Player Watch Wayne Milera

Yeah but it(apology)doesnt have to be made. We choose to because "Optics". Its weak as piss.
Let's hope we never hear Riewoldt criticize a club or player again. Good luck with his media career if this is the environment he wants to work in.

Spot the difference time:

Stengle literally ODs in a nightclub and plays the next week

Geelong: "**** off everyone - his drink was spiked. Nothing to see here."

Junior makes one minor, off the cuff comment that's pretty accurate and even Sydney aprobably agrees with

Adelaide: "Oh no what an awful thing to say😭😭😭. Milera was so mean!!! Sorry guys!!! 🫶🙅"

Reckon it is they don’t want us to become “waking the sleeping giant”.

Any minor issue the media seems to blow it up.

Loved hearing Browny stick up for Milera on fox footy on the couch. Riewoldt admitted going too hard at him however the whole football community has stuck up for Milera which is great.
Silvers went way too early and totally embarrassed himself

Silvers showing a surprising lack of experience here, you'd hope behind closed doors he has spoken to Milera.

So the bad guy here is the AFC and not the scumbag Riewoldt who completely overreacted.

Loved hearing Browny stick up for Milera on fox footy on the couch. Riewoldt admitted going too hard at him however the whole football community has stuck up for Milera which is great.
On the Couch was fairly good to the AFC, with one curious omission.

Bicks was discussing the great FF perfomances of Elliott, rightly, and was canvassing the problem he poses oppo coaches. He discussed a couple of possibly suitable defenders and concluded that there weren't too many.
Noting that Elliott has scored 6, 1, 5, 5 goals in the last 4 matches, I would have thought that his oppo in the second week (us) would be the obvious go-to (whoever that was).

On the Couch was fairly good to the AFC, with one curious omission.

Bicks was discussing the great FF perfomances of Elliott, rightly, and was canvassing the problem he poses oppo coaches. He discussed a couple of possibly suitable defenders and concluded that there weren't too many.
Noting that Elliott has scored 6, 1, 5, 5 goals in the last 4 matches, I would have thought that his oppo in the second week (us) would be the obvious go-to (whoever that was).
I took it as noone really has a Silvagni old school type defender like the old days as Elliott plays more like a stay at home full forward.
We have Worrell and Max but they're prototype rebounding defenders.
They did talk up our defense though.

I took it as noone really has a Silvagni old school type defender like the old days as Elliott plays more like a stay at home full forward.
We have Worrell and Max but they're prototype rebounding defenders.
They did talk up our defense though.
Who stood him in our match? Give him the job.

The club ****ed it here, they could have just ignored it but chose to 'apologise' and in doing so made it a bigger deal than it needed to be tbh....
100%. Could you imagine Eddie McGuire knee-jerking like Tim Silvers did?

Do we even know what the apology was? Silvers may have very well said “Look mate, the media have gone a bit hard here, all Milera was saying was that the players seemed disorganised on the field. We rate your footy club highly and certainly dont think you’re a rabble”

Tom Morris asked J Hird And J Bartel about it and Hird seemed confused why it was even an issue. If you lose by 90 points obviously you are a rabble he said. Surely Sydney couldn't have been offended they agreed, Cox probably called them far worse.

From my understanding, Sydney werent insulted and thought nothing of it. A true footballing brain understood where Milera was coming from. He didnt say one bit the club was a rabble. His context was strictly on the field. People being offended on behalf of Sydney need to simply **** off. If you dont understand Mileras point, you know sweet **** all about football and Silvers owes Milera an apology!

It’s taken sooooo bloody long for him to find form again and I reckon Saturday night was the first definitive evidence of it being back…and then he opens his mouth. Hope to God that this doesn’t spook him and he reverts to inconsistency again.

I know I'm in the minority opinion on this, but Aiston is off-base here. He's acting like the club felt they had to apologise, because the game is too sanitised, etc. Like the club felt that Milera had done something unacceptable that must be atoned for.

No, the club chose to apologise, because they wanted to blunt it as a motivating factor for Sydney against us going forward. They didn't need to, nobody would have said anything if they didn't. They chose to.

Even Riewoldt never said that it was disgraceful, or that the club owed an apology, or anything like that. He said the comments were disrespectful - and he was right. They were disrespectful comments. Whether or not you think Sydney deserves respect is a separate issue.

This is not about the club being soft. They're not accepting a penalty, or fining Milera, or anything like that. They're being proactive and saying "right, let's just nip this one in the bud" and then moving on. It's a non-issue.

No, the club chose to apologise, because they wanted to blunt it as a motivating factor for Sydney against us going forward. They didn't need to, nobody would have said anything if they didn't. They chose to.
I disagree with this . Whether we apologised or not Sydney would use it anyway - its what clubs do. Its manufactured in every club - hell its Ports DNA to get upset

I know I'm in the minority opinion on this, but Aiston is off-base here. He's acting like the club felt they had to apologise, because the game is too sanitised, etc. Like the club felt that Milera had done something unacceptable that must be atoned for.

Even Riewoldt never said that it was disgraceful, or that the club owed an apology, or anything like that. He said the comments were disrespectful - and he was right. They were disrespectful comments. Whether or not you think Sydney deserves respect is a separate issue.

This is not about the club being soft. They're not accepting a penalty, or fining Milera, or anything like that. They're being proactive and saying "right, let's just nip this one in the bud" and then moving on. It's a non-issue.

Youre probably right.
An apology based on the fear of firing up opppsition is even more insipid than one motivated by wokism.

Either way, there was no need for one.
Better off closing ranks and backing your player in.

Kind of don't mind the media being more focused on this than blowing smoke up our ass all week tbh. If we drink bathwater we'll lose Friday for sure

Reiwoldt if you listen to the comments again, was saying that we should drop Milera this week given we dropped Rachele for something 'similar'.

Ridiculous from him.