Player Watch Wayne Milera

• Thread starter Thread starter cmndstab

God forbid someone posts on this board without mentioning these two.
God you hate them, don't you :p

All I'm thinking is that there's a reason we recruited them. We obviously believe they have the talent - they just need to show it. Just like any player under 24 on our list.

Jesus mate I think you are emotionally invested in them not making it! They are skilled, fast new recruits who both play in a position of need why not get excited.

Our record is quite good in targeting and trading in young fringe players who turn out to be the real deal. This year we have 3 to get excited about.

Jesus mate I think you are emotionally invested in them not making it! They are skilled, fast new recruits who both play in a position of need why not get excited.
No problem with that at all and I would LOVE them to succeed and light it up for us. But geez there are other players on our list we can get excited about.

One of those is Milera, so let's talk about him, it's his thread after all. Every bloody thread I read turns into a fap over Seedsman, Hampton and Menzel.

Yeah, why bother mentioning them when we have such quality as Mackay and VB in the wings... ;)

Why not talk about Wigg for example? Highly talented, touted as the best kick in the club, talked up be the other players, ended up a star in the SANFL in the last few games? Guess he's not a new toy though

Probably because Wigg is not afl ready.

He might get a gig before Menzel, who knows.

If Menzel isn't quite fit enough and we really are rotating mids heavily through the forward line and defence to rest them (due to the rotation caps) then Milera is quite probably the better selection. Would be good if he had a lever-like first year.

He did have a good finish to the season, that said, i struggle to really envision a position for him seeing he's short and not express pace. That said, arguably there is always a place for an elite kick in the side. I.e. i want to see him reinvent himself and/or perform at SANFL level for a bit longer before i get bullish on him.

Now, back to why i'm excited on Hampton and Seedsman is both are quick, tall and have elite disposals. I.e. they have every physical requirement to be elite outside midfielders. Whether they do have it mentally is another thing, but should they click, they'll click in a big way. I'd give them a run of games to see if it happens, especially as they are getting to an amount of games that they should become more consistent.

Of what ? His SANFL games, or training ?
Sanfl - he is well behind other players on our list in terms of being afl ready.

It's only my opinion that he us back in the queue... But time will tell.

May play games later in the year if he can play some solid Sanfl footy.

Sanfl - he is well behind other players on our list in terms of being afl ready.

It's only my opinion that he us back in the queue... But time will tell.

May play games later in the year if he can play some solid Sanfl footy.
Did you see any of his last 3-4 games in 2015?

He might get a gig before Menzel, who knows.

If Menzel isn't quite fit enough and we really are rotating mids heavily through the forward line and defence to rest them (due to the rotation caps) then Milera is quite probably the better selection. Would be good if he had a lever-like first year.
I really believe Milera will play rd 1. I think he'll adapt well in the NAB challenge and push on from there.

He has versatility which is a huge tick for Pykey. He is slight, but has reasonable height and is so evasive and hard to lay a finger on that he can get away with it. Plus his defensive pressure, willingness to do the hard things and general fitness for a first year player are all very good. Not to mention his disposal efficiency and decision making. He is exactly what we've been missing.

He did have a good finish to the season, that said, i struggle to really envision a position for him seeing he's short and not express pace. That said, arguably there is always a place for an elite kick in the side. I.e. i want to see him reinvent himself and/or perform at SANFL level for a bit longer before i get bullish on him.

Now, back to why i'm excited on Hampton and Seedsman is both are quick, tall and have elite disposals. I.e. they have every physical requirement to be elite outside midfielders. Whether they do have it mentally is another thing, but should they click, they'll click in a big way. I'd give them a run of games to see if it happens, especially as they are getting to an amount of games that they should become more consistent.
Just looking at Taylor durea from hawthorn and they both have v similar physical profiles ( same height , wigg lighter but younger )

And they are both exceptional left foot kicks

Durea had a season last year where his contested marking and contested ball improved

I see wigg developing into a v similar player if he can also work on these things and his body size

I'd be happy with that , might take another year or 2

I really believe Milera will play rd 1. I think he'll adapt well in the NAB challenge and push on from there.

He has versatility which is a huge tick for Pykey. He is slight, but has reasonable height and is so evasive and hard to lay a finger on that he can get away with it. Plus his defensive pressure, willingness to do the hard things and general fitness for a first year player are all very good. Not to mention his disposal efficiency and decision making. He is exactly what we've been missing.
I agree , I think he will show enough to debut in round 1 and may have a v good start to his career before burning out in round 6-10

Would be amazing if he ends up playing all season and figuring in rising star

He's outside but he's not afraid to go when it's his turn and he's great in traffic

Did you see any of his last 3-4 games in 2015?
Not live.

I haven't seen him as thoroughly as others have... but from what I have seen he is well behind being AFL ready like a Hampton or Seedsman who are both around the 50 game mark after only 1 year at SANFL level, where he hasn't got to the consistent level yet to push for AFL selection.

He may be having a ripper pre-season & be a bolter for selection, but I would say unlikely. If he does, good luck to him as we need more elite ball users.

My gut feel is he is still a year away from AFL level. He is still only young. Happy to be proven wrong.

IMO, Milera is more likely for round 1, given Menzel is coming back from injury & now Knight is injured.