WAFL Round 9

• Thread starter Thread starter mitchzz

Naitanui - well, going from playing about half the game on the ball to playing almost the entire game I thought might be a big ask. Must have won close to 35+ hit outs, in the end (just to amuse himself I'm sure) he was just belting the ball forward 15+m from each stoppage and then run and tackle the poor Sharks player that took the ball.
His tackling is ferocious. There were at least 3 occasions when he wrapped up the Shark player and just slammed them in to ground, I actually felt sorry for no.12 when he was 'bounced' off the ground in a tackle in the last. Took a great contested mark in the first 5-10 mins, which really set the tone for him for the day. I can't believe the Sharks supporters talking to me in the Shark Pit actually said he wasn't that impressive!:eek::confused: Not even listed in our best players but he dominated that ball out of the middle!

Oh, and LJ was ordinary again today, don't even bother looking at him!:D

I cant believe he didnt make your best. He should have made best based simply on those tackles. He was scary.....

I agree on Jetta. Absolute crab. I wouldnt be certain he will even become a WAFL regular .... just a good ordinary country league type... :D

OK, I'm sensing the hordes want a report?:confused::D

Houlihan - started by kicking the first goal and then being heavily involved for the first 5 minutes, then went missing for the next 2 quarters, but was again quite prominent in the last.

Spangher - you're not going to want to hear this, pantsed by Hansen. Hansen was absolutely dominant through the latter part of the first and entire second quarter. Spangher fought it out, moved into the midfield at one point and provided some drive that had been missing in the first half. Thought he was still one of the better players for Easts.

Hansen - As I said, was dominant for 3/4 of the first half, the difference is, Swans players can deliver the ball to him. Could have kicked 6-9 goals again. Led well all over the ground and was a pivotal focus point.

Notte - one word sums this guy up, genius. Genuine footy smarts, his kick to set up the fourth goal of the match was sublime, a 50 m hard, low trajectory kick to get to the forward before the defence got back. Then his 2nd goal, Swans 12th, was just awesome. Went up in a pack of 5-6 players, brought the ball to ground about 45m out, collected the ball of the ground and snapped over his left shoulder. Brilliant! Tired in the last.

Davis - I thought was one of the catalysts behind getting Swans up and running in the first and second quarters, where he played a lot through the middle. Moved back to defence in the second half and between him and Clancee Pearce they cut off most attacks the Sharks mounted.

Naitanui - well, going from playing about half the game on the ball to playing almost the entire game I thought might be a big ask. Must have won close to 35+ hit outs, in the end (just to amuse himself I'm sure) he was just belting the ball forward 15+m from each stoppage and then run and tackle the poor Sharks player that took the ball.
His tackling is ferocious. There were at least 3 occasions when he wrapped up the Shark player and just slammed them in to ground, I actually felt sorry for no.12 when he was 'bounced' off the ground in a tackle in the last. Took a great contested mark in the first 5-10 mins, which really set the tone for him for the day. I can't believe the Sharks supporters talking to me in the Shark Pit actually said he wasn't that impressive!:eek::confused: Not even listed in our best players but he dominated that ball out of the middle!

Oh, and LJ was ordinary again today, don't even bother looking at him!:D
Thanks Swannies for an awesome report mate.A couple of questions though.
1.Do you think Notte would be a good replacement for Hunter,could he be used as a pinch hitting forward off the bench until his fitness levels rise or is he still not physically big enough?
2.Natanui:Do you think he needs another 3-4 games in the WAFL?
3.Ryan Davis:What position do you thhink he best fits in the Eagles team?HBF?
Great write ups,very much appreciated.:thumbsu:

stats have come in:

Houlihan: 25 touches 7 marks and 2.1 goals
Spangher: 19 touches 4 marks
Naitanui: 14 touches 2 marks 31 hitouts
Hansen: 16 kicks 12 marks 4.3 goals
Notte: 9 Touches 3 goals
Ebert: 19 touches 4 marks
J.Jones: 11 touches 2 marks
Arrowsmith: 15 touches 4 marks
Wilson: 17 touches 8 marks 2.2 goals
Swift: 28 touches 2marks
Bedford: 2 touches
McGinnity: 21 touches 3marks
Fletcher: 38 touches
Stenglein: 27 touches
Sullivan: 15 touches 1 goal

Houlihan named East Freo's best player. With a couple of goals and 25 touches. Surely has to be rewarded for his fantastic form over the last month and a half.

stats have come in:

Woohoo.

I was hoping Naitanui would have a few more marks. =(

stats have come in:

Whats happening with this guy? Ive read that he isn't that impressive.

I'm pretty sure he is the type of guy that has an impact when he gets the ball, but doesn't get too much of it.

I'd take 9 of Notte's touches over 38 of Fletcher's any day.

Swift and Houli are raping the WAFL again. GET THEM IN!

Woohoo.

I was hoping Naitanui would have a few more marks. =(

Made a lot of spoils today, but belted the ball to the mosquito fleet that were flying past. I mean it wasn't an indiscriminate spoil, it was a spoil to space and advantage. He makes so many contests, it was quite unbelievable today. Imagine Phil Matera as 201cm and that's the chasing and harrassing you got out of Naita today.

So add 3-5 spoils and 7-10 tackles to his stats. I see he's been teaching Cox to tackle in tonight's game. :D

I'd take 9 of Notte's touches over 38 of Fletcher's any day.

Swift and Houli are raping the WAFL again. GET THEM IN!

Houlihan wasn't that impressive today gx. He got a fair bit of it because no one else in the team would go get it, which is not his fault, but a fair few of his possessions would have ended up in nothing, I reckon. But he and Spangher kept fighting, that is something I like to see.

1.Do you think Notte would be a good replacement for Hunter,could he be used as a pinch hitting forward off the bench until his fitness levels rise or is he still not physically big enough?

1 - yes, but he's a very creative player, very different to hunter, more like a heady, I guess, but 6'5".
2 - No, but I hope he has a couple more so he can qualify for finals. :D
3 - I've always said I think his best work is in the midfield. He's another ball hunter and whilst he's good at defending, he impacts games when he is on the ball. Clancee Pearce is your definitive hb type, Davis is a little different. Maybe wing if not on ball, but I think he'd get lost in the spaces off the wing.

1 - yes, but he's a very creative player, very different to hunter, more like a heady, I guess, but 6'5".
2 - No, but I hope he has a couple more so he can qualify for finals. :D
3 - I've always said I think his best work is in the midfield. He's another ball hunter and whilst he's good at defending, he impacts games when he is on the ball. Clancee Pearce is your definitive hb type, Davis is a little different. Maybe wing if not on ball, but I think he'd get lost in the spaces off the wing.
Cheers Swannies.Do you know Bulldog Shine?(Brad Shine)

Swift got 17 kicks, 11 handpasses and 7 marks.

Would have played a large stint on the wing i guess from those stats. Funny thing is i know if he was playing afl he would be making a larger impact than Rich. His just so prolific, give him a role other than a back flanker and you can garantee he will pick up 20 plus touches.

Yes thanks Swannies.

No need to rush Natinui in the short term.
I am keen for more information on Notte - am I reading from you guys that with 5kg more he will make a big AFL impact next season? Perhaps 3-5 games this year on the flank? What is his pace like - we looked to lack pace and quickness last night.

Another thing about Naita. Love his pressure, honestly chuck him in forward line and tell him to go hunting the defenders who think they have all the time in the world. Will destroy them

Thats what I'm looking forward too.

Houlihan or Swift will be getting Rosa's wing shortly.

Davis should get Nicoski's place in defence.

Schofield to take Bones spot on the HBF.

That's how I want our side to look by seasons end.

Would I be right in saying that Naitanui's lack of marks is due to him not (either by choice or by habit) staying back, getting cheap stats?
If it is, i wouldn't classify it as a bad thing at all. Would much rather a player as dynamic as him play forward of the ball where he can change a game.

Would I be right in saying that Naitanui's lack of marks is due to him not (either by choice or by habit) staying back, getting cheap stats?
If it is, i wouldn't classify it as a bad thing at all. Would much rather a player as dynamic as him play forward of the ball where he can change a game.
Probably, but that's also not knowing where to run to get free, cheap stats aren't always a bad thing. Coxy is the master so I'm sure he's getting some tips. You need to have a big engine as well and I doubt Naita has the fitness yet. Also are his disposal skills good enough yet that you want him setting up plays from the wing?

Good to see Swift getting amongst it again, we need his pace in our midfield.

Probably, but that's also not knowing where to run to get free, cheap stats aren't always a bad thing. Coxy is the master so I'm sure he's getting some tips. You need to have a big engine as well and I doubt Naita has the fitness yet. Also are his disposal skills good enough yet that you want him setting up plays from the wing?

Good to see Swift getting amongst it again, we need his pace in our midfield.

Swift was all class on sat . Claremont just do not use him enough. i can not wait for Nicko and Swift to debut. They make music together.