Wayne Careys off camera perfornance last night

• Thread starter Jenny
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

J

Jenny

I was at Colonial last night. I sat near the Lions cheersquad. Not a Lions or Roos supporter.
What I saw was absolutley disgraceful.
At one stage he picked up the football and threw it at a child in the Lions cheersquad.
Then he continued to verbally abuse these people.The f, and c words continually flew from his mouth.I didn't hear any abuse from these people. I was gobsmacked.
This is supposed to be the King.
I don't care how good a footballer he is, he is pond scum as a human being.
He deliberatley hurt a child.I think thats called assault.
No excuses for that.
He should be fined by the AFL. Good role model for children there......

jenny--that is horrible to hear. I must say, though, that it does not surprise me. after having read some of the other postings here about this footballer... doesn't anyone at the league take these things seriously? as a female afl supporter, I am continually disappointed at the blatant sexist attitude of the league.

does this man hate women and children or what. they set him up on tv as some sort of role model.

personally, I would not let my kiddies watch him.

These players should leave their agression on the field. In the past when a spectator has hit a player etc, they have been evicted or charged.
Just because he is the King, doesn't mean he shouldnt be accountable for his actions.
Under no circumstances should any player do this.
An apology from him should be forthcoming.
That Collingwood supporter was evicted, investigated, charged, and apologised.
Why not the King.

well, fibula--this suggests that a complete change of attitude is needed--coming from the top and moving right down through the whole league. the number of serious incidents that have occurred in recent months, some involving sexual assault, should not be allowed to be brushed under the carpet. I hope YOU are not saying that the alleged incident should not be investigated.

I was sitting with the Brisbane Cheersquad last night - 3 down from the boy that was on the receiving end of the football. I flew 2000k's to see my team play. This was the first time for me ever seeing the Lions play in Melbourne - and I was disgusted. Below is a copy of my take on the situation as I posted on another site:

"From now on I don't give a rats who plays on Carey - as long as they deck the friggin tosser! I have never seen such a disgraceful display from anyone, let alone a so called 'professional' footballer!

For those who weren't there (cause it wouldn't have made it on tv - otherwise the AFL would actually HAVE to do something about it!) - the egotistical emotionally stunted piece of inbred pig excretement, lost the plot and picked up the ball - then pegged it at one of the teenage members of the Lions cheersquad! It was a disgraceful display that just kept going from that point onward! He blew kisses, poked out his tongue and made bleeding heart motions to all of the Lions supporters. Then he had to go one better - turned around, opened his arms to the Lions supporters behind the goals and yelled to all of them "you are all a bunch of f*****g c***heads!"

WHAT A FANTASTIC SPOKESPERSON FOR THE AFL!!!"

What can one say.
Thats a slur on our game.
But what can you expect when he is not pinged on the field, cited by the tribunal. Not disciplined for his off field behaviour.
He has no boundaries, he is allowed to do what ever he wants.He is a product of the AFL and Norths marketing, but unfortunatley a lot of these incidents are being seen by the general public.
The sooner he retires the better.
A few years ago I saw him at the MCG. I was outside the rooms waiting with the kids for some autographs.This little girl asked him nicely for an autograph, and he pushed her aside,glaring at her.Maybe he wasn't in the mood or whatever, but to crush a child like that was just plain cruel.He didn't do any autographs that day mind you.

I have posted on this before they are a disgrace down there. the AFl should intervene and clean that club up.

Danni,
Is the kid alright.I would have been livid if that was one of my kids.I would have been going to the nearest police officer and laying a complaint.Which by the way still can be done.
You do not pay money to go to the football, to get hit on your person by a footballer throwing a ball at you.This was not apart of play.
The AFL has a legal responsibility here. They should have an investigation by that Lewis gentleman.I am sure there would be plenty of witnesses. Sounds like there was.
If I was these people I would email the North Melbourne club, the AFL and so on. Its not good enough.
I bet if the kid have had wacked Carey over the fence all hell would have broken loose by now.
He may have frustrated at the particular point in time he did that, but he seems to have continued with his obnoxious behaviour. So its not a fleeting temper explosion.

you were so right, don, and people here at this message board tried to push such serious issues under the carpet.

I found it a little disappointing, personally, that this sort of attitude is accepted.

as a female supporter of the afl--no, as just a plain supporter of the afl, I want to say how disgusted I am. I hope this is brought to the attention of the authorities.

I also want to say--how sorry I am for the children involved. I hope that they are not put off football, which is a game I love dearly.

(go tigers!--we cleaned up our act, why can't other teams and the so-called superstars!)

An apology. That will never happen.He is a protected species.
He should say SORRY, to that kid.
I to hope that the kid, and the other children who saw this incident aren't put off.
Although its probably a good lesson, that what you see in the media is not always how it is.
I am a family person, AFL club member.
The AFl is still an old boys brigade.
Women and children should not be subjected to this sort of behaviour.
As for the allegations of players in assaults and sexual assaults. They should be all be accountable for their actions.
By the way how would any of you like it if it was your kid last night, or your wife or daughter in these incidents.
They are not gods these guys.If they break the law they should be punished. But as someone else said. That will be the day.
I am afraid that thats what society is teaching our kids, that its not a level playing field.Hard lesson for a kid, siting and watching the footy to learn. The so called Role Model for all kids, comes up and hits you with the ball. Nice one.If that was outside the ground, he would be charged with assault.But because he is a footy player, aint gonna happen. Some world we live in.

ginger--I am having a hard time believing that this could have occurred in this day and age of professinalism and nothing has been done about it.

I am worried about it continuing.

they try to promote this game as friendly to men and women alike, but how true is it.

Personally, I do not like the old boy's club culture that protects men like this from being reprimanded or at least having to say sorry (it takes a really big man to say sorry). I think you can sense a bit of the locker room culture at this web site, too. most of the people who post seem to be guys--and few, other than don, seem willing to confront these serious issues.

Now Now my little precious ones. Calm down before you hurt yourselves. Through this thread the alleged incident started off being purpetrated against a child then a teenager, what next a grand-father? And the Brisbane Cheer Squad were sitting there silently not saying a word to Him. Maybe they were in awe at seeing the flock of pigs trying to get out through the closed roof! He enjoys having a spot of byplay with the opposition supporters and,yes, occasionally He will play catch with them, but if you're not ready, remember , He throws hard! He will also preach to the unconverted in a language they appear to be most comfortable with. What a guy!!

Groucho you are a dead set MORON!!!!!!!!

Someone said a child - someone in the thick of it renamed it as a teenager! Carey is a friggin arsewipe - actually no - that is insulting to toilet paper! I had the unfortunance of witnessing his spoilt brat show of temper tantrums last night!! Call the people on here precious???? Look at that friggin prik!!!

The issue here is that he is so high profile and is behaving so badly. Has he become so high he is now untouchable??? He seems to think so!

Disgraceful stuff. Kids should'nt be subjected to this rubbish.

If you really want to make this guy accountable dont go to the AFL or North - try your nearest newspaper or TV or Radio Station. Yes they all love him, and yes you shouldnt have to go to this extreme but the publicity can hurt him. Look at what kind of abuse Shane Warne got when he had a go at those kids in NZ. He'll probably squirm his way out of it, but it might make him think twice before he tries it again.

now now groucho!
what were you drinking last night?
again you seem to have been watching a completely different game to the rest of us!
first you say (on another post) that the umpiring was fair & now this comment.
perhaps all kangaroos supporters live in fairyland now! they can see the end coming & are in denial!
i can see it now.....canberra kangas
or......png kangas......ah who cares where they go......as long as they go! ( & you & carey the fairy go too )

Strewth .Groucho you are pure and simply stupid.
Do you honestly believe its ok, its a bit of byplay. He will play catch, but he throws the ball hard.Unbelieveablly moronic.
Child, teenager. Splitting hairs. Anyone under 18 is legally a child.Turkey.
Maybe you were one of the dead set fools who were drunk last night,abusing people. Mind you women and children as well, because they were in Lions gear.Sorry for mentioning the women and children, but they have a right to feel safe at the footy.Are all the players and supporters from this sub- species.
I hope that Carey gets what he deserves.He can't be allowed to continue in this vein.
But then again with idiots who are Roos members thinking its ok.Well , what can I say.
I have been to the football for the last 20 years. I have never ever seen anything like that before.
What would have happened if the kid/teenager had of given Carey a slap across the fence. Oops, slap on the wrist, evicted, he is a very naughty person. Media, police involvement,where as Carey is allowed to do this.
Nup.Not on.
I hope he fries for this.
I agree go to the media. Heaps and heaps of people saw the incidents.Pillock he is.
And whether you like it or not Groucho it is not acceptable behaviour in our society.

Debra I don't think it should be swept under the carpet, but nothing will happen. The so called KING is a protected species (esp using his elbow). Nothing it does surprises me.

Took some of your advice and emailed the footy show - even if it gets a mention it will be worth it. The pig has gotten away with shit for way too long. Let's hope the teenager is not going to turn into a pychopathic stalker and shoot the pig in his tracks. Actually - maybe it would be a blessing in disguise if he did!

As much as we non roos despise Carey, the fact that it was Carey throwing rock hard (and they are pretty hard)Sherrins at spectators is beside the point. The fact that any player goes out of their way to try and scare a spectator is absolutely abysmal. As far as i'm concerned, if he did the same thing to another player he would probably be penalised a free and or a 50m. Maybe if an incident such as this occurs a shot for goal from point blank could be a suitable penalty. Maybe a report leading to a fine or a week's suspension.
Anyway, the AFL are struggling to get crowds through the gate's this year. The last thing they need is supporters not going for fear of their safety because of the scum element in our game. Bear in mind that if it happened the other way and a player was hurt there would be public outrage.

How about emailing the Herald Sun,and The Age. or 3LO, through the abc website.Listening to the radio last night, 3 LO were appalled at the WHOLE game.

yeah, jenny, that's a great idea--emailing and writing to these people.

I've said it before: we cleaned up our act at the tigers; why aren't other clubs

we went without key players for a couple of matches--and we were all the better for it.

but if north melbourne were to suspend carey--we all know what that would mean on the playing field--no carey, no north!

the tigers were big enough and its supporters got behind the boys and the admin 100%. we are proud of our club and copped it hard on the chin.

let carey get what he deserves! let the kid get what he deserves--a public apology--like shane warne did to the kids in nz. that's what makes warnie a legend and carey not, no matter how much the publicity machine tries to make him out to be a superstar.

be a big man wayne and apologise to us all!!

Other than Groucho, who can't see the woods for the trees, there is a distinct lack of Roo supporters on this thread.

It is because they know what a thug this w***er is. He doesn't just confine it to the opposition players, where he is protected by umpires and officials, but thinks he can be protected with the general public as well.

Great idea, lets all go to the media, E-Mails, letters, phone calls. This guy thinks we all adore him, well wake up w***er, even your own Roo fans have deserted you on this one.

I don't think this forum is the only area with a distinct lack of North supporters.
Carey, great player, probably a great guy 85% of the time off the field. Thats my impression, maybe he's a terrific actor. Anyway, I think Carey can get white line fever and i think we underestimate the importance of the game to him last Friday. Not condoning what he did, or saying there are valid excuses, but obviously he snapped at that poor unfortunate cheersquad member.
If a player snaps at another player on the field a free is given against him, and if severe enough its a report. Should be an automatic report if a player snaps physically at a crowd member. Something along those lines.

lionsrock7, welcome to bigfooty.

As you are new you probably dont know that there are a number of regulars to these boards who are quite strong in their support for the Roos. But in this thread they are absent.

The Wayne Carey thuggery and his protection has been a common topic also, and these same Roo fans have been strong in their support and excuses for him.

It seems that this time he has gone too far for even them to defend him. For that I praise them. They are not letting their football ellegiences get the better of them. They have not tried to defend him on this one.

There is no defence. I did not see the incident but many obviously did and they have been very quick to condemn him. I don't like letting prior records cloud issues but in the case of Wayne Carey the AFL protection of this guy is almost as bad as his behaviour itself.

Wayne Careys off camera perfornance last night