WAKE UP AFL: 10 things wrong with footy

mfitz3121

Rookie
Sep 5, 2002
Punt Road
Port Adelaide
1. Wayne Jackson - the man who administrates as he played - dourly, clumsily and with no real ability.
2. Grand Final Tickets - should be guaranteed to club members of competing clubs who pay a premium at the beginning of the season.
3. Grand Final Entertainment - Killing Heidi? The Whitlams? The only cheers during their performance was when they showed the locker rooms on the scoreboard screen. I have a novel suggestion - how about some footy as a warmup. And then get the 300 or so hangers on off the park before the teams run out. Did we really need 80 redcoats on the ground guarding the pa system?
4. Eddie.
5. The uneven schedule
6. The uneven salary cap
7. The ridiculous TV contract that does not guarantee live footy north of the Murray.
8. The umpires - there they were Saturday, waving to the crowd before the game. They should be put back in all white, their numbers removed and made to wear beanies so we cannot tell one from another. And they shouldn't be paid.
9. Dermot Brereton - will he ever shut up?
10. Robert Walls - just about the most boring "expert" who has ever commented on any sport, anywhere in the world. The absolute master of stating the bleeding obvious, an absolute chinless, humourless, self-important stiff.

ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS CAN BE FIXED OVERNIGHT.

Originally posted by mfitz3121
1. Wayne Jackson - the man who administrates as he played - dourly, clumsily and with no real ability.
5. The uneven schedule
6. The uneven salary cap
7. The ridiculous TV contract that does not guarantee live footy north of the Murray.

ALL OF THESE PROBLEMS CAN BE FIXED OVERNIGHT.

I would've thought these "problems" would take longer than overnight to fix!

Originally posted by mfitz3121
2. Grand Final Tickets - should be guaranteed to club members of competing clubs who pay a premium at the beginning of the season.
They are. Do any clubs not do this? It is the "ordinary" season ticket holders who miss out. The premium members get guranteed tickets as a general rule.

My feeling is that tickets should be allocated to club members on the basis of the number of games they attend for the year. Every membership card has a barcode: surely this information could be recorded and used to allocate tickets.

I have some mates who are Pies supporters who attended every Collingwood game in Melbourne this year bar the Grand Final as they couldn't get tickets. Once again, the dedicated supporter loses out.

Re: Re: WAKE UP AFL: 10 things wrong with footy

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Did this chump actually play? When and who for?

I think he played in the SANFL.

That explains a lot.

Re: Re: WAKE UP AFL: 10 things wrong with footy

Originally posted by bunsen burner
Did this chump actually play? When and who for?

Yes, our Commisar was a clumsy left-footed tall defender who could not kick over a jam tin. He played for and later coached a club called Loserville, which later combined with the perennial doormats Woodville Woodpeckers to form a SANFL football powerhouse (together, one flag in 50 years).

Re: Re: Re: WAKE UP AFL: 10 things wrong with footy

Originally posted by hotpie

I think he played in the SANFL.

That explains a lot.

You are a dead set Idiot !

He played at West Torrens not all that many years after

D*ck Reynolds coached them....does that explain a lot too ?

PA1870:rolleyes:

He was certainly clumsy and not much of a footballer, no different to many 90th or 100th players in a leagues list..certainly a space filler for his size more than anything else.

He went on to be a Runner for West Torrens then General Manager, perhaps late 70's ? someone correct me on that if the years are out...

Regards

PA1870

Originally posted by Port Adelaide 1870
He went on to be a Runner for West Torrens then General Manager, perhaps late 70's ? someone correct me on that if the years are out...

I think he was also the Prez who recruited that great clubman Knuckles Kerley to The Barton. Good move. He was more suited to running the messages - and i wish he had run on to centre stage on Saturday and dragged the Whitlams and Killing Heidi.

Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
My feeling is that tickets should be allocated to club members on the basis of the number of games they attend for the year. Every membership card has a barcode: surely this information could be recorded and used to allocate tickets.

I have some mates who are Pies supporters who attended every Collingwood game in Melbourne this year bar the Grand Final as they couldn't get tickets. Once again, the dedicated supporter loses out.

Or number of consecutive years as a member?

Just to stop "supporters" who drop off when the sides going bad.

Look for Grand Final tickets a points system should introduced and would go along the lines like this

1 Point - Home Wizard Cup Match
2 Points - Interstate Wizard Cup Match
3 Points - Home and Away Match in own State
5 Points - Interstate Home and Away Match
8 Points - Home Final
10 Points - Interstate Final

So when Grand Final tickets become available the people with the most points get tickets.

Originally posted by robbieando
Look for Grand Final tickets a points system should introduced and would go along the lines like this

8 Points - Home Final

So when Grand Final tickets become available the people with the most points get tickets.

Problem with that system is that it favours those who are well off, as do schemes that give tickets to those who can afford to buy premium packages. It rules out the average supporter and definitely rules out families.

I like the idea but reckon it should be based on a combination of years of consecutive membership and home games only. That way it favours the diehard fans but doesn't penalise them for not being able to afford to travel.

But if you only count home games and the like what about the fans who do travel even though some can't afford to do it. I know I couldn't afford to go to Stadium Australia for the Essendon match, but I found a way and went. People like me should then get a benifit for going interstate and maybe this move would help club because more people will travel

8 Points - Home Final

Giving extra points to travellers would strongly count against supporters from teams in WA in particular as generally the cost of travel to and from Perth is the highest in the country, and well out of the league of even quite well off footy supporters. Under this system I'd expect to get 36 points every year in the H&A round - much lower than any Victorian supporter could easily manage.

But that doesn't stop supporters just giving their card to a mate to scan when they don't go to a game. However in theory it's a nice idea.

But if you only count home games and the like what about the fans who do travel even though some can't afford to do it. I know I couldn't afford to go to Stadium Australia for the Essendon match, but I found a way and went. People like me should then get a benifit for going interstate and maybe this move would help club because more people will travel

But you could afford it - you went.

Think of families with a couple of young kids. There's no way they are going to be travelling to go to interstate games but that doesn't necessarily make them any less ardent supporters. I reckon everyone who regularly goes to the games they can reasonably be expected to go to should have an equal chance.

A points system has some merit but it has too many holes IMO. The fundamental problem is the amount of tickets allocated to competing clubs. Too many tickets go to non competing clubs and sponsors etc. Sponsors must be looked after but frankly if your club doesn't make it then your sponsors should miss out as should most of your supporters.

AFL memberships should be abolished and the members should transfer to a club. That will free up a significant number of tickets and will also open revenue to clubs.

Any team that sells tickets to travel agencies and the like should have next years allocation revoked and their members hsiuld be told why. It would only happen once.

Once the alllocation to competing clubs is improved, it should be up to the clubs how they choose to allocate tickets. They can decide on distribution and allocation to members, sponsors, etc. All clubs should have to publish their ticket allocation which will kleep them honest. The AFL should account for every ticket issued and the recipients should be accountable for allocation. All tickets should be tracable so when scalpers are caught their sources can be traced. Anyone who's tickets end up in the hands of scalpers, unless reported stolen, should be denied tickets the following year - whether it is a club or a fan.

All of a sudden the crowds are bigger and more representative of the football public and the competing clubs. Non if this is hard. Like most simple solutions it has no hope due to vested interests.

Makes it a bit hard for supporters living interstate, doesn't it???

WAKE UP AFL: 10 things wrong with footy