We WILL make finals.

And it will begin with a crushing win against the Roos on Friday night.
There seems to be too many fair-weather supporters on this forum, some that believe that it's fine to jump on the bandwagon after a fantastic win and acceptable to sternly condemn players after a loss. Calling Friday night disappointing is a massive under-statement but thankfully in footy there is always next week.

No doubt we have dropped some extremely winnable games which would have put us in a much healthier position but thankfully we still have percentage and 4 points separating us from 7th from to 10th. We have earned that position with some vital wins against Brisbane at the Gabba and the doggies.

With a good win on Friday night we only need 2 more wins from our next 4 games with more than winnable games against Melbourne Port and Adelaide to come. Even 2 more wins from the remainder of the season could potentially be enough.

We will be there in September, no doubt about it and I'm sure we will surprise a few teams when it arrives. After all, we are only 1 win less than what we were this time in 2001 and we were unfortunate not to progress to the Prelims that year.

we will be playing beyond round 22 this year..keep the faith:thumbsu:

Lets hope so ey...

MUST beat Melb and North and will prob needa beat Port to make it assured...

If we beat Adelaide we could claim a home final :thumbsu:

And it will begin with a crushing win against the Roos on Friday night.
There seems to be too many fair-weather supporters on this forum, some that believe that it's fine to jump on the bandwagon after a fantastic win and acceptable to sternly condemn players after a loss. Calling Friday night disappointing is a massive under-statement but thankfully in footy there is always next week.

No doubt we have dropped some extremely winnable games which would have put us in a much healthier position but thankfully we still have percentage and 4 points separating us from 7th from to 10th. We have earned that position with some vital wins against Brisbane at the Gabba and the doggies.

With a good win on Friday night we only need 2 more wins from our next 4 games with more than winnable games against Melbourne Port and Adelaide to come. Even 2 more wins from the remainder of the season could potentially be enough.

We will be there in September, no doubt about it and I'm sure we will surprise a few teams when it arrives. After all, we are only 1 win less than what we were this time in 2001 and we were unfortunate not to progress to the Prelims that year.

we will be playing beyond round 22 this year..keep the faith:thumbsu:

Let's hope so, but wouldn't be suprised is we fcuked up.

I wouldnt be so sure. I've been through the ladder predictor a few times and there is definitely no certainties. Carlton, Essendon, Port Adelaide and Hawthorn will fight it out for the last 2 spots right down to the last round. Adelaide is vulnerable too if they lose today.

There is no set amount of wins that will get us there either, we just have to win as many as possible and hope other results fall our way in the process.

This weekends results have helped us heaps.

Now it's upto the team to take advantage and secure another 3 wins to guarantee a finals spot.

Finals were what we were aiming for this year.. it'll be a good platform to aim for top4 in 2010 and a shot at the flag from 2011-2013.

I wouldnt be so sure. I've been through the ladder predictor a few times and there is definitely no certainties. Carlton, Essendon, Port Adelaide and Hawthorn will fight it out for the last 2 spots right down to the last round. Adelaide is vulnerable too if they lose today.

There is no set amount of wins that will get us there either, we just have to win as many as possible and hope other results fall our way in the process.

I have been on that a fair bit. Still lots of permatations could be thrown up. My best guess is that we will get 7th spot with 12 wins.

It is still very much up to us now.

This weekends results have helped us heaps.

well, apart from us losing...lol. but other than that the results have gone our way for staying in the 8, but not so much for climbing higher.

what is going to suck is i reckon we will end up in brisbane or SA for our first final

Right on, if we make it we will finish 7th or 8th, for which it is likely Brisbane or Adelaide will finish 5th or 6th. May turn out better to finish 8th depending on how it pans out.
Out of all the clubs if we areplaying as the away team, would prefer to play the Bulldogs and possibly even Brisbane. If we get Adelaide at AAMI that would mean we play them two weeks in a row!

I wont take back my statement that we don't deserve to play finals. But if we do I will be happy. A win against Collingwood or even a good contest would've made things completely different.

we will get embarrassed in the finals, we clearly aren't up to it, u can come up with any excuse u want but the incocnsistency we have shown does not warrant a finals berth, i mean for god sakes we lost to ess by 11 goals, that still burns me, if it were against a quality side I would prob cop it but not to a sh.it side like them, the best thing we can gain out of making it is just the experience, we will need a lot of luck to even be competitive

Well a unlikely win against Adelaide could pin us against Bulldogs and we have good form against them. Still think we'll be embarrassed?

well we had good form against the pies as well but we got shallacked, so that means nothing imo, the bulldogs at their best would run all over us, and as u said, an unlikely win would have to occur against the crows first

I was going to head to AAMI for the Port game but think I'll save the trip for first week of finals because we will more than likely play interstate.

Brisbane or Adelaide, I'll be there! :thumbsu::D

I was going to head to AAMI for the Port game but think I'll save the trip for first week of finals because we will more than likely play interstate.

Brisbane or Adelaide, I'll be there! :thumbsu::D

Dont book your tickets yet, there could still be twists and turns to come and it could all change again.

Next week we should beat Nth, but Brisbane and Adelaide might both lose, Bris have Coll in Melb and Adel have Geelong at Skilled so both could easily lose. That would make the difference just one game and percentage could also close up.

The week after we play the Cats so that is a big big call, but Bris and Adel also have hard games, Bris have Ess in Melb and Adel play Coll but in Adelaide, but if both lose and we win.......

Anyway, still a long way to go, a lot can change.

Dont book your tickets yet, there could still be twists and turns to come and it could all change again.

Next week we should beat Nth, but Brisbane and Adelaide might both lose, Bris have Coll in Melb and Adel have Geelong at Skilled so both could easily lose. That would make the difference just one game and percentage could also close up.

The week after we play the Cats so that is a big big call, but Bris and Adel also have hard games, Bris have Ess in Melb and Adel play Coll but in Adelaide, but if both lose and we win.......

Anyway, still a long way to go, a lot can change.

Actually the cards have fallen our way, following the disaster on Friday night, looking at the ladder and the percentage of the respective teams, I reckon that 11 wins should (fingers crossed) be enough for us to get into the 8, and I count 2 wins coming up against the Roos and Melbourne, but also I give us a massive chance against Port Adelaide (who are the most hot and cold team in the league easily) over there, and a good shot against the crows in rnd 22, they don't play very well at Etihad Stadium, whereas that's our main hunting/fortress these days (certainly our record at docklands this year is a lot more impressive then the one at the MCG)
Sadly though I reckon an interstate final looks on the agenda, but i'm just pleased and delighted we're finally going to be playing the finals this year.

I would say though overall we can write Port's chances off this year IMHO, and I reckon Essendon will be dislodged in the 8 by the end of the year by Hawthorn.

Despite Friday night, we're still in very good shape for september action.

Exactly, have a look at the ladder, you have the have's, the also rands, the have nots and the down right shockers at the bottom..

If we win against Port, Melb, and North like we should (should the operative word), the game against Adelaide could in fact decide whether we play our first final home or away.

A win against Adelaide could take us to 6th/5th giving us the home final... so we just can pray that we have decent wins against the above 3 and not get too shelacked by Geelong (imagine we win that one :p).

A win to the Pies would of all but certainly locked us in for finals, we would've been 2 games and 2 games worth of % clear of 8th-10th!