Review Watching the Detectives

• Thread starter Thread starter Old Spice

I don't know if we have anyone with the patience, eye and time to do it but it would be great if someone could start watching out for glaring umpiring bullshit during a round and record it.

There are frees against and for which you can find in any game if you look closely enough, but the issue for me is that some teams are watched more closely than others.

Frees against For years now we have been absolutely flogged in the ruck contests, stretching back to the 2010 GF replay and continuing now.

Macaffeteria will certainly be watched like a hawk next week, but will Crowley, Carazzo or Hunt?

Frees for Cloke obviously gets totally manhandled by defenders.

It's impossible to watch everything, but some focus on Cloke and Caff as compared to other forwards and taggers would be I think a useful visual exercise in asking questions of the umpires.

Mate this is a pet subject of mine. Happy to do it for next round. Have been watching Sydney and Nth and in my opinion nth are getting the rough end of the stick.

I you've got Foxtel and have the time, go nuts my son although I reckon it would be worth focusing on two roles: opposition taggers (to compare V Macaffer) and the key forwards (to compare V Cloke).

If we divied games up each round with a specific focus on key forwards and taggers, I'm sure we could find if any glaring omissions are occurring, with video evidence.

I tell you what though, Franklin gets a very rough time from the umpires too.
It's not just Buddy or Cloke, a lot of big forwards are inconvenienced by the mandate from the AFL to let the game run more. Defenders can now hold on to forwards easier than any time in recent memory.

Frees for and against in general play wax and wane, but I think most key forwards get a much better go at it from the umpires than Cloke (was also a similar story with Tarrant) and that Macaffer will get absolutely nailed to the mast next round.

Then hands in the back, as opposed to the push in the back, was introduced by Kevin Bartlett and the LoTG Committee to counter Clement's skillful use of positioning. That is a FACT which KB admitted only 6 or so weeks ago on radio.

It was also true that we highlighted St Kilda's ruck tactics in GF1, 2010, only to have us absolutely crucified the week after in the ruck dept by the umpires.

I tell you what though, Franklin gets a very rough time from the umpires too.

He does sometimes, although often it's for clotheslines and attempting to sling a player back into middle earth.

I thought we were on the better end of the umpires against Richmond.

What game you Watched? They had at least 10 more Free Kicks then us and they got plenty of High Tackles

This notion that Collingwood are being picked on is silly and has no basis of evidence.

It's stupid, because the fact is, the umpiring and rules in this game suck. Has nothing to do with Collingwood.

He does sometimes, although often it's for clotheslines and attempting to sling a player back into middle earth.
The stupid ones he gives away are usually there, I guess I'm more referring to the ones he doesn't get for pushes and holds.

This notion that Collingwood are being picked on is silly and has no basis of evidence.

It's stupid, because the fact is, the umpiring and rules in this game suck. Has nothing to do with Collingwood.

Is that a bit like saying justice is blind? Nick Riewoldt has a career average of 1.3 frees for and 0.5 against per game. Cloke has 0.9 frees for and 0.9 against.

If you think commentators and umpires don't fall in love with some players and teams, I think you're being a little naive.

Is that a bit like saying justice is blind? Nick Riewoldt has a career average of 1.3 frees for and 0.5 against per game. Cloke has 0.9 frees for and 0.9 against.

If you think commentators and umpires don't fall in love with some players and teams, I think you're being a little naive.
And this "love" is universally applicable to all umpires?

Wait, but aren't umpires human and each one of them are individuals?

So how is this bias able to affect Collingwood every single round?

Hint: It doesn't.

It was highlighted back in the naughties how little help Tarrant got as a forward. Those facts would never have come to light if people hadn't turned to them from circumstantial, visual evidence before them.

My issue is that the umpires now will be turning the spotlight onto Macaffer post dickheads like Robbo deciding in his half cut state that his tagging job on Cotchin was unique or unfair. I can't even see it to be perfectly frank, but you can bet your bottom dollar that the umpires will be watching him.

And that is the subjective intrusion of bias on facts. Macaffer I think won't do anything worse than other taggers, but because Mark Robinson is a major ******** we will get undue focus.

And this "love" is universally applicable to all umpires?

Wait, but aren't umpires human and each one of them are individuals?

So how is this bias able to affect Collingwood every single round?

Hint: It doesn't.

Umpires are not given individual licence to interpret the rules as they personally see fit. Like footballers they are given game day focuses as is widely known. And now post Robinsion et al, the umpires will certainly keep a close eye on Caff. It's not a conspiracy theory, it's just widely known fact.

The footy dept certainly won't focus on it but that does not mean that the glare should not be put back on the umpires to make sure they are conscious of the decisions that they make and are made accountable for those decisions.

It was highlighted back in the naughties how little help Tarrant got as a forward. Those facts would never have come to light if people hadn't turned to them from circumstantial, visual evidence before them.

My issue is that the umpires now will be turning the spotlight onto Macaffer post dickheads like Robbo deciding in his half cut state that his tagging job on Cotchin was unique or unfair. I can't even see it to be perfectly frank, but you can bet your bottom dollar that the umpires will be watching him.

And that is the subjective intrusion of bias on facts. Macaffer I think won't do anything worse than other taggers, but because Mark Robinson is a major ******** we will get undue focus.
Well, I don't disagree with this.

Although I disagree that umpires as a whole have an agenda, I certainly do think that media journalists definitely have agendas. And I agree that their influence in the media will no doubt put the spotlight onto Macaffer next week.

Well, I don't disagree with this.

Although I disagree that umpires as a whole have an agenda, I certainly do think that media journalists definitely have agendas. And I agree that their influence in the media will no doubt put the spotlight onto Macaffer next week.

People cleave to power, to the winning side. That's not a measure of these individual umpires per se as some bad apples, but simply a sociological fact. People are not at all objective in their evaluations, they bring their goggles to the cowboys and Indians spectacle and they know who they like.

The AFL clearly has an agenda to cap success.

Sub rule and cap rotations were specifically targeted to capping Collingwood. Hawthorn had their rushed behind rule brought in. Now they're looking at caps on spending on departments. When has the AFL ever done something positive?

Even the fact you can look at the Pies fixture year in year out is enough evidence to suggest the AFL is bent on capping Collingwood.

While I understand posters here are more leaning towards umpires personally not having any bias well, As they say - Collingwood you either love them or hate them.

Free kick for and against backs this up for last couple of years!

There is certainly enough evidence to show how the AFL is doing this all. Open up the first copy of the B&W Magazine and our very own President feels the same way as I do.

Getting sick of it.

Nah can't agree, they had 21 frees which is huge these days and were rewarded time and time again for going in head first and sliding into the contest.
Frost's free on Riewoldt in the last was utter garbage in the context of what Cloke puts up with. Absolute charity/pity free. Frost used his body better. Even White copped a few shockers and Witts was taken high by Chaplin after taking front position and getting first hands to it. Marking contests are worse this season. I thought the new rule would help forwards. Nup.