Walker. Now delivering.

• Thread starter Thread starter Mr.X

Re: Walker. Will he ever deliver?

Loving the way Andrew Walker is going about his footy, seems to have smartened up a bit with his workrate and is a bit more aggressive or (harder) than he has been previously.....Maybe he is more confident since his had less troubles with his shoulders....Either way he has proved a lot of people wrong and I look forward to watching him every week now.

I happened to watch training the week before the game against Melbourne and during the goal kicking practice the ONLY person who was kicking at 80% or better (most were missing more than they kicked!) was Andrew Walker!! Looked supremely confident.

He is now an elite kick and a very important part of our structure.

And to think that he may now have been playing with either of the South Australian clubs !!!!

His technique when kicking for goal is as good as anyone in the competition. A stark contrast to what was the case a couple of years ago.

Excellent news. :thumbsu:

Get it done Swannie ............

Andrew Walker begins contract talks

Carlton spearhead Andrew Walker has begun talks on a new deal at Carlton months after a trade to Adelaide was aborted.
The Blues had felt he would be vulnerable to advances from Greater Western Sydney, given the failed trade.

But with 25-year-old Walker in the form of his life, Carlton hopes to secure him on a new two-year deal.
Carlton chief executive Greg Swann said the club was thrilled with Walker's form.

"Before the weekend, we had started talking to his manager," he said yesterday.

Andrew Walker begins contract talks

Excellent news. :thumbsu:

Get it done Swannie ............

:):):):):):thumbsu:

This makes me happy.
I was really disappointed at the possibility of a trade last pre-season, and was stoked when it fell through. I reckon Tex will have a big influence on our flag chances.

Get it done Swannie. :thumbsu:

He's delivering plenty at the minute.

I was disappointed that he looked all but gone during trade week, and was pleased to hear that a trade could not be worked out.

Players sometimes lose faith in their club and the coaching staff, so it's great to see Walks and the club were able to talk about the issues that troubled them and seemingly mend the relationship.

I commented at the start of the season when we became aware that Walks was going to play predominantly up forward, that 20-30 goals in 2011 would be a wonderful result for both Andrew and the club.

With 11 rounds gone and 25 goals to his name already, it goes without saying that that target must be revised.

35+ goals would be a wonderful result and testament to the club and Andrew, and the hard work that they have been putting in.

I've been worried throughout the course of the season that we'd lose him to GWS, so it is a great relief to read that contract negotiations are underway.

Money will obviously be a huge temptation, so let's hope that we are able to satisfy all parties involved in the negotiations, and a contract can be signed.

Well done 1AW on a wonderful season thus far. Keep up the great work because we are heading in the right direction and you are a significant part of that. :thumbsu:

I've been worried throughout the course of the season that we'd lose him to GWS, so it is a great relief to read that contract negotiations are underway.

Money will obviously be a huge temptation, so let's hope that we are able to satisfy all parties involved in the negotiations, and a contract can be signed.

Well done 1AW on a wonderful season thus far. Keep up the great work because we are heading in the right direction and you are a significant part of that. :thumbsu:

Yep. He's been disgruntled in recent years so it might have a small impact. Hopefully he puts pen to paper soon. :thumbsu:

His technique when kicking for goal is as good as anyone in the competition. A stark contrast to what was the case a couple of years ago.
Walker has always been a great kick for goal with both feet.

It's field kicking and/or his decision making that is occasionally poor.

There was one snap in a NAB Cup match where Walker flicked it back into play with his left hand and in the one action, snapped it over his shoulder on his wrong foot. The two Footscray defenders who were standing near the right goal post assumed that it would carry the line and go through for a point. Once snapped a freak goal against Hawthorn at Etihad on his left foot and from the left pocket running along the boundary line. The kick split the middle. He has the same x factor that Betts, Garlett and Yarran have.

These were rippers...

[YOUTUBE]lqcZtjePFCU[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]FvVM5146u7Y[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]OO-UiENctII[/YOUTUBE]

Strange that he can stuff up simple passes like an out on the full a week or two ago, then kick 50 metres and lace out running flat chat on his wrong foot. :D

One of my favourite players.

Loving the way Andrew Walker is going about his footy, seems to have smartened up a bit with his workrate and is a bit more aggressive or (harder) than he has been previously.....Maybe he is more confident since his had less troubles with his shoulders....Either way he has proved a lot of people wrong and I look forward to watching him every week now.

I agree completely. With his injury history and sometimes inconsistency in form, he has always seemed like an extremely gifted question mark, in that he had all the talent, but you could never know for sure what he was going to do at any one time. I wanted him to stay with the club this season as I expected that he still had plenty of good footy in front of him, but I never predicted that he'd be as good as he has been. He can play back, midfield or forward and he's still only young-ish (25 if my memory is correct?). As has been mentioned already, I also read about how hard he was working on his goal-kicking, and you can see the results of that hard work every time you see him play. A forward line with him, Betts, Garlett, Waite and Henderson, and whoever else we put in there as the 6th forward, is starting to look very very dangerous. With our great midfield and promising backline, we're in a really good place right now. :D

I was disappointed that he looked all but gone during trade week, and was pleased to hear that a trade could not be worked out.

I'm the same in that regard. I remember during trade week that while I would have accepted him leaving, I was really hoping that things would sort themselves out and he would stay at the club. We all knew he had the talent to be great, and I thought that his early form last season (or was it the year before?) was looking good and that if he could just manage to string some games together, he could really dominate. I'm glad everything has worked out the way it has.

Dazza Harris is the assistant coach who has spent the most time working on Walker's kicking apparently.

Amazing what a professional and highly credentialed coaching staff can do, I'd pick Carlton's coaching team over the overrated and hyped Essendon duds, fancy losing to Richmond and Melbourne in consecutive weeks :)

Dazza Harris is the assistant coach who has spent the most time working on Walker's kicking apparently.

Amazing what a professional and highly credentialed coaching staff can do, I'd pick Carlton's coaching team over the overrated and hyped Essendon duds, fancy losing to Richmond and Melbourne in consecutive weeks :)

With you on that Lionel. Expected them to come back to earth with an almighty thud. Shook my house in Tassie when it did happen and I laughed.

The thing with Walkers kicking is its not just set shots either. He has dribbled them and snapped them and a couple of absolutely freakish attempts have only just missed. Both feet too. Converted his hangers and kicked from outside 50.

Expect him to start wearing heavy tags and then Eddie will be off the leash.

Must be a fun group to coach our forward line. X factor everywhere.

Excellent. Now if the rest of the side can take a number and form an orderly queue, Dazza can sort them out, too.

As a coutersy to 1AW, if it's not possible to change the name of this thread perhaps a new one could be started.

Walker has delivered.

As a coutersy to 1AW, if it's not possible to change the name of this thread perhaps a new one could be started.

Walker has delivered.

Walkers delivered over 10 rounds lets not get too far ahead of ourselves.

Who am I kidding, change the name of the thread to "Coleman Medallist - Andrew Walker":D

Walkers delivered over 10 rounds lets not get too far ahead of ourselves.

Who am I kidding, change the name of the thread to "Coleman Medallist - Andrew Walker":D

You idiot. Completely agree. :thumbsu:

Is Walker starting to move into AA territory ?

30 goals by mid-year ? Could kick 50 by years end as a mid-sized forward.

I think he'd start to be on the AA selectors radar by now.