We picked the wrong guy. :(

An unusually bad post mate, I don't expect you to care about Naita but if Watts kicks 5 next week against some no-name Freo defender this board will explode.

This board would explode if he was seen putting the bins out. Your post proves my exact point, these boards swing back and forth like somebody off their medication but in the grand scheme of things our little banter on here means squat. Certainly wouldn't be the first time we've gone of half cocked in one direction or the other (Newton vs Garland/Frawley) and look how that turned out.

i tell ya who we did get right in picks and thats trengove and scully will be absolute guns, and i still have faith in watts just give him time couldnt give a crap about nik nat he would have ended up goin home anyway

picks 1,2,3 in the 2008 draft were long range picks.by going off what palm tree & hill, have displayed.watts should be an absolute champion in 4 to 5 yrs time ,just in time for da demons to start vying for a top 4 berth.

lol why? they all haven't even played a full season yet..

so sick of flogs jumping the gun so quick.

Cmon guys, if you want to be taken seriously in any discussion here put your bias away for a bit hey. The fact is Natanui tore it up last night, kicked 3 goals and 1 supergoal, laid some good tackles (burried Mcveigh) and some great smothered. He also showed his skills had improved heaps since he started and hes getting into dangerous positions. Anyone who saw that should be impressed with the display.

Are you really saying that if Watts comes out next week and kicks four while showing the work ethic and desperation that nata showed last night that you will pipe up and say

"it troubles me that beating up on the Fremantle back line (NAB Cup version) is considered worthy of so much hype.

Call me when he does something against a real defensive unit"

Average guys...give credit where its due

Couldn't agree more. Nic Nat looks very good & you can only play who the opposition put out on the park. That said I'm more than happy to have Watts. Give the boy time & I'm sure he will prove his worth.

In all seriousness I'd love Trengove, it's Scully over Martin i'd be more concerned about.

You can get excited about Martin because he looks to be quite the player but I think every Melbourne supporter on here is more than happy with both our boys. Trengove & Martin both have fairly mature bodies which will help them early on but Scully will show his worth as a #1 pick, don't worry about that pal. Thanks for your concerns though!

The important thing in this whole Watts/Natanui saga is that even if we pick NicNat, we'd still wouldnt be a shot at a flag for 3-4 years. So Watts has that time under his sleeve.

Having said that, if Natanui performed the way he did on Friday night in a Melbourne jumper, we'd all be lauding him as the potentially the greatest Demon of all time. Thats sort of paints a picture of the hyperbolic biased nonsense you get on these forums.

As an opposition supporter, Naitanui is a salivating product. I wish he was a Demon, without a doubt. This has nothing to do with Watts, as long as Watts becomes a very good player for this club and does all he can to help us win a premiership, the rest is academic. But God, when I think of Natanui and bursting out of the middle and delivering to Jurrah, right there we would become one of the more noteworthy clubs in the league to watch. Watts was a very safe choice and I remember thinking pre-draft I would have prefered Rich or Nat, I really dont know what is is about Watts that made him this #1 certainty in our eyes?? Well anyway its done now. I still am very much looking forward to watching Watts develop, but at this stage I think we all know deep down, who we would rather.

I honestly Cant believe some of the stupid situations Nic-Nat gets himself into due to poor disposal and poor reading of the game. If he didn't have his speed and athleticism he'd be nothing, but he always manages to bail himself out with a quick sprint away. The guy will be a one hit wonder for the next 3 years trust me, everyone will figure out his game plan, and then he'll become a mediocre ruck-man.

It's funny how maligned Watts has become. He was never going to do anything in his first year other than get a couple games of AFL experience.

Perhaps Melbourne was to blame for all the hype prior to the Collingwood game. Perhaps not.

I honestly Cant believe some of the stupid situations Nic-Nat gets himself into due to poor disposal and poor reading of the game. If he didn't have his speed and athleticism he'd be nothing, but he always manages to bail himself out with a quick sprint away. The guy will be a one hit wonder for the next 3 years trust me, everyone will figure out his game plan, and then he'll become a mediocre ruck-man.

That sentence is funny, you could say it about most of the good AFL players and it would be true!

It's his speed and athleticsm that got him where he is, and that will set him apart from others in years to come.

It is not his ruck work that makes him good. Its the second and third efforts, his willingness to apply pressure and his desire to get to the contest that set him apart. He's a 200cm inside mid with lightning hands and a ferocious tackle.

I havent really been on the NicNat train up until now, but after being at the game the other night I am super excited to watch this talent unfold.

I do wonder why Melbourne didn't pick him purely from a marketing POV though, people will come to watch him play no matter who they support. Other than that, I think it is a bit unfair on both he and Watts to be compared as they are.

Even if NicNat ends up a better player, Watts may end up the right choice purely because of the position he will play.

Quality tall forwards are hard to find now - and if we didnt have Watts we could be pretty lean in the tall forward department.

I would take a good tall forward over a good ruckman every day.

Anyway, Natanui is fantastic. I love watching him. Watts will need a couple of extra years as he's just not built like NicNat - and he's 12 months younger as well.

Perhaps Melbourne was to blame for all the hype prior to the Collingwood game. Perhaps not.

No perhaps. That was a disgrace, and as far as I'm concerned we were idiots as fans for going along with it so blindly.

First off, Natia played absolute gem of a game, regardless of the opposition he was up against the fact that he had 16 contested possession means he was getting his hands on the footy first.

Im glad the majority of melbourne posters are saying give Watts time, and i agree his best footy is 2-3 years away. In terms of development i would say Natia is minimum 2 years in front of Watts.

but at this stage I think we all know deep down, who we would rather.

Speak for yourself mate.

Deep, deep down I wouldn't change things one iota. Naitanui is going to be a very effective player and things certainly happen when he's near the ball, but his skills are very ordinary and the hype is overboard.

I'll take the silky gun key forward over a ruckman any day. And yes, I understand he also brings midfielder qualities too with his second efforts.

No perhaps. That was a disgrace, and as far as I'm concerned we were idiots as fans for going along with it so blindly.

Yes.

If a kid has a body that isn't capable of contested footy senior, they should not play until such time that they have.

It has the potential to affect the psyche of the player and affects the reputation of the player going forward.

Its always going to be tough comparing players this early and doesn't do them any justice - especially rucks & KPP as they will take 3-4 years before you see anywhere near their best.

I think Watts & Nic Nat will both be great players in their own right. The decision between them basically came down to - do we need a KPP or ruckman more. They would also have rightly thought that Nic Nat would have to be much further away from having an impact than Watts. As its turned out that is probably not going to be the case. Nic Nat is already impacting games yet he still has so much to learn - much like Jurrah.

The only disappointing thing from a Melbourne point of view is missing the marketing & excitement of not having Nic Nat & Jurrah in the same side - I would watch that every week! Watts will be in the Nick Riewolt mould reliable & seriously good, but not that much fun to watch.