Warnock Gone

I liked that idea someone posted about us trading Warnock to Melbourne and swapping 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th round picks for him.

We take control of our future by being able to pick up the best WA kiddies before the SCUM. Obviously that 2nd round pick we switch is for Melbournes priority pick. Melbourne don't get screwed because they get a ruckmen and Jack Watts and whoever they pick up 2nd, 3rd and 4th may well be the same regardless.

The only loser I see here is the SCUM. We just need one other Victorian club to come to the party. Otherwise we will get bent over.

I liked that idea someone posted about us trading Warnock to Melbourne and swapping 1st, 2nd, 3rd and 4th round picks for him.

We take control of our future by being able to pick up the best WA kiddies before the SCUM. Obviously that 2nd round pick we switch is for Melbournes priority pick. Melbourne don't get screwed because they get a ruckmen and Jack Watts and whoever they pick up 2nd, 3rd and 4th may well be the same regardless.

The only loser I see here is the SCUM. We just need one other Victorian club to come to the party. Otherwise we will get bent over.

I reckon it's a crap deal unless we're trading 1st and 2nd round picks but we also get their 3rd rounder and keep our own. Otherwise we're potentially getting nothing. I'd rather have Rich and two 2nd round picks from Carlton than Naitanui.

Can't see Melbourne doing that deal anyway though, If Fremantle and West Coast have the first 2 picks Watts won't nominate so they'll miss out on the 3 best players.

when melb got rid of white, they mustve been pretty confident in sucuring another ruckman, so perhaps robbie unofficialy told melb yes when they had their little meeting a while ago

Have posted this on the Richmond board and would like some opinions from Freo fans.

If Mundy joins Warnock in leaving what would be your response if the following trade was offered:

Richmond give picks 8 & 26 to Freo. In return we get Warnock, Mundy and pick 21.

Result: Freo get an extra pick in the top 10 and also retain a pick in the second round. Richmond gets a ruckman which they are after, another skillful player in Mundy and also retain a pick in the second round.

Please go easy with the insults if you think the deal is poor as I'm not looking to start an arguement, I just want to gauge if you guys think that it would be fair compensation.

Thats a stinker of a deal for you guys.

Have posted this on the Richmond board and would like some opinions from Freo fans.

If Mundy joins Warnock in leaving what would be your response if the following trade was offered:

Richmond give picks 8 & 26 to Freo. In return we get Warnock, Mundy and pick 21.

Result: Freo get an extra pick in the top 10 and also retain a pick in the second round. Richmond gets a ruckman which they are after, another skillful player in Mundy and also retain a pick in the second round.

Please go easy with the insults if you think the deal is poor as I'm not looking to start an arguement, I just want to gauge if you guys think that it would be fair compensation.

If you take out pick 21 of that equation, you might be close. No way we would give you both Mundy & Warnock AND a better pick, all for pick 8.

I think the Pies will make a play for Warnock, it's just a matter of what they are willing to give up. Their ruck stocks are crap.
1. Their first pick will be around 12, I dount they would give up that.
2. Second round pick in the early 20's plus a player.
3. Trade Didak to a Vic club for a pickin the teens (Nth Melbourne, covers the loss of Grant), offload that pick onto us for Warnock.

Tell me Im dreamin:D

Melbourne would surely be his go if he wants a walk up start.

If the bloke is any sort of good human he will make sure Freo get something in return.

Pick 17 or 19 would be nice for you fella's with a few talented WA boys in the draft.

Richmond give picks 8 & 26 to Freo. In return we get Warnock, Mundy and pick 21..

Yeah mate that's not a very good deal. You'd have to include a pretty good player to balance it up.

Saw Warnock as gone long ago to be honest. Don't think its that big a blow. He'll be good but our team functions better without two giant ruckmen in it. A ruck combo of Sandi, Naita and Kep has far more flexibility/potential.

First things first tho, Sandi will probably break down if he goes it alone with Kep as back up, so we need to do some kind of deal to secure Naita but not be stupid about it.

An upgrade from #3 to #1 plus an early 2nd rounder plus a 3rd rounder or player (young midfielder) (Melbourne would prob have to trade someone somewhere to secure this last pick/player).

That means we can grab 2 mids in the 2nd round and Naita at #1, plus the possibility of an extra 3rd rounder or depth player.

If you take out pick 21 of that equation, you might be close. No way we would give you both Mundy & Warnock AND a better pick, all for pick 8.

Would not be opposed to that. Naturally you look to give your club the better deal, but if Terry truly believes we are a shot at finals next year then why not take a gamble by trading for a couple of players who might just make the difference. We can always go back to drafting kids the year after if it fails.

It isn't a big blow, I agree with avid avenger. Sandilands is much too good, forcing us to have a massive paypacket, crying baby boy in Warnock sitting on the bench "Just in case Sandi drops". All clubs need ONE good ruckman and a handy cheap backup, there is no way you can afford two good ones because one will always be under utilized unless there is an injury.

Warnock came to us about 5 years too early, if Sandi was on the way down it coud be justified, but Sandi has 5 more years, 5 years which will be better than anything Warnock ever does as a ruckman imo.

Depends though, if we fully go youth this year and quell any hope for a premiership for the next 5 years there is no point in holding onto Sandilands, Pavlich, Hase, Headland, McPharlin or Hayden. So I hope we either get rid of all these players and really go youth, or try and have a crack by recruiting some older and younger players.

Would not be opposed to that. Naturally you look to give your club the better deal, but if Terry truly believes we are a shot at finals next year then why not take a gamble by trading for a couple of players who might just make the difference. We can always go back to drafting kids the year after if it fails.

LOL. Does this sound familiar to anyone!:D
Sounds like our recruiting philosophy over the last few seasons.

Saw Warnock as gone long ago to be honest. Don't think its that big a blow. He'll be good but our team functions better without two giant ruckmen in it. A ruck combo of Sandi, Naita and Kep has far more flexibility/potential.

First things first tho, Sandi will probably break down if he goes it alone with Kep as back up, so we need to do some kind of deal to secure Naita but not be stupid about it.

An upgrade from #3 to #1 plus an early 2nd rounder plus a 3rd rounder or player (young midfielder) (Melbourne would prob have to trade someone somewhere to secure this last pick/player).

That means we can grab 2 mids in the 2nd round and Naita at #1, plus the possibility of an extra 3rd rounder or depth player.

you can probably secure him with pick 3.
melb want a decent forward so probably watts, especially if they pick up warnock, they wont need to get nick nat
and wc. would probs go after rich, need a gun midfield after the loss to it they hav suffered over the past 2 years.
dont think either of melb or wc are too interest in nait, his football is fairly poor, lthough his leap is...wow

To be honest; i think the footy world needs a reset.

Draft picks have become way overvalued.

The following needs to happen:

Richmond give us pick 8 for Warnock. They get ridiculed. He turns out a brilliant player.

Carlton balk with pick 6 and pick up Vickery who turns out a dud.

Throw in a could of late pick exchange with Richmond and let the footy world reassess what a pick is worth.

Agreed that Naitanui needs to be the priority now.

If, as seems likely, the toast would pick him if available, then Melbourne's Pick 1 may have to come into the equation.

And I guess this would only happen if the toast give an undertaking NOT to draft Watts at Pick 2.

Can anyone see this happening? Are WCE honourable and good to their word? Is the Pope Muslim?;)

“My management will be working proactively with the club to secure the best possible result for Fremantle.

Well whatever happens - he has some respect from me for doing the right thing by us.

Allowing 2 or 3 clubs into the bidding means a lot. Worst case scenario now is pick 19 ....I think the odds are better than 50-50 that this might be bettered.

But Melbourne have pick 1 in the PSD so the most they'll offer is pick 35.

If no club is nominated they must beat the best bid ...35 will not get the job done by a long shot.

Naita has to be taken now i think.

Sandi cannot do it alone.

Still dont understand why the club is keeping Campbell and Murphy? surely one has to be traded for a pick.

Sandi can and does do it alone - with back up from Bradley.

This does not worry me ...Sandi is like Cox - he is so dominant that it means our number 2 is a 25% player at best.

On the bright side this will allow us to structure up with an extra running player in the 22 each week.

Pick 8 is a very tempting deal, though I doubt where we are at we would give up 21.

I think if that deal included our 3rd round pick rther than 2nd round it may draw some serious thought.

Having said that ...re-signing Mundy is a must now.

I just think if Vickery is going top 10 ....I know who I would rather have and that is Warnock. If a Vic club could get Warny for say pick 12 - they really are getting a abrgain.

Depends though, if we fully go youth this year and quell any hope for a premiership for the next 5 years there is no point in holding onto Sandilands, Pavlich, Hase, Headland, McPharlin or Hayden. So I hope we either get rid of all these players and really go youth, or try and have a crack by recruiting some older and younger players.

Crazy talk.

If we get rid of all our senior players we'll end up like the eagles - getting belted by 100 points every round. Much better to bring youngsters in to develop around the core of quality we've already got.

But I think you already know that. You must be taking the piss surely.

If no club is nominated they must beat the best bid ...35 will not get the job done by a long shot.

No club has been nominated at this stage but that could change even though Warnock said he wants us to be compensated.

Keep in mind Melbourne are desperate and have a lot of retirees so if they offer him a $1.5M 3 year deal I reckon we'll be dealing exclusively with the Demons because rival clubs would struggle to match that offer. If the Demons offer $100,000pa more than anyone else Warnock will forget about getting a fair deal for Fremantle pretty quickly IMO.

Warnock Gone