lmaohelp

Mar 18, 2008
NY Rangers
The below says it all, but I love the Essendon FC but what we displayed today highlights the fact that our coaching group are OK with mediocrity.

They do not demand enough and the respect between players and coaches is non existent.

I'm not calling for Clarko, I'm calling for change. A cultral shift is required a ruthleness within the club is required. Otherwise we will continue to display the types of cr*p shown tonight for many,many,many years to come.

I know many will not agree with the below and that is totally fine. I'm entitled to my opinion and emplore all of you who feel the same, to sign the below.

Ignoring the fact that no one in a position to do so would actually do it, the biggest problem with something like this is that it doesn't actually do anything.

Sack them and replace them with who? Is there a plan somewhere or is it just a mad scramble to replace them with anybody (who knowing Essendon will be a club legend not picked on merit).
Does sacking these guys suddenly make all the players buy in a and learn to run defensively?

Fans don't need to have all the answers, but they need to have some. Otherwise endeavours such as this actually just help those in power ignore calls for change because they can point to the 'vocal crazies' when issues arise.

Putting that petition to one side, you're absolutely right that members need to start demanding change.

One of the few things this club has been very competent at is manipulating the member base to keep the status quo. Increasing the number of Director appointments to the board while sandbagging member-elected positions with boys club of Sheedy/Madden/Wellman.

People wonder how Dodoro continues to survive when its his mentor in Sheedy who conducts the 'reviews'.

Ignoring the fact that no one in a position to do so would actually do it, the biggest problem with something like this is that it doesn't actually do anything.

Sack them and replace them with who? Is there a plan somewhere or is it just a mad scramble to replace them with anybody (who knowing Essendon will be a club legend not picked on merit).
Does sacking these guys suddenly make all the players buy in a and learn to run defensively?

Fans don't need to have all the answers, but they need to have some. Otherwise endeavours such as this actually just help those in power ignore calls for change because they can point to the 'vocal crazies' when issues arise.
The point in the petition isnt to actually get them removed. It's to show that we do not agree with what is happening. Its a matter for the board to put things in place and then remove them. How silly of you to think its as easy as just removing them and be done with it and put yourself in a mad scramble. Good lord, if that's what you took from the petition then we are all doomed.

Fan's dont and shouldn't have the answers but Members can speak up and that's what this petition is trying to do. This petition isn't from 'vocal crazies' but sitting in silence accepting what is being dished up for the last 18 years does nothing. But you seem to be OK with mediocrity.

These phony reviews, the missmanagement of players, the communication to the members isn't good enough.

How any of you can agree with the decisions that have been made over the last 3 years is acceptable is beyond me.

Putting that petition to one side, you're absolutely right that members need to start demanding change.

One of the few things this club has been very competent at is manipulating the member base to keep the status quo. Increasing the number of Director appointments to the board while sandbagging member-elected positions with boys club of Sheedy/Madden/Wellman.

People wonder how Dodoro continues to survive when its his mentor in Sheedy who conducts the 'reviews'.
This is the type of nonsense members shouldnt stand for

That's all the petition was designed to do, show some support in wanting change, unite the members who don't agree with the direction of the footy club and those in charge :(

If we’re going to demand change, then we need to do it by not doing the same thing.

Demanding to sack Rutten is literally doing what we’ve always done. Freak at even the slightest bit of bad form and hunt for a high profile name to keep members and attendances. It’s the classic manipulation of members. Richmond and Melbourne started seeing success as soon as they stopped changing coaches every 2-3 years.

How about demanding for an external review? Or maybe changing the guy that’s been here throughout the time we haven’t won a final?

If we’re going to demand change, then we need to do it by not doing the same thing.

Demanding to sack Rutten is literally doing what we’ve always done. Freak at even the slightest bit of bad form and hunt for a high profile name to keep members and attendances. It’s the classic manipulation of members. Richmond and Melbourne started seeing success as soon as they stopped changing coaches every 2-3 years.

How about demanding for an external review? Or maybe changing the guy that’s been here throughout the time we haven’t won a final?
Mate Ben has had enough time to at least demonstrate some of the basics. Our culture is shot, our communication to members is pathetic.

Those 3 need to go otherwise we will continue to be mediocre its as simple as that now.

Ben is a carbon copy of Woosha and those in charge around the coach have also been there long enough.

External review. Comprehensive, no limits. Review everything and everyone, from the constitution to the chewy on the bottom of the cafe tables.

Not going to demand sackings or strategies or any particular thing. That’s the point of a review, they make the recommendations based on a shitload more information than we plebs on the internet might have.

good Luck
we are a self satisfied sh#t football club
we are weak and insipid
no leadership
clinging desperately to past glories and 16 premierships
brasher, Campbell, dodoro, rutten, Harvey, madden and sheedy need to go

I just want an external review tbh

No point sacking the coach if the coach isn't actually the problem. The real problem will still be their waiting for the next coach, and the next, and so on.

I think the reason very senior people at the club have resisted an external review is because at some level they are afraid of what it might find and what that might mean for their positions. Unfortunately in that situation it needs things to get very dire indeed before they run out of excuses to not have a thorough review of the club.

We started a rebuild in 2021.

They didn’t call it that cos supporters would have a sook but the actions speak loudest. We traded differently (bargains only), we went to the draft and we had a new coach.

It should’ve happened 12 months earlier but that’s moot now.

Is it a failure after 44 games in which we’ve gone 18-26?

Really can’t call that yet.

Perhaps in 12 months time we’ll have a clearer idea. But what is said is true… these things really do take *in YEARS. People cry that it’s an excuse but it’s true.

We’re still list building. Smith is gone. Heppell will only stay under the very minimum terms. Hurley will go.

We’re young af and will be even younger next season.

We’ve had six rising star noms in the 2 seasons.

It continues next year and there’ll be some pain then too.

Part of the issue is the club doesn’t have it to just come out and say exactly where we’re at and try to set expectations. Because we’ve been s**t for so long that they don’t think anybody can cop “a few more years”. Maybe they’re right. But make no mistake, that’s where we are.

They didn’t call it that cos supporters would have a sook but the actions speak loudest. We traded differently (bargains only), we went to the draft and we had a new coach.

Perhaps in 12 months time we’ll have a clearer idea. But what is said is true… these things really do take *in YEARS. People cry that it’s an excuse but it’s true.

We’re still list building. Smith is gone. Heppell will only stay under the very minimum terms. Hurley will go.

Part of the issue is the club doesn’t have it to just come out and say exactly where we’re at and try to set expectations. Because we’ve been s**t for so long that they don’t think anybody can cop “a few more years”. Maybe they’re right. But make no mistake, that’s where we are.

You're right, though maybe supporters would have an easier time embracing that if it wasn't the same faces from the last 15 years continuing to drive the ship.

Not to single out Dodoro, but I guarantee members would have an easier time buying into the idea of a rebuild if he was moved on.

Yep, time to demand change. Dodoro needs to go. As does Campbell. So do some of our players and coaches.

Get Callan Ward in as a Free Agent.

good Luck
we are a self satisfied sh#t football club
we are weak and insipid
no leadership
clinging desperately to past glories and 16 premierships
brasher, Campbell, dodoro, rutten, Harvey, madden and sheedy need to go
This is bang on. We always have been but when you’re s**t for the better part of 20 years you need to take your hand off it.

External review. Comprehensive, no limits. Review everything and everyone, from the constitution to the chewy on the bottom of the cafe tables.

Not going to demand sackings or strategies or any particular thing. That’s the point of a review, they make the recommendations based on a shitload more information than we plebs on the internet might have.
Yep that’s the way. If the external review finds that Rutten is the problem, then goodbye. If not, then whatever the problem is needs to change.

Collingwood, Richmond and Carlton have all recently had an external review with very successful outcomes. How we’re still reluctant to do the same is troubling.

It’s worse than that - fans have shown they will live with losses if effort and signs of development are there. Our round 3 loss to the Dees by 5 goals, we had a red hot crack and just ran out of juice in the last quarter when the Dees guns took over.

There’s a difference between that game and what was dished up this arvo. You can’t use age or the rebuild or anything else as an excuse for the majority of the players flat out not giving a ****.

The captain has clearly checked out and his body is beyond cooked - and we’re talking about giving him another year or two. It’s absurd.

The way the club is run from top to bottom is horrendous. The ‘rebuild’ is just a cop out imo - and it shouldn’t excuse efforts like today.

You're right, though maybe supporters would have an easier time embracing that if it wasn't the same faces from the last 15 years continuing to drive the ship.

Not to single out Dodoro, but I guarantee members would have an easier time buying into the idea of a rebuild if he was moved on.
Probably totally true and also the worst reason to move him on. Appeasing the sentiments of the members is not a fast track to success.

The thing is literally called 'Sack Ben Rutten, Xavier Campbell + Paul Brasher'.

I'm actually surprised that Dodoro wasn't in there as well..... unless lmaohelp is Dodoro. :oops: