We met the players

59Stanley

May 14, 2019
Just want to shout out to the quality of young men we have at the club. Had the opportunity before the game Saturday night to meet most players (bar Prestia and Mansell). They were all very generous with their time and posed for photos and autographs with my young teenage girls.
I am one that gets very emotional when things are not going well and lament our skills and as a result get very worked up and post some wild posts.
No longer will I do this. Each of these lads has good intentions.
I wont go into each player and what was discussed but wish to share a few highlights:
Vlas was the first we chatted with he is a star on the field and off it. He really appreciated our gratitude towards him.
Taj was second and the kid was so excited and humbled to be playing (we were more excited to meet the Prince).
Hopper was awesome to chat with.
Kosi was like a long lost mate, he beamed when I mentioned his puppy dog and that I might or might not have slipped a bit of hot jam donut to him at a reserves game at Frankston.
Miller was terrific and I asked him to try and snag a goal and he said mate I'm there to bloody stop them not kick them to which I replied just go for a gallop and see what you can do.
Tylar was very keen to get out there.
Jonty and Sims are just great young lads with Sims being a cheeky character.
TT was quite reserved and Broady always pleasant.
Brown, Nipper and Shorty arrived together and they were chatty to us.
Samson was really nice and his foot has been giving him hell. He is enormous and the girls really liked his character.
Sons was good too.
Banksy and Ross were terrific.
Jasper reckons he is right to go.
Seth was asked to backflip again.
MJ is always smiling.
My daughter had her ultimate 5 mins where she got to talk to Macca and couldnt believe she finally met him and then Mykelti (who she just loves) and big H Armstrong who was wrapt to sign his badge that she had.
Met the rest of them too Smil, Kane, Nank etc the club has a very bright future with the character standard of players we have. Go Tiges !

Theres some genuinely good people there. I had a chat to a few at an open training in the pre-season and a couple really stood out. Josh Smillie was one, seems like a really switched on kid. The other one was Noah Balta. Despite the obvious, he seemed like a genuine ripper guy.
He is my 4 year old sons favourite player and when he saw that my son had the 21 on his back he was genuinely so excited that a young kid had his number (although he did ask me if it was actually for jacob townsend :tearsofjoy:)

Just want to shout out to the quality of young men we have at the club. Had the opportunity before the game Saturday night to meet most players (bar Prestia and Mansell). They were all very generous with their time and posed for photos and autographs with my young teenage girls.
I am one that gets very emotional when things are not going well and lament our skills and as a result get very worked up and post some wild posts.
No longer will I do this. Each of these lads has good intentions.
I wont go into each player and what was discussed but wish to share a few highlights:
Vlas was the first we chatted with he is a star on the field and off it. He really appreciated our gratitude towards him.
Taj was second and the kid was so excited and humbled to be playing (we were more excited to meet the Prince).
Kosi was like a long lost mate, he beamed when I mentioned his puppy dog and that I might or might not have slipped a bit of hot jam donut to him at a reserves game at Frankston.
Miller was terrific and I asked him to try and snag a goal and he said mate I'm there to bloody stop them not kick them to which I replied just go for a gallop and see what you can do.
Samson was really nice and his foot has been giving him hell. He is enormous and the girls really liked his character.
Sons was good too.
MJ is always smiling.
My daughter had her ultimate 5 mins where she got to talk to Macca and couldnt believe she finally met him and then Mykelti (who she just loves) and big H Armstrong who was wrapt to sign his badge that she had.
Met the rest of them too Smil, Kane, Nank etc the club has a very bright future with the character standard of players we have. Go Tiges !

Great to hear.

Reckon Tom Sim's video when his name was called out draft night was one of the all time great reactions.

Just wanted to share this video below from the Essendon game just gone, I was lucky enough to be able to head down to the rooms post game with my Son and he was absolutely mind blown (as was I)

He loves Taj! (don't we all!)

Just wanted to share this video below from the Essendon game just gone, I was lucky enough to be able to head down to the rooms post game with my Son and he was absolutely mind blown (as was I)

He loves Taj! (don't we all!)

You lucky people! Must have been absolutely awesome to get to go in the rooms especially after a win. I am extremely jealous. 😉

Legend for sharing this. Massively underappreciated that these blokes are people that just want to do their best. More content like this being shared should help strengthen that empathy (over criticism).

Yes they get paid well and get paid to win games, but these moments are an undervalued part of the job and of being a fan.

No longer will I do this
. Each of these lads has good intentions.
Sons was good too.
MJ is always smiling.
It's ok, we all make mistakes like all the squabbling in here. If you met the people face to face they are all decent people. Glad you got to experience the players.

We met the players