10k Posts Armchair Endzone Minor Comp Winner Armchair Endzone Participant
Oct 27, 2007
Swan Districts, Everton
Well, it's getting to an interesting time of the year with Subi closing in on the top 4, the 2 Freo teams faltering and Peel getting off the bottom of the ladder.

Thunder v Tigers

The Thunder have won 2 in a row for the first time in a long time and must feel this is their best opportunity to beat the Tigers. Faulks out is a loss, but the young defence is holding up pretty well. This will be a big test for them though and the midfield becomes the key, with P-S and Lycett rucking pretty well and providing a good target up forward. J Jones has been in superb touch in the midfield and combined with Crichton, B Jones, Beswick, Healey, Mason and any number of Thorntons' they will provide an intriguing battle against the Tigers running brigade.

The Tigers have been staggering along (for them) most of the season and particularly recently. C Jones could be an important in, especially leading up to finals, whilst Wilkes, Crawford and Lee provide some very good flexibility. Schammer has been in good form but he is replaced by any number of players who still provide good run. McGinnity provides defensive run, but he's earned a call up and Brabazon could be a big out.
This could be close, but I doubt it, sorry Peel supporters.

Team

Thunder
B D Mcfarlane J Flaherty B Gillam
HB M Green B Wilson J Crichton
C R Mason J Jones R Healey
HF K Thornton A Thornton B Thornton
FF M Brown B Holmes R Herring
F S Lycett R Beswick B Jones
Int.A Payrits, M Battye, B Triplett, J Warren, L Meyers, P Pohlenz-Saw, C Eddy
In A Payrits, B Triplett, J Warren, L Meyers
Out P Faulks

Tigers
B I Rowe B Jones C Rudeforth
HB T Handley B Franz J Laurie
C A Browne L Blackwell L Stevenson
HF T Swift T Lee D Crawford
FF G Weedon B Wilkes B Saunders
F M Andrews K Mitchell A Gilligan
Int. C Mclernon, T Willett, C Jones, J Murphy, A Hamp, A Foster, I Richardson
In J Laurie, A Browne, T Swift, T Willett, C Jones, A Hamp
Out R Brabazon, B Schammer, B Waters, B Anderson

Sharks v Royals

This becomes a massive game as the Sharks try to stay ahead of the chasing teams, namely Subi. The Royals have strung together a couple of wins and, as crazy as it sounds, if they win this one they give themselves an outside hope of finals action.

The Sharks have, frankly, disappointed the past few weeks. They beat the Falcons, Tigers and Swans (well, anybody can do that :p) then lose to teams that are lower. There is enough AFL experience/talent that they should account for those teams. They have a very impressive running brigade, with McNamara, McGough, Stevens, Houlihan, Masten, Dalziell, O'Briens, Fasolo, Monteath leading the way. They are a bit undermanned in the bigs department with Bucovaz and Brennan playing in key posts, but the big Royals players aren't in the team, now.

The Royals have changed their game plan as their imports have retired/ pulled out as the season has progressed. Now they are better at running than they were earlier in the season, with Lee, Swan and Wulff leading the way and now being ably supported by Travers, Kommer, JON, Moss, Seal, Travers, Clutterbuck. Smith remains the most potent key forward on the ground IMO and Young, or Brown, if he plays, will have to play him close.
Sharks in a close one, IMO, depending on which Royals team turns up.

Teams

Sharks
B A Stephen R Young L Weller
HB C Yeo J Brennan J Mcnamara
C C Masten M Mcgough T Houlihan
HF C Leslie R Hadley B Dalziell
FF L Teakle B Bucovaz B O'Brien
F S Lee-Steere R O'Brien K Stevens
Emg J Slattery T Viney T Howlett
Int. M Boyle, T Chalwell, J Bayliss, D Chidlow
In C Leslie, K Stevens, T Chalwell, J Bayliss
Out M Brown, B Sheppard, L Fasolo, S Horsburgh

Royals
B S Payne J Derickx R Smith
HB A Sweet N Blee F Clutterbuck
C J Oakley-Nicholls C Wulff N Kommer
HF G Moss A Prior M Seal
FF D Macaulay J Smith B Lee
F B Higgins M Swan P Travers
Int. S Mckenzie, R Brookes, J Birrell, B Dobson, J Keath, C Warrell, C Grover
In P Travers, J Birrell, C Warrell, B Dobson
Out H Shepheard

Lions v Swans

The Lions have a window to either edge into the 4, as their percentage is better than the Sharks, or stay in touch with them. Swans are simply out to salvage pride after one trainwreck after another. The Swans have lost 5 players, fairly important ones, from last week.

The Lions have been getting better the more they have played together the past couple of seasons. Anthony back is not necessarily a good thing, as they seem to have been winning when he is not in the team, but on paper he's a good in. Keevers in is also a good running player, who should give the Lions the upper hand with Rix tapping to Kerr, Blechynden, Hughes, Bristow, Hilder, Horsley, Joyce. Broady, well he just seems to be in unstoppable form this year and I can't see a Swans player able to go with him.

The Swans have 1 of their back six from their premiership last year, left standing, the indefatiguable, and hoarse, Ames. The ruck division of Lammie, Hinkley and Jacky is about the weakest I have seen at Swans in the last 5 years. The defence looks pretty ordinary. Up forward Richardson is playing CHF and he's what 6'1"? so not a great amount of height. Robinson and Roach, in particular, need to extract their digits and lead from the front. Good to see Coniglio back and Garlett on a wing, where he looks great at U18 level and Potente getting games back into those legs.
Can't see Swans getting within 10 goals.

Teams

Lions
B R Forrest C Wheeler K Bloxsidge
HB B Randall A Parker A Davey
C D Hughes C Phelan S Hildebrandt
HF P Hassett J Anthony J Joyce
FF A Pickett B Broadhurst D Rumble
F M Rix J Bristow K Horsley
Int.R Blechynden, G Hampson, R Kerr, B Keevers, B Stevenson, R Waters, S Worthington
In R Waters, J Anthony, B Keevers

Swans
B S Parry T Ames S Coniglio
HB K Hams A Howard J Williams
C T Roach B Robinson D Garlett
HF J Simpson P Richardson C Pearce
FF B Colreavy T Geappen S Potente
F W Lammie C Hinkley J Jacky
Int. M Newman, A James, M Outridge, C Rintoul, A Hunter, D Johnston, D Harvey
In D Harvey, A Hunter, A Howard, D Johnston, P Richardson, M Outridge
Out A Hansen, G Jetta, T Notte, M Riggio, B Wolfenden

Falcons v Demons

The rampaging Falcons take on a team that can go from chocolates to boiled lollies quicker than any other. The Dees looked so good in the first quarter last week and then didn't raise a whimper for the rest of the match, it was strange?:confused:

The Falcons, well they are taking all before them and who can stop them? They have evenness all over the field with guys like Fleay having career best seasons and the injection of Browne and Tregear providing some more class. Strijk can't get a look into the Eagles side, which is a massive plus for the Falcons and LeCras has made CHB his own. Salecic keeps leading from the front and keeps running, along with his mates Guadagnin, Rice, Burns, Bewick, Bartholomew, Hutchings, van Berlo. Zanetti has provided a good focal point up front with Mellington, who will be missed if out.

The Dees looked classy in the first quarter last week, with Young, K-T, Florio, Jacobs all looking good. A positive for the demons is Siekerka's return to form in the last half of the season, was very good early last week I reckon. Moody provided a good focus in the forward line, as did Busher and Houghton. deJongh running the ruck alone probably hurt and McDougall and Chooka will be welcomed ins to the team. Sibosado needs to lift his workrate up forward to be a threat for the demons. Has a nice lead and nice mark, but like my mate Swoop, likes to stand and watch them run the other way.
Can't see the demons getting close and that is the only thing saving Swans from being bottom of the ladder after this round.

Teams

Falcons
B D Burns D Fleay C Shadbolt
HB K Manning J Morrow L Tedesco
C J Rice J Salecic J Van Berlo
HF A Tsalikis J Gobbels A Saylor
FF A Strijk B Lecras S Tregear
F C Keunen S Browne M Hutchings
Int.F Stockley, M Guadagnin, A Black, S Bewick, S Zanetti, M Crisp, C Branch
In S Zanetti, M Guadagnin, S Bewick, M Crisp, C Branch
Out K Bradley, J Mellington

Demons
B C Vidot A Zucconi S Siekierka
HB M Tedesco C Billings D Robinson
C M Florio J Jacobs J Kayler-Thomson
HF J Pitt C Sibosado M Moody
FF S Armstrong H Busher J Houghton
F A Mcdougall R Young A Elari
Int. M Rogers, N Kane, J Leeson, J Fiegert, S Donovan, R De Jongh, G Denton, B Hodge
In A Mcdougall, A Zucconi, C Vidot, J Leeson, J Fiegert
Out C Rodgers, D O'Sullivan

Made the trip down to Rushton park today.
Very nice facility though the playing surface could use an upgrade, unusualy combination of sand and mud.
Claremont started a bit slow today but managed to reel the Thunder back in and overtake them in a couple of .....roughly four goal bursts of play.
Peel are a much better outfit than last year, or even the beginning of this year. They played some good footy today and more or less stayed with the Tigers in terms of effort all day.
The umpires, well there were some mystifying decisions as usual and perhaps it's time to admit defeat and say I just don't understand the rules of the game. At least it was consistent to both sides though.

Yeah the crowd down there was good, the Peel people are pretty passionate but good natured too. Myself and a few friends made sure that plenty of noise came from the Claremont half of the crowd.

Can't see the demons getting close and that is the only thing saving Swans from being bottom of the ladder after this round.

I spoke too early, didn't I? :(

I feel sorry for Perth fans. They are very loyal and after seeing Perth play so well yesterday they have really taken the fans for a ride this season. So inconsistent it's not funny.

Premiers to wooden spooners the following year...has it happened before?

Not saying that you guys will "win" it, but if it happens it wouldn't have occurred too many times in the WAFL?

I'm checking now to see when it last happened. I know Swans have gone from wooden spooners to premiers and I suspect they will be the first to do both. :eek::(

I feel sorry for Perth fans. They are very loyal and after seeing Perth play so well yesterday they have really taken the fans for a ride this season. So inconsistent it's not funny.

Yep, exactly what I said re: consistency. However, on a much bigger note - could Perth be responsible for Cadel winning the Tour de France? Both black and red? :confused: Just putting it out there to make Perth supporters feel better. :p

I hope the Swans suffer on the bottom of the ladder:)

I love it man. Carried so bad last season. We're not super convincing at the moment either, but its probably because we have like 5 ins/5 outs each week.

Waaa, you Claremont supporters are going to have to get over the fact that you were beaten last year and haven't beaten the black ducks in a GF yet. :eek::p:)

I just can't believe how much of a one man band they were.

Makes Krakouer look incredible...

Look deeper, young one. ;)

I mean, Krakouer was very, very good, but we lost 4 of our 6 starting defenders, we recruited more talls when we clearly, to me at the beginning of the year anyway, needed more running players. Season ending injuries to Pratt and Miles, plus Blight, who could have been one of the running players we really needed, hurt badly.
So it's a combination of circumstances, plus losing the Krak.

Yer I know mate, just winding you up;)

I'm beyond being wound up because I sort of predicted this season for us, but I'm naturally pessimistic when it comes to Swans. :( Something about being used to non-success. :eek:

Anyway, freofan_mundy, I think asked the last time of premier to spoon.
Swans went from spoon to premiers in 1960-61, so I said we had both covered. West Perth went from bottom in 92 to top in 93.

Subi went from top in 95 to bottom in 96.

It can't be rubbed in anymore. I said the delirium of last year's victory would last me 10 years. So far it has numbed the pain, but my boys started going with me through the 2000-2002 era, so I've been through plenty of pain. :)
Although, the 11 yo started telling me he wasn't going to any more games this year and was relieved this match was up at Karratha, so he didn't have to go. :(

Tell him that he'd be welcomed with open arms at Claremont Oval, at a club with sustained success.

;)

How many grand finals wins to go with that success?

Even East Freo have one a more recent premiership and this is our worse ever premiership drought.

WAFL Round 18, 2011