Dees
Gutless!!!

Killed at the clearances.

A 3 & a half quarter lapse in concentration.

A few very lazy efforts in certain contests today.

Outcoached, some poor match-ups.

Powell & Ellis would've been handy :rolleyes:

Yet another 7 goal head start :mad:

Credit to Richmond they were switched on from the start & they played very smart footy in the 3rd qtr

However the comeback did preserve our percentage & that keeps us in it. There's almost nothing between 5th & 9th.

Yze was brilliant.

Bring on West Coast!

Most of the team played poorly. At one stage the turnovers was something like 24-6. Melbourne did not show up to play today, and it does not look like a finals contender at this stage IMO. Having said that, we are so inconsistant that we may just sneak into the finals and then proceed to beat West Coast over there, Collingwood down here, Port over there, and Brisbane down here to win the premiership... I doubt it though.

Breese may get a go after impressing for Sandy, Funcke may come back in, and of course there's Powell, so it's not ALL bad.

Originally posted by Deestroy

Breese may get a go after impressing for Sandy, Funcke may come back in, and of course there's Powell, so it's not ALL bad.

You're right, Powell coming back is a huge boost he owes us a few good games!

Not sure about Breese, but I hope Funcke gets another go.

Seriously - is anyone actually surprised we played like we did today? After all, we tend to be the Melbourne Inconsistent Football Club.

Play with some real heart boys. Play with some pride and show why the Melbourne Football Club is the best club in the world. Go out there and wear the red and blue with pride. It ****es me off that we can go out there and play such dumb football when the team has a much talent as any other in the competition. How can we go from beating Brisbane to losing to the bloody Tigers?

Sure, Ellis, Powell, Nicho and Green are missing, but that's no excuse! Richmond are a second rate side, and we all know it full well. To be 46 points down to that rabble in the last quarter is unacceptable. And then Daniher goes "we will look to West Coast next week" or something like that. No, Daniher, that's wrong. Go into the rooms, shut the doors and BERATE the team for as long as you see fit. Get it into their heads that performances like that are NOT acceptable! We can't rely on Neita and Yze and Biz to do all the work. We don't really deserve a finals spot right now, and we will have to turn it around somehow.

Bright notes - Yze awesome, Bizzell is really proving to be a sensational addition to the backline, Neitz played well again and that's basically it.

Lift your game Melbourne - play with heart and not with your heads.

It is so heartbreaking when we know we can play better than that. And what was Danners thinking leaving Bruce on Richo long after it was clear he was being killed?

I had a whole heap of other stuff I was going to write here, but most of it seems to have escaped my sieve-like brain. If it comes back to me, it'll come back to me. If not, then I guess we can wait to see which Melbourne side turns up for each quarter of the West Coast game: the good one or the pathetic one.

I was just looking for the troll's thread suggesting Melbourne Supporters will be heading to the snow soon. It's beginning to look like the Dees want us to. Generous of them to try and free up our September like that isn't it?

Warning: this post is dripping with sarcasm. Please wear gloves while handling.

Originally posted by madboy
I was just looking for the troll's thread suggesting Melbourne Supporters will be heading to the snow soon. It's beginning to look like the Dees want us to. Generous of them to try and free up our September like that isn't it?

Warning: this post is dripping with sarcasm. Please wear gloves while handling.

Sorry about my abrupt departure today, I didn't feel much like talking after that performance .:rolleyes:

What a bunch of pretenders. It has been a while since I have been that disgusted. When is this team going to stand up and be counted? It was nothing short of pathetic. And no one had better DARE say what a great comeback it was. Too little too late as far as I am concerned. Even if we had won, I would be saying this.
There was little reaction all day from the coaches box. In all the years Daniher has been coaching, I HAVE STILL NEVER SEEN HIM ON THE PHONE.
To say the supporters were not happy at 3/4 time was an understatement. There were boos from several sections of the crowd, and Daniher copped it, myself included.
It is just not acceptable. Then to hear Danny on Demon Radio say our list is improving. I got so wild I did not listen to the rest of the show.
The Club has taken it too easy. They think it is going to happen. Well it won't if you can not beat the 15th place side who has not won for 9 Weeks! Thank God we are interstate next week. I could not stand sitting through more crap like that.
I did have to laugh when every one left. Seemingly on mass everyone left when we were 46 points down. I was about to, then play started so I stayed until the next goal. We got it so we stayed and it developed from there. They all missed the comeback. In the end we should have won it. We had the run of play, 5 points behind 3 minutes to play, but they did not deserve to win.

Originally posted by dees01
What a bunch of pretenders. It has been a while since I have been that disgusted. When is this team going to stand up and be counted? It was nothing short of pathetic. And no one had better DARE say what a great comeback it was. Too little too late as far as I am concerned. Even if we had won, I would be saying this.
There was little reaction all day from the coaches box. In all the years Daniher has been coaching, I HAVE STILL NEVER SEEN HIM ON THE PHONE.
To say the supporters were not happy at 3/4 time was an understatement. There were boos from several sections of the crowd, and Daniher copped it, myself included.
It is just not acceptable. Then to hear Danny on Demon Radio say our list is improving. I got so wild I did not listen to the rest of the show.
The Club has taken it too easy. They think it is going to happen. Well it won't if you can not beat the 15th place side who has not won for 9 Weeks! Thank God we are interstate next week.I could not stand sitting through more crap like that.

Too bloody right mate! Daniher said that we are "looking to next week". What a load of crap! I say he sits them down and berates them for **** efforts like that! It's unacceptable!

Guys.

I told you all ages ago that Danniher and our coaching staff (and present board too) are just pathetic.......we will never be successful until we have a complete overhaul from top to bottom.

And a board that is seen but not heard is very worrying.:eek:

Sorry to jump on your message board, but you're a harsh lot. Daniher has done a great job. When your board was "heard", your club was going down the gurgler. They haven't said "boo" this year and the coach has been able to get on with it in peace, with improved results.

If Melbourne supporters leave en masse when 46 points down, then maybe they SHOULD be at the snow!

oh well...

Originally posted by McAlmanac
Sorry to jump on your message board, but you're a harsh lot. Daniher has done a great job. When your board was "heard", your club was going down the gurgler. They haven't said "boo" this year and the coach has been able to get on with it in peace, with improved results.

If Melbourne supporters leave en masse when 46 points down, then maybe they SHOULD be at the snow!

i can tell you now that NO ONE from this board would leave early from a game - no matter how bad we played.

but after having played a catch up game every week for the past month or 2, you gotta understand that we get pretty ****ed off with their performance. if they werent worthy of playing better, we wouldnt be like this. but when they play a fantastic 20 mins or so every game - you wonder why they cant play a full game like that.

Re: oh well...

Originally posted by dees*gal

i can tell you now that NO ONE from this board would leave early from a game - no matter how bad we played.

but after having played a catch up game every week for the past month or 2, you gotta understand that we get pretty ****ed off with their performance. if they werent worthy of playing better, we wouldnt be like this. but when they play a fantastic 20 mins or so every game - you wonder why they cant play a full game like that.
well said mish.

Re: Guys.

Originally posted by Ms.Storm

And a board that is seen but not heard is very worrying.:eek:
Yes, 1999 and 2001 we did so well:rolleyes:

Just a little note, Neale Daniher was appointed by Gutnick, so blame him if you are not happy.

Can I put it another way?

Before yesterday, the last poor performance by Melbourne was in the Queen's Birthday game against Collingwood. Since then the Demons had won 4 of 6, losing by two goals against Essendon and almost knocking off Port at Footy Park. Sprinkled in there were wins at the Gabba and against the highly fancied Crows. Sure, Melbourne should have beaten Richmond, but if one bad performance in nearly two months is enough to lambast the coach, then that is fairly short sighted. No tall defenders against Richo playing for his pay packet....

I like to read what other people say about their teams and others and I am sorry for intruding on your board but I just wanted to say that I think you are being a bit harsh on yourselves.

I am a Lions supporter and you guys gave it to us, and then how close did you come to knocking the wheels off of Port! The talent is there with you guys and from an outsiders view point you have got what it takes.

I am a footy starved Queenslander so went to three games in Melbourne this weekend including yours. IMO sometimes you can only play as well as your opposition and Richmond weren't fantastic. However when you guys decided to just go with your game and not worry about theirs that final quarter was awesome. This is just the way an outsider saw things and when you watch your own guys week in week out you notice how well certain players and the team as whole play but I saw a team that IMO will be there in September.

Re: Re: oh well...

I wouldn't say everyone:eek: :rolleyes:

You were the first person I thought of when she said that mate!

I do think we are a tad harsh here. Yes, we played poorly, VERY poorly. All I want is for Daniher to take them aside and berate them for a bad performance instead of acting like nothing bad happened at all.

Re: Re: Re: oh well...

Originally posted by CowboyFromHell
I do think we are a tad harsh here. Yes, we played poorly, VERY poorly. All I want is for Daniher to take them aside and berate them for a bad performance instead of acting like nothing bad happened at all.

He probably has, but behind closed doors where it should happen.

Re: oh well...

Originally posted by dees*gal

Damn straight Mish!

Madboy,Happy in Hell & I never considered leaving.

However I've calmed a little since I started this thread & agree that bagging the Coach & Players (as well as the board!) is not going to help.

I do feel that the players were let off a little lightly after getting close to Port (after taking the lead with 6 mins left!) & I reckon that could've affected our mindset for the Richmond game.

I reckon i've got my $220 odd's worth so far this year & I'm very proud of my team so far. We've surprised everybody & the spirit has been brilliant all season.

Re: Re: oh well...

Well, i was at the game, and it was a VERY poor performance... i could see from the satart that your backline was about a head shorter than Richomnds forward line.. and it showed.
Melbourne fans are very critical of their own team, or maybe we all are and i just noticed it now... but, sitting there as a carlton supporter, i thought it was pretty harsh when people were saying, "no wonder no one turns up to these games" etc. you haven't played bad all year! admittedly, i haven't watched all your games, but from what i've seen most of the time you play alright, well even! supporters should be turning up anyway (ok maybe thats a little hypocritical) but that is definately the worst yuo have played all year.. and yeah, it was bloody bad, and bad timing... but a) it's not worth sacking the coach over and b)it's not worth complaing THAT much about!
leaving the game early. i was actually thinking about that towards the end of the game, not leaving, but the people taht had left. if you had won, it would have been a horrible feeling to have gone to the game and only seen up to the come-back... i spoke to my maths teacher (melbroune supporter) who i saw when i got off the train back home, and she said she was ready to leave after Richmond kicked the 2nd goal in the last quarter but they woiuld have to pack up the blanket or something :rolleyes:

Re: Re: Re: Re: oh well...

Thanks a lot!

:D

Well, you have been known to do something like that, and even you can't deny that!