Opinion We Drive to the World Stage in an MG ...

MG Australia’s flagship store wins five international design awards

The in-store interactive display is designed to educate customers about the future of electric vehicles.

MG Australia has won five international design awards for a sculpture displayed in its flagship Sydney store in Alexandria.

The sculpture, titled ‘Electric Meets Reality’ is described as an “immersive installation”, inspired by the brand’s first electric car – the ZS EV SUV – which is due in Australia later this year.

1589530010807.jpeg

1589530065096.jpeg

Would love to see something like this on display connected to the Club with the theme of Port Adelaide District Redevelopment.

Jun 7, 2015
Port Adelaide
I would like to hear the counter arguments to the following as except for a few minor points I agree with it based on the knowledge I have.

I do want to make the point though, I am not anti-China, never have been, never will be.

I do however think we need to diversify our supply chains and become more self-reliant rather than accept being little children at the feet of the US and China.
It greatly concerns me that those who supply the raw materials to these countries have too much influence over what our governments do.

I would like the Great Suppression to spawn the Great Reinvention of Australian Industry but as I said I am not closed minded on this and would like to hear other opinions. If this is not the thread for this discussion then please move my post.

May 26, 2017
Uruguayana, RS (BRA)
Port Adelaide
Grêmio, DC United, Pistons
I do however think we need to diversify our supply chains and become more self-reliant rather than accept being little children at the feet of the US and China.
Not the right thread, but I would like to stress that, sometimes, to grow up, one needs to accept being a little child. Moreover, being able to play both China and the US (while helping the UK strengthening the Commonwealth) would be a sign of maturity rather than childishness. It may take time and is far from easy, but Australia can totally pull this off.

On the other hand, back on the subject, Port's China project doesn't need to mean DEPENDENCE on China. We are trying to become INDEPENDENT and using China to achieve it. We don't need to stop at China. If we succeed there, there is nothing saying we should stop. On the contrary, we would be able to move beyond it.

RossFC stuck this edited grab of the video that was on Footy on nine twitter account a couple of Wednesday's ago, into the PB thread on the main board.

Lockhart Road posted - Eddie makes no secret of having a paid mole in the Alberton boardroom.
and Essendon supporter boncer34 posted - I wanna hear more on this - Ross posted this which made it very clear.

If we want to drive onto the world stage and maximize our benefit there, we need the PB's there also, because it means we aren't thinking small and we have pissed off blockers like Cardone out of important decision making positions.

Nov 6, 2014
Port Adelaide
RossFC stuck this edited grab of the video that was on Footy on nine twitter account a couple of Wednesday's ago, into the PB thread on the main board.

Lockhart Road posted - Eddie makes no secret of having a paid mole in the Alberton boardroom.
and Essendon supporter boncer34 posted - I wanna hear more on this - Ross posted this which made it very clear.

If we want to drive onto the world stage and maximize our benefit there, we need the PB's there also, because it means we aren't thinking small and we have pissed off blockers like Cardone out of important decision making positions.

Are there any other SAIC brands as major AFL/NRL sponsors
Not when I checked back in late December.

I would not be surprised if the Maxus T60 dual cab ute which in Oz and NZ isn't branded under SAIC or Maxus but as LDV T60.ends up sponsoring a pro team in Oz. Unless we are smart and pounce and make them part of the whole package with SAIC. .

Jonts

Nov 7, 2009
Port Adelaide
Flagstaff Hill FC, Tottenham
Not when I checked back in late December.

I would not be surprised if the Maxus T60 dual cab ute which in Oz and NZ isn't branded under SAIC or Maxus but as LDV T60.ends up sponsoring a pro team in Oz. Unless we are smart and pounce and make them part of the whole package with SAIC. .
Yeah that's what I was hinting at

The Ute and van range of LDC is a decent entry level option and only getting better, without MG having any Ute or van options themselves it's a great idea.

Personally the 2.8L LDV with a tune up sounds great to me. Bit sceptical on their new 2L option

The Ute and van range of LDC is a decent entry level option and only getting better, without MG having any Ute or van options themselves it's a great idea.

Personally the 2.8L LDV with a tune up sounds great to me. Bit sceptical on their new 2L option
The LDV - Leyland Daaf Vans SAIC tookover years ago - T60 ute was what I pitched at my second meeting with Andrew Hunter. He told me at that meeting it was another SAIC brand we were pitching to and up against 3 others. At the next meeting he told me it was MG and we were down to having to only beat the Rabbitohs.

One of the objectives of this thread is to promote the role of what I call Specialist Volunteer Committees in the rapid financial recovery of our Club.
So far and recently such Specialist Volunteers have contributed to the BBTB offensive and to Marketing boosted by the success of the MG / SAIC breakthrough.
Indeed MG is but one automotive brand under the SAIC umbrella.
Please let REH know by PM if you wish to be involved.
It sounds to me like you have a valuable contribution waiting to happen.

Jun 12, 2012
Port Adelaide
I noticed on MG’s website tonight that they have ZS and HS grades called “Essence Anfield” - basically they’re Liverpool-themed special editions with red leather, stitching etc. Not sure if it’s tied to the Premiership win or just part of their sponsorship with LFC.

Weirdly enough you can’t buy a red one but they come in black and white, which got me thinking maybe MG could do a run of “Essence Alberton” cars to commemorate our 150th. Would be a pretty neat cross-promotion and could close a few supporters thinking about buying one. A bit of teal trim here and there might win over a few general buyers too (non-supporters) who aren’t keen on red.

MG haven't missed a beat - relatively. each link lists every manufacturers sales

April figures April 2020 on April 2019 MG +1.5% - most companies - 50%~-60%
Official figures show a total of 38,926 vehicles reported as sold – versus 75,550 for the same month last year – a decline of 48.5 per cent, versus sharper declines overseas of between 80 and 98 per cent.

March figures March on March MG + 75.5%

VFACTS data compiled by the Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries released today shows that car sales fell by 17.9 per cent compared to March last year, to 81,690 sales.

February figures February on February MG +128%
New vehicle sales in Australia fell double digits yet again in February, to 79,940 units (a reduction of 10.3 per cent over the same month in 2019).

January figures January on January MG + 82.7%

The Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries (FCAI) has released VFACTS new car sales data for January, and the results don’t look pretty. The peak body recorded 71,731 sales, down 12.5 per cent over January in 2019, which was itself the worst sales-year since 2011.

2019 final figures
2019 sales over 2018 sales MG +176.9%
Australia’s 2019 new car sales tally finished up almost 8 per cent down on the previous year, making it the worst since 2011.
MG continue to out perform the market. that's good for Ports. Will probably sell more units this year 12,000+ than peak year when Renault sponsored Port in 2016. Were on track to double last years 8,300 units until virus hit.

June figures June 2020 on June 2019 MG +32.9% - most companies - 5% to - 10%

Australians treated themselves to more than 110,000 new cars in June 2020 – the strongest monthly result since June last year and better than was widely anticipated – as most of the nation gradually emerged from COVID-19 lockdowns.

The recovery was also driven by tradies and small businesses buoyed by the Federal Government’s $150,000 instant asset tax write-off, which saw all three German luxury brands – Audi, BMW and Mercedes and Japan's Lexus – post massive sales growth, and many mainstream dealers sell out of utes and vans even though the scheme was extended to the end of the year at the beginning of the month.

Contrary to earlier predictions between 85,000 and 95,000 vehicles would be delivered last month, official figures released today by the Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries showed a total of 110,234 were reported as sold in June 2020, a decline of only 6.4 per cent compared to the same month last year – and a stark contrast to the 35.3 per cent and 48.5 per cent declines in May and April respectively.
The new-car sales result for the first half of 2020 – 442,415 vehicles reported as sold – was down 20.2 per cent compared to the same period last year, following record declines in the grip of the crisis in April and May. And it was the 27th month in a row of year-on-year decline. [MG are up 54.4% on first 6 months of 2020 over 2019].

and - car advice stopped listing all makes sales monthly figure, so see them at

May figures May 2020 on May 2019 MG +14.5% - most companies - 30% to -50%

Buyers appear to be returning to showrooms as COVID-19 restrictions are eased, according to official new-car sales figures for May 2020.After new-car sales dropped by 48.5 per cent in April – the biggest decline in at least 30 years – the slowdown of 35.3 per cent in May is being viewed as a sign the worst could be over. Figures from the Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries show a total of 59,894 vehicles were reported as sold in May 2020, versus 92,961 for the same month last year.

and

Grave Danger put some info in the It's Official - MG sponsor thread, but given I have been quoting the monthly stats in here, I will keep the update stats in this thread for comparison for the rest of the year.

July MG sold 1,115 units compared to 702 last July, beating Holden's 1,113. Mercedes-Benz cars made top 10 in June for the first time in Oz and stayed there in July. Mercedes-Benz vans are reported separately (they sponsors the Dogs). YTD MG have sold 6,857 vs last year YTD 4,420 a 55% increase.

July figures July 2020 on Jul 2019 MG +58.8% - most companies - 10% to - 25%

Australia, we have a new winner: the Toyota RAV4 topped the monthly sales charts for the first time ever in July, as buyers continue to shift towards SUVs and shun passenger cars. It is the first time in the 26-year history of the Toyota RAV4 nameplate that it has led the Australian new-car market in the monthly sales charts. The Toyota RAV4 was elevated to top spot after increased stock arrived to fill customer orders that had been waiting for up to 10 months – and dealers ran out of utes during the boom in June that was driven by end-of-financial-year tax incentives.

Overall new-car sales in July 2020 were down nationally by 12.8 per cent, with 72,505 vehicles reported as sold.

It was the 28th month in a row of year-on-year decline – the longest continuous slump since the Global Financial Crisis a decade ago – and the weakest July result in 18 years. However, it was the fourth strongest sales month so far this year.
Miscellaneous
Electrified vehicles – including hybrid, plug-in hybrid, and full-electric – combined were up by 104.8 per cent from 3387 to 6935 examples reported as sold in July 2020, however this was largely driven by significant growth of conventional hybrid vehicles, in particular the Toyota RAV4.

Sales of purely electric cars fell by 40.3 per cent (138 reported as sold), compared to a 109.5 per cent increase in plug-in hybrid sales (132 reported as sold), and a 115 per cent increase in hybrid car sales (6665 reported as sold).

Figures from Toyota show more than 80 per cent of RAV4 sales in July were hybrid. The year-to-date sales mix for the Toyota RAV4 is now 60 per cent hybrid.

Interesting that an SUV has taken over as the #1 selling model from a Ute. MG in the last month of so, has introduced 2 more SUV's into Oz. The MGHS which was the flagship model for their Indian production factory opened last September and the MGZST, the T stands for Technology and has some features extra to the MGZS.

fireboy

Oct 23, 2008
Port Adelaide
Given Cos Cardone has been suggested to be a mole on the PAFC Board ( Caroline Wilson) has there been any movement from the administration to express interest or open at least one or possibly two new board members.

I doubt the benefits outweigh CC being on the board than not

Lockhart Road / REH ?

Given Cos Cardone has been suggested to be a mole on the PAFC Board ( Caroline Wilson) has there been any movement from the administration to express interest or open at least one or possibly two new board members.

Lockhart Road / REH ?
haven't heard anything, but i hope so.

Lockhart Road / REH ?
My guess is this would be among many items to be clarified after the new CEO is announced.

Jonts

Nov 7, 2009
Port Adelaide
The new MG ZST has dropped
Receiving a much needed torque and kilowatt boost. Think it will be a option to consider in the cheaper small SUV sector. It's safety features are up there with the best and the 7 year warranty is also in the top echelon.

Excite from 29490 and the Essence model from 32 490. Just needs a half decent accessories catalogue

Sep 8, 2007
Port Adelaide
Port Adelaide (SANFL)
I have been looking at this for myself. Very concerned with the resale value of the vehicle in the future though. Not convinced just yet.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Jonts

Nov 7, 2009
Port Adelaide
I have been looking at this for myself. Very concerned with the resale value of the vehicle in the future though. Not convinced just yet.

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
Yeah I can't see it holding much at all after the warranty runs out, look at other SAIC model brands as a reference

Jonts

Nov 7, 2009
Port Adelaide
But in saying that in it's price point and sector it's fairly comparable to most others for the first 7 years under warranty

Before I started chatting to Andrew Hunter about SAIC, my mate who is a car guy, thru work got a SAIC Magus T60 dual cab ute marketed in Oz and NZ as the LDV T60. He raved about their value for $$$ and said the price point plus the 7 year warranty meant the resale value becomes less important, especially if you were more likely to turnover a work car closer to 7 years rather than 4 years.

I assume SAIC's MG models have a similar equation.