We Need An Enforcer!!!!

whippety boy

Suspended
With a relatively young list and some exciting talent in our mix: Gibbs, Murphy, Blackwell, Walker etc we need to start recruiting some hard body players who wont take any crap, but at the same time can play the game.

Mitch Thorp would be a beauty as he fits this mould but he wont be available so who could be still around at 17, 19 or 35 who could develop into a real enforcer?

We already have a few young enforcers coming through: JK and Harts.

Hopefully draft O'Brien who could fill this role, and if we are lucky eough, but I highly doubt it, Proud.

Also, the ruckmen: Bryan (if he plays), Ackland and McLaren all have a but of mongrel about them.

There is also something about Setanta that tells me he could ecome aggressive on the field. Hopefully he developes this as he gains more confidence.

And we know that Fev is our best enforcer ATM, he doesn't take crap from anybody.

Hopefully draft O'Brien who could fill this role, and if we are lucky eough, but I highly doubt it, Proud.

Also, the ruckmen: Bryan (if he plays), Ackland and McLaren all have a but of mongrel about them.

There is also something about Setanta that tells me he could ecome aggressive on the field. Hopefully he developes this as he gains more confidence.

And we know that Fev is our best enforcer ATM, he doesn't take crap from anybody.
would like to see him do it better though. alot of the crap fev dishes out is more bavado rather than actually benefiting the team.

T-Bird has never been backward in coming forward either. It will be interesting to see which of the young blokes will step into this role as they begin to realise they're getting bigger bodies.

It was good to see Simpson throw his light frame around in the IR games...hopefully he doesn't try it on with Johnno Brown!!

Waite also enjoys the "physical side of the game".

Hey you guys what is Bryan like as a ruckman.The pies are looking at him or cartledge or keating in the psd draft.Article in todays age.22/11/06

I'd agree with Jeremias' sentiments. Has all the talent in the world but is too short and doesn't work hard enough to compensate for that like some can. Really the opposite of Fraser who works his a*** off all the time.

T-Bird has never been backward in coming forward either. It will be interesting to see which of the young blokes will step into this role as they begin to realise they're getting bigger bodies.

It was good to see Simpson throw his light frame around in the IR games...hopefully he doesn't try it on with Johnno Brown!!

Waite also enjoys the "physical side of the game".

You cannot be serious. He is one of the softest players going around. Multiple times I've seen him shirk it. A shame a bloke that size with his pedigree.

[/B]You cannot be serious. He is one of the softest players going around. Multiple times I've seen him shirk it. A shame a bloke that size with his pedigree.

Perhaps you're talking about a reluctance to put his body on the line, whereas I'm talking about a bit of push and shove. Mind you he's never struck me as soft, maybe we're just watching the games from a different vantage point!

With a relatively young list and some exciting talent in our mix: Gibbs, Murphy, Blackwell, Walker etc we need to start recruiting some hard body players who wont take any crap, but at the same time can play the game.

Mitch Thorp would be a beauty as he fits this mould but he wont be available so who could be still around at 17, 19 or 35 who could develop into a real enforcer?

Good post I agree. I dont think we have much toughness and we need to target some ready made players who are agressive. Simpson, Murphy, Walker, Betts, Stevens, Kouta, Houlihan, Blackwell and Blackwell are all fairly placid in terms of enforcing themselves on the game. You need to have some players like the Carr's, Scott's who can play a bit.

I would be targeting either - Proud, Hislop, Armitage at pick 17
I would then take Renouf at 19 as he is the most developed Ruckman
At 35 we could try and grab another tough mid - perhaps Petterd, Obrien, Connors, Houli, Boak, Urquart, Batsanis if any of them slip which is doubtful but possible.

When I think enforcer I think Pickett type player who can lay heavy tackles, scare other players off putting their heads over the ball and deliver knock-out hip and shoulders...all within the rules...not necessarily those most likely to engage in biffo.
I think Wiggins is very good at that...unfortunately we can't rely on him being in the team long-term.
I think Walker is the best candidate currently in the team...has a very competitive nature and will have power and bulk required after another pre-season or two.

what do u reckon about Djerkurra with pick 17 / 19 as a bit of an enforcer. showed a bit of mongrel in the games i've seen him play.

Djerrkura's isn't as big as Brock O'Brien if we're after an enforcer and Brock has the score on the board since he is a Division one player going up against the best juniors in the country.

Pick 35 if Djerrkura is available.
24. Brock O’Brien (Hawthorn). O’Brien is out of fashion. He is probably a Hardwick or Kingsley type solid, tough back-pocket or tagger. Plays a little taller than advertised, uses the ball well. Tough to pick when a player like him will be taken. Really depends on which clubs (if any) are shopping for a specialist back-pocket. The Hawks love his type and might be his new home. WA directed all their defensive rebounding through O’Brien which reflects his matiruity and kicking skills.
38. Nathan Djerrkurra (Brisbane) – NT player who has been playing his school footy in Melbourne. Deceptively quick although he doesn’t always play with the intensity to highlight the pace. Tested well at camp and can be expected to have more development in him than most having played predominately in school. Has a bit of bulk about him which might have allowed him to bully the Div 2 championships a little where there were a lot of jockeys opposed to him.
O'Brien. :thumbsu:
Hansen might be an enforcer but I don't think Thorp is that type of player. :confused:

Albert Proud would be the perfect enforcer if he slipped and he is a Byron Pickett type player who took on four players on his own in Tassie last year. :D

I think Walker is the best candidate currently in the team...has a very competitive nature and will have power and bulk required after another pre-season or two.
Agree with this. I enjoy watching Walker one on one with an opponent because of that competitive nature.

bryan and harts are the only ones i see with balls. And fev of course. i can see russel being in the same as he has put on a ******** load of bulk. hopefully it all doesnt fall off.

I'm a Djerrkurra fan. I saw him play in the U18 Carnival and I reckon everything he did was "class", and he didn't mind the hard stuff as well. Looks ready made (solid type and bloody quick) as he appears to have built himself up with weights & performed extremely well in the Draft Camp in the Sprint. Ended up an AA. I JUST WANT HIM BADLY.

Strewth Lance! I think you need to reach for the kleenex...:D

Ive definitely seen waite get a bit touchy, and by reports he is starting to sound massive.

but what do you mean exaclty a Hall style thug of bloke, a carey style game breaker, or a brown type man mountain ?