Wallace's 2009 Prediction Sounds Spot On

• Thread starter Thread starter UpTheGuts

TW was almost universally criticised (nay, shellacked) when he suggested before R1 last year that 2009 would see the Richmond side become one that could genuinely challenge the Top 4 sides, and possibly become one of them.

I reckon he might be spot on...

One more year into our KPP's, no-one of significance lost and the likes of Cotchin, Rance and Gourdis (yeah I know he's a rookie, but a very salient pick in my book) becoming players of assistance.

The only thing wrong with that prediction was that is was made publicly. Otherwise, we're right on track...

Go Tiges :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

TW was almost universally criticised (nay, shellacked) when he suggested before R1 last year that 2009 would see the Richmond side become one that could genuinely challenge the Top 4 sides, and possibly become one of them.

I reckon he might be spot on...

One more year into our KPP's, no-one of significance lost and the likes of Cotchin, Rance and Gourdis (yeah I know he's a rookie, but a very salient pick in my book) becoming players of assistance.

The only thing wrong with that prediction was that is was made publicly. Otherwise, we're right on track...

Go Tiges :thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:

You forgot the new messiah mate :thumbsu:
This kid's gonna rip the ass out of a few teams!

collinator.jpg

Agree that 2009 is our a year to really challenge for the top 8. I think top 4 may still be beyond us though - more realistically 2010...
But happy with the progress of most of our youngsters!

You forgot the new messiah mate :thumbsu:
This kid's gonna rip the ass out of a few teams!

collinator.jpg

Bring it on....

ATM, I see the following departing the Tigers at year end:

Tivvers (life member, sincere thanks for his service. Top bloke too)
Pettifer
Meyer
JON
Graham
Howat

Players that we genuinely believe will be part of our successful future, but not presently getting a game:

Polo
Rance
Cotchin
Collins (being led by others here, but good signs)
Connors
Cogs (God willing)

+ 4/5 2008 draftees

Players we'd like to think could be a part of our successful future, but jury well out:

Hughes
Gourdis
Putt
Casserly (could be a delisting chance though)

At the conclusion of the 2008 draft, I reckon we'll be very comfortable about our senior list and prospects, and Coburg will be favourites for the VFL flag

If I could buy a 2009 membership right now, I would

Definately. Where are the Wallace bashers now?

We just took the 2nd best side in competition down to the wire.

If it had been 22.14 instead of 14.22 and/or you guys had kicked 10.9 instead of 15.4 you wouldnt be saying that :)

All credit to the Tiges though, hopefully you'll keep that endeavour up for the rest of the year.

If it had been 22.14 instead of 14.22 and/or you guys had kicked 10.9 instead of 15.4 you wouldnt be saying that :)

All credit to the Tiges though, hopefully you'll keep that endeavour up for the rest of the year.

Sure, I get that and I don;t think many Richmond fans here would think we were robbed today. That said, plenty of the Hawk misses were from out wide because our stewardship of the corridor prevented Hawthorn from running and hitting hit up forwards. Expect the Pies to focus on that.

Bad kicking? Yeah sure. But I don't see anyone saying that North was the better side in the 1997 grannie...

If my aunty had balls she'd be my uncle.

If you played like that against geelong you would have been smashed.

There's heaps more upside to come guys, it's legitimately exciting to be a Richmond supporter at the minute.

Tivvers (life member, sincere thanks for his service. Top bloke too)
Pettifer
Meyer
JON
Graham
Howat

Graham? I doubt it. We don't have much Ruck depth.

The reason you had so many shots on goal was because of our turnovers. If we don't turn it over you don't get those shots.

Turnovers and poor goal kicking accuracy costs teams every week.

Players that we genuinely believe will be part of our successful future, but not presently getting a game:

Polo
Rance
Cotchin
Collins (being led by others here, but good signs)
Connors
Cogs (God willing)
Genuinely exciting this group, can't wait to see them play together.

Players we'd like to think could be a part of our successful future, but jury well out:

Hughes
Gourdis
Putt
Casserly (could be a delisting chance though)
Given they've been in the system one year, you're being very harsh UTG. Especially on Gourdis.