Watson Vs Swan

• Thread starter Thread starter sikmoe

Gumby is a hack and untill he does something at afl level hE will remain one.

So he'd be in the same boat as Rusling?? Or have Collingwood fans admitted that he is rubbish and done?

Dawes, well he's in the same
boat as gumby but has at least shown SOMETHING at afl level.
Has he really? Apart from having good hands he has no athletic ability.

As for swan Watson... Lol! Anyone choosing Watson is an essendon supporter. Swan is just a better player. That's all there is to it. And I really like Watson as a player, really
respect the fact that he had the commitment and dedication to become the player he is today because, let's face it, he's not the most naturally gifted
footballer (neither is swan)

What is Swan's skill set?? Cheap kicks on the half back line? Leadership Skills? General Skills?

He's a good ordinary player who racks up the kicks. He can never turn a game.

So he'd be in the same boat as Rusling?? Or have Collingwood fans admitted that he is rubbish and done?

Has he really? Apart from having good hands he has no athletic ability.

What is Swan's skill set?? Cheap kicks on the half back line? Leadership Skills? General Skills?

He's a good ordinary player who racks up the kicks. He can never turn a game.

rusling has a lot of potential, but his body is deciding whether or not he makes it. rusling has never played as many consecuative games as gumby has. u did notice though i didnt even through him up there as a comparisan?

dawes is good below his knees, has come top 5 2 or 3 years in a row in collingwoods long distance running drill. besides isnt good hands a prerequisit for a forward? gumby would be lucky to have as good a kick as dawes as well. again dawes has at least shown something at afl level.

swan? hahaha hes faster then jobe, is able to get the hard ball, able to get the clearences, untaggable, great overhead, hell, most people would back him in a one on one contest against almost any other player.
did u watch the last qtr collingwood vs melb? swan was the player that got us the 2 points. hes a leader. he leads by his on field efforts. any player able to run as much as him and win as much as the ball as him is elite. the only reason people say he isnt is because he runs like a duck

Ball has had a better year than Watson in 10' & has by far and away gone to a level in his career that Watson will never get to.

Watson is also no where near the top 30 players in the AFL.

You are a flog mate. I would sugest 50% of swan's misses for goal were snaps from clearances. 3 of those were against melbourne. I think he has kick 8.14.

Even so Jobe has had 6 shots on goal to 22. I know what i'd rather. Swan busts from packs in judd fashion these days and covers more ground than anyone in the afl.

Jobe is a fantastic footballer.. But comparing him to Swan is like comparing Gumbleton to Buddy Franklin.

Watson nails the difficult shots when his team needs them, true captain and leader. Swan ruins all his mate's hard work by converting most of their inside 50s to behinds further ruining team the team morale which has already suffered by having a thug criminal amongst their ranks.

For a receiver like Swan, anything below 60% conversion is a disaster. 36% is just pathetic.

I woulda thought that Essendon would have needed his "important" shots alot more times than 6.

Let me see...

2 goals in a loss against Geelong
1 goal in a loss against Hawthorn
1 goal in a win against WB
1 goal in a win against Hawthorn
1 goal in a loss against Freo

So what your saying is 33% of the time he stands up when it counts......... Makes total sense now!

That doesn't mean that Watson is a better player. All that means is that we have better depth than you. Which is a fact.

PS. How would you know this? Swan hasn't been injured since 08'

Pretty certain we wouldn't have defeated WB without Swan, even more certain we would have lost to Melbourne without him.

Love the delusion of Bombres fans. Watson looks to handball more than kick like a ruckman b/c he know he has poor disposal. The sad thing is their midfield is better when he isn't playing & Stanton, who is a hack, is their best & most important midfielder.

Pretty certain we wouldn't have defeated WB without Swan, even more certain we would have lost to Melbourne without him.

Love the delusion of Bombres fans. Watson looks to handball more than kick like a ruckman b/c he know he has poor disposal. The sad thing is their midfield is better when he isn't playing & Stanton, who is a hack, is their best & most important midfielder.

Watson is a leader...something Swan will NEVER be able to achieve in his career.

watson would be the 3rd or 4th midfielder at collingwood

i'd take swan and pendlebury ahead of him.

he'd probably be about on par with luke ball

prob take ball over watson too. :P lol nah just joking. watson for no other reason though then balls injuries. pendles and swan both would be ahead of watson in the midfield.

swan? hahaha hes faster then jobe, is able to get the hard ball, able to get the clearences, untaggable, great overhead, hell, most people would back him in a one on one contest against almost any other player.
did u watch the last qtr collingwood vs melb? swan was the player that got us the 2 points. hes a leader. he leads by his on field efforts. any player able to run as much as him and win as much as the ball as him is elite. the only reason people say he isnt is because he runs like a duck

Swan is not untaggable, he's just not a damaging player period. In a one on one contest, there would be at least 20 midfielders right now who would beat him hands down.

He does have a good tank but he's not a damaging player with the ball. You give Watson a little bit of space at the clearances and he will win us the game. Swan can't win a game by himself, cheap kicks across half-back doesn't make him an elite midfielder.

You give Watson a little bit of space at the clearances and he will win us the game. Swan can't win a game by himself, cheap kicks across half-back doesn't make him an elite midfielder.

If Watson is so good, then why doesn't your team win more??

Ponder this...

First of all Jobe is more of a pure inside midfielder. Swan is an all round midfielder. This year Swan has not had to do as much clearance work because the likes of Ball, beams, o'bree etc are playing that role.

I would suggest Ball and Jobe at their best are like for like.

All this and he is still averaging more clearances than Jobe..

Swan: 6.2
Watson: 5.8

Stats arent everything and whilst Swan is certainly a good player Id prefer Watson.

Watson has Swan easily covered in close, is younger and has more improvement in him, has better hands, is taller, stronger, and doesnt have the quality of players that Swan has next to him such as Didak & Pendles to support him.
Watson is also a captain and leader both on and off the field, and doesnt go out and get pissed and belt up blokes. He doesnt have crap tattoos and most importantly - DOESNT PLAY FOR COLLINGWOOD.

Watson all day everyday.

Stats arent everything and whilst Swan is certainly a good player Id prefer Watson.

Watson has Swan easily covered in close, is younger and has more improvement in him, has better hands, is taller, stronger, and doesnt have the quality of players that Swan has next to him such as Didak & Pendles to support him.
Watson is also a captain and leader both on and off the field, and doesnt go out and get pissed and belt up blokes. He doesnt have crap tattoos and most importantly - DOESNT PLAY FOR COLLINGWOOD.

Watson all day everyday.
wow

dane swan is a whole 349 days older than jobe watson... SO Much more improvement there.. retirement looming for swan i reckon :rolleyes:

taller - 5cm - how does that really hep a midfielder?

stronger? i doubt that. you don't very often see swan lose his feet, nor do you see him being beaten one on one.

doesnt have the quality around him - cant argue with you there.

as for dane swans off field indescretion - it was December 21, 2003, when he was 19 years of age. hardly something you can attribute to his behaviour when talking about who he is TODAY