War over Warnock

If Freo are happy to deal with Melbourne for pick 19 then that should give everyone an idea of what they see as realistic compensation, that being the case, they should probably stop wasting everyone's time with pick 6 talk. If freo want 19 and Robbie is happy to go there, then the deal will get done, If not it'll have to be 24 or 24 and player.

Carlton offering #24 plus a player. Carlton offering fringe player, Freo demanding Bower. Given that Bower> daylight> Warnock I cant see it happening

Working in the Blues favor is the fact Warnock has made it very very clear that he does not want to go to the dees. If that stance continues, there is still that element of doubt in the Docker's mind that they could lose him for nothing.

You'll see exactly how right I am by Close of Trade tomorrow.

Melbourne have advised Fremantle they are not out to compromise Fremantle's bid to secure the best possible deal for Robbie.

Melbourne have already put pick 19 on the table should Carlton not come up with a suitable trade.

With Warnock going overseas today, I don't think he will accept being traded to Melbourne, He wants Carlton. Players can't be traded if they don't want to be...... = spanner in your works......

You'll see exactly how right I am by Close of Trade tomorrow.

Melbourne have advised Fremantle they are not out to compromise Fremantle's bid to secure the best possible deal for Robbie.

Melbourne have already put pick 19 on the table should Carlton not come up with a suitable trade.

Warnock has to agree to be traded to Melbourne you nong. At the moment, sounds like he's told his manager Carlton or bust and headed overseas.

i hope dockers dont fall in, pick 24 + player Carlton or dont get him im sick of Carlton ****in gover teams and trying to BUY premierships

Yeh it does, mate. That's a ripper. Who'd be unhappy with that one?

Edit, seems unfair somewhere though seeing if all four parts of the deal were even, Hawks are giving up 16 and Boyle compared to the Blues' pick 24. Mmmmm. They could work on it some more.
i dare say sydney would want a lot more then pick 24 for O'Keefe;)

Carlton won't budge as Warnock is not a required player. While Warnock is going to be a good ruckman and is of the right age and size, he would still be one of, if not the worst starting ruckman in the AFL if he comes to Carlton in 2009. There is no doubt he would be the #1 ruck at Carlton, but he's still going to get flogged by all of the good ruckmen in the AFL. I'd rather get Jeff White in the PSD for free, he is good around the ground and wont get smashed in the ruck like our kids + Warnock will. Warnock was a nobody before he decided he wanted to be traded, his value has been massively overinflated and in one of the deepest drafts ever pick 24 is adequate compensation - especially when considering he has nominated Carlton and he is out of contract.

I also think pick 24 is fair enough, but it seems that Freo want more, and with Melbourne lurking with pick 19, Carlton MUST make a better offer.

Theres always a way. If Carlton are too blind and stubborn to find that way then they will not get Warnock.

If Freo want Bower then it's almost a straight swap with Warnock. :confused:
No it's not. Bower's development has been better than Warnock's. Bower has beaten more opponents. Bower was also taken at a much higher pick and was an under 18 AA CHB.

Bower means far more to Carlton than Warnock means to Carlton or Freo for that matter.

i hope dockers dont fall in, pick 24 + player Carlton or dont get him im sick of Carlton ****in gover teams and trying to BUY premierships

Yes, very different to the HAwks buying another premiership chasing O'Keefe. It's called trade week in case you hadn't noticed :)

hahah then Melbourne get him pick ONE in the PSD and you dont get him at all :D
Or he goes into the national draft and the first team to spend a pick on him gets him. Either way, Carlton lose nothing out of it.

hahah then Melbourne get him pick ONE in the PSD and you dont get him at all :D

Gee that's funny, we keep 24 and get a good young prospect in the draft, Mel big winners, but we are still square and Freo huge losers.....you're on fire today, might be scary if you started to think ;)

I also think pick 24 is fair enough, but it seems that Freo want more, and with Melbourne lurking with pick 19, Carlton MUST make a better offer.

Theres always a way. If Carlton are too blind and stubborn to find that way then they will not get Warnock.

This shits me no end. A few posters now have said that 24 is fair but gone on to bag Carlton for not offering more.

If you think it is fair, why are you bagging Freo for being stubborn and risking losing a player for nothing?

In the end, Carlton don't lose anything out of it, Freo might.

I was thinking about this earlier. It makes sense;

Something like;

Pick 16 to Freo
Pick 24 to Sydney
Boyle to Sydney
Warnock to Carlton
O'Keefe to Hawthorn

Hawks lose 16 and Boyle
Blues lose 24
Freo lose Warnock
Carlton lose 24
Sydney lose O'Keefe

Carlton and Sydney may have to swap 3rd rounders also as if there's a slight shaft, it'd be those 2.

Yeah NO!

O'Keefe for Boyle i think we are getting screwed over more then if carlton use pick 6 or freo accept pick 24 for Warnock.

Carlton won't budge as Warnock is not a required player. While Warnock is going to be a good ruckman and is of the right age and size, he would still be one of, if not the worst starting ruckman in the AFL if he comes to Carlton in 2009. There is no doubt he would be the #1 ruck at Carlton, but he's still going to get flogged by all of the good ruckmen in the AFL. I'd rather get Jeff White in the PSD for free, he is good around the ground and wont get smashed in the ruck like our kids + Warnock will. Warnock was a nobody before he decided he wanted to be traded, his value has been massively overinflated and in one of the deepest drafts ever pick 24 is adequate compensation - especially when considering he has nominated Carlton and he is out of contract.

so you would rather someone that players 2 years tops with you then someone who will play 10 ?????????? glad you dont recruit for a job

If Freo want Bower then it's almost a straight swap with Warnock. :confused:

Hahaha! :D
I dont think so!!!

Bower is contracted and doesn't want to go so there's the first stumbling block.
Secondly Bower >>>>>>>>> daylight >>>>>>>>> pick 24 >>>>>>>>> Warnock
So get some perspective

I cant believe Robbie's wishes are set aside so quickly when it comes to this. He is out of contract. He has fulfilled his obligation to freo. Freo have no claim on him. how they can dictate where he will work is absurd!

The day will come when we wont even have trade week. An out of contract player is exactly that and no court will prevent a free man deciding where he wants to work. FFS! :rolleyes:

The fact that a trade week exists is so that the club losing the player can get something but to hold the whole process to ransom because they are unreasonable and having a sook is exactly what will bring it down. The pick is reasonable, get over it

I find it ammusing that you're having a sook about getting screwed over with the Judd deal considering your user name includes Masten... who you got as a result of that deal. LOL

Carlton football manager Steven Icke said it seemed inevitable an AFL mediator would be called in. "We met with Fremantle this afternoon and there is every chance we will be needing to call in a mediator," he said.
"When you think about it, Fremantle are asking for an earlier second-round pick. We can't get it.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/story/0,8659,24467947-23211,00.html

Then you can't get Warnock, bad luck.

This is a joke, either satisfy Fremantle with what they want, or stfu and withdraw from the process.

No it's not. Bower's development has been better than Warnock's. Bower has beaten more opponents. Bower was also taken at a much higher pick and was an under 18 AA CHB.

Bower means far more to Carlton than Warnock means to Carlton or Freo for that matter.

I bet Bower is not getting the same money that Warnock is reported to be getting offered.

Fact is Carlton have shown they rate him highly by the money they have offered. Last year Pies gave up a late frsit round for Wood, that's the bench mark, meet it or miss out.

The AFL should stay out of it.