Warnocks tough stand

frankly i would be disappointed if carlton use anything more than pick 24.
I think robbie probably wants to play with his brother at melbourne and isnt bothered if he goes to melbourne or carlton.

I would much rather carlton keep our picks and let melbourne have him in the psd than giving 24 + another young player.
gotta have faith in the draft.

frankly i would be disappointed if carlton use anything more than pick 24.
I think robbie probably wants to play with his brother at melbourne and isnt bothered if he goes to melbourne or carlton.

I would much rather carlton keep our picks and let melbourne have him in the psd than giving 24 + another young player.
gotta have faith in the draft.

:( :eek:

Well said kev :thumbsu:

I agree its the inexperienced argument that pisses me off the most. Some of these posters need to look at how ruckmen develope.

Here is the first season of certain ruckman compared to Warnocks first season.
Bold stats show where Warnock was equal or better than other player

Games - Possession Avg - Mark Avg - Hitout Avg - Tackle Avg -Goal Avg - Height

Warnock ---- 12 -- 9.8 - 3.3 - 10 - 1.4 - 0.3 - 206

Kreuzer ----- 20 -- 9.8 - 3.0 - 9.2 -- 2.2 - 0.6 - 200
McIntosh* -- 18 -- 9.8 - 4.0 - 7.2 -- 0.7 - 0.4 - 203
Hille --------- 6 -- 5.8 - 2.2 - 7.8 -- 0.5 - 0.2 - 201
Sandilands - 19 -- 7.2 - 2.9 - 18.6 - 0.8 - 0.3 - 211
Cox -------- 17 - 7.7 - 2.2 - 10.8 - 1.1 - 0.1 - 204
Hampson* -- 12 - 5.9 - 2.1 - 8.2 -- 0.5 - 0.2 - 201
Leuenberger - 9 – 7.6 - 1.9 - 8.1 -- 1.4 - 0.2 - 203

* McIntosh and Hampson only played 1 and 2 games respectively in their first season so I’ve included their second season as well.

And if Warnock tells Port, Fremantle or West Coast not to pick him because he'll only play for a Victorian club then that's draft tampering and he'll probably be de-registered.
Does he have to tell them?

What was his form like this year when things didn't go his way?

From what I understand he went into the WAFL and sooked, and got smashed by far less fancied opponents.

So why would any of the interstate clubs take the risk on getting him, paying him the contract he will nominate, which may well be something like $650k for one year, only to sook and play like a dog because he didn't get his way and end up being the most overpaid reserves player in history,and then leave at the end of that year?

Won't happen will it.

Not at a time when ALL clubs need to make every pick count going into he lockouts.

FWIW I don't particularly care if we get him. I think he is being massively overrated, and won't be upset if it falls through and we keep pick 24. In fact I won't be upset at all.

I stand by this statement:
If he doesn't want to go to anyone but the Blues then its simple.
Deal with us or lose him to someone else for nothing.:thumbsu:

The only loser in this cvan be Freo if they lose him for nothing. We will still have our pick.

This can be a win-win, but not if Freo play it dumb.

We know. You've posted it about 472 times in this thread alone. To which it has been rebutted, then repeated ad infinitum. Just let it go.

I agree with this. If Warnock digs his heals in and tells all parties that he only wants to go the blues and refuses outright to even entertain the possibility of going elsewhere then we are screwed.

But I don't believe the if part. I think the blues are a preference, not an ultimatum.

I agree with this. If Warnock digs his heals in and tells all parties that he only wants to go the blues and refuses outright to even entertain the possibility of going elsewhere then we are screwed.

But I don't believe the if part. I think the blues are a preference, not an ultimatum.

Yep, he's shown so far he's a bit of a girl, so can't see him having to face the prospect of having no control and no idea of where he's going to end up. If the Carlton/Freo talks break down I can't see him refusing to go anywhere else.

Does he have to tell them?

What was his form like this year when things didn't go his way?

From what I understand he went into the WAFL and sooked, and got smashed by far less fancied opponents.

So why would any of the interstate clubs take the risk on getting him, paying him the contract he will nominate, which may well be something like $650k for one year, only to sook and play like a dog because he didn't get his way and end up being the most overpaid reserves player in history,and then leave at the end of that year?

Won't happen will it.

His body language wasn't great in the WAFL, probably because he thinks he's above WAFL football. I don't really have a problem with that, most successful athletes are arrogant and have a high opinion of themselves.

When he played AFL his workrate was good.

Assuming Warnock was picked by an interstate club this year he'd have to put in, playing WAFL/SANFL reserves wouldn't be in his best interest. If he played crap footy next year he probably wouldn't get the same terms that he's after this year. If your existing ruckmen have a big year your enthusiasm may wane, and you'd still need to trade something or have an early PSD pick to get him at the end of 2009 anyway.

Not at a time when ALL clubs need to make every pick count going into he lockouts.

The uncompromised draft talk is over the top and mainly comes from clubs like Richmond and Carlton, teams that have plenty of young talent and are looking to grab a bargain during trade week this year.

It especially doesn't apply to the PSD.

FWIW I don't particularly care if we get him. I think he is being massively overrated, and won't be upset if it falls through and we keep pick 24. In fact I won't be upset at all.

A lot of Carlton supporters seem to be of that opinion. Then in a couple of years when Warnock starts playing well consistently there will be a flood of Carlton stooges telling us how good he is and how we got bent over for pick 24.

The only loser in this can be Freo if they lose him for nothing. We will still have our pick.

Assuming you pick someone really good at 24 and/or Warnock ends up mediocre. If Warnock goes on to be an All Australian for another club and you're still looking for a ruckman in a couple of years you lose.

This can be a win-win, but not if Freo play it dumb.

Playing it dumb would be to accept your first offer.

This thread should almost be locked now, it seems to go around and around.

(I wish it was locked on the Carlton board as well)

I'm sure I speak for many fans on both sides, I just can't wait to get the trade week over and done with. Lets hope that the deal gets done early in the piece and not on friday.

This thread should almost be locked now, it seems to go around and around.

(I wish it was locked on the Carlton board as well)

I'm sure I speak for many fans on both sides, I just can't wait to get the trade week over and done with. Lets hope that the deal gets done early in the piece and not on friday.

I'll be very surprised to see it done early. Unless of course Carlton decide that pick 6 or a decent player (ie not one that's going to be delisted anyway) and pick 24 are up for grabs.

Assuming Warnock was picked by an interstate club this year he'd have to put in, playing WAFL/SANFL reserves wouldn't be in his best interest. If he played crap footy next year he probably wouldn't get the same terms that he's after this year. If your existing ruckmen have a big year your enthusiasm may wane, and you'd still need to trade something or have an early PSD pick to get him at the end of 2009 anyway.
Fair point. :thumbsu:
The uncompromised draft talk is over the top and mainly comes from clubs like Richmond and Carlton, teams that have plenty of young talent and are looking to grab a bargain during trade week this year.
I would have thought the prospects of there bieng 4-5 drafts coming up that are scewed would be a very real problem for the likes of Melbourne, and in particular Freo, who look to be just starting a major re-build. I;m not an expert on your list so maybe it is better than that.
A lot of Carlton supporters seem to be of that opinion. Then in a couple of years when Warnock starts playing well consistently there will be a flood of Carlton stooges telling us how good he is and how we got bent over for pick 24.
......and I'm sure if he turns out to be a spud and pick 24 does anything worth while we won't hear a thing from Freo supporters.;)

Just like in 2-3 years time when Masten, Kennedy and Notte start playing well WCE fans will be all over us saying they bent us over etc.

That's life. If that bothered me I wouldn't post on BF, because chest beating is a large part of the forum.
Playing it dumb would be to accept your first offer.
Sure. I can understand that.

Playing it really dumb would be to get nothing. Port did it, but they had a great list. You don't, and the pick carries a bit more weight this year and next.

I notice one of the Blues posters who's been telling us Warnock isn't worth pick 6 just started a thread on their board saying they should trade #6 for Stanton.

Just imagine what they would give for Warnock if he was an Essendon player.

I notice one of the Blues posters who's been telling us Warnock isn't worth pick 6 just started a thread on their board saying they should trade #6 for Stanton.

Just imagine what they would give for Warnock if he was an Essendon player.
Surely it's a piss take.:confused:

Just saw who posted it.

Take little notice. It's school holidays in Vic.

See the reception its getting?

I would have thought the prospects of there bieng 4-5 drafts coming up that are scewed would be a very real problem for the likes of Melbourne, and in particular Freo, who look to be just starting a major re-build. I;m not an expert on your list so maybe it is better than that.

That's the myth, that there's going to be 4 or 5 drafts that are screwed.

2010 and the draft 4 months before West Sydney play their first games will certainly be weakened. While the side that finishes in the same position as we did this year won't get their first pick until 8 instead of pick 3, it's not a total disaster and plenty of good players have been selected around that spot in the draft. There's also the concessions for uncontracted players and the fact that GC will probably want to trade some of their picks for established players allowing the 16 existing clubs extra picks.

For the other drafts, ie 2011 assuming West Sydney won't be playing their first game in 2012, GC will have the first pick in each round which isn't a big deal. There have been drafts in the past that were kind of compromised anyway with the old priority pick system. 2001, the draft that everyone gets excited about, had 3 priority picks at the start because 3 clubs didn't win more than 5 games. So the premiers didn't make their first pick in 2001 until pick 19, in 2010 the premiers will get their first pick at 25 so while they've dropped back a few spots it's not a total disaster. The worst spot will be for someone like Richmond this year, the team that finishes 9th in 2010 won't get their first pick until selection 17.

We know. You've posted it about 472 times in this thread alone. To which it has been rebutted, then repeated ad infinitum. Just let it go.

..and guareented to keep repeating as long as this thread keeps going. For someone who typed they don't care with warnock, blurebear just keeps on posting...

Ripper/Sabre time to lock this one off....

:thumbsu: I'm with you Tarquin.