WCE v Richmond

Dec 7, 2000
Victoria home of football
Eagles
The eagles will go into this match with a real chance of coming away with 4 points. And with the timely inclusion of Braun and Jones the teams confidence could hardly be higher.

The eagles come in with nothing to lose as they have won 2 games more already than mast "experts" had predicted before the season. Richmond on the other hand come into the game with enormous pressure on them to win in perth for the first time, finally string together 3 wins and prove that they will be top 8 contenders.

Richmond also have injury worries, with Ottens having a test on his ankle and Daffy having problems with his knee.

Another positive for the eagles is the match fitness of both Cummings and Phil Matera, first time they are REALLY fit in the same game since about rnd5 2000. And with some match fitness under their belts we could see 7-10 goals between them. Also, Cousins, Banfield, Kerr, Cox, Gardiner, Roo, Jako, Macca and morrison are in great form, and with Tommy stil to have a full game and Willo out to prove his accuracy the eagles are looking very dangerous.

West coast by 4 goals.

Thats my match preview(i know it's biased, but who cares about richmond on the eagles board), other match previews would be appreciated, even from tigers supporters.

P.S. I wrote this preview because this will be the first time this year i will see the full game live this season, so don't get your hopes up for future previews (and if it's a shit preview, don't tell me about it, i'm a sensitive person
wink.gif
)

------------------
"I'm not going to waste my life trying to prolong it"

And i know that there's match previews in the previews and reviews section, but this is an eagles biased preview and therefore belongs on the eagles board.

Also, does anybody read that forum? Because i have never heard of anyone responding to the previews with critisism, abuse, etc.

------------------

Well D4E, I reckon it aint a no lose game. If we lose I wont be anything like as happy as a win and we need another 10 wins to guarantee finals footy.

It aint gonna be easy. Yea we've played well in two wins but we nearly let Freo back into the game and they aint anything like as good as the Tigers. We're going to have to be pumped up and hard at the footy and Gardy, Roo, Coc, Kerr, Banners, Milli and Jako are going to have tp be at their best again.
If Kempy and Jonesy are fit it will help emormously. Brauny will need another week or so to get match fit.
We need everyone to be at the game and to scream the Subi roofs off.

I think the key to this game is if Ottens doesnt pull up for the game. If he doesnt play then they will be weaker in the ruck therefore letting Cox play more in that position and sending Gardy forward.

I think we can certainly win it with home advantage and there little Subi hoodoo but our defence will have to stand tall like it has the last couple of weeks. A lot of our offense flows out of half back so we need them to fire.

GO THE MIGHTY EAGLES!!

Im expecting the game to be a tight one but Richmond I think will win in the end cause they just have a bit more class at the moment. Cant say much though, have so much homework to finish off before school starts again
frown.gif

Vis

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes:
I wrote this preview because this will be the first time this year i will see the full game live this season,

I'm so horribly tired and busy at the moment - the only thing getting me through this week is the knowledge that I shall be watching it live as well - for the first time in about 10 months!!!!
smile.gif
smile.gif

Originally posted by jod23:
Forgot to add my team to take on Richmond.

Wirrpunda McIntosh Collica
Morrison Jakovich Matera
Braun Kemp Kerr
Merenda Wilson Jones
Matera Cummings Fletcher
Gardiner Cousins Banfield

Cox Williams Prior Taylor

Cheers

Not bad mate

it is

Backs: David Wirrpunda Ashley McIntosh Michael Coillica

Half-backs: Chad Morrison Glen Jakovich Peter Matera

Centres: Richard Taylor Ben Cousins Daniel Kerr

Half-forwards: Andrew Williams Trent Carroll Michael Prior

Forwards: Dean Kemp Troy Wilson Phil Matera

Ruck: Michael Gardiner Drew Banfield Chad Fletcher

Interchange: Dean Cox Scott Cummings Callum Chambers Mark Merenda

Bollux to Carrol at CHF....or in fact anywhere

I reckon Carroll should still be given a go but KJ cant honestly expect him to perform at CHF. THE GUY IS A DEFENDER!!! Play him at CHB yes, but the guy needs some marking practice before becoming a key target.

Vis

PS Whats with Cummings on the bench?

No Jones or Braun? Carroll still in the team? Cummings on bench? Is KJ smokin pot or something? No rational person would pick that squad. Jones and Braun might not be his fault, but the squad is really messed up. Maybe KJ is trying to fool richmond.

------------------

i would say the make-up of the announced won't be anything like what it will be on the night.

I really doubt were going to go into the match with an average player in the most crucial position on the park.

In most games the two CHF battles are the most important matches - but in tommmorrow's match, they're going to be more than the most important battles.

I would say the two CHF/CHB duels will almost definetaly decide who wins the match.

I just saw the team on afl.com and then above and it doesnt look the best. Its a pity that Jones and Braun didnt pull up for the game but the most puzzling of all is Cummo on the bench? What the hell is that about?

I think it is just a few head games Judge is playing and on the day Cummings will line up at FF. CHF will be the key and i think we once again need to throw Cox into the deep end and let him start in the ruck with Gardy at CHF and Carroll on the bench. Cox seems to respond well when under pressure so why not give him a go. I think Carroll was a good choice to play as they have a lot of tall forwards in Holland Gale Ottens and Richardson but naming him at CHF is surely a joke.

------------------
Use the force Luke ....

WCE v Richmond