Watts names St. Kilda

just maybe said:
If you're going into trade worrying about giving one of your 15 rivals some sort of 'leg up', as opposed to maximising your own deal and worrying about your own list, then you have the wrong priority and should be fired.

Their stated REASONS for letting him walk ARE a 'stupid, massive ********-up' however.

1) The thing is, as soon as Stevens declared his destination of choice as Collingwood and only Collingwood, Port did have to look at preventing a rival from gaining a leg up as a distinct possibility - it wasn't a matter of worrying about 15 teams, but one.

And it wasn't as if Port refused to deal with Collingwood out of hand, they simply deemed the offer to be unacceptable.

An accomplished 23yo midfielder who seemed to be on the verge of the top-tier for a poor pick in a thin draft and a second rate fringe player or two such players?

Weighing up all the potential outcomes of that deal on face value I would have thought that was enough to send him to the PSD, you obviously disagree and that's fair enough. Agree to disagree.

2) Those stated reasons which you deem to be invalid and stupid - 1) denying a rival club a jet; 2) sending a message the club can't be bent over by player or suitor - are the exact same ones you'd have us apply to Fungus if St. Kilda refuse to offer us an acceptable deal aren't they?

dyertribe said:
2) Those stated reasons which you deem to be invalid and stupid - 1) denying a rival club a jet; 2) sending a message the club can't be bent over by player or suitor - are the exact same ones you'd have us apply to Fungus if St. Kilda refuse to offer us an acceptable deal aren't they?

No. Simply, the deal was so poor he goes to Carlton.

Neither of the reasons Port gave are valid. Stop looking for excuses and just give the honest one - the deal wasn't good enough, we said no, player X walked.

Crowbar said:
Not Necessarily

The Crows know they won't get the necessary compensation from St Kilda thus they involve a 3rd club. It's a bluff bid. You'll find the Ace is still in the Crows hand and they have very precise demands for Watts.

Cheers

Thanks to Triggy's comments, I think the ace just got handed back to us.
I think after Triggy's comments on the radio and the report on ch9, Fergus and his mgmt will now realise we are not going to be screwed over. The pressure is now well and truely back on Daddy's boy.

BTW: Who is Watts' manager, did I read somewhere it was Max Stevens? Isn't Max also N Stevens manager?

*PAF said:
We got Freo's

First,

Second, and

Third pick for Carr.

Wow. You got a third round draft pick more than we got for Stenglein...yippidy-doo-da...you got quite reasonably shafted in that one. Freo were able to to dupe you by offering quantity over quality. Carr, after his 2004 season, was worth a fair chunk more than 11, 27 and 43.

SpringChoke said:
Thanks to Triggy's comments, I think the ace just got handed back to us.
I think after Triggy's comments on the radio and the report on ch9, Fergus and his mgmt will now realise we are going to be screwed over. The pressure is now well and truely back on Daddy's boy.

BTW: Who is Watts' manager, did I read somewhere it was Max Stevens? Isn't Max also N Stevens manager?
Yes his manager is Max Stevens and yes he is also Nick Stevens' manager and was at the time he walked into the PSD ;)

just maybe said:
No. Simply, the deal was so poor he goes to Carlton.

Neither of the reasons Port gave are valid. Stop looking for excuses and just give the honest one - the deal wasn't good enough, we said no, player X walked.

I get the feeling that if Port did say that you'd still castigate them for using such an excuse to not deal with Collingwood.

And Port's reasons are valid in the circumstances. You deem them to be unsound - there's a difference.

But again, we'll have to agree to disagree.

Stiffy_18 said:
Yes his manager is Max Stevens and yes he is also Nick Stevens' manager and was at the time he walked into the PSD ;)

I thought as much. I could have sworn I heard Max say Nick did everything he possible could to ensure Port were'nt screwed and that Port were being totally unreasonable. If the watts trade turns sour, I wander what spin he will put on this one.

A couple mroe deals like this and Maxy could get run out of town.

SpringChoke said:
I thought as much. I could have sworn I heard Max say Nick did everything he possible could to ensure Port were'nt screwed and that Port were being totally unreasonable. If the watts trade turns sour, I wander what spin he will put on this one.

Despite his ******** poor effort in the Nick Stevens saga, for some reason Max is still one of the most prominent player agents going around. Don't know why really :confused:

people were mentioning a possible trade of fergus watts to st.kilda for sam fisher and a pick... sam fisher is a quality backmen and proved his worth this year and along with the champion in rob harvey was the reason for ur crows loss in the qualifying final and as far as im concerned this watts kid sounds like a sooky waste of time and i am hoping that we dont bother in chasing this kid who obviously thinks he is gods gift to football id much rather have sam "chips" fisher who will work and knows his limits

You lot have an interesting week ahead.
Here is a sample.

*PAF said:
You lot have an interesting week ahead.
Here is a sample.

Can you giuve us a general gist of what it says as i've been banned for being a naughty boy again.

I'm feeling confident about the week ahread now after listening to Triggy tonight. By the sounds of it, we have no intentions of rolling over and letting Watts JNR and SNR dictate terms.

Sample post one.

Blues firming in Stevens stake

Dynamic Port Adelaide midfielder Nick Stevens is set to become a Blue, with an announcement likely to be made on Thursday evening or early Friday morning.

The deal would see Stevens move to Carlton, while the Blues will give Port Adelaide the No.2 selection in the National AFL draft.

“It’s more likely that he’ll end up at Carlton than Collingwood at this stage,” an informed source told afl.com.au.

It has also been confirmed to afl.com.au that Collingwood was not prepared to offer either classy South Australian Alan Didak or full-back Simon Prestigiacomo to Port Adelaide, forcing a ‘stalemate’ with the Magpies.

However, it has also been reported that the 23 year-old, who played 127 matches with Port Adelaide from 1998-03, is still being hotly pursued by Melbourne.

Sample post two.

Apparently Channel Ten in Melbourne had a Dees trade as likely too.

Stevens + pick #30 for Thompson + pick #5

Either of these offers ****s on Collingwood's `genuine' attempts from a great height.

Sample post 3.

From www.portadelaidefc.com.au

Power footy manager Mick Moylan said the Blues were leading the race to do a deal for Stevens.

“Carlton has the ability to trade the second pick in the draft and that looks promising from our perspective,” Moylan told PortAdelaideFC.com.au on Wednesday.

“Collingwood haven’t come up with anything satisfactory and don’t look to be able to.”

Sample post 4.

There was talk earlier this week that Carlton were trying to work a three or four club trade to get Port the player it wants to go with #2. If Port are willing to throw their 2nd round pick into the mix (as is suggested with the rumoured Melbourne trade) then that might get Carlton (and Port) what they want. Houlihan to St Kilda was mentioned at one stage if that's any help.

Moylan has said they'll talk to players tomorrow to see who is keen to come over ... so you'd guess Carlton have bagged the player they were after ...

*PAF said:
Sample post two.

Apparently Channel Ten in Melbourne had a Dees trade as likely too.

Stevens + pick #30 for Thompson + pick #5

Either of these offers ****s on Collingwood's `genuine' attempts from a great height.

Wow that would have been a sweet deal. For the record Melbourne took Brock McLean with pick 5.

Thanks mate.

*PAF said:
Sample post 4.

There was talk earlier this week that Carlton were trying to work a three or four club trade to get Port the player it wants to go with #2. If Port are willing to throw their 2nd round pick into the mix (as is suggested with the rumoured Melbourne trade) then that might get Carlton (and Port) what they want. Houlihan to St Kilda was mentioned at one stage if that's any help.

Moylan has said they'll talk to players tomorrow to see who is keen to come over ... so you'd guess Carlton have bagged the player they were after ...

Why didn't Port just accept Carltons offer of pick 2, especially when you consider Carlton were lurking high in the PS draft.

SpringChoke said:
Why didn't Port just accept Carltons offer of pick 2, especially when you consider Carlton were lurking high in the PS draft.

Stevens stated on the Thursday afternoon the afternoon before trade week ended that he would only accept a deal going to Collingwood or he would go into the PSD.

SpringChoke said:

Max issued a statement on the day before tradew eek ended that they will only accept a trade to Collingwood and that all other deals with other clubs were off. Two weeks later he then said that Nick was happy to go to any Melbourne club and that Collingwood wasnt even his preferred destination :rolleyes:

If it indeed is St Kilda or PSD for Fungus and if he does end up going into the PSD, watch Max come out and say the same thing.

As for him being run out of town...im guessing he didnt get banned from being a player manager after the "Bryce Gibbs Scandle". His reputation must be about as low as it could possibly be.

Macca19 said:
Max issued a statement on the day before tradew eek ended that they will only accept a trade to Collingwood and that all other deals with other clubs were off. Two weeks later he then said that Nick was happy to go to any Melbourne club and that Collingwood wasnt even his preferred destination :rolleyes:
Let's not forget that on the Friday they only get about half a day for trading.
Talk about heaps of notice.

Heres an article on the Thursday evening:

Ransom claim as Stevens deal collapses
4:59:34 PM Thu 16 October, 2003
Matt Burgan
afl.com.au
Port Adelaide’s proposed deal with Carlton over Nick Stevens has collapsed after Stevens declared once-and-for-all that did not want to be traded to Optus Oval.

Port Adelaide coach Mark Williams accused Stevens of trying to hold the club to ransom and said the 23 year-old could now take his chances in the December draft.

“The club is really disappointed with the decision that Nick has made,” Williams told afl.com.au exclusively.

“The Port Adelaide Football Club is not going to be held ransom to his demands.”

“It really makes no sense at all.”

When asked if it was too late to salvage a deal involving Stevens before the close of trading at 2pm (AEST) Friday, Williams replied: “Absolutely”.

He added that Stevens would now have to take his chances in the pre-season draft.

Although Stevens could become a Blue via the pre-season draft, it could also open the door for the Western Bulldogs to pounce on the talented ball-winner, depending on salary cap issues.

Stevens, who quit the Power at the end of the season, nominated Collingwood as his club of choice but was also prepared to talk terms with Carlton.

Yet when a deal was struck in principle with the Blues, the 23 year-old backed down.

Port Adelaide had given Carlton and Collingwood until 2pm on Thursday to come up with a suitable deal.

The Magpies rejected Port’s bid for South Australian-born Alan Didak, key defender Simon Prestigiacomo or emerging youngster Richard Cole.

The Power also wanted Collingwood’s first round selection, pick 17. Another option was that Port Adelaide would claim two first round draft selections for Stevens.

Carlton was going to offer Simon Beaumont and selection No.2, but Beaumont did not want to move interstate, which also created problems in the deal that ultimately fell through

Here is one from a press conference Bucky Cunningham held on the Friday

Port Adelaide makes a stand
4:36:04 PM Fri 17 October, 2003
PortAdelaideFC.com.au

Power chief executive Brian Cunningham says the Port Adelaide Football Club has stood firm on its principles and sent a message that it will not be dictated to by opposition clubs or players through the trade period.

The Power did not complete a trade on Friday for gun midfielder Nick Stevens, who will now enter the pre-season draft and is likely to be picked up by Carlton.

“The Port Adelaide Football Club is a club that will not be dictated to by other clubs or individuals,” Cunningham said.

“Given Collingwood knew that Nick Stevens had selected them as his only club of choice, it would appear they either did not rate Nick Stevens enough to trade with our club, or only wanted Nick at a bargain price and one that certainly was not satisfactory to our club.

“Had we agreed to the offer from Collingwood we would have received pick number 17 in the national draft and a player who would have had to fit into our salary cap but who we deemed would not have been a regular in our 22. Collingwood’s final offer was picks 17 and 35 at 1.45pm (EST) today.

“By anyone’s standards Collingwood did not offer a reasonable trade for Nick Stevens, who is one of the premier midfielders in the competition.

“What was on offer from Collingwood was also not fair to the players who were looking to leave Collingwood with the promise of greater game time because they probably wouldn’t have got that here.”

Cunningham said the greatest frustration from the club’s point of view was that it wasn’t until yesterday that they were advised of the parameters by which they were to negotiate.

“We are really disappointed that we spent the bulk of this week in negotiation with several clubs – and in particular Carlton, Melbourne and Collingwood – in good faith. We were acting on the basis of information we had received from Nick Stevens, via his manager, and ultimately that information proved to be incorrect,” he said.

“To be told yesterday, with just a day left in the trading period that Nick would only consider a trade to Collingwood, we believe was particularly unfair, not only to ourselves but also to the other clubs we’d been dealing with and to the other players whose trades were hinging on the completion of Nick’s deal.

Cunningham said that the club had had an overwhelmingly positive response from its members and supporters in regards to the events surrounding Nick Stevens, however he understood that there may be a few that are disappointed.

“I know a few of our supporters will be disappointed that we have lost a quality midfielder and a star of the competition for no return, but we hope they understand that our club needed to send a message that we will not be manipulated through the trading process,” said Cunningham.

“We are really disappointed that after six good years with Nick Stevens, where we have both benefited from a good relationship, that it has ended like this.”

At a media conference on Friday afternoon, Cunningham said it would consider asking the AFL to investigate the trade over the next couple of days.

When asked if what went on was close to tampering with the draft, Cunningham said “we’ll leave that to the people who make those decisions” and that the club hadn’t spoken to the AFL.

“I think the system is there to allow players to move between clubs but it is not there to allow players, managers and other clubs to dictate the system,” he said.

Cunningham said he thought Collingwood was expecting the Port Adelaide Football Club to “blink” today, ie accept a lesser offer from the Magpies.

Watts names St. Kilda