Warcraft

• Thread starter Thread starter Quivorir

Regardless of the actual merits of this film, user scores should always be disregarded. They suffer horribly from self-selection bias, especially in the case of IP with an existing fanbase.

list of things Bomberboyokay doesn't like

1. Everything

Since most people that I know like Warcraft have said it's ok to decent i'll stick with their opinion. My main gripe with critics is their scale is completely off an average movie should get a 5 a good movie a 7 or 8 and only fantastic films getting 9 or 10 with the opposite being true for bad movies. Critics however give ok movies 7s or 8s and above average movies getting 9s or 10s. This causes things like this to happen, who is wrong in the below situation?

knq9bcq.jpg

The user score is affected by heaps of game fans voting 10 or 100. Wouldn't have thought that's hard to figure out.

the Murloc cameo
As a 26 year old man, I must admit, I "fangirled" when I saw that.

Also, seeing the likes of Goldshire/Lion's Pride Inn and Stormwind was really awesome too. Especially since I could even point out certain buildings in Stormwind, like the Auction House and so on.

This is movie is definitely made more for Warcraft fans, but I feel like it is strong enough for non-Warcraft fans to enjoy too. Not perfect by any stretch, but enjoyable.

The user score is affected by heaps of game fans voting 10 or 100. Wouldn't have thought that's hard to figure out.

So the critic score is the be all and end all despite the faults I pointed out, the fans are just doing the same thing the other way.

At the end of the day neither should be listened to and people should make up their own minds

I went and saw it having never played the game, knew nothing about it at all.

I had heard it was copping it from critics. But I didn't think it was that bad, and I can be pretty harsh on films.

So the critic score is the be all and end all despite the faults I pointed out, the fans are just doing the same thing the other way.

Critics and fanboys aren't two sides of the same coin. Critics see a movie: if they like it they list the reasons why, if they don't like it they list the reasons why, if somewhere in the middle etc. Fanboys (you) are committed before the opening credits. If the movie ticks enough recognition boxes ("Character A has blue hair tick!, City B has a silver castle tick!, Orc C has mean fangs tick!") it gets the thumbs up and 100% on all the polling sites and bad reviewers are called assholes.

At the end of the day neither should be listened to and people should make up their own minds

What a convenient view given you want 10 sequels to this. It's made enough money for a sequel so you 'won' against the critics if that makes you feel better.

Critics and fanboys aren't two sides of the same coin. Critics see a movie: if they like it they list the reasons why, if they don't like it they list the reasons why, if somewhere in the middle etc. Fanboys (you) are committed before the opening credits: if it ticks enough recognition boxes it gets the thumbs up and 100% on all the polling sites and bad reviewers are called assholes.

What a convenient view given you want 10 sequels to this. It's made enough money for a sequel so you 'won' against the critics if that makes you feel better.

You are mistaken, despite playing wow for years I don't really care that much (hence the fact I haven't seen it and don't actually have any plans on going, will prob catch it on blu-ray) you have missed my point entirely in this whole thread.

I missed that one, where was that?

My friend pointed it out to me afterwards. But when Lothar and Khadgar return to Kharazan after it's revealed that Medivh is the betrayer. When Khadgar exorcises the Fel Magic/demon, he gets the same gold glow as a player who levels up in World of Warcraft. I thought it was holy magic similar to smite, but my friend is convinced it was a level up.

It depends why you read reviews.

If you read reviews before watching to get an idea if you might enjoy it, critics are good because they are essentially a dispassionate observer.

If you read reviews after watching for an analysis of the film as art, critics are good because that is their job.

If you read reviews to gauge the viewpoint of a specific fanbase, then user reviews are probably the best place to look. Can't think of anything else they're useful for, to be honest.

Fanboys (you) are committed before the opening credits. If the movie ticks enough recognition boxes ("Character A has blue hair tick!, City B has a silver castle tick!, Orc C has mean fangs tick!") it gets the thumbs up and 100% on all the polling sites and bad reviewers are called assholes.
You are somewhat correct, but not entirely.

I am a huge Warcraft fan. Been so for over 15 years. The movie has stuff in it that I flat out didn't like, like the rushed "love story" between Lothar and Garona. Also, I feel like King Llane and Lady Taria were pretty bland overall.... but I still enjoyed the movie quite a lot. I'd personally give it an 8/10 for what it is trying to be.

6/10 for me.

That's what I'd give it if I knew nothing about the backstory. Not overly spectacular as a movie, but myself being a huge Warcraft fan meant that I was always going to enjoy it because of the Lore. As a result I think it's somewhere between a 6 and a 7. Probably more towards a 7 personally. Think it ran a little short in terms of running time even though it went for 2 hours. I felt that they rushed some of the character development, and left out a few integral plotlines from the original lore that should have been in to tie it all together.

As a movie whose source material derived from a hugely successful game franchise, though I thought it decent, and arguably the best Film Adaptation of a game to date.

http://www.techinsider.io/warcraft-...ce=Viber&utm_medium=Chat&utm_campaign=Private

Jones: "Well, I'm not sure I could really give you an A to Z. I guess you have to tell me if it feels more like when you first saw 'Fellowship of the Ring.'"

Rosser: "Um, problem with that is I come to 'Fellowship of the Ring,' and Middle Earth, and 'The Hobbit,' with those maps in front of those books in my mind."

Jones: "Well, you're very fortunate. You're coming to 'Fellowship of the Ring' as a Tolkien reader. A lot of our audience is coming to 'Warcraft' as Warcraft' players. So I think there is an equivalence in that. But, you would probably agree that a lot of people who did see 'Lord of the Rings' or 'Fellowship of the Ring' had never read Tolkien and enjoyed it just as much. I would argue that a lot of people coming to see 'Warcraft' have never played 'Warcraft' and will enjoy just it as much."

Yeah nah, you'd clearly enjoy Warcraft a lot more if you were a fan of the game. Not a good comparison.
Yeah, comparing this movie to the LOTR movies is risible.

missing the point once again, he wasn't comparing the movies he was comparing the setting after the bloke attacked him because he didn't understand how the humans and orcs related geographically

Huh? I disagree strongly that non-Warcraft fans will enjoy it as much as Warcraft fans, whereas with LOTR I agree with what Jones said.

How am I missing the point exactly? :s

You are missing the reason why non-fantasy nerds enjoyed LOTR - i.e. it had engaging protagonists with clear character arcs that adhered pretty closely to the traditional hero's journey. Those sorts of films can transcend genre because anyone can identify with them.

The characters in Warcraft are pretty boring and two dimensional, with unimaginative stories that are hard to engage with if you don't have a preexisting investment in the lore.

Saw it today - as a massive fan of the Warcraft games I enjoyed it, but I can see how people who aren't across the game universe would find it to be not a great film. It's definitely rushed, particularly at the start. That said, the Mok'gora between Durotan and Gul'dan was probably my favourite part of the film.

Saw it tonight - 5.5-6/10 for me. Certainly not the travesty some reviews are writing it off as, but still some pretty substantial weaknesses. WoW player and fan here, so you can obviously take my opinions with the requisite grain of salt.

Positives
- Loved the visuals, seeing Stormwind, Ironforge, Karazhan in full scale was great. Thought the Orcs looked pretty awesome as well.
- Didn't think there was too much of an exposition dump, there was obviously plenty going on, but I thought they did a fairly solid job of setting the whole world up (not that it's enormously complicated to begin with.) It's obviously nowhere near LOTR quality-wise, but I thought it did a pretty similar job to FoTR in scene-setting for those not familiar with the lore.
- Again with the Orcs, I do like the concept of looking at both sides of the proverbial argument in fantasy - think they win a few points for this.
- Was surprised at the amount of fanservice they slid in (Murloc Cameo!)

Negatives
- Wooden acting, writing and performances (from the humans, at least). Hard to convince people to care about the characters.
- Similar to Batman v Superman - there's a bit of "the directors cut will explain everything!" syndrome going on, the editing made the whole thing's pacing feel a bit off.
- Did it need to be so dour? This is a profoundly silly series in certain parts - it felt like they forgot to add any light heartedness until right at the end, which is why so much of the "humour" felt shoe-horned in.

On a positive note, given the sequel seems inevitable off the back of its Chinese performance, I (at least personally) think the story gets much better from here (assuming they borrow a bit from two and a bit from three.)

They're obviously making plenty of coin, so I doubt they'll change the formula too much. But I reckon they need to embrace some of the more inherent loopyness in the lore - give me rastafarian voodoo trolls and gnome gyrocopters!

Enjoyed it, was a WoW beta player and played for years from launch so it was great to see it on film.

Some interesting revisions on the WoW lore but...well Blizzard have never been shy about shitting all over their IP if they think it will sell.