Was that the most boring grand final ever?

Aug 27, 2000
vic
That had to be the worst grand final ever
What a boring game Melbourne looked overcome by the occasion the Bombers should have won by more
Can anyone honestly say they found that to be a good game?

That was a crap game
even bruce didnt get into it
but thats what grand finals are like usually
well done essendon on a top year
go the crows in 2001

I tend to agree with Don, although I only watched the first 3/4 qtrs.

Melbourne were competitive for about the first fifteen minutes of the first qtr, but Melbourne's chances were not helped by that "skillfil" player Wallis and his new side-kick Long and a couple of other "skillful" players.

Essendon do not deserve the mantle of the best team; just the mantle of the luckiest team -
Luck with UMPIRING DECISIONS throughout the year - neutral observers have a look exactly where Ess free kicks were paid.
Luck without any INJURIIES throughout the year(a definite factor)
Luck with the NON-REPORTING of players; how Wallis was not reported in the North/Ess melee beggars disbelief - he was about the only one not to be charged and he started the melee. LLoyd should have been reported for striking Manton and overacting, but LLOYD receieved a free and goaled.
Players survey - Essendon are the biggest sledgers in the game.
Official stats. - Essendon in official stats THROW the ball, more than twice than the next offending team. Got away with it nearly all year.
Luck to have Ess persons in the AFL

To cap it off Ess. RORTED the system - huge salary cap breaches and trades. And they had the gall to whinge about missing a draft choice. The Ess president maintains Ess was the only club caught and overlooks the fact that an AFL amnesty was in place and Ess was too arrogant to own up. The arrogance of Essendon and comments made by the president are breathtaking (re Footy Show or The Game).

Essendon are the premiers of 2000, but at what price.

Hird deserved ther Norm Smith medal.

I tend to agree with Don, although I only watched the first 3/4 qtrs.

Melbourne were competitive for about the first fifteen minutes of the first qtr, but Melbourne's chances were not helped by that "skillfil" player Wallis and his new side-kick Long and a couple of other "skillful" players.

Essendon do not deserve the mantle of the best team; just the mantle of the luckiest team -
Luck with UMPIRING DECISIONS throughout the year - neutral observers have a look exactly where Ess free kicks were paid.
Luck without any INJURIIES throughout the year(a definite factor)
Luck with the NON-REPORTING of players; how Wallis was not reported in the North/Ess melee beggars disbelief - he was about the only one not to be charged and he started the melee. LLoyd should have been reported for striking Manton and overacting, but LLOYD receieved a free and goaled.
Players survey - Essendon are the biggest sledgers in the game.
Official stats. - Essendon in official stats THROW the ball, more than twice than the next offending team. Got away with it nearly all year.
Luck to have Ess persons in the AFL

To cap it off Ess. RORTED the system - huge salary cap breaches and trades. And they had the gall to whinge about missing a draft choice. The Ess president maintains Ess was the only club caught and overlooks the fact that an AFL amnesty was in place and Ess was too arrogant to own up. The arrogance of Essendon and comments made by the president are breathtaking (re Footy Show or The Game).

Essendon are the premiers of 2000, but at what price.

Hird deserved ther Norm Smith medal.

Michele,

You're a bitch.

And an unintelligent one too.

Every club (just about), went over the salary cap. We just didn't admit to it like Carlton and others did. So, we got fined.

As for your stupid free kick comments. Over 26 weeks, it evens out. No one is disadvantaged. The better teams generally get more free kicks anyway, since they go for the ball, and are rewarded.

Show a bit of respect for arguably the greatest team of all time. We had a percentage of 160. Take away a few players, and we still would have won 18,19, or 20 games. We won most of our games by 10 goals, indicating, even if we were missing players, we would have won anyway.

Grow a brain, please.

Michelle, Essendon rorted the system, and got caught. But in the process only got fined, and lost a couple of draft picks. They didn't lose any players.

They rorted the system and basically got away with it. If Geelong had have done the same thing, there would only be 15 teams in the competition today. Money isn't an issue to Essendon as it is to other Victorian clubs.

Throughout the year, Essendon WAS CLEARLY the best team and completely deserved to win the flag. NO DEBATE.

The fact is, no matter how much they rorted the system, they still won the flag which is more than 15 other teams can say.

Who cares how they won it, history will show that they won.

I'd be happy to win anything.

Everyone seems to be forgetting that Mel rorted the salary cap a fair bit more than Ess and yet got a lighter penalty than Ess. Ess were penalised only last year and yet were still good enough to win easily this year. The actual rort occurred seven years ago which hasn't had much impact on the squad in the present. I think we'll find that almost every club has had a salary cap rort in past.

Well yeah i was pretty dissapointed on that grand final i thought melbourne woul dreally serve it up to Essendon, but i guess really the bombers deserved to win after the season they have had. Congrats to them but i think that Michael Long and Dean Wallis are dirty players!!!

Dan24,

What a classy comeback.

My point re free-kicks is WHERE the free- kicks are paid. Not on how many free-kicks a team averages over one year. If you cannot understand that premise, then it is you who needs to grow a brain - and quickly.

Essendon should have won by 20 goals..the Melbourne backline was full of turkeys like Ingerson,Nicholson,Collins and Febey and they never had a chance. Hope they got a look at Hird holding the cup because thats as close as they will ever get.
The only way that this GF was going to be close was if Carlton got through and Koutafides and Silvagni were fit.. and when I say close I mean 5 goals with Essendon still winning.How can any Melbourne supporter
makes excuses..it was boring watching them get hammered by one of the best teams to ever take the field and I dont see it changing next year unless Essendon get some bad injuries to key players..could be back to back and do I hate saying that..

Go Roos in 2001
Go Kingy.. a true roo..I could never see him
in a sickly Dockers jumper.

no it wasnt, it was the best one since 93, and then 84 and 85 before that

dan you are once again spot on
michele you have no idea what so ever
essendon got 10 goals from free kicks, winning them the game???????
you want to talk about injuries, then think about dean rioli and danny jacobs who both would have played
and as for the salary cap, we payed our dues and our cheating on the cap was to stop mark harvey from going to nth for more money.
that has nothing to do with the current team.
you are simply an uninformed, stupid moron and i think you would do your own shame a great deal of good if you stopped posting shit like that

Michele, two points.

Luck with injuries. After the past two or three years we deserved a little good luck for a change, or do you expect that Hird should be injured permanently?

Salary cap.

One other team was fined for being over the cap recently (and unlike Essendon it wasn't in the moratorium period). Want to guess who? That's right. MELBOURNE. So go have a whine about that somewhere else, it doesn't wash here.

And you have the hide to have a go at someone else's supposed lack of intelligence. Poor little sook.

Firstly, I agree with Dutchy's_gal about Wallis and Long. Secondly, Barney, the Melbourne backline were far too good for you in the Prelim Final so they can't be that bad. Also, Melbourne did get closer to Essendon than the Roos. (65 points for finals, 125 to 60 and 36 points home and away 49 to 13)

OK. so wallis is a thug, but at least he has the guts to be in your face about it and not hit you from behind, or on the sly. AS for Long, if there was no such thing as slow motion you would all be saying split second decision to turn his body as the player put his head down, ITS CALLED A REFLEX ACTION, not being a dirty player

I wold have to say that from a non essendon or melbourne supporters point of view it was a boring grand final! I actually fell asleep during the third quater....not much had changed though when i woke up for the 4th.
However, grand finals are always emotional and relatively exciting......so despite being a Eagles supporter I still felt all teary eyed when The essendon boys won and when Hirdy won the norm smith and also at seeing the poor demon guys looking so dejected. But anyhow congrats to the team of 2000...the Bombers.
I do think they were without a doubt the best team of the year and that umpiring doenst really come in to it.....BUT I DEFINITELY DO NOT THINK THAT THEY ARE THE BEST SIDE OF ALL TIME!!!! they have a long way to go to prove that!
BJ

------------------
Eagles Rock!Go Ben and Jaxon!

Was that the most boring grand final ever?