Watts names St. Kilda

Could these conversations have taken place??
I have obviously just made them up! before anybody start with the liable stuff. ;)

Collins to McGuire,2003

COLLO, Ed we’ve got a problem that you might be able to help with.
ED, Yeah.
COLLO, Were interested in that Stevens lad at port, but because we got done for the salary cap thing we just can’t afford to give anything up for him.
ED, so.
COLLO, Well the salary cap thing is nothing we all haven’t done over here.
ED, silence.
COLLO, we defiantly don’t want to get done for draft manipulation. But if you guys could screw port around for us there’s a fair chance we could get him for free in the PSD.
ED, What’s in it for us?
COLLO, apart from costing port a GF shot and sticking fat with a fellow foundation Melbourne club, not much.
COLLO, its something we won’t forget.
ED, Port could get in our way next season, but I don’t think it’s a good idea.

Max Stevens to McGuire, day 2 trade week
MAX,
Ed, the Stevens trade is probably going to happen, but he really only wants to play for the blues or you.
ED, I’m not sure we are willing to give up as much as Melbourne so I doubt it will be us.
MAX, did collo speak to you a couple of weeks ago?
ED, dunno what you’re talking about, I told him to bugger off.
MAX, If Nick nominates you only there’s a good chance that you would get him for bugger all, and if you don’t then Carlton should get him for free.
ED, I’m sure we would be keen if the trade didn’t cost us much, I’ll speak to my guys.

Butters to Collins, 2005

COLLO, Mate the watts boy wants us or you.
BUTTERS, we haven’t got enough to do a deal,
COLLO, I’ve spoken to his manager and he thinks that if Ferg nominates you only you should be able to get him for bugger all, if not we gets him in the PSD.
BUTTERS, do a Stevens with him??????
COLLO, dunno what your talking about. But the crows would be a lot more likely to do a cheap deal than port ever would be, You could actually get him for bugger all.
BUTTERS, could be seen as draft manipulation?
COLLO, nah, imposable,
BUTTERS, I’ll talk to my guys

Jim Watts to Max Stevens
JIM, Max are we on?
MAX, yep, just don’t offer anything more than what you’ve got now, don’t get a 3rd club involved and you should get him.
JIM, are you absolutely sure that the Crows will fold?
MAX, If they let him go in the PSD I would be surprised, but at least he could live back at home.
JIM, we are going to offer them 2 guys we are going to delist anyway and our 2nd round pick.
MAX, that should do it.

St DAC said:
Fair enough, Stevens served 2 contracts. He still wanted to go home, as others have done, and many others will do. There's been a fair few SA players come home over the years to the chagrin of their former clubs, yes?

Are you thick? As has been stated plainly TIME AFTER TIME, it is not the fact he's leaving, it's the fact that he has left after ONLY 2 years, WITHOUT establishing a good trade value for us, WITHOUT returning any of the club's investment and trying to screw in the process.

There is a HUGE, HUGE difference between Stevens and Watts and if you can't see it you need some bloody glasses.

The only players who have done something this scumful in recent history are Anthony Rocca and Shannon Grant. That we know those names so instantly are because acts this low and pathetic are so rare. And even then, I'm pretty sure neither of those two had the nerve to nominate a club.

Stiffy_18 said:

ONYA TRIGGY!

SteveTrigg.jpg

Mad Dog said:
Teach the ********er a lesson I would have thought.....onya Triggy.

Just a shame Richmond didn't finish bottom.....that would have been the ultimate insult..... :p

Triggy has always come accross as a level-headed, professional, laid back sort of guy. But I get the feeling if you cross him or the AFC things may get ugly for you.

Keep up the good work Triggy.

crows98 said:
So in 3- 5 years time you will not be ********ed off that you allowed Fergus Watts to slip through your fingers so easy? The kid has potential that’s why we are so annoyed, had he been an average player MEH but key forwards don’t come along every day (unless like St Kilda you tank a few years for Priority picks).

Fergus Watts could potentially become a AA CHF or Full Forward in 5 or 6 years, that’s why you have to trade on market value and potential rather than what they have done up until now. St Kilda will be kicking them self if they let Fergus go to Carlton but then again there ethics and morals towards non Victorian (or any other club maybe) is right out of the Allan Bond and Christopher Chase book of wheeling and dealing. But then again a sub plot may come in again in 12 months that a good player from St Kilda may get traded to Carlton in 12 months time for Watts.

If we don't cut an acceptable deal with AFC to recruit Watts then in 3-5 years I won't care at all if he turns out to be the next Tredrea or not, not a Saint then too bad, that's life (& footy). You don’t always get what you want and adults learn to deal with that.

You were travelling alright until rampant stupidity got ahold of you and you started spruiking about Allan Bond et al. There is not a deal done yet, how do you know if you did well in it or not? It's way too early to shout "we woz robbed by St Kilda" and denigrating our deals with non Vic teams is just foolish. Did you not get Begley honourably? PA seem to be able to deal with us OK (you could argue they did particularly well out of the Brooks trade) and we've done acceptable deals with WC, Freo & Brisbane over the past few years. You just sound paranoid.

Surmising that a future deal with Carlton is on the cards so that we get Watts via the back door is mind-numbingly stupid. If Watts proved to be worthwhile, and Carlton had him, why would they trade him? They need KPP as much as anyone else, perhaps more so.

The Saints seem to be pragmatic in their trades; a deal is done, OK. A deal is not done, that's the way it goes.

And note I didn't bother to slap you for your PP drivel. Repetition doesn't make BS into whipped cream.

just maybe said:
Are you thick? As has been stated plainly TIME AFTER TIME, it is not the fact he's leaving, it's the fact that he has left after ONLY 2 years, WITHOUT establishing a good trade value for us, WITHOUT returning any of the club's investment and trying to screw in the process.

There is a HUGE, HUGE difference between Stevens and Watts and if you can't see it you need some bloody glasses.

The only players who have done something this scumful in recent history are Anthony Rocca and Shannon Grant. That we know those names so instantly are because acts this low and pathetic are so rare. And even then, I'm pretty sure neither of those two had the nerve to nominate a club.

Just because you repeat it doesn't make it fact. What length of time makes it OK to go home? 2 Contracts? 3? 4? 10 years, or you are an ungrateful wretch? Frankly, you need an adjustment to your perpective if a kid wanting to go home is rated "low and pathetic". Disappointing? Sure. Low and pathetic? Hardly.

And no, I'm not thick; I just don't agree with you. I'd expect you get that a lot. I sure do! :D

Stiffy_18 said:
No, not kidding. Take a look at Demons B&F count for season 2004 and take a look where Thompson is placed before he got injured. Also take notice where other midfielders are placed at that point in time. Even Meblourne posters on BF said he was their best midfielder before the injury and his injury was a major reason why their season went pear-shaped.

As for Stenglein-Thompson trade, I always thought we got better off on the deal. We got younger, more attacking inside midfielder and a 2nd round draft pick that got us a KPP in Chad Gibson. Even in hindsight we got the better end of the deal.

If you're content with that deal then more power to you. WC seem happy with Stenglein, and AFC should be with Thompson. Win/Win then.

Hopefully, any Fergus deal is as successful for all parties.

JeffDunne said:
I think Adelaide supporters are upset with Fergus because he’s insulted their city.

South Aussie xenophobia at it’s best. :thumbsu:

No, they seem genuinely affronted, and seem to taking it personally. This has got to be the longest thread I've ever seen on an unproven kid leaving a club, and the level of vitriol is astounding. Reminds me a bit of the gnashing of teeth over the Goddard selection and loss of draft picks by Carlton.

I didn't realise the kid was gunna be that good ... ;)

43 pages, quite astounding.
I think the whole going home thing is fine, we have to expect the possibility when you draft a kid from another state. Also, giving a preference of a club (St Kilda in this case) is fine, players are entitled to do that.
What sets Fergus apart from say McConell for the Eagles is that he has put a gun to your heads by saying that he will go in the PSD unless you trade him to StKilda, and St Kilda only. That is basically called F$%^ing your club over, and I sympathise with you guys since you may have to lose a promising youngster for nothing. What Sh%tty, sh1tty thing to do. He should allow you guys to trade him anywhere in Victoria, simply giving preference to St Kilda if possible. That is the decent and honest thing to do, though it doesn't seem like he has a lot of either of those qualities.

Back off Watts

The Advertiser reports Adelaide has warned forward Fergus Watts not to dictate terms in a trade to a rival AFL club next week.

Watts, 19, has issued an ultimatum he will only accept a trade to St Kilda, but the Crows, who are talking to St Kilda, do not want to be blocked out of striking a better deal with rival Victorian clubs when trade talks open on Monday.

We will not be dictated to," Crows CEO Steven Trigg said.

This means Adelaide may lose Watts without a player or draft pick in return. "Fergus has his rights to decide where he will play his AFL football but our football club also has rights to decide how that trade unfolds," Trigg said.

"We will not have Fergus dictate where he goes. We're very pleased to deal with St Kilda, as long as we get a fair and reasonable return for a 19-year-old, key forward who has proven he is ready for AFL football."

Source: footygoss.com

Some one had to tell the little arseh*le, his head has seemed to explode a little bit after that 10 goal haul.

JeffDunne said:
I think Adelaide supporters are upset with Fergus because he’s insulted their city.

South Aussie xenophobia at it’s best. :thumbsu:

LOL, your joking Jeff Dunne

By all accounts young Fergus was the one who didn’t fit in (or wouldn’t fit in) with the playing group. Maybe Fergus Watts was unduly fearful or contemptuous of that which is foreign (Maybe a life outside his bubble and with out the silver spoon in his mouth), especially of strangers or foreign peoples (Stop being a snob Fergus and accept that you have to live you own life).

Re: Back off Watts

wizard_9 said:
The Advertiser reports Adelaide has warned forward Fergus Watts not to dictate terms in a trade to a rival AFL club next week.

Watts, 19, has issued an ultimatum he will only accept a trade to St Kilda, but the Crows, who are talking to St Kilda, do not want to be blocked out of striking a better deal with rival Victorian clubs when trade talks open on Monday.

We will not be dictated to," Crows CEO Steven Trigg said.

This means Adelaide may lose Watts without a player or draft pick in return. "Fergus has his rights to decide where he will play his AFL football but our football club also has rights to decide how that trade unfolds," Trigg said.

"We will not have Fergus dictate where he goes. We're very pleased to deal with St Kilda, as long as we get a fair and reasonable return for a 19-year-old, key forward who has proven he is ready for AFL football."

Source: footygoss.com

Some one had to tell the little arseh*le, his head has seemed to explode a little bit after that 10 goal haul.

Been posted already

http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=201002&page=42&pp=15

I'm a crow supporter and I agree with the sentiment (excluding the barb aimed at the fair city of Adelaide). We're talking about 19 year old kids here. When I was 19 i was imature as f#$k too. I can only assume AFL players are the same. If Ferg feels like he is best served going home, who are we to judge him or his motives. Guys like Stiffy on this forum should know better and should not be sending so much venom his way.

When I was 19 I was living on the other side of the world, earning stuff all, working huge hours...why? for the experience and I am a better person for it.

I wasnt living a one hour flight away, earning 60K a year playing footy.
If the bloke has no heart and is homesick, fine, we will try and send him home, but he has no right to hold a club, who gave him his start in the AFL to ransom. What sort of individual does that?

I dont think people are mad because he wants to leave but more so at the fact he is playing it they way he is.

pext said:
I'm a crow supporter and I agree with the sentiment (excluding the barb aimed at the fair city of Adelaide). We're talking about 19 year old kids here. When I was 19 i was imature as f#$k too. I can only assume AFL players are the same. If Ferg feels like he is best served going home, who are we to judge him or his motives. Guys like Stiffy on this forum should know better and should not be sending so much venom his way.
And when I start taking onboard what imbeciles like yourself tell me to do, then its time for me to stop living.

Who the hell are you to tell me how I should feel and what I should do. Simple, if you don't like what I post, then don't read it. Its no rocket science even for someone of your capabilities :rolleyes:

Now, Mr 18 (if I may call you that), if I were to walk up to your mum in the street and call her a whore what would you say? This is the exact same character assassination you are performing here. Just because you have the veil of aninomity that the net allows you does not give you the licence to attack people like I have been seeing. I feel very strongly about this and believe you (and your mates) have devalued this forum by your actions.

Calling me an imbecile does not devalue my view in any way.

Just because you know Fanta does not mean that you can attack an essentially good bloke like Fergus without review.

Fact of the matter is that Ferg is a normal bloke doing what he feels is best for him. Sure it is disappointing to lose a quality player but does it warrant the treatment you're dishing out. I sincerely doubt you gave the same treatment to blokes like D. Jarman, S.Thompson, J. Begley, C. Ladhams, etc who moved in our favour.

Take a good hard look at yourself for all of our sakes champ.

pext said:
. I sincerely doubt you gave the same treatment to blokes like D. Jarman, S.Thompson, J. Begley, C. Ladhams, etc who moved in our favour.
the difference between all those guys and Watts is none of them said "either trade me to AFC or I will p1ss off in the PSD." they all expressed their preference to move home, but left it to the club to find a suitable trade, none of them demanded a one club only trade and held their club to ransom.

as I said earlier, it's fine to want to move, it's fine to name a club of preference, it's not fine to tell the club you will only go to that one club because then you're basically screwing the club. All he had to do was tell them his preference and he probably would have got it anyway, instead of holding the club to ransom.

Watts names St. Kilda