Play Nice Was that Gaffs last game for WC?

So I was seething at the Eagles fans for their reaction to Gaff in the 4th Qtr, but I'll give the majority the benefit of the doubt that they had no idea what had happened, but...

The players would have been told during the break and they should not have got around him like he'd kicked his first ever goal, and now...

It emerges Simpson has given Gaff the 4 votes in the coaches vote. There is ZERO chance he hadn't seen multiple replays by the time he put in his votes.

I'm sorry, but the club is rotten to the core.
Is that your opinion on Fremantle with Ballantyne, Solomon etc?

The punch Gaff threw was woeful and weak. The reason it did so much damage is that Brayshaw didn't see it coming. Anyone who has ever boxed knows you can take a huge hit clean if you see it. It's the punch you don't see that does the damage. Which goes back to something i mentioned earlier in the thread - AFL culture of hitting guys when they aren't looking. Brodie Holland on that chap from Sydney springs to mind. If you are going to hit someome, make sure they know it's coming. Far less likely to do this type of damage l.

He was standing right infront of him looking at him. Obviously what Gaff did is wrong, but don't compare it to Hall's who belted someone without them having a chance to see it coming

It is no different. In any way. Except one ended up with a concussion, the other ended up drinking through a straw for 4 weeks.

I asked myself, self.. Gaff to Melbourne? probably not
Gaff's gone down in price...

Keep on sooking flog, we all know your trying to get your time in the sunshine with a crappy season and failure year on year. This kind of event brings out all the glory seekers in your fanbase trying to get some sympathy and making out Freo is relevant again.
Child

Why did Adam Simpson keep sending Gaff back out there?

Was it a deliberate choice to continue on as normal or was there a message in it?

I'm sure the question about whether it might be best to give him a rest was considered. The game was essentially won. There was a foreseeable chance of Gaff being seriously assaulted. Having him on the ground increased likelihood of fights and suspensions to other Eagles players 3 weeks before finals. Gaff was distraught and emotional, perhaps best not to expose him to more volatile situations. Gaff had conclusively broken the Eagles code of ethics and shouldn't be representing them for the rest of the game.

You might think I'm reaching with the last one, but TripleM had Barry Hall pulled off the air within minutes and fired the next day for making an off colour joke on the radio. Barry made a joke. Gaff violently broke someone's jaw. Maybe the difference is that this has nothing to do with values and everything to do with revenue generators (listeners,sponsors,members,supporters.) WC fans are rusted on whereas radio station listeners are more fickle.

So it’s adam simpsons fault that your players kept trying to attack him?

I’m not blaming them for being upset, but it’s interesting how you somehow think this is the coaches fault. We were already a rotation down.

It is no different. In any way. Except one ended up with a concussion, the other ended up drinking through a straw for 4 weeks.
Lets go with 2 scenarios:

a) You are standing on the street and someone walks up from behind you and as they just walk infront of you punch you in the face
b) You are standing face to face with someone on the street who is shoving you and they swing their arm at you.

Which one is worse?

I think I know which one I'd rather cop

Lets go with 2 scenarios:

a) You are standing on the street and someone walks up from behind you and as they just walk infront of you punch you in the face
b) You are standing face to face with someone on the street who is shoving you and they swing their arm at you.

Which one is worse?

I think I know which one I'd rather cop

Neither saw it coming. There is ZERO difference.

I'm beginning to think you've been hit with both on multiple occasions.

But what about Brayshaw. You know, the bloke who’s jaw he broke?

Unfortunate. It is not something that happens regularly, it is not something we accept in the game. It is the basis of our society that when someone does something wrong that they are punished and rehabilitated, in the hope of making a better society. Unfortunately, we can't take back what victims have been exposed to.

I think it would be fair for Brayshaw to seek compensation, for any out of pocket medical expenses and for pain & suffering inflicted. That really is up to Brayshaw, his management and their respective lawyers.

We should never confuse vengeance for justice. I think it is important the parties involved deal with the issues, what parts that need to be public should be, ie the game suspension, the rest is none of our business and should be handled privately by the respective parties.

Is that your opinion on Fremantle with Ballantyne, Solomon etc?
Glad you ask.

The last major cheap shot that goes anywhere near that level of severity I can remember from someone in a Collingwood guernsey was Holland in the 2006 Elimination Final, and I lost all my respect for him that day. Shame as I liked him before that.

How do you know this? You spoken to Andrew have you?

No, I haven't been hit multiple times, and I can conclude that because he made no attempt to defend himself, he didn't see it coming. Could be a stretch, but I'd reckon that if someone did see it coming, they'd make some sort of move to block it or get out of the way.

Pretty clear that you're trolling though, so welcome to ignore.

Play Nice Was that Gaffs last game for WC?