We are gone

• Thread starter Thread starter auste1234

I think I speak for all of us by asking what the hell have you been smoking

Crack, but thats beside the point. Our finals have just started a few weeks earlier than expected.

I'm sure that after sitting through the replay of Fridays game and watching what us supporters had to :o, Freo should come out fighting and win at least 1 of the remaining games. Geelong were lucky the Tigers sprayed a few crucial shots on goal; that could've been an upset as well.

ImperialPurple said:
And I'm a good, fair, just, nice person so I should bloody get it!!! :D

We aren't fooled by the false persona you exhibit here. We all know you are a crafty old biatch. :D

West Coast Stre said:
We aren't fooled by the false persona you exhibit here. We all know you are a crafty old biatch. :D

Why does it not surprise me that it's you who has replied to that Streaker me old pal??

Takes one crafty old biatch to recognise another! ;)

Exeter said:
What, like Worsfold?

Yes i believe he is a good coach or someone like a pagan would be ideal.

Its all been said before - if we don't win one of our next 3 games, we don't deserve to be in the finals. Why couldn't we beat Geelong or St Kilda away, let alone beat the Eagles. You never know. What this weekend taught us with the Ess v Carl, WCE v Brisbane and even the Coll v Freo game was that nothings a certainty in a two horse race. Freo has achieved lots of firsts this year - lets hope they create another one next week.

Like everyone, I wish they had secured a top 8 spot by now. We can look back on the season and probably look at 4 or 5 games we should have won. The loss on Friday night was worth 4 points (just like the game against Hawthorn in Tas). They're all as important as one another.

The next few weeks will see what our boys are made of. If they are good enough - they'll be in the finals..no excuses.

RIPPER_46 said:
So we need a coach with an inferior win/loss record to what we have now?

That makes sense.

Rip, I'm sure you're as bemused as I am that some of your confreres are already writing off the Dockers chances and calling for the coach to be replaced.

Wouldn't have thought it was time to panic just yet.

Meanwhile, on the other side of town, things are starting to come up roses. Our riotous stand up comedian of a coach has shepherded the Eagles through a dark and stormy night and all is looking good for the future.

All it takes is a week, if the mob down the road gets touched up by the Blues at home watch how many "the sky is falling" threads start popping up.

And thats just the thing, in a space of a week with a win against the Cats we could turn this all around, point is all is not lost as long as there's a game this week we are a chance.

GO DOCKERS!

viper60 said:
All it takes is a week, if the mob down the road gets touched up by the Blues at home watch how many "the sky is falling" threads start popping up.

And thats just the thing, in a space of a week with a win against the Cats we could turn this all around, point is all is not lost as long as there's a game this week we are a chance.

GO DOCKERS!

That's two big "ifs".

I prefer our chances against the Blues at Subi to the Dockers v the Cats at Kardinia Park

True exeter I would prefer the blues at home as well but my point is the before the weekend results the Eagles downing Brissie & the 40 point last quarter turn around by the Roos were two big "ifs" as well. ;)

RIPPER_46 said:
So we need a coach with an inferior win/loss record to what we have now?

That makes sense.

no ripper that point that you make is not a good enough reason to win an argument ...answer me this in your opinion who has the better squad from a talent perspective right now fremantle or the eagles ? then look at what the coaches have had to work with then look at the draw we have had this year(IMO the eagles have had the tougher draw) then look at the injuries we have and theirs then ask yourself who has done better as a coach with their stiuation

tico said:
no ripper that point that you make is not a good enough reason to win an argument ...answer me this in your opinion who has the better squad from a talent perspective right now fremantle or the eagles ? then look at what the coaches have had to work with then look at the draw we have had this year(IMO the eagles have had the tougher draw) then look at the injuries we have and theirs then ask yourself who has done better as a coach with their stiuation

Who has been flogged by 101 points?

Who has been Flogged at Optus by the same amount we won by?

Which team is the best away team in the AFL in 2004?

Ok , We have dropped a few home games but I know what problem I would rather have to fix.

There is only 2 (yes two teams with an away % of better than 100%) and we are one of them.

What measurement would you like to use?

And who is the only team not to lose by at least 6 goals?

Don't worry about the draw, The E-girls have met Brisbane twice very undermanned and scraped a win. At least when we met them with only 17 premiership players we did the job on them by 10 goals.

RIPPER_46 said:
Don't worry about the draw, The E-girls have met Brisbane twice very undermanned and scraped a win. At least when we met them with only 17 premiership players we did the job on them by 10 goals.

Scraped a win - 69 points against the Lions at the Gabba last year isn't exactly scraping a win. And the 14 points we beat them by away this year is greater than the 12 point margin that Freo beat a very weak Adelaide team at AAMI.

As for undermanned - We lose Gardiner for most of the season, Embley has only just come back, Cousins has been missing for the past 4 matches, Gaspar is out and we have a young squad.

Take the chip off the shoulder and reflect on your 2001 wooden spoon.

Ruddiger said:
Now all you need is a decent coach.
Don't forget - West Coast have had no wooden spoons.

Our current coach did not win the wooden spoon, Ha has taken a wooden spoon team ahead of their much lauded cross town neighbours.

He actually has a better win ratio even thought they have caoched exactly the same amount of games.

Ruddiger said:
against the Lions at the Gabba last year

2001 wooden spoon.

We're the weevils, the wet toast weevils
and we're here to show you why
we love the distant past
when we were glorious
we're the weevils
but now we're carp

Ruddiger said:
Scraped a win - 69 points against the Lions at the Gabba last year isn't exactly scraping a win.
I didn't actually mention 2002 but now that you have I seem to think they were missing a few then as well.

And the 14 points we beat them by away this year is greater than the 12 point margin that Freo beat a very weak Adelaide team at AAMI.
How long since you had a win in Adelaide against a weak team that flogged The dees by 12 goals and pushed the Saints last week?

As for undermanned - We lose Gardiner for most of the season, Embley has only just come back, Cousins has been missing for the past 4 matches, Gaspar is out and we have a young squad.

Cox has more than filled in for Gardiner , You are actually playing better more direct footy without Benny coughing it up an doing his 1-2 handballs to boost his possesion Count

And CC wasn't in charge in our wooden spoon year. He has taken over aspoon team and had a BETTER WIN RATIO than his much vaunted neighbour across town.

disclaimer - I dont actually think the toasters are carp - I think they've done very well and they should be pretty damn happy with the way their young guys have come on this year...

but if there is ever a supporter who loves living in the past - it's a toaster.

move on fellas - try and look forward, I know it's hard for you blokes, but hanging on to the past is not healthy for your mind and soul.

Geez someone got out oof bed the wrong side this morning... the posts have been coming in "thin" and fast.
Shouldn't you be making breaky or something IP? ;)

Eagles4Eva said:
Geez someone got out oof bed the wrong side this morning... the posts have been coming in "thin" and fast.
Shouldn't you be making breaky or something IP? ;)

aahh rack off. This one was last night - the others were responding to some crap on the front page. BTW - it's all about priorities; kiddies get fed after mother has checked the boards!
Anyway, the trollster extraordinaore has reinvented himself yet again - someone has to keep the troops abreast of movement in the enemy ranks. :D
"Total Package" is trying to fool us with a new nick that doesn't involve using a real name. What's the saying - leopard can't change its spots... might be using a new name, but the "message" is still the same. :rolleyes:

And if Freo win this week everyone will jump back on and talk them up. I'm not going to say we are gone with 3 games left and 1 win required.

Nah, we're not gone. The other week i dreamt we would lose to Collingwood (wasn't pleasant and I dismissed it as not possible... :o ). As we all know, it came to be.
Then Sunday night - I kid you not - I dreamt we beat Geelong by 11 points. Who knows?? But I am on Freo to beat Geelong by 11, and secure our finals position. ;)
I could go belly up, but at least it's given me some hope and lifted the darkness I felt over the weekend. :D