally right about Croad, sorry about that, mental blank- i've amended the team.

Hmm, I have a strange sense of deja vu :)

isn't Armstrong first and foremost a midfielder? With Cousins, Bell, Black, Schofield, Carr, Woewodin, Kerr, Rioli and Chick in the mix, the team is midfield-heavy as it is.

Originally posted by Mead
if i were picking a team of the best 22 WA players on current form, this is who i'd go with, and why.

If you picked them on current form,how did you get "Rolly Polly" Dean Rioli in when he went walkabout ?

Surely Joel Corey would be in.

Hmm, I have a strange sense of deja vu :)

isn't Armstrong first and foremost a midfielder? With Cousins, Bell, Black, Schofield, Carr, Woewodin, Kerr, Rioli and Chick in the mix, the team is midfield-heavy as it is.

-Kerr
+Haselby

Originally posted by sabre_ac

-Kerr
+Haselby

Nope :) You didn't really expect me to go for Freo's young gun over West Coasts??

As a matter of fact i thought for a while about that last position- the reason i went for Kerr over Haselby is Kerr is a better tackler and has the edge on difficult ball gets. My impression of Haselby is that he is fat (ahem, no, sorry) My impression of Haselby is that he is more of a running winger, and the team already had enough of those- if i was going to go for another freo midfielder i would have gone for Cook before Haselby

Ok my version of the WA state team

Forwards: Farmer Wilson Matera

Half Forwards: Waterhouse Longmuir Chick

Centre: Woewodin Black Carr

Half Backs: Matera Hay Lockyer

Backs: Collica Gaspar Parker

Rucks: Gardinar Cousins Bell

Inter: Haselby Kerr Ball McIntosh

Put Black in the centre, is one of the premier centremen of the past couple of seasons. Led the league in Hard Ball gets and tackles, and was right up there in clearances. Put Carr elsewhere. Agree with Hasleby in and Kerr out.

F: Farmer Wilson Ph. Matera
HF: Pickett J.Longmuir Chick
C: Black J.Carr Woewodin
HB: Schofield Hay Lockyer
B: Parker D. Gasper Pe. Matera
R: Gardiner Cousins Bell

Int: Hasleby, Jakovich, Ball, Rioli

Here's a Victorian line-up. All killer, no filler:

B: Joel Smith - Dustin Fletcher - Glenn Archer
HB: Jason Johnson - Justin Leppitsch - Adem Yze
C: Nigel Lappin - Scott West - Brad Johnson
HF: John Barker - Chris Grant - Nathan Brown
F: Luke Power - Matthew Lloyd - Matthew Lappin
R: Peter Everitt - Anthony Koutoufides - Brett Ratten
I: Lance Whitnall, Joe Misiti, Steven King, Brent Harvey

F: S Welsh B Ottens C McRae

HF: M O’Loughlin W Treadrea B Pickett

C: B Burton M Ricciuto S Camporeale

HB: B Sanderson S Wellman A McKay

B: B Hart N Bassett G Wanganeen

Ruck: L Darcy J Francou S Goodwin

Int: S Burns T Edwards T Harley N Holland

Isn't Pickett from SA, not WA?
Also thought Tyson Stenglein might be squeezed into the 22 for WA

Jars if that is the best SA can do we are kidding ourselves, how did Welsh, McRae & Harley make it into the SA team?
Surely one of the Wakelins is better than Harley (or both of them!). If Harley gets a mention what about Enright from the cats? Cornes isn't anywhere as sh**house as Welsh (Welsh is a fringe crows player FFS). Pavlich? Even Waterhouse is twice as good as Welsh!
Do Matty Whelan and Peter Burgoyne count? If so, there in.
Bradley, perhaps?
Matthew Rogers or Jason Torney, both from South?
Most people would include Dew, maybe on the bench for mine though.
Surely Ben Holland would get a look in too, atleast ahead of Harley on the bench
! Or even at FB or CHB, with Wellman at Half-Back?
Isn't Matthew Nicks better than Sanderson?

Jars, did you put any thought into your team? How did Welsh, McRae, Burton, Sanderson & Harley make it?

Nicks for Sanderson, Harley for N. Bassett - apart from that, not bad.

byron pickett has gone on record as saying he is not sure were he comes from , so u can't blame the good folk on big footy to get it right

Originally posted by JUBJUB

Well mummy Pickett got together with daddy Pickett ,then Daddy Pickett put his ........

You get my drift. :D

Well there goes my innocence :)
Picketts originalness is in dispute... some say he's a croweater (including the Kangaroos website), some say he's a sandgroper.. lets all claim him, then we can all be happy =P

Originally posted by Jars458
errrmmmm TYSON STENGLEIN - remember him

Cth Bank Trophy Captain for WA

very good player

I wasn't aware that Stenglein was from WA, but if he is then I'd definitely have him in as the premier tagger.

Pretty good efforts here - at last WA could field a decent team!

Don't forget Digby Morrell from North Melbourne. Put him, Troy Wilson and Tiffany Cherry together and we'll distract the hell out of DCFC's Victorian team.

Felt like wasting some time and wallowing in some parochialism, so, if i were picking a team of the best 22 WA players on current form, this is who i'd go with, and why.

Forwards: Jeff Farmer Troy Wilson Phil Matera
Wilson still has a lot to prove, but on current form he is one of the very best FFs in the league, and certainly the best WA boy... Farmer and Phil Matera in the same forward line would give any opposition coach nightmares.

Half Forwards: Jason Ball Jonathan Hay Daniel Chick
With Gaspar playing FB, i thought it might be worth giving Hay a run on the HF line. Ball Can switch with Gardiner and Longmuir.

Centre Line: Simon Black Josh Carr S WoeWodin
Black and Woewodin are obvious choices, whilst Josh Carr is a quality centreman, and an excellent tagger.

Half Backs: Tarkyn Lockyer Glen Jakovich Darren Glass.
Jakovich is back to his best, and Lockyer gives some creativity and run from the HB line. Glass may seem a controversial choice, but on present form he has been excellent, and will only get better- every team needs some young guns.

Backs: Byron Pickett Darren Gaspar Peter Matera
Whilst also a lethal forward, Pickett is by far the best small WA defender floating around. Gaspar is arguably the best FB in the league, whilst veteran Peter Matera provides leg speed, flawless disposal, and superb tackling and tagging.

Followers: Ben Cousins, Peter Bell
Enough said :)

Ruck: Michael Gardiner.
Strong, quick, great mark and can play CHF as well.

Interchange: Jarrad Schofield, Dean Rioli, Daniel Kerr, Justin Longmuir.
Versatility on the bench, with all of these guys as multiple position players. Longmuir and Kerr are both quality young guns, Schofield is a top midfielder.

Well thats it, Hmm, i look forward to seeing peoples suggestions for the best SA, QLD, NSW and Victorian teams.

Fair dinkum, is that the best we can do? Christ there's some hacks in that team. Ball, Chick (who is vastly overrated, although I would probably find a spot for him on the bench), Josh Carr, Lockyer, Glass (how the hell would he even get to be boot studder?), Peter Matera is no back pocket, and with the exception of Longmuir, the interchange bench is pretty ordinary. Schofield is not a top midfielder, Rioli is a burst player who only bursts about once every 2 months, and Kerr is certainly nothing special. I'd probably have Hasleby, Barnard, Koops and Stenglein in ahead of most of those. I'd probably have Beau McDonald in there somewhere as well.

On Pickett, I read in one of the papers last year with him saying that he was West Aussie but I've also heard people in the know say that he was from South Australia.
:confused: :confused: :confused:
Is there more than one B. Pickett ?

Originally posted by mentalgrind

Is there more than one B. Pickett ? [/B]

Maybe, though I've noticed many an opposition player looking over their shoulder trying to find him. :D

I wouldn't have Pickett on the same line as Matera. Matera's still in therapy after being taken apart last year. ;)