We got the Jack

• Thread starter Thread starter yakka man

Nahh, he had it correct.

I had forgotten about Mayne. Our midfield is going to need an extra three spots to field all our supposed talent.

first one was right, he was correcting the second

"you're sitting 6th" - in any case, end of the regular season we'll be 2nd.

What you say doesn't make sense. If you have a look at the rookie draft there were some good ready made Key defenders taken after us. If you have seen Faulks at training or on the FTV video's he is almost the skinniest bloke on the list. Hopefully his speed will help him play on the key forwards but his body size needs a lot of work. And we are a club in development mode hence the rise from fourth last on the ladder.

Any how the club has stated before that they need KPP's and were going to target them. Look at Mcpharlin, history shows that rarely does he play a full season injury free, similar with Grover. All we need is one of them to get injured, perhaps one to retire and we are screwed.

They picked up Griffin, Faulks and Anthony ... so they DID address issues with tall players. How many more do you want?

Can't you grasp that no 18 year old KPP we could have picked is going to help with our premiership tilt in the next few years? We have to go for a flag now, stop perpetually building for the future.

You say there were these "ready made key defenders" in the rookie draft? Who are you referring to? I quickly flicked through the list and can't see anybody that fits that description. Regardless, we already took 2 of the VFL's best performed key defenders.

But if we are finished with our re-development like you guys say and our premiership window is only in the next couple of years than why wouldn't they be trading away our top picks for established players who are ready to make an impact straight away. For someone like Mitch Clarke? Obviously Mark Harvey and the club believe there is still work to be done otherwise they wouldn't of drafted raw, unready players in the NAB Draft.

Actually if you look at Mcpharlin and Pav our two best KPP's they were both top ten picks in the 99 draft. We havn't used our first draft pick on a KPP in a long time while other clubs do. ie Michael Hurley at Essendon, Tate Pears, Jack Riewoldt etc. I have always believed our midfield to be our main weakness but that is has been addressed and just needs a year or two for experience. Next weak link in the chain is KPP's.

They drafted these raw, unready players because they can still make an impact in the next 2-3 years during our premiership window, and fit the bill of what is seemingly going to be the focus of our gameplan ... a swarm of 185-190cm utilities with great pace/skills/endurance. And how do you know we didn't try to get Mitch Clark? I'd say we did, and will look again at the end of 2011.

Essendon has created a big problem for themselves by continually using their top pick on talls. Their midfield is an absolute joke, and all the KPP in the world won't help them. We simply had to take the likes of Palmer, Hill, Morabito when we had the chance, as our midfield was woeful. That's the way it goes. Now that we went out to pick 20 ... your own argument is a good reason why we didn't take any talls. There is a very high strike rate of KPP uselessness after pick 20.

Should be a good recruit.

I must say (without being a suck up) I really like Fremantle's recruiting this year. I remember a few years back when your side went deep into the finals and you went out to recruit those ready made players like Tarrant and Solomon and basically gave away some high draft picks and what not to gain their services, and it didn't come off, but this time around, and the last few years also you've really hit the nail on the head.

This year was a really good year going forward for Freo to really take that next step and rather than looking to find that star from another club to gain improvement, they looked to the state leagues, and IMO found some gems, kept their first round pick, spent it on a player who has a lot of ability in Pitt who can play quite a few different roles with large upside, and then taken a young man in the PSD that could develop into a pretty handy player if he works on the right things.

Faulks IMO could be among the best full-backs in the AFL within a year or 2 as he is just so competitive and strong at the ball and the player, plus he's very neat with the footy, hates to be beaten, has that real burst of speed good full-backs generally have, and Mzungu could also be one of the recruits of the year and now that Hayden is injured should get a go early on. He will add a fair bit to the squad, and of course Anthony has previously kicked 50 goals at AFL level in a season as a young man trying to hold down full-forward, so if he gets it right, he's worth his 50-60 goals a year up there.

And you lost Tarrant, who has ok been solid, but approaching the twilight, and has had a few injuries of late. It really just opens up a spot for Faulks, Anthony and of course a chance to try Sibosado at AFL level down the track.

I feel this squad has what it takes and at worst will play off in a prelim this year and may even go that one step further and get their first major crack at an AFL flag.

For what it's worth I hope this squad takes you to the ultimate glory as I would really like to see the dockers take home a cup.

They picked up Griffin, Faulks and Anthony ... so they DID address issues with tall players. How many more do you want?

Can't you grasp that no 18 year old KPP we could have picked is going to help with our premiership tilt in the next few years? We have to go for a flag now, stop perpetually building for the future.

You say there were these "ready made key defenders" in the rookie draft? Who are you referring to? I quickly flicked through the list and can't see anybody that fits that description. Regardless, we already took 2 of the VFL's best performed key defenders.

They drafted these raw, unready players because they can still make an impact in the next 2-3 years during our premiership window, and fit the bill of what is seemingly going to be the focus of our gameplan ... a swarm of 185-190cm utilities with great pace/skills/endurance. And how do you know we didn't try to get Mitch Clark? I'd say we did, and will look again at the end of 2011.

Essendon has created a big problem for themselves by continually using their top pick on talls. Their midfield is an absolute joke, and all the KPP in the world won't help them. We simply had to take the likes of Palmer, Hill, Morabito when we had the chance, as our midfield was woeful. That's the way it goes. Now that we went out to pick 20 ... your own argument is a good reason why we didn't take any talls. There is a very high strike rate of KPP uselessness after pick 20.

Your argument is opposite to what i am saying. What i am saying is that you will look like an idiot if god forbid in a couple of years we aren't quite able to make a grand final or win a premiership and Mcpharlin, Grover etc retire and we are straight back to the botom of the ladder. Because even though we might have a great midfield, goals are scored to easilly against us. Geelong had a super midfield but they also had Matthew Scarlett destroying the oppositions forwards.

The underlying point i am trying to make is that if we have a well balanced team we can achieve sutained success where as you seem to think our only chance is in the next couple of of years. Where as you are not taking into account that our younger players (Hill, Morabito, Palmer, De Boer, Crichton, Robbo, Walters, Suban etc) are going to be at their most dangerous in 3 + years.

Your argument is opposite to what i am saying. What i am saying is that you will look like an idiot if god forbid in a couple of years we aren't quite able to make a grand final or win a premiership and Mcpharlin, Grover etc retire and we are straight back to the botom of the ladder. Because even though we might have a great midfield, goals are scored to easilly against us. Geelong had a super midfield but they also had Matthew Scarlett destroying the oppositions forwards.

The underlying point i am trying to make is that if we have a well balanced team we can achieve sutained success where as you seem to think our only chance is in the next couple of of years. Where as you are not taking into account that our younger players (Hill, Morabito, Palmer, De Boer, Crichton, Robbo, Walters, Suban etc) are going to be at their most dangerous in 3 + years.
Yakka your discounting the improvement that will come from Siba Shepherd,Faulkes,Griffen,Silvagni,Mora who has the build to be anything he wants to:D and the possibility of trading or drafting what we may need into the future
08, 09, these boards were full of how our lack of kpp,s would doom us to years on the bottom and West Coasts perceived plethora of young KPP,S would bring them a golden era.
Look how thats turned out ,most of their so called young gun bigs have fallen over and not adapted to the modern game and their lack of midfield skill,speed and depth is killing them.
The mix we have of tall, quick skilled, runners who can adapt to a quick moving zone is the team of the future.Most of those have the ability to pinch hit if needed in the key positions.
Unless your a Buddy or a Pav or a Nick with that ability to run all day you wont be any use in the modern game.
Its a game plan that doesnt include slow moving gorillas

I wasn't discounting them Salim. As you just said there is no guarantee that they will come on and Sibo/Shep havn't showed a lot so far and Faulks is completely untried . Even though the game is moving away from KPP's you still need them otherwise your small defenders will get hammered. For example if we play Adelaide who do we play on Tippet (201cm's, 100 Kg's) and Walker (192cm's, 97 Kg's)? Both have great talent and are big strong bodies.

However i will have to agree to disagree on this one because it seems that every one is against me.

For example if we play Adelaide who do we play on Tippet (201cm's, 100 Kg's) and Walker (192cm's, 97 Kg's)? Both have great talent and are big strong bodies.

If you put enough pressure on supply the ball wont come in as much to their advantage. The faster defenders can also run off and reload the attack.

Even with these guys, Adelaide lost a lot of games they were expected to win.

I cannot stress enough the talent you guys are getting here. The guy kicked 75 goals in his first two seasons of AFL including 50 goals in his first full season.

As I'm sure you're all aware, he's a dead eyed dick, in his first couple of seasons he was so accurate it was extraordinary.

He's good n the lead, great in the air, and I must praise him for his ability to bring his teammates into the game, ie moving his opponent away to give another teammate a chance to mark/crumb the ball. I know he played his junior footy as FB, but I reckon it would be silly of Fremantle not to play him out of the goalsquare, defense should be a last resort for him. I said the same thing when he was playing for us.

On a bit more of a lighter note, this is how he takes his set shots. Just thought it was an interesting watch, and pretty unique how he follows the exact same steps every shot he takes.

[youtube]y6sjCXn8Jio[/youtube]

Anyway, enjoy guys, great talent, and get a few pre-seasons into him and I can potentially see him becoming a 60/70 goal per year player for you guys. Enjoy. :)

I cannot stress enough the talent you guys are getting here. The guy kicked 75 goals in his first two seasons of AFL including 50 goals in his first full season.

As I'm sure you're all aware, he's a dead eyed dick, in his first couple of seasons he was so accurate it was extraordinary.

He's good n the lead, great in the air, and I must praise him for his ability to bring his teammates into the game, ie moving his opponent away to give another teammate a chance to mark/crumb the ball. I know he played his junior footy as FB, but I reckon it would be silly of Fremantle not to play him out of the goalsquare, defense should be a last resort for him. I said the same thing when he was playing for us.

On a bit more of a lighter note, this is how he takes his set shots. Just thought it was an interesting watch, and pretty unique how he follows the exact same steps every shot he takes.

[youtube]y6sjCXn8Jio[/youtube]

Anyway, enjoy guys, great talent, and get a few pre-seasons into him and I can potentially see him becoming a 60/70 goal per year player for you guys. Enjoy. :)

Definetly a great acquisition for us. Hopefully he keeps his reputation for being a great shot on goal and bags 40+ next year.

Actually Jack played Forward all his junior football. He broke a club record for kicking [as a 11 year old] 50 goals for Doncaster Heights I think. So he will have a great pre-season and get his mojo back. Good Luck. Will miss you at the Magpies.:D

An excellent pick up for Freo. Cannot believe other clubs overlooked him. He was simply unfortunate to be at Collingwood when we have some strong KPP options. 12 months ago he was definitely envisaged as part of our best 22. Essendon are crazy for not looking at him, they seem to prefer Neagle & Mark Williams.

He will complement Pavlich very well up forward, but personally if you have other options up there I think he should be groomed as a key back to replace Tarrant. I think in time he will be better as a back than a forward. With the new substitute rule he could be a really important flexible player.