We respected the VFL.

Jul 22, 2000
Port Adelaide
We repected the VFL..as Victorias State league.

We dont accept however the relevance of that suburban comps premierships have in a national scene.

Records should state.....

VFL premiership Vic state league...

Carlton X Number

AFL Premiership National league

Carlton X number

PA1870

Your views on this matter are completely biased. Take your blinkers off and think logically about your pet topic and you will discover how simple it actually is.

1. the vfl was a breakaway competition from the vfa.
2. the vfl changed it's name to the afl to accomodate interstate teams who wanted to join (or had joined) the countries most elite football competition.
3. the vfa changed it's name to the vfl. Probably to enhance it's poor relation image.

With this clear logic you will see that carlton have won all their flags in the elite competition (vfl/afl) not in the different league of the (vfa/vfl).

You can put your blinkers back on now.

As for the continual claims that Port Power and the Port Adelaide Magpies are the same team....

------------------
"Strangely enough, in the midst of change, the present course may often be the most risky one. It may only serve to perpetuate the irrelevancy."

What is the point of this post?

We are still covering the topic on at least 3 other threads you have started.

Devo, piss off. Even though I agree with you, I reckon youre attitude to pa is a joke. Anyway, the AFL is an Australian League, and SA has the best state league in Australia, the mighty SANFL !!!!!!

PA1870, you respected the VFL, thats why you were desperate to join it, as i recall Port Adelaide had secret meetings with the then VFL commisioners trying to join the competition NOT TO CREATE A NEW ONE. So im glad you respected the VFL, cant say i can say the same thing about the SANFL!!!

Actually Easty news today that a Tasmanian side will be included in the VFL this year, couple this with the now well organised AFL/VFL joint teams and a greater u18 feeder comp which supplies most new AFL talent and i think youve got your answer!!!! Victoria is the heartland.

PA1870,

This stuff is becoming tiresome. Not because you post it so frequently (in a variety of disguises) but because it is patently nonsensical. You are free to believe what you want, of course, but when it is so obviously biased, you must expect others who see things more clearly to disagree with you.

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Originally posted by BUBBALOUIS:
Actually Easty news today that a Tasmanian side will be included in the VFL this year, couple this with the now well organised AFL/VFL joint teams and a greater u18 feeder comp which supplies most new AFL talent and i think youve got your answer!!!! Victoria is the heartland.

BUBBALOUIS, if Tassie is joining the VFL does that mean the VFL will have to change its name again?.

PA
Why don't you post this crap on your port board where someone might agree with you, instead of boring everyone else to death with this topic.
frown.gif

------------------
mantis

where did wayne carey and nathan buckley develop ? 2 of the most influential players in the league came through the sanfl, like so many others. It is easily the best state leaugue in Australia and if you dont believe me then look at the results from the state game 2 seasons ago, we beat you on your own craphole ! With the Northern Territory entering the sanfl it will get even better, and we will crap all over the ****y vfl team in the state match in adelaide this year

God, I hate your posts PA1870.

You are so full of shit, it is unbelievable. Stop being so friggin biased.

I've said it before and I'll say it again:

If an 80 year old man changed his name when he was 40, does this make him an entirely different individual with an entirely different personal history, to when he was a three yera old?

He looks different to when he was 3. He is called a differet name. But he is the SAME person. You can;t just say, "Oh, but we will only count his life history from when he changed his name as a 40 year old"

The AFL looks different now to what it did, in, sa 1980 (really, it's not a hell of a lot different. All of the clubs remain, except Fitzroy), but that doesn;t mean it;s not the same.

It's the same comp, so the history is 105 years old.

Anyone who can't see this is a dickhead, in my opinion.

I think you'll find that Carey only had no more than a season or two in North Adelaide's U19s as a 15 or 16 year old....hardly enough time for North Adelaide to have had a pivotal role on his development. Before that, he played in Wagga, and after North got him, he was developed under Denis Pagan in North's under 19s, so we'd argue that the raw talent came from New South Wales while most of the development happened in Victoria.

Originally posted by eastaugh36:
where did wayne carey and nathan buckley develop ? 2 of the most influential players in the league came through the sanfl, like so many others. It is easily the best state leaugue in Australia and if you dont believe me then look at the results from the state game 2 seasons ago, we beat you on your own craphole ! With the Northern Territory entering the sanfl it will get even better, and we will crap all over the ****y vfl team in the state match in adelaide this year

Maybe in the past you SA produced a few champions but currently.As far as young exciting players go and in the past victoria is still way ahead of SA and WA.But per capita WA is ahead of the pack.In the past 4 years western australia has produced.3 no.1 picks and 3 no.2 picks.Including the likes of Hasebly,Longmuir,Hedland,Gardiner and Mc Dougal.Going further back you include the likes of cousins and Rioli.

SA on the other hand have barely had anyone on the top 5,Pavlich and Didak are the only ones that srping to mind.

easty you drongo....normally I would have some kind words for my home state and the great footballers it has produced.

But Shinboners is right...Carey is from NSW...and Buckley played 2 years at Port having grown up in Darwin.

I have a view on this topic but I have posted it elsewhere.

ptw

Originally posted by Dan24:
God, I hate your posts PA1870.

You are so full of shit, it is unbelievable. Stop being so friggin biased.

I've said it before and I'll say it again:

If an 80 year old man changed his name when he was 40, does this make him an entirely different individual with an entirely different personal history, to when he was a three yera old?

He looks different to when he was 3. He is called a differet name. But he is the SAME person. You can;t just say, "Oh, but we will only count his life history from when he changed his name as a 40 year old"

The AFL looks different now to what it did, in, sa 1980 (really, it's not a hell of a lot different. All of the clubs remain, except Fitzroy), but that doesn;t mean it;s not the same.

It's the same comp, so the history is 105 years old.

Anyone who can't see this is a dickhead, in my opinion.

Here we go again.
Its not as simple as a name change and you know it.I really dont want to go down this path again.
Your old man example is nothing like it.Ok well if you going to used these ridculous examples then so am I.
If a car manufatctors took a basic model and added wings and sum kind of hovering device to the car.Would it be the same as it was before
NO
How would the manufactors show that it was a new vechile
Thats right CHANGE THE NAME.
o o o but some of its still the same.
Yes but no longer is it confined to the land,it is now used in the air.This major change sugests that that it is a new vehicle.

Ok i can see its not worth trying to argue with you
Just a question for the enlightened one.
1.Why change the name in the first place

2.Let me clear it up once and for all your saying that it still is a victorian competion?

Once again you insult people when they dont tremple at your precence.The only dickhead on this board is you.

Sabre,

You attack Dan for using a flawed analogy, yet you also base your arguement on a flawed analogy.

Consider these;

If the Fremantle Football Club change their name to the Perth Football Club, does this make them a different club?

The answer is no.

Likewise, what if the AFL signed a deal with Telstra and renamed the competition the Telstra League. Does this make it a different competition?

I presume the WAFL is different, now that it is called the Westar Rules?

Of course it must, it changed its name.

------------------
"Strangely enough, in the midst of change, the present course may often be the most risky one. It may only serve to perpetuate the irrelevancy."

No need to change the name of the VfL once a Tassie team comes on board.

Tassie is so pathetically small (and shrinking) anyway and it will only be a matter of time before the island stops being a state alltogether and just becomes a couple of Local Gov't areas in the state of Victoria.

cheers

We respected the VFL.