Injury We Need a Win

• Thread starter Thread starter Tulip

...Because this board is dead as anything.

And they can't blame us after the shift they've srved up as a club.

Time to get some passion back :thumbsu:

I never thought I'd say it, but the season's too long! I'm just over footy! Obviously might be a different story if we were finals bound, but even then, 24 rounds is just a touch too long. Throw in our heartless performances over the last month, and I pretty much just want the season to end.

But yes, we need a win. But I'm tipping the Tigers. They seem to have a bit more heart than us at the moment. Players like Sylvia and Scully are going through the motions. Jamar, Garland, Rivers, Morton, Davey, Green, Jurrah are horribly out of form. The youngsters look tired and we are directionless on and off the field. So I can see why it's been a bit dead on this board of late.

Having said all that, I'll be going to the next two games just to get out of the house and hopefully see something decent on the field worth writing about on this board!

I wouldn't say Jamar is horribly out of form. He was the #1 ruckman on Sunday against Cox and Naitanui,

I would agree with the rest of it though.

Unfortunately we are in a bit of a no win situation for the rest of the year. Sure, we'll celebrate the 2, probably 3 wins but they will amount to very little because we already know Melbourne can dispatch weak sides quite comfortably.

Hopefully we some stellar individual performances, that will give us something good to talk about. What I would like:

1) 6 goals and a big screamer to Jurrah
2) Same as 1 except for Howe
3) Same as 1 except for Watts
4) 35 touches and 3 goals for Trengove
5) Frawley to smash Riewoldt as per usual
6) Some nice long runs from half back by Blease
7) Some good enough performances by Cale Morton to give himself reasonable trade value but not good enough to force us to keep him

No way, dees by 50. The boys will be confident as hell for this one and the tigers surely can't produce that twice in a row.
I reckon Howe and Jurrah leading out of the square is really exciting. Everyone will fire for this one.

Fingers crossed peeps. Get behind the lads.

I wouldn't say Jamar is horribly out of form. He was the #1 ruckman on Sunday against Cox and Naitanui,

I would agree with the rest of it though.

Unfortunately we are in a bit of a no win situation for the rest of the year. Sure, we'll celebrate the 2, probably 3 wins but they will amount to very little because we already know Melbourne can dispatch weak sides quite comfortably.

Hopefully we some stellar individual performances, that will give us something good to talk about. What I would like:

1) 6 goals and a big screamer to Jurrah
2) Same as 1 except for Howe
3) Same as 1 except for Watts
4) 35 touches and 3 goals for Trengove
5) Frawley to smash Riewoldt as per usual
6) Some nice long runs from half back by Blease
7) Some good enough performances by Cale Morton to give himself reasonable trade value but not good enough to force us to keep him

Horribly out of form might have been a bit OTT, but since his knee injury he hasn't been the same player. He was ok against an injured cox and a tired Naita on the weekend, but the Jamar of last season would have torn them apart, not break even.

I am loking forward to seeing blease play in the last few games. That is one thing I am keen to see. He will be a player....

The board is a bit on the dead side as the season is basically over for us. We have 3 nothing games left and we are waiting until the end of the season to see if Scully goes and who the new coach will be. Business will pick up then. It's almost as if we are in a holding stage until then.

3 wins to finish the year would be very handy though, no argument there.

I've picked us in the footy tipping, but Richmond will be confident after their win last week.

All they have to do is put pressure on our delivery and its all over for us.

We can't kick a score at present.

Sorry for intruding ... but are you guys serious???

In the last month you've played 4 of the top 5 sides in the competition (am I wrong)? Yes you've done poorly but, and I'm sure you'll correct me if I'm wrong, aren't you still a very young side? Don't young sides lose a bit of confidence from time to time? A couple of your guys may need a bit of a rocket put up them, but thats likely the same for all teams coming from where you've been.

I think that a couple of poor performances, coupled with the coaching situation has made a lot of you think it's a lot worse than it is. Lets face it, Bailey was probably not the man to take you to the promised land. It's better to get that destabilization out of the way now than when you are actually heading into real contention for the flag.

In summary, you guys have a bright future ahead if your management get it mostly right from now. Don't let a bad month cloud your vision of the future.

Great post. Has been a tough year for the Demons in ways. I guess going from 4 wins in 2009 to 8.5 last year made way for huge expectations. Expectations are normal, and I do expect the board to make good decisions for the club and the players to put in 100% week after week. Other than that, we must take things as they come.

Hopefully we can finish the year of with three wins to give us some confidence and a positive outlook going forward. Next year should be an exciting year with a new coach and the Scully drama behind us.

I think what has happened is that after a bad month all the usually perky posters can't be bothered, so the doom and gloom merchants get to run the show for a bit. Three wins to end off the season and we'll be talking up a premiership challenge in the next couple of years, don't worry ;)

That's the way Melbourne supporters do it... ;)

Sorry for intruding ... but are you guys serious???

In the last month you've played 4 of the top 5 sides in the competition (am I wrong)? Yes you've done poorly but, and I'm sure you'll correct me if I'm wrong, aren't you still a very young side? Don't young sides lose a bit of confidence from time to time? A couple of your guys may need a bit of a rocket put up them, but thats likely the same for all teams coming from where you've been.

I think that a couple of poor performances, coupled with the coaching situation has made a lot of you think it's a lot worse than it is. Lets face it, Bailey was probably not the man to take you to the promised land. It's better to get that destabilization out of the way now than when you are actually heading into real contention for the flag.

In summary, you guys have a bright future ahead if your management get it mostly right from now. Don't let a bad month cloud your vision of the future.

Takes a Richmond supporter to tell you guys how its is :)

Thanks mate

Agree with the board being dead as anything.

Tell you what, 186 is probably the biggest reason for the flight from the board.

Three wins to end off the season.
What we ended the year with three wins!

We'll be premiers next year on that form, thats for sure!!

You guys do realise that if Sydney lose their next three (St. Kilda, Geelong and Brisbane) and we win ours, we will be straight into the finals?

Our season could still be alive right until the second last day of the season and if Sydney do lose to Brisbane, Port would be a quarter-final for us!

Or alternatively, if Sydney get thrashed by St Kilda and Geelong by 100+ (not impossibly at Skilled) and we smash Richmond, GC and Port, we might be able to raise our percentage enough.

Both scenarios are strikingly unlikely, but this season is not over!

You guys do realise that if Sydney lose their next three (St. Kilda, Geelong and Brisbane) and we win ours, we will be straight into the finals?

Unless we win our last two matches against Saints and Tigers which would put us on 44 points and leave you guys on 42.

Good point there Tas - although the odds are well against the Kangas as far as that St Kilda matchup goes, I'd reckon.

Anyway, the main thing is we've still got a shot at making the finals, so the season most certainly isn't over by any definition!

Well said NR. Excellent summation :thumbsu:

you need to win the games first.....then work out where in the world you sit on the ladder after that. Worry about what you can control and the rest will take care of itself.

Finals this year will be invaluable experiance for your very young team (not to mention a nice moale booster for Jimmy) but if it doesnt happen this year I cant see any reason to suggest why it can't happen in 2012....

Unless we win our last two matches against Saints and Tigers which would put us on 44 points and leave you guys on 42.

I did think of that but I reckon St Kilda are one of the form teams of the competition and are as good as top 4 material. Kudos to the Roos if they beat them, but I can't see it happening. Not a slight on the Roos at all.

you need to win the games first.....then work out where in the world you sit on the ladder after that. Worry about what you can control and the rest will take care of itself.

Finals this year will be invaluable experiance for your very young team (not to mention a nice moale booster for Jimmy) but if it doesnt happen this year I cant see any reason to suggest why it can't happen in 2012....

Exactly. I don't think we deserve to play finals as we haven't been consistent enough and, even if we landed 8th, we would probably play Carlton who'll smash us anyway. We just need to get through these final 3 games, play as best we can and then look to a new coach and 2012.

Well if the sides above you cant hold on from here to stop you guys making it well they dont deserve it either.

It wouldnt be a bad thing for you guys to 'fall into the finals' if you want to put it that way...and my post you quoted stated why I think that.

Well if the sides above you cant hold on from here to stop you guys making it well they dont deserve it either.

It wouldnt be a bad thing for you guys to fall into the finals so to speak...and the post you quoted stated why I think that.

True, and if we can roll the Tigers today then we are almost certain of winning our last 2 (GC at home then Port), although we haven't looked like winning in Adelaide since 1813 so we are no certs there. If we were to win 2 of our last 3 then we improve upon last year which is amazing considering some of the form we have been in this year.