We picked the wrong guy. :(

Um.. actually I know a bit about football, so yes. Bad luck, kiddo.

Oh wow.

:o

NicNat's skills are below the standards of the rest of his draft class from 08 but to say he can't kick or handball is absolute garbage.

Sure his skills aren't as polished as most draftees but he didn't get to the AFL on athleticism alone and his skills will only get better as he plays more games, his skills aren't atrocious by any stretch of the imagination but they aren't as bad as people make them out to be.

No doubt he will be a very good player for the Eagles in the future as Watts will be for Melbourne but it will take time.

Nick Nat is going to be a hell of a player.

Last year he had a very limited - or next to no - pre season.

Against Essendon you just see the fruits of a year in the system and
a pre-season under his belt. No doubt we will see more dominating
performances from Nick Nat in the coming years.

Yeah we also saw the fruits of playing against two 18 year old ruckmen who are nowhere near AFL standard.

It was like he smashed Ryder and Hille mate, he played against some guy and some other guy - you'll never hear from them again.

To say Nick Nat cant kick, handball, etc. Give him a chance.

I do give hima chance. If he becomes a gun, good on him. But right now his skills are shit. RIGHT NOW. AS IN, THIS MOMENT IN TIME.

I dont know why alot of Melbourne supporters constantly bag Nick Nat,
he is an improving ruckman with a hell of alot of scope.

Watts will be a superstar anyway, so Im not sure why be soo anti
Nick Nat.

NicNat is a better player right now than Watts. I'm not stupid and I'm certainly not biased - Watts just looks like some private school dork who has been babied too much and needs to get some mongrel in him.

But neither Watts or or Natanui them have done much of anything at AFL level yet. Give me Ziebell and Hurley above both of them right now. Anyone who says otherwise is a twit.

It just seems that when WC and MFC supporters talk about the topic on this site there are only two options:

1. Mutual fellatio where we all talk about how good eachother teams are, even though both of our teams were shit last year

2. Mutual hatred where we slag eachother off constantly

I propose a third option:

3., You're shit, we're shit - neither of our star recruits have done shit, and **** you because you're from another state.

FFS sake man its the NAB cup.. I mean... fu... I mean, like...... NAB cup man, seriously...

Naitanui had a great game playing 67% TOG. He showed that he has the potential to be a superstar of the game. While i can agree that the hype being generated is a little OTT i don't think it takes anything away from his eprformance (NAB or otherwise) and his potential.

So if Watts played Freo next week (I hear hes injured and won't play but hypothetically speaking) and he takes 15 marks and kicks 5 goals against a no name Freo defender you'd be saying the same thing?

Oh wow.

:o

NicNat's skills are below the standards of the rest of his draft class from 08 but to say he can't kick or handball is absolute garbage.

Sure his skills aren't as polished as most draftees but he didn't get to the AFL on athleticism alone and his skills will only get better as he plays more games, his skills aren't atrocious by any stretch of the imagination but they aren't as bad as people make them out to be.

No doubt he will be a very good player for the Eagles in the future as Watts will be for Melbourne but it will take time.

Yes, no doubt at all...

Um, if NicNat gets run over or murdered tomorrow, will that cast any doubt on your little prediction, Einstein? Or have you factored this in already? He can not kick for shit right now, that's just the facts. You can ejaculate over what you THINK he will do in the future if you want - but it doesn't mean shit because right now he can't do it.

Right now, I would confidently say I'm a better kick of the football than Natanui. By a long way actually. You probably are too.

And we'd both beat Jack Watts in a fight. I just wish we'd stop the mutual masturbation - both players were shit last year, and a NAB cup game does not make a career (or are you still wearing your Brent Grgic jumper?)

This is a Melbourne board and obviously you'll all entitled to your opinions, despite the fact that you need to put a 19yr old kid down because of your own insecurities about Watts.

If the hype about Naitanui is OTT, then the trolls about his kicking, handballing is definately OTT.

Apparently his disposal especially his kicking was/is atrocious however there were a number of examples of very good kicking on the weekend including:

1. Hitting Kennedy on the chest for a shot on goal running away from the centre bounce.

2. Snapping the goal running towards the boundary line.

3. Set shot from 50m out straight through the middle.

His handballing, especially in close was excellent. There was a passage where he was in a phone box and got a lightning handball out resulting in a Masten goal. There are numerous other examples to that effect.

His tackling, 1%ers, etc was great to watch and his ruckwork was brilliant. For those who care theres a youtube video of his highlights from the game.

Sure he has alot to learn but the kid has the potential to be (as Bruce would put it :o) something 'special'.

Hats off to the Melbourne posters who appreciated his efforts and his talent instead of bagging him and rolling out the same old trolls. :thumbsu:
Not like your lot haven't been bagging out Watts. I'm not into bagging out any kid but if you really are so concerned, go preach on your wce board.

Naitanui had a great game playing 67% TOG. He showed that he has the potential to be a superstar of the game. While i can agree that the hype being generated is a little OTT i don't think it takes anything away from his eprformance (NAB or otherwise) and his potential.

So if Watts played Freo next week (I hear hes injured and won't play but hypothetically speaking) and he takes 15 marks and kicks 5 goals against a no name Freo defender you'd be saying the same thing?

****ing oath I'd say the same thing. It's the NAB cup!!!

Natanui is better than Watts right now, btw. I'm not an idiot and I'm not biased. But neither player has actually done a whole lot. Or anything, actually.

Yes, he has a lot to learn. For a start:

1. He can't handle physical contact, Jamar soundly beat him purely through roughing him up

2. He can't kick for shit

3. He can't handball for shit

4. He really, really does not understand the game - he can not read the play and often runs to the wrong space

5. And most importantly, for some reason Watts and NicNat get a lot of hype, even though there are about 5 other players taken in the top 10 last season who deserve far, FAR more kudos for what they've done. Ziebell and Hurley especially.

If he can do what he did on Friday without any of the above... he will be awesome when he has developed even 2 of those skills.

As long as he can play against EFL level ruckmen, yeah, he'll be golden...

Oh wait, he plays in the AFL though right? Damn, bad luck for him I guess

Not like your lot haven't been bagging out Watts. I'm not into bagging out any kid but if you really are so concerned, go preach on your wce board.

I have bagged the shit out of Watts. Repeatedly and without mercy. However i keep it in the Bay. I've posted elsewhere that i think the kid obviously has potential if not he wouldn't have been drafted at #1 and time will tell if MFC ****ed up or not.

However the fact remains that he hasn't shown anything at AFL level, i doubt anyone can argue with that.

****ing oath I'd say the same thing. It's the NAB cup!!!

Natanui is better than Watts right now, btw. I'm not an idiot and I'm not biased. But neither player has actually done a whole lot. Or anything, actually.

Naitanui won us the game against Hawthorn last year.

He was also influential in our wins against Essendon (Ryder), Bulldogs (Hudson), Kangaroos (McIntosh) and Richmond (Simmonds) where he was listed in the games' best players in multiple articles.

So to say Naitanui hasn't done anything is a little.. silly. ;)

Actually he's 100% spot on. Nat simply can not kick a football, can not read the play and can not handball.

He is, as a footballer, completely useless. Perhaps his athleticism will make up for it, but the jury is well and truly still out. Right now, the fact is that Natanui is a very, very bad footballer and without his athleticism he would be lucky to get a game at EFL level, let alone AFL level.

If NicNat is a "completely useless footballer" than how did he get BOG?

If NicNat "simply can not kick a football", then how did he get 4 goals?

Does bagging NicNat somehow make Watts a better player?

If NicNat was drafted by Melbourne would you still think he is a "completely useless footballer"?

If NicNat is a "completely useless footballer" than how did he get BOG?

If NicNat "simply can not kick a football", then how did he get 4 goals?

Does bagging NicNat somehow make Watts a better player?

If NicNat was drafted by Melbourne would you still think he is a "completely useless footballer"?

I could easily get BOG in a NAB cup game. It is nothing to be proud of.

I think both MFC and WCE franchise fans need to stand back, evaluate the situation and admit that Ziebell and Hurley are shitloads better than Watts and NicNat at this point.

I could easily get BOG in a NAB cup game. It is nothing to be proud of.

I think both MFC and WCE franchise fans need to stand back, evaluate the situation and admit that Ziebell and Hurley are shitloads better than Watts and NicNat at this point.

You- Rick James, can easily get a BOG in a NAB cup game? Credibility??

What about if NicNat was performing like that for Melbourne, would he still be "completely useless footballer"?

We all know the answer to that don't we?

You- Rick James, can easily get a BOG in a NAB cup game? Credibility??

What about if NicNat was performing like that for Melbourne, would he still be "completely useless footballer"?

We all know the answer to that don't we?

I think NicNat is better than Watts. I wanted us to draft NicNat at the time...

(well in reality I wanted us to select NicNat because Watts then wouldn't have nominated for the draft because he didn't want to go interstate, and we could have just picked him and Scully/Trengove this year).

So this whole line of thought of yours is completely off base matey. And yeah, I reckon I'd have a good shot of getting BOG in the NAB cup - the level of football is seriously awful and you only need to look at Natanui's competition on the night to realise why you shouldn't get too excited.

I think NicNat is better than Watts. I wanted us to draft NicNat at the time...

(well in reality I wanted us to select NicNat because Watts then wouldn't have nominated for the draft because he didn't want to go interstate, and we could have just picked him and Scully/Trengove this year).

So this whole line of thought of yours is completely off base matey. And yeah, I reckon I'd have a good shot of getting BOG in the NAB cup - the level of football is seriously awful and you only need to look at Natanui's competition on the night to realise why you shouldn't get too excited.

I think you're obviously emotional or drunk if you reckon you could "easily" get off your keyboard and get a BOG in a NAB cup game.

How good NicNat played is subjective but to say that NicNat is a "completely useless footballer" is where you comprehensively lose.

I think you're obviously emotional or drunk if you reckon you could "easily" get off your keyboard and get a BOG in a NAB cup game.

How good NicNat played is subjective but to say that NicNat is a "completely useless footballer" is where you comprehensively lose.

Because I use a keyboard, that means that's all I ever do, right? LOL

Yes.

If a kid has a body that isn't capable of contested footy senior, they should not play until such time that they have.

It has the potential to affect the psyche of the player and affects the reputation of the player going forward.

I don't think giving Watts a taste of elite footy was a bad thing. Sure he's skinny and the only thing it will accomplish is letting him understand what will be required of him in the future somewhat. The problem was parading him about like he was the saviour of the Demons. All that did is unfairly pile pressure on a kid playing his first game. He was never going to come out guns blazing, KPP's never do, so it was silly to make it appear like that's what was expected.

Actually he's 100% spot on. Nat simply can not kick a football, can not read the play and can not handball.

He is, as a footballer, completely useless. Perhaps his athleticism will make up for it, but the jury is well and truly still out. Right now, the fact is that Natanui is a very, very bad footballer and without his athleticism he would be lucky to get a game at EFL level, let alone AFL level.

You either haven't seen him play, are in denial or no have absolutely no understanding of the game whatsoever. I'm sorry. His handball is elite, btw.

All you WC supporters that are spending so much time on our board, take a good read of this.. I have heard you have a good following over here or come over for it, so put your money where your mouth is & join in... I promise to try and get ricky boy to play for the demons, so it should give you a bit a incentive...

If you can't get a team together this year, maybe next year, if you dare...

Forum footy has been around for some years.
The next games are on Sunday, February 28 with the dees from demonland/demonology/bigfooty taking on the pies from nick’s collingwood site, the tigers from punt road end and the dons from bomberblitz.

Some of the these teams are struggling for numbers and there may be room for an all-stars team consisting of supporters of all the Victorian clubs (and Melbourne-based supporters of inter-state clubs) that have not had the opportunity to play in these games before.
It is a good opportunity to play for the jumper in social games where the standard is not high and the games are played in good spirit.
It is also a good opportunity for supporter groups to send people to have a look and see if they would like to become involved in future fixtures.
Please feel free to pass on this message to any other groups of forum footy supporters to which you belong.
Any individuals or groups interested are invited to contact the dees organiser, rollinson 65 (aka rollo) by email
peter.connor@constableconnor.com.au
and you will be kept informed about venue, times etc.